South Georgia Tours

South Georgia is a remote yet magical island, exquisite in its beauty and virtually unspoilt by man. It is adorned with emerald green bays, blue glacier ice and formidable snow covered peaks. South Georgia travel will expose you to one of the world’s greatest wildlife areas - the “Galapagos of the South”. Home to over 30 million breeding birds, thousands of seals, the introduced Norwegian reindeer, four breeding species of penguin and the largest colony of king penguins on this planet - the island teems with life. South Georgia is also home to the macaroni penguin not often seen on the Peninsula and one of the very few places where you can see the nesting sites of the wandering albatross, a bird that boasts the largest wingspan of any bird in the world.
 
If the spectacular wildlife is not enough of a drawcard, South Georgia travel will bring you to a part of the Antarctic that is steeped in history. The island was an intrinsic part of Sir Ernest Shackleton's 1914-17 Trans-Antarctica Expedition in the Endurance, one of the most incredible adventure stories and most heroic survival stories of all times. South Georgia was once the centre of the whaling industry and an Antarctica cruise to this part of the Southern Ocean will give you the opportunity to see the relics and remains of abandoned whaling stations and to visit the grave of the intrepid explorer, Shackleton.
 
With the greatest concentration of wildlife on the planet, a captivating history and ruggedly beautiful terrain, the sub-Antarctic island of South Georgia is one of the jewels in the Southern Ocean’s crown. Why not discover it on an Antarctica cruise to the Falklands, South Georgia and the Antarctic Peninsula? 
 

From the very first contact with Chimu, I had a great experience. Everything about the trip far exceeded any of my expectations. Besides the fact that Antarctica is the most amazing place on Earth, the trip itself was phenomenal. To the food, service, crew, expertise of the expedition team, everything was fantastic. I would highly recommend Chimu to friends and family. - Dani D

Read Reviews (Avg 4.9 ★)
 
1

Featured South Georgia Trips & Deals

Book by 31 Jul

 Now is the time to tick Antarctica off your bucket list, for a limited period we are offering a number of fantastic specials on Antarctica cruises for the 2017/18 season. Don't miss out!

POPULAR  From 19,500

Cruise to the wild areas of the Falkland Islands and South Georgia plus explore the icy limits of Antarctica.

POPULAR  From 18,050

Cruise to Antarctica, South Georgia and the Falkland Islands on this Exclusive Chimu Adventures departure aboard the luxury Sea Spirit. 

South Georgia Tours

Articles On South Georgia

South Georgia: World’s Most Epic Hikes

Posted on Fri, 23 Sep 2016

The South Georgia traverse is rated as one of the world’s most epic hikes and is right up there with the likes of the Mt Fuji ascent in Japan, the Santa Cruz Trek in Peru and the amazing Continental Divide Trail, which runs through no less than 5 US states. Yet among all these illustrious feats of physical prowess, the …

READ MORE

How to See Antarctica’s Seal Species

Posted on Sat, 10 Sep 2016

There are five Antarctica True Seal Species. True seals differ from fur seals (or eared seals) mostly because of the different way they swim. Fur seals swim with their fore flippers and use their rear flippers to steer. True Seals on the other hand steer with their fore flippers and swim with their rear flippers. As a result fur seals have much …

READ MORE

South Georgia -The Travel Destination you Never Think Of

Posted on Tue, 23 Aug 2016

South Georgia and the Sandwich Islands may not be a travel destination you think of often, but it is a place of snow capped peaks and toddling penguins that will captivate you with its rugged beauty and test the limits of your adventure. It sits 800 miles southeast of the Falkland Islands, and more than half of the main island …

READ MORE

Ten reasons to include South Georgia in your Antarctica Cruise

Posted on Mon, 25 Jul 2016

Anyone in the know about Antarctica Cruises will tell you that you “must” include this small sub-Antarctic island, known as South Georgia, in your Antarctica Cruise itinerary. But, if you’ve undertaken an even cursory glance through pricing for these sorts of Antarctica trips you would have found that they can be considerably more expensive that your shorter, 11 day, meat …

READ MORE

Falkland, South Georgia and Antarctica- A trip of a lifetime!

Posted on Wed, 15 Oct 2014

Being the first passengers this season to go down to Antarctica was indeed a very special feeling! We boarded the MV Ushuaia mid October in Stanley on the Falkland Islands and went off to South Georgia.

READ MORE

South Georgia Reviews

All Chimu Adventures' clients are given the opportunity to review their trip once they return home. These reviews are administered by a third party and as such are unfiltered by Chimu Adventures.

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing trip for a first time overseas traveller The whole trip from start to finish was well organised. Every transfer was on time and the staff on the MV Ushuaia were all skilled and willing to assist in any way possible to ensure our trip was the best it could be. The food that came out of the small galley was well prepared and fresh. Vegetarians were also well looked after. There was only one choice for each meal, but this is to be expected with limited supplies able to be carried on board. I'm still trying to find the right words to explain Antarctica itself. It embodies the true meaning of "awesome" as we were truly in awe of the pristine beauty & wildness.
Date published: 2015-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A trip out of this world 10 days trip to Antarctic Peninsular. A bit shaky across the Drake Passage, as was expected, otherwise a beautiful sailing between the islands and icebergs. Lots of landings to see the native inhabitants with hundreds of Penguins, also Wales, Seals, Birds and Orcas. The staff on board were terrific and so helpful. The food was enough with a good breakfast and two 3 coarse meals (lunch and dinner) with fruit and afternoon snacks available. The cooking was a bit plain at times but still eatable. All in all, a terrific trip, quiet unforgettable.
Date published: 2015-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Voyage of a lifetime This journey was exceptional. All that was arranged just fell into place. Hotel accommodation went smoothly and location perfect. The voyage itself was exceptional from the friendliness and professionalism of the crew to the ships accommodation and facilities, the expedition itinerary could not be faulted. I would highly recommend the MS Expedition and will sail with them again.Also I will not hesitate to use Chimu Adventure for future travel
Date published: 2015-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fab kayaking This was not my choice of holiday, but it has been on my husband's shortlist since he was a boy. He had a great time. It was pretty much as I expected and planned for, but the kayaking was fabulous. I might have gone stir crazy without the opportunity to get away from the crowd and to be almost alone in tne splendour. The trip cost a lot of money, but it was extremely well planned and run, and not expensive. Please not that gender is a social construct and not a biological fact.
Date published: 2015-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply Incredible Antarctica Antarctica has been on my bucket list for decades, and I decided early last year that it was time for me to to take the plunge and go on this incredible journey. Having recently lost my wife to cancer, I was thrilled to see this trip with Chimu Adventures raising money for Breast Cancer care. After looking at several companies and many different ships, I called up Chimu and received incredible service from the word go. Nothing was too much effort and the whole process was made very easy. I undertook a 4 week trip with Chimu Adventures including a side visit to Peru and Argentina. Everything was faultless. Antarctica was the crowning glory - simply majestic. I cannot put into words the impact it had on me. Thank you Chimu for a wonderful voyage superbly hosted by Greg Carter. I'll be back when I save some more pennies!
Date published: 2016-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Once in a Lifetime Best adventure ever! The staff were incredible, so helpful and knowledgeable, they went beyond expectations to make our cruise one in a million. Polar Pioneer was the perfect size for what was needed to cruise into the Antarctic Circle. We even did the Polar Plunge and have the T-shirt and certificate to prove it. The BBQ out on deck with Mulled Wine was great fun. Food was plentiful and tasty.
Date published: 2016-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous trip from start to finish! I sailed with GAdventures on the MS Expedition from Montevideo to the Falklands, then to South Georgia and on to the Antarctic Peninsula. It was a wonderful trip. I had high expectations, and they were not just met, but exceeded in every regard. The expedition team were experts in their fields, and their enthusiasm was evident throughout our amazing journey.
Date published: 2015-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Greatest vacation so far We lost one day becouse one of ships engine was broken, so embark was delayed fo 24h, but we get refund, one night at hotel and some trips during those 24h. otherwise tour was excellent. CEO changed intinerary plan so we headed to polar circle first to be sure we can go through in time. if something didnt match itinerary, it was only becouse of weather or danger. Crew and CEO was group of fantastic people and thansk to them, this trip was double so awsome :)
Date published: 2015-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best trip ever! The expedition crew did everything they could to organise landings In a variety of settings and were able to adapt their plans due to any changes in weather. The expedition crew were very knowledgable and all the ships staff were fantastic. We crossed the Antarctic circle and went the furthest south the ship had been thanks to the great skills of the captain. I loved this trip! Penguins, seals, orca whales, wildlife in abundance!!
Date published: 2016-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More than I could have hoped Everything about the trip was fantastic. I have no complaints whatsoever. I would recommend the Sea Adventurer as a perfect ship for adventure/expedition travel because of the two public decks surrounding the ship.
Date published: 2015-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely Awesome! We had a wonderful expedition to Antarctica - but have to add that the weather was perfect which made the entire trip ideal. The Drake Passage crossing (both ways) was without incident (noted as the Drake Lake). Landed nine times on the Antarctic continent, which is about the most one could expect. The MS Expedition staff (headed by John) were exceptional and the ship's crew superb. Without a doubt, a trip of a lifetime!!
Date published: 2015-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Antarctica The entire trip was wonderful. It was a joy to see all the different penguins, sea birds, and seals, as well as experience the walking on the ice and snow. The icebergs were spectacular, both in shape and colour.
Date published: 2014-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic South Georgia and Antarctica Brilliant holiday. Budget hotels in Buenos Aires and Ushuaia booked by Chimu were excellent. Weather not all that good but the crew of the Ushuaia were really good and did all they could so that we could have the best in landings that were possible. All travel arranged by ourselves went well and the transfers arranged by Chimu were equally good and drivers were good too! The ship is quite basic so do not expect a cruise ship!
Date published: 2015-11-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing adventure to the White Continent This was an incredible 11 day 'Images of Antarctica' adventure. Despite the Drake Passage taking it's toll on many, this trip is incredibly worthwhile, if you have the money! The weather was good about half of the time that we were in Antarctica, if it had been miserable weather the whole time it would have been disappointing (not the cruise's fault of course!), but as it was, we got to see the very best (beautiful blue skies, bright white snow and humpback whales) and maybe not quite the worst (-45 degrees with wind chill factor!). Overall I think this enhanced the experience, as we got to see Antarctica for what it really is, completely wild. All of the staff on board were wonderful, funny and warm. I enjoyed the lectures, which gave a greater insight into what we were seeing on land.
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow ! Antarctica was everything we dreamed of and more. We took part in an expedition on the MV Ushuaia, and found the ship perfect for our needs. Plenty of space onboard to see wildlife from the decks, and a very informative guide in Augustin. We hope to go back and explore South Georgia in a few years time. We hear the wildlife is even more spectacular (if possible) there!. Thanks again, and hope this review is of use!
Date published: 2014-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Antarctica with G Adventures G Adventures run ship MS Expedition. All run very smoothly, excellent attention to detail. Flexible destinations regarding weather conditions. Very good attention to environmental issues. Food too rich, could have had less stodgy desserts and meat was always very rare (ie raw); even vegetables were cooked in a stodgy sauce. However always fresh salad and fruit available.
Date published: 2015-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beyond words The most amazing trip from beginning to end. Chimu did a great job of helping me plan my trip & were available with advice & information. The ship (Akademik Ioffe) was fantastic,the One Ocean expedition team were so helpful & knowledgable as well as fun, the ships crew did a fantastic job, & even the weather was perfect!! Everything went smoothly, & the wildlife & scenery was astonishing, so beautiful.
Date published: 2015-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trip of a Life Time From departure to arriving back home everything Chimu Adventures organised for us ran like clockwork. The Antarctic was fantastic. So quiet! The ship, crew and meals can not be faulted and we managed two landing per day whilst in the area.
Date published: 2016-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Antarctica The trip to Antarctica on board the Sea Explorer was an unique experience I will never forget! The overnight stays in Buenos Aires incl. the transfers to/from the airport as well as the events to attend a Tango Show and to visit the Fireland National park were very well organised by Agnes Schneider of Chimu Adventures!
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful trip All went according to plan and was very well organised by the staff and crew on the ship.
Date published: 2015-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from epic antarctica This was the best group tour I have EVER been on. From contact with Staff at Chimu at time of booking to leaving the ship in Ushuaia at the end of our Journey. I travelled on the MV Ushuaia and ALL the Staff and Crew went 'above and beyond' in making sure everyone had the best time possible. Their commitment to customer service is immeasurable and the Expedition Leaders knowledge, insight and love of Antarctica supported their passion for this wondrous land. This is a journey that will stay with me forever! Thank You, Chimu
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Once in a lifetime experience Extremely we'll run cruise, perfect number of passengers and crew
Date published: 2014-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tour!!! The whole trip was well organized an led us to stunning places! We were able to come really close with the wildlife and learnd a lot about our destinations history, fauna and environment. The days were packed with landings, different activities and lectures, so we were always busy!
Date published: 2015-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Pinktartica Journey Trip of a lifetime is only scratching the surface of what I felt after taking this trip. I was on a 12day trip on the Sea Adventurer that was specially chartered by Chimu for a charity foundation, McGrath Foundation. So not only was it going on a dream trip it was also supporting a great cause. Everything about the trip was amazing, we were lucky enough to have brilliant weather and get to see about everything we possibly could in our 12 day trip. Even when there was a minor issue of communication that originally had me off the list of one of the activities I'd signed up for it was fixed right away and I did not miss out on anything. The expedition crew were all very friendly and knowledgeable and could help answer any questions you had on Antarctica. The crew of the ship were also very friendly and very professional and made the trip easy as could be. The only complaint I can have was it was such a great trip that now it seems hard to be excited about going anywhere else, all I want to do is go on this trip again.
Date published: 2015-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overwhelmed, emotional and speechless I had 8 flights, along with picks ups, hotels, drop offs, a ship to get to - on time and tours. Every single step of the way went flawlessly, thanks to Chimu and in particular Simon who has infinite patience. I am normally an independent traveller, so found it hard to relinquish control and let Chimu sort everything out. Thanks for indulging my many queries. Perfection!
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was an amazing trip, enjoyed everything. The itinery went smoothly we were picked up dropped off at all the correct times. All chimu staff we met were very good polite and very helpful.
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Antarctica expidition The prior planning through Chimu was made very easy with more than enough information supplied and regularily updated to make the process as stress free as possible. Vaule for money with the trip down to Antarctica was brilliant.
Date published: 2014-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a Trip! Every part of the trip on the MS Expedition with G Adventures was run in a most professional manner. The ship was excellent including the size of the cabin; the food was superb and the expedition team were all knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. The on shore visits were well organised and I couldn't have asked for more.
Date published: 2016-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Enjoyable We had a great trip. Very impressed with all the staff and crew on the Ushuaia. They worked hard to make us feel safe and welcome and I enjoyed the lectures. There is only one disappointment and that is that I am unable to access files on the DVD. Can only see the photos and not the itinerary,, maps etc.
Date published: 2016-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Antarctica - Seeing is Believing ! Smaller ship cruising - MV Ushuaia was the way to go, crew was excellent. Organisation and Itinerary was very well done , Other Expeditioners were good to mix with and enjoy the Fantastic Scenery with ! Only thing left to say -- If you havent been there - Go there . Out of this world !
Date published: 2016-06-16
  • y_2017, m_5, d_23, h_10
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_151
  • loc_en_AU, sid_antarctica, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_chimu-adventures
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.3.0.1
  • CLOUD, method:getReviews, 6.32ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Country Information

WHEN TO GO TO SOUTH GEORGIA

The weather in South Georgia can be quite variable, with rain and snow possible at any time of the year. The only time for South Georgia travel is during the southern hemisphere’s summer. The main season runs from mid-October to end-February, when the average temperature at sea level is around 7.5°C. Early in the season, elephant and fur seals establish their breeding territories and the spring wildflowers are blooming. From late October to November elephant seals are actively courting. South Georgia’s king penguins lay their eggs in November and king penguin chicks from the previous season can be seen in the rookeries. Seal pups are present on the beaches in December and January and from mid-December to January the first penguin chicks emerge and fur seals breed. By February the young fur seals are quite playful and penguin colonies are active.

WEATHER IN SOUTH GEORGIA

The weather in South Georgia can be quite variable as the island experiences a cold Oceanic climate, classified as a polar climate. Sun can quickly be followed by violent storms, with rain and snow possible at any time of the year. The average maximum summer temperature at sea level is around 7.5°C dropping to 0°C in winter but average temperatures vary widely depending on the exact location in the region. Winter minimum temperatures are typically between -5°C and -10°C. South Georgia receives an annual precipitation of 1,500 millimetres mainly falling as snow or sleet, possible during any month. Westerly winds blow intermittently throughout the year, giving the sheltered eastern side of the island a more pleasant climate. The highest recorded temperature was 28.8°C, at Grytviken on the eastern side, whereas Bird Island on the western side has only recorded a maximum of 14.5°C. The eastern side is subjected to colder winter temperatures, with Grytviken recording -19.4°C. The seas surrounding South Georgia are cold year round due to the proximity of the Antarctic Current. Although the waters usually remain free of pack ice in winter, thin ice may form in sheltered bays and icebergs are common. Sea temperatures rise to around 4°C in early April, dropping to 0°C in late August.

WILDLIFE IN SOUTH GEORGIA

South Georgia has the greatest concentration of wildlife on the planet. It lies in the midst of a vast marine eco-system, with penguins, seals and other wildlife fishing across areas that cover thousands of kilometres before returning to the region. More than 30 million birds nest and rear their chicks in South Georgia. The island is home to around half the world’s population of macaroni penguins, grey-headed albatrosses, northern giant petrels, white-chinned petrels, Antarctic prions and southern elephant seals and most of the world’s population of Antarctic fur seals. King penguins number in their hundreds of thousands. Birds: Over 80 species of birds have been recorded in South Georgia, with over 30 species breeding on the island, the majority being sea birds. The South Georgia pipit is the only endemic bird on the island. Amongst the breeding birds are macaroni, king, gentoo and chinstrap penguins; wandering, grey-headed, black-browed and light-mantled sooty albatrosses; Antarctic and fairy prions; blue, Cape, snow and Wilson storm petrels, South Georgia shags, yellow-billed sheathbills and speckled teals. Whales & Dolphins: Amongst the whales found in the region are blue, southern right, sei, fin, humpback, killer (orca) and southern bottlenose. Hourglass dolphins frequent South Georgia’s waters. Seals: Antarctic fur, elephant, leopard and Weddell seals are found in South Georgia. The southern elephant seal and Antarctic fur seal breed in significant numbers on the island’s beaches and leopard seals can be seen all year around.

CULTURE AND CUSTOMS IN SOUTH GEORGIA

There are no native inhabitants in South Georgia, but there is an average population of 30 people who are not considered to be permanent residents. There is a small settlement at Grytviken with South Georgia’s government administrative centre and fisheries research facility being located at King Edward Point. The British Antarctic Survey operates two bases in South Georgia at King Edward Point and Bird Island, permanently manned by scientists and support staff. Bird Island’s year round complement of British Antarctic Survey personnel undertake long-term monitoring of seabirds and marine mammals.

TOURISM AND SUSTAINABILITY

Antarctica tourism has existed since 1957 and is subject to the Antarctic Treaty and Environmental Protocol and self-regulated by the International Association of Antarctica Tour Operators (IAATO). Due to the concern of the potential adverse effect on the environment and ecosystems caused by the influx of tourists, there are now strict landing limits and closed or restricted zones on the more frequently visited sites. South Georgia operates a Tourism Management Policy whose primary objective is to enable visitor access, whilst ensuring the continued protection of the Territory’s unique environment, including its flora, fauna and cultural heritage. This is achieved by managing all visitor landings and ensuring that all visitors adhere to legally enforced guidelines that include the following: Do not disturb mammals or birds and always maintain a respectful distance Stay on the edge of animal groups, approaching slowly and quietly. Do not use flash photography and retreat immediately if wildlife shows any sign of being disturbed Never disturb seals in breeding colonies or territorial seals Do not offer food to any animal Always rigorously adhere to all biosecurity measures Be alert whilst ashore, in particular in the tussock grass, to avoid stumbling on a fur seal or a nesting bird, or causing damage to seabird burrows Do not touch or attempt to touch any animals

GEOGRAPHY OF SOUTH GEORGIA

South Georgia is a collection of islands in the South Atlantic Ocean, situated nearly 1,400 kilometres southeast of the Falkland Islands. The group is made up of the main South Georgia Island and surrounding islands including Bird Island, Welcome Islands and Cooper Island. The main island of South Georgia is approximately 170 kilometres long and between 2 and 40 kilometres wide, occupying an area of 3,755 square kilometres, more than half of which is permanently covered with ice. The island is mountainous with 11 peaks rising above 2,000 metres. Mt Paget rises to 2,934 metres and is the highest point on the island The largest glacier is Fortuna Glacier

HISTORY OF SOUTH GEORGIA
  •   The island of South Georgia was first sighted by London merchant Antoine de la Roche in 1675

  • Captain James Cook circumnavigated the island and made the first landing in 1775, claiming South Georgia for the UK and naming it “Isle of Georgia” after King George III

  • Norwegian, Carl Anton Larsen, established the first land-based whaling station and first permanent habitation at Grytviken in 1904

  • The United Kingdom claimed sovereignty over the South Sandwich Islands in 1908

  • South Georgia was a base for whaling and sealing industries throughout the 20th century

  • In April 1916, Ernest Shackleton’s Imperial Trans-Antarctic Expedition became stranded on Elephant Island, 1,300 kms southwest of South Georgia

  • 0n 10th May 1916, Shackleton plus 5 of his men landed at King Haakon Bay on South Georgia, Shackleton, Crean and Worsely then trekking across the island to reach help at Stromness whaling station

  • Whaling and sealing operations ceased in the 1960’s and the whaling stations were abandoned

  • The Argentine claim over South Georgia contributed to the 1982 Falklands War, during which Argentine forces briefly occupied the island

  • The territory of "South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands" was formed in 1985

FOOD AND DRINK IN SOUTH GEORGIA

Food on board cruise and expedition ships is of a very high standard - plentiful, tasty and nutritious. Breakfasts and lunches tend to be buffet style, with dinners generally served to your table and featuring 3 and sometimes 4 courses. The range of food is diverse with professional chefs preparing a wide selection of excellent dishes. Beverages such as tea, coffee and hot chocolate are included whereas soft drinks and alcohol must be paid for. Most ships have very well stocked bars and a good selection of wines.

FURTHER READING
  • Endurance: Shackleton’s Incredible Voyage by Alfred Lansing

  • Shackleton’s Epic: Recreating the World’s Greatest Journey of Survival by Tim Jarvis

  • An Unsung Hero: The Remarkable Story of Tom Crean by Michael Smith

  • Shackleton by Margery & James Fisher

  • The Quest for Frank Wild by Angie Butler

  • South: The Endurance Expedition by Ernest Shackleton

  • Antarctic Oasis: Under the Spell of South Georgia by Tim & Pauline Carr

Frequently Asked Questions

What money do they use in South Georgia ?

The official currency of South Georgia is the pound sterling (GBP).

What language do they speak in the South Georgia?

English is the official language of South Georgia as it is a British Overseas Territory.

Do I need to be fit to go to South Georgia ?

A high level of fitness is not necessary for Antarctica cruises to South Georgia, but you need to be in good health as although there is generally a doctor on board the ships, you are a long way from any other medical assistance. The majority of activities are focused around shore excursions and zodiac cruising and so you need to be agile and able-bodied enough to climb into and out of the inflatable zodiacs from both the ship and the shore. On shore landings you may need to negotiate uneven and slippery ground. Shore excursions generally involve some walking.

Is it safe to travel in South Georgia?

 All of our tours are 100% tried and tested to ensure that when you travel with us, you are doing so in a controlled and safe environment with trained experts. We consistently monitor weather conditions and will always provide you with the best possible adventure without risk of injury to you or the vessel. While some landings and activities may need to be rescheduled or cancelled due to weather, every effort is made to have a contingency plan should such conditions become a reality during your expedition. Chimu have been the experts in Antarctic travel for well over 10 years and use our vast experience and knowledge when picking the vessels we sell to provide you with an adventure that is unforgettable for all the right reasons.

Note:

  • Extreme care should be taken in the proximity of seals (especially those in breeding colonies) and particularly fur seals from November to January, when they can be extremely aggressive

  • The buildings and jetties of the old whaling stations at Leith, Stromness, Husvik and Prince Olav Harbour are in a dangerous state of disrepair and so it is forbidden to approach within 200 metres

Do I need a visa to travel to South Georgia?

A visa is not required to visit South Georgia but all visitors must be in possession of a valid passport. All passports must be presented to the Government Officer (Immigration Officer) on arrival at Grytviken. If your Antarctica cruise is departing from an Argentinian port such as Ushuaia, no pre-arranged visa is required to enter Argentina by citizens of the UK, Australia, Ireland, European Union, New Zealand, Canada, South Africa and the USA. Other nationalities should check with your closest Argentinean embassy or consulate. Australian, Canadian and USA citizens must pay a "reciprocity fee" to enter Argentina. This is not a visa, but a fee based on the fees that Argentinean citizens pay for visas to these countries. The fee must be paid online and in advance for arrival at all airports.

How long will I spend in South Georgia ?

Most Antarctica cruises that include South Georgia on their way to or from the Antarctic Peninsula, spend 3 to 5 days exploring South Georgia. Those cruises that feature South Georgia travel only typically spend at least 7 or 8 days in the region. Possible landing sites and excursions include Elsehul Bay, Salisbury Plain, Prion Island, Fortuna Bay, St. Andrews Bay, Gold Harbour, Drygalski Fjord, Cumberland Bay and the old whaling stations at Stromness, Leith, Husvik and Grytviken.