Amazon Tours

A place that is larger than life, the Amazon comprises half of the world’s remaining rainforest, whilst the Amazon River is the second longest in the world.
 
Home to more species of wildlife per square kilometre than its African or Asian counterparts, the Amazon rainforest is positively humming with life. Butterflies the size of birds, brightly coloured Macaws, comical Toucans and an array of cheeky monkeys frequent the tree tops, whilst Anacondas, Coatis, Capybara and Jaguars are among the lowland neighbours. Add to that 2.5 million species of insects and you can understand why an Amazon Jungle tour would be an experience of a lifetime.
 
Navigating the River is by far the most popular way to tour the Amazon. As well as being a convenient way to travel it is also very rewarding. You may be greeted by one of the enigmatic pink river dolphins, locals will wave excitedly as you cruise past and enormous trees will stand sublime on the river banks welcoming you to your Lodge.
 
Whether enjoying a Peruvian Amazon tour in Puerto Maldanado, Manu or Iquitos, a Bolivian tour in Rurrenabaque, a Brazilian tour in Manaus or an Ecuadorian tour in the remote Kapawi region, you won’t be disappointed. You may choose a luxury Amazon River tour on-board a first-class cruiser or stay in one of our chosen community run, eco-friendly lodges. Either way, you will get up close and personal with this enigmatic part of the world.
 
See below our suggested itineraries designed by our specialist team.  Choose one of these or alter to design your own journey. 
Read Reviews (Avg 4.9 ★)
 
0

Featured Amazon Trips & Deals

SAVE 20% 2017 DEPARTURES*  FROM AU$2,705*

Experience the wonders of the Peruvian Amazon as you cruise aboard the luxurious Delfin III deep into the Pacaya Samiria National Reserve, one of the largest protected flooded forests in the world.

POPULAR  From 1,710

Spend 3 nights at La Selva Amazon Ecolodge. Enjoy a luxurious experience, a magnificent view of Lake Garzacocha and a wide variety of exciting excursions.

POPULAR  From 625

Refugio Amazonas is ideal for science enthusiasts, soft adventurers and families; located in a 200-hectare private reserve within the buffer zone of the Tambopata National Reserve. 

Amazon Tours

Articles On Amazon

Why Is The Amazon So Important?

Posted on Mon, 12 Dec 2016

The Amazon rainforest is a wondrous and beautiful place, full of mighty rivers and lush green trees. But, beneath its glossy green exterior, it’s working hard to provide the world with countless benefits. Without the Amazon the entire world’s climates would be thrown off, the atmosphere would be polluted with billions of tonnes of CO2, 10% of the world’s biodiversity …

READ MORE

The Mysteries of The Amazon River

Posted on Sun, 02 Oct 2016

We have all heard about the mighty Amazon River, however there is still a lot of mystery surrounding this natural wonder. From it’s sheer length, majestic surrounding forests, rich and terrifying biodiversity, and unusual scientific history, this is definitely one of the most interesting rivers in the world. This is why we have put together this list of 10 mysteries of …

READ MORE

Fascinating Facts About the Amazon River

Posted on Wed, 20 Jul 2016

Learn all about the mightiest river in the world and one of the most popular destinations in South America, with these 10 Fascinating Facts About the Amazon River South America’s Amazon ecosystem is often described as ‘larger than life’ and indeed it comprises the most expansive rainforest in the world, home to the second-longest river on earth. Combined, they spawn …

READ MORE

THE AMAZON: My Number One Family Holiday Destination

Posted on Fri, 01 Apr 2016

I admit, I’m not a flop and drop kind of traveller, I like to ride the road less travelled and I go out of my way to avoid tourist traps, I don’t mind a long bus ride or a sleepless night to get to the far reaches of this planets most incredible locations and since my kids were big enough …

READ MORE

Chris’s Tailor made journey through South America – Part 4 The Spectacular Wildlife of the Amazon

Posted on Fri, 08 Jan 2016

A client testimonial by Chris Drieberg on his tailor made trip through South America. Day 17, the 25th, after a 5.30am breakfast we hiked through the heart of the amazing and rugged Amazon witnessing the audio and visual spectacle of the wild, seeing fauna and flora, varied bird life, monkeys, colourful butterflies and all that the Amazon had to offer. Ending up in …

READ MORE

How to (not) rough it in the Amazon

Posted on Tue, 22 Dec 2015

An Amazon cruise in style – by Greg Carter So, The Amazon is supposed to be about sleeping in hammocks, raging rivers, giant horror movie sized insects, alligators, jaguars, tropical diseases – you name it, we have all heard the stories, both tall and true. Hey, the Amazon is no picnic to the traveller – but you can certainly make …

READ MORE

Exploring the Brazilian Amazon

Posted on Mon, 31 Aug 2015

We boarded the Amazon Clipper form a small pier outside Manaus. The boat was small but had a great communal feel. It was to be our home for the next three days as we left the metropolis that was Manaus and set off into the labyrinth of waterways on the Rio Negro and Amazon rivers.

READ MORE

Special Amazon Family Holiday

Posted on Sat, 11 Apr 2015

Amazon Adventures Now Child’s Play With Chimu Forget the zoo and leave the theme parks behind – next school holidays shock the neighbours and take your family on the adventure of a lifetime to the Amazon Basin, where the kids can fish for piranhas, eat grubs with the natives and explore the world’s largest rainforest. “Every day is a massive …

READ MORE

Amazon Reviews

All Chimu Adventures' clients are given the opportunity to review their trip once they return home. These reviews are administered by a third party and as such are unfiltered by Chimu Adventures.

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic
Date published: 2016-10-28
  • y_2017, m_5, d_23, h_10
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_8
  • loc_en_AU, sid_amazon, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_chimu-adventures
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.3.0.1
  • CLOUD, method:getReviews, 5.27ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Frequently Asked Questions

What money do they use in the Amazon?

The Amazon Rainforest spans 9 different countries in South America - Peru, Bolivia, Ecuador, Colombia, Venezuela, Guyana, Suriname, French Guiana and of course Brazil which contains 60% of the Amazon Rainforest. The currency used will depend on which country you are visiting the Amazon from. In Brazil the unit of currency is the Brazilian Real (BRL); in Peru it is the Peruvian Nuevo Sol (PEN); in Colombia the Colombian Peso (COP) is used and in Ecuador the unit of currency is the US Dollar (USD).

Please check websites such as www.oanda.com or www.xe.com for up to date exchange rates prior to your departure. 

What language do they speak in the Amazon?

In Brazil the main language is Portuguese, while in Peru, Bolivia and Ecuador the main language is Spanish. There are, however, as many as 330 indigenous languages in and around the Amazon Rainforest, which makes this area one of the most linguistically diverse regions in the world. 

What is the religion in the Amazon?

The Amazon Rainforest is home to around 400 different indigenous tribes, each with their own culture, language and distinct territory. The majority of Amazon cultures practise a form of animism, which is based on seeing the rainforest as the home of spiritual life, with every flower, plant and animal having its own spirit. 

Do I need to be fit to go to the Amazon?

A high level of fitness is not required for the majority of Amazon tours, although conditions tend to be hot and humid when walking through the rainforest.   

Is it safe to travel to the Amazon ?

Yes it is generally safe to travel to the Amazon. The main dangers are natural ones as the Amazon is home to several predatory animals such as black caiman, jaguar, cougar and anaconda but sightings are very rare. In the river, electric eels can produce an electric shock that can stun, while some piranha are known to bite. Various species of poison dart frogs found in the Amazon secrete toxins through their flesh and the Amazon is home to a number of venomous snakes. Don’t let these put you off as most wildlife is afraid of man and animals will keep their distance unless threatened! Malaria, yellow fever and Dengue fever can also be contracted in the Amazon region which is why we recommend taking precautions such as wearing long sleeved shirts and trousers and the use of insect repellents.

Do I need a visa to travel to the Amazon ?

When visiting the Brazil Amazon a pre-arranged visa for Brazil is not required for citizens of the United Kingdom, Ireland, New Zealand, European Union and South Africa. However, for citizens of Australia, the United States and Canada a pre-arranged visa is required and can be applied for within 90 days of entering the country. The first arrival in Brazil must take place within 90 days from the date the visa was issued. Please contact your local Brazilian embassy for details on how to apply for a visa and allow a minimum of 6 weeks for the visa to be processed by the Brazilian consulate. For other nationalities please visit the website of the relevant consulate. When travelling to the Peruvian, Bolivian or Ecuadorian Amazon, a pre-arranged visa is not required to entre Peru, Bolivia or Ecuador for citizens of Australia, United Kingdom, The United States, Ireland, Canada, New Zealand, European Union and South Africa. For other nationalities please visit the website of the relevant consulate.

How long do I need to travel to the Amazon ?

Chimu has a range of Amazon tours, either lodge based or cruises that range from 3 days to 8 days.

How much should I budget for daily in the Amazon ?

Amazon tours tend to be quite inclusive with accommodation, meals, transport, guides and activities all included. Generally the only additional expenses will be drinks, laundry, tips, souvenirs and maybe internet if it is available.  

Do I need to get vaccinations for Amazon tours ?

We recommend that you visit your doctor or a traveller’s medical centre for current information specific to those countries and places that you will be travelling through. As a general guide we recommend the following: Yellow Fever - especially for jungle areas, Hepatitis - Both A and B (twinrix), Typhoid, Diphtheria, Cholera, Rabies and Tetanus.

 

For some states of Brazil (generally in or around the Amazon Rainforest), it is compulsory for all travellers to have been vaccinated against Yellow Fever. It is also compulsory for all travellers to have had a vaccination against Yellow Fever if entering Brazil through the following South American countries:  Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, French Guiana, Guyana, Peru, Suriname and Venezuela. If travelling to Ecuador from a country with risk of yellow fever, proof of yellow fever vaccination is required.

 

The risk of malaria is present throughout the year in the Amazon. Malaria precautions are essential. Avoid mosquito bites by covering up with long sleeves and long trousers especially after sunset, using insect repellents on exposed skin and, when necessary, sleeping under a mosquito net. 

What kind of power adaptor plug do I need in the Amazon ?

The standard voltage is 110V or 220V and standard frequency is 60Hz, but will depend on which country you are visiting the Amazon from. Power sockets are generally of types A, B and C. Please visit the below link for more information: http://electricaloutlet.org/

What should I pack when visiting the Amazon ?

Although the climate is generally hot and humid year-round (averaging 30-35°C), it can be surprisingly cool at night or on the river. Most of the time, light clothes such as shorts, T-shirts and sandals are suitable, but for hikes in the rainforest you should also have a long sleeved shirt, long trousers, light coat, good supportive footwear such as trainers or hiking boots and items such as small torch or flash light, binoculars, water and personal effects. We recommend packing the following:

• Daypack

• Light rain coat or rain poncho

• Sun hat

• Swim suit

• Sun block

• Sunglasses

• Binoculars

• Insect repellent

• Long sleeved shirt

• T-shirt

• Trainers or hiking boots

• Sandals

• Socks & underwear

• Long trousers & shorts

• Lightweight towel

• Torch or flashlight plus spare batteries

• Camera in dry sack with spare batteries & memory cards

• Electrical adaptor plug

• Water bottle

• Personal medicines

• Small first aid kit