Peru Tours

Why visit? While most travellers know the legendary Machu Picchu, Lost City of the Incas, only few of us know that it is only one out of twelve UNESCO World Heritage sites waiting to be discovered on a tour through what is known as the “Egypt of South America”.
 
From admiring the snow-capped peaks of the Andes or trekking the ancient Inca trail, to exploring the rainforests of the Amazon Basin, uncovering Peruvian weaving traditions on one of Lima’s colourful street markets or sampling “Pisco Sour” in a traditional hacienda, a tour to Peru will introduce you to the countless facets of one of the most fascinating cultures in the world.
 
How to get there? Generally, the easiest way for Australians to get to Peru is with LATAM or QANTAS via Santiago. Other slightly longer options include Air New Zealand via Buenos Aires, or a multitude of options via Los Angeles.
 
More information: Below we have shown you just a fraction of the options available for Peru and multi-country travel. Browse to get an idea of where you want to travel.
 
Still wondering? Contact us, you are definitely better off giving us a call or dropping us a line and letting us do the hard work for you.
 
#Livefortoday and book your Peru tour with us today. Chimu Adventures is Australia's leading Latin America and Polar specialist and can put together an itinerary to suit you.
 

Peru is a wonderfully diverse country with welcoming people and great level of service. All Chimu staff were excellent - Annie

Read Reviews (Avg 4.8 ★)
 
0

Featured Peru Trips & Deals

LUXURY  From 7,665

Combine an amazing luxury Peruvian Amazon cruise aboard the new Delfin III with a cultural exploration of the Urubamba Sacred Valley whilst you hike through seldom travelled highland trails and stay in deluxe mountain lodges.     

Peru Tours

9 NIGHTS From 4,420

This tour will have you tasting the diversity Peru has to offer whilst exploring the highlights of the coast and the Andes.

9 NIGHTS From 3,100

This tour really packs a punch – three must-see destinations in one. And so many contrasts! Start in Cusco, hike the Inca Trail and finish up in the Amazon Jungle. All in 10 days!

7 NIGHTS From 2,310

A classic adventure in the Inca heartland from Cusco, to the Sacred Valley towns & countryside, as well as the famous Inca Trail hike to Machu Picchu.

3 NIGHTS From 4,280

Explore one of the world’s most intriguing environments on board the luxury Delfin Amazon Cruise! 

15 NIGHTS From 4,310

This comprehensive 16-day tour is an exciting adventure through Southern Peru's highlights taking in cities, desert, lakes and mountains.

5 NIGHTS From 1,560

This 4-day Lares trek is guaranteed to please, it ends in Machu Picchu, as per the Inca Trail plus enjoy a day at the ruins.

17 NIGHTS From 4,950

Visit the major highlights of Peru. From Lima to Ica & Nazca & head up into the Andes via Arequipa. Marvel at Lake Titicaca, Cusco and mighty Machu Picchu.

3 NIGHTS From 1,560

If you have limited time but still want to experience the thrill of hiking down to the Sun Gate at sunrise, this 3-day Inca Trail experience is for you.

20 NIGHTS From 7,290

Looking to explore South America? This 21 day loop covers the best of Argentina, Brazil, Peru and a taste of Chile. Highlights include Machu Picchu, Iguazu Falls, the Amazon and more.

Articles On Peru

Top 10 Wildlife of Peru

Posted on Sat, 24 Jun 2017

Wildlife-loving travellers who have been to Peru know there’s a lot more to the country than llamas and alpacas, however curiously cute they may be. For a country primarily renowned and popular thanks to its phenomenal historical and archaeological highlights, Peru is actually a wonderful wildlife destination of its own accord and not only because it boasts an impressive chunk …

READ MORE

The Ultimate Luxury Tour of Peru

Posted on Mon, 19 Jun 2017

Get off the beaten track in one of the most phenomenal travel destinations on earth, without giving up on creature comforts. This…is the Ultimate Luxury Tour of Peru: where compromises need not apply. Peru has been enticing explorers since time immemorial. The lure of its illustrious history, array of exceptional archaeological marvels and mystical Amazonian ecosystems attracting discerning travellers for …

READ MORE

Things to do in Lima, Peru

Posted on Sun, 11 Jun 2017

Lima has fought hard, in recent years, to rid itself of its less-than-stellar reputation. The chaotic traffic, persistent smog and dubious safety record made many first-time visitors more than a little apprehensive at first. Yet with its colonial charm, exceptional foodie scene, vibrant nightlife, fab shopping and gorgeous seaside suburbs, Lima has reinvented itself and nowadays has a way of …

READ MORE

Lima International Airport Guide

Posted on Thu, 01 Jun 2017

Located in the district of Callao, Jorge Chavez international airport is the main gateway for airlines arriving to Peru, and for the majority of international passengers – their first taste of Peru. The airport was completely refurbished in the early 2000’s and has won various awards over the past decade as the best airport in Latin America. The airport is …

READ MORE

Things to do in Cusco, Peru

Posted on Fri, 19 May 2017

The unofficial headquarters of the Gringo Trail which traverses Latin America, Cusco is – and was – the capital of the ancient Inca Empire of Peru. Although centuries have passed since this once mighty force was all but wiped out by invading conquistadores, Cusco still shines resplendent in their glory. The mesmerising ancient walls built with nothing but ingenuity, alongside …

READ MORE

The Mysterious White-Skinned Cloud People of Peru Atlantis

Posted on Wed, 15 Feb 2017

One of the most unique and legendary races in the world is also one that we know the least about. The fascinating Chachapoya, also known as ‘Cloud People’, were a race of humans that lived during the ninth century. The Cloud People began carving settlements out of the extremely dense mountain forests situated between the Marañón and Huallaga rivers, and …

READ MORE

Secret Wonder: Presenting the Marañón River

Posted on Sun, 22 Jan 2017

The Marañón River has remained so secret that most Peruvians still do not know the wonders it beholds! Its reputation is growing as ‘The Grand Canyon of South America’, however it still receives very few visitors outside of hard-core rafting & kayaking circles. The Marañón Waterkeeper is letting the cat out of the bag, so to speak. In 2017 they are filming …

READ MORE

Things to do in the Ballestas Islands of Peru

Posted on Mon, 16 Jan 2017

The Ballestas Islands are one of Peru’s least known highlights, although their proximity to the capital (Lima) means that an overwhelming majority of visitors to the country will end up visiting them nevertheless. One of those rare treats which reveal themselves only upon arrival, the Ballestas are a collection of rocky islets, just a few km off the western coast …

READ MORE

Secret Wonders: Presenting Rainbow Mountain, Peru

Posted on Fri, 06 Jan 2017

Think South America has no more secret wonders up its sleeve? Think again! Let us introduce you to Rainbow Mountain in Peru, one of the most spectacular visual feasts in the continent. Everyone dreams of wanderings off the beaten tourist path, of discovering hidden gems in a region of the world which has been explored at length. When travelling to …

READ MORE

Secret Wonders: Presenting Huayhuash

Posted on Thu, 29 Dec 2016

Peru’s Cordillera Huayhuash rates as arguably the most secretive of our featured South America’s secret wonders. This is a place very few people know exists, and that includes return visitors to Peru. Except, of course, among members of the international hard-core trekking scene. Among discerning hikers, you see, Peru’s Huayhuash Mountain range is known as one of the world’s foremost …

READ MORE

Peru Reviews

All Chimu Adventures' clients are given the opportunity to review their trip once they return home. These reviews are administered by a third party and as such are unfiltered by Chimu Adventures.

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazon Jungles, Andres Trek and Machu Picchu Brilliant - lodge you put us in in the jungle was absolutely amazing, unbelievable place, and the mountains were beautiful - would have liked an extra day walking on the Lares Trail - was called a "three day hike", but really it was only a day and a half, when you include driving time and train time etc - but it was still an incredible hike, best walk of my life. And of course, MP was a wonderful experience - had massive expectations and they were exceeded. All in all, an amazing trip, and Simon Evans at Chimu organised it like a dream - so easy, couldn't have asked for more. THANK YOU!
Date published: 2017-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from peru late flights with poor food seated apart on the plane row 7 and 19 not happy excellent tours very good guides plenty of interesting things to see and do
Date published: 2015-03-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Peru The organizaton from and to each destination went very smoothly...well done. One day was too long travelling from A to B and would have preferred flights or trains between Cities. We cancelled the day before the Inca Tail because we didn't want another full day touring. The Inca Trail was good, but sleeping on the floor was difficult, toilet, washing facilites were poor and the food was acceptable.
Date published: 2014-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Food, Food, Food! Wow. We expected the food to be great, but not as exceptional as we experienced. We loved Machu Picchu, Lake Titicaca and the sites, but what really blew us away was the food experience. From Astrid and Gaston in Lima, to Central, to local delights the Chimu team organised an amazing array of options for us, and we cannot be more thankful. Do not visit Peru without eating at one of their top restaurants. Our guides were all wonderful and a big thanks to Juan Carlos who really looked after us in Cusco.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cattleya Boat cruise on the Amazon Very well organised. The Cattleya is an amazing boat. The whole trip was extremely worthwhile .... fun, adventurous and very informative. The staff on the boat ..... I just loved!!
Date published: 2016-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant, easy holiday. We stayed at Cusco, visited the sacred valley and did a day trip to Machu Picchu. Everything was excellent and I would thoroughly recommend Chimu. From being picked up at the airport to when we were dropped off four days later, everything was explained well and we were looked after perfectly. Thanks to Larry for his clear explanations and the great hotel we were booked into. Both the tours were simply spectacular - and our guide Jose at Machu Picchu was very helpful.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from tour of peru Well organized good hotels whole experience brilliant
Date published: 2014-12-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Peru and the Inca Trail Peru is a fantastic country. We had a fixed idea of where we wanted to go and Chimu Travel organised about half of it and we did the other half ourselves. Peru lived up to our expectations. Lima is not a city we'd choose to stay in again because it is a typical large city with not a lot to recommend it. Lake Titicaca is spectacular, Cusco is fantastic. Inca Trek the hardest but the highlight. We loved Peru
Date published: 2017-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exhilarating Holiday. Very professionally organised trip. Couldn't fault it. All the timings, flights, pickups, excursions, and accmodation were spot on. As for Peru. It is a stunning country, with amazing scenery and friendly people. Worth doing the hiking treks to see the best of what's on offer. Can't recommend it enough. Excellent value for money. Thanks Chimu. Will book another holiday with you in the future.
Date published: 2016-06-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from wonderful trip the whole itinerary went like clock work and we had really good guides. the only complaint was our accommodation in cusco where we stayed 4 nights and we got a room under the roof were you could not swing a cat and had to watch your head because of the rafters. when we complained we got at least the room next to ours for the last 2 nights, which was a lot bigger and nicer.
Date published: 2017-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trip to Machu Pichu Our entire trip went so well. Originally I was travelling on my own so wanted everything to be thoroughly organised, met at airport etc. And everything went so well. Always met on time, delightful, informative drivers, great little boutique hotels and excellent tour guides. We had Sonia to ourselves in Machu Pichu and she was excellent. very knowledgeable. Just wonderful.
Date published: 2015-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding - trip of a lifetime! The people, the scenery, the culture, the food - every aspect of our time in Peru was amazing. Macchu Pichu was an incredibly humbling and exhilarating experience, but we loved the whole of the Sacred Valley and all the surrounding areas. Sites were well maintained, two teenagers travelling with us were kept happy the entire time, and even the weather was great!
Date published: 2014-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceptional A fantastic 10 days in Peru. I cannot thank you enough. Lake Titicaca was spellbinding, Cusco a dream and Machu Picchu was a bucket list item ticked off!! The Chimu Adventures team on the ground were amazing, Juan Carlos, Larry and Rodolfo a credit to Chimu Adventures. The team made our trip exceptional.
Date published: 2015-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Peru! After Antarctica, Peru was #2 on my bucket list.. and I literally jumped off the boat and flew to Peru. Wow. Everything I imagined and more. Thanks to Chimu for making my dreams come true. I will always leave a part of my heart in Machu Picchu. Incredible people and incredible service. Thankyou so much!
Date published: 2016-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stunning Peru....... We ere so lucky the guides allocated to take us about Peru and its wonders Suited us well, they were informative, interesting and INTERESTED! in their Country and our reactions to the people, the sites and the country at large, We were very lucky - others were not so!
Date published: 2016-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful first time in South America A very well-constructed independent tour that enabled us to see many varied destinations with a great diversity of landscape and culture and via a wealth of modes of travel. All underpinned by a reliable framework of "meets and greets" and comfortable hotels.
Date published: 2015-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Trip Every thing went off like clock work and their staff was so helpful especially Juan Carlos Auccapuma in Cusco and our Treck leader Angel was fantastic, with his passion for the Inca Track and his encouragement to help us get through.
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceeded expectations! Totally awesome!! The Chimu team set my Peruvian table......I just had to show up and enjoy! The jungle,the peaks,the cities and Cusco really got my attention totally! Left my phone in a cab....my Chimu mate got it back for me in minutes!, loved it.
Date published: 2014-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievable Country. A massive wealth of history everywhere you look. Truly amazing. Itinerary was great, and Chimu very helpful. Highlight would have to be Machu Picchu, but other Incan Ruins such as Raqch'i were equally amazing. Wonderful trip.
Date published: 2015-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peru, archaeologic sites, cities and rainforest. From ancient indigenous Indian sites to Inca cities, we got a taste of ancient Peru. Our time in Lima gave us insight into a modern city and the excursions through the rainforest led us to see animals in the wild.
Date published: 2016-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An amazing trip Every thing was arranged carefully and no flaws. Especially in Machu Picchu, they even arranged a girl to lead us from the bus station to the train station lest we couldn't find our way. Very good service.
Date published: 2016-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peru has amazing history, culture and traditions! We loved every aspect of Peru from the inspiring destinations to the friendly, knowledgeable guides. We also thought the personal and small groups made our trip much more interesting and enjoyable.
Date published: 2016-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I enjoyed Peru very much. Arrangements were excellent. Good hotels, well detailed transfers. Itinerary reflected a lot of expertise and local knowledge. On the ground staff were all first rate and guides very knowledgable.
Date published: 2015-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great experience Hospitality style service while in the country, we been look after everywhere,the tour guide are knowledgeable and helpful, We Heppy with chimu, thanks to Clare who make us trip more enjoyably.
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It took 33 years to see them Everything went perfectly. Hotels were all great, guides all on time and tours as promised. I finally saw the Nazca lines! Flights and boat trip were on the best planes and boats
Date published: 2015-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Peru Blown away by the organisation to make our travelling easy and the level of knowledge, passion for their history and care shown by the guides. Loved everything we saw in Peru.
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Trip! Everything was organised perfectly - guides were always there and efficient, accommodation great and the places visited were magic, many were wow! and wow!
Date published: 2016-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peru has much to offer We saw some amazing things in Peru from Lima to the Amazon. Machu Picchu was wonderful. Did struggle a little tho with the altitude but amazing Country
Date published: 2016-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Variety, diversity, history Everything went smoothly - flights, transfers, hotels. Hotels were 3 star and all were clean and comfortable.
Date published: 2015-12-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing experience - If you are flying into Puno from Lima - make sure you take the altitude tablets early!!
Date published: 2016-09-06
  • y_2017, m_8, d_22, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_42
  • loc_en_AU, sid_peru, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_chimu-adventures
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.3.0.1
  • CLOUD, method:getReviews, 20.27ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Country Information

Peru – Books You Definitely Want To Read

Posted on Mon, 20 Feb 2017

Before travelling to a destination it’s always great to gain an insight into the country, whether that be through a travel guide or maybe by reading a book based on someone else’s travels or adventures in that region. Here are just a few books that you might enjoy before or after your Peru travels. Cloud Road – A Journey Through …

READ MORE

Sustainable Tourism In Peru

Posted on Tue, 06 Dec 2016

Although tourism plays a crucial role in the economy of Peru, there are often resulting adverse effects on the environment and ecosystems caused by the influx of tourists. Sustainable tourism and ecotourism mean conscientious and responsible travel. Conserve the environments you travel through, respect the local communities that you visit and always try to minimise your impact on the natural …

READ MORE

Geography of Peru

Posted on Thu, 10 Nov 2016

Regarding the geography of Peru, Peru lies on the central western coast of South America with the Pacific Ocean to its west. It shares borders with Ecuador and Colombia to the north, Brazil and Bolivia to the east and Chile to the south. It is the third largest country in South America after Brazil and Argentina and it ranks amongst the …

READ MORE

Weather in Peru

Posted on Wed, 09 Nov 2016

The weather and climate in Peru varies greatly depending on the region. The country has many climates and even microclimates that result from the presence of the Andes Mountains and the cold Humboldt Current. The climate across Peru varies from cold with wet summers and dry winters in the Andes, to a hot wet Equatorial climate in the lowlands and …

READ MORE

The Vibrant Folklore Culture in Peru

Posted on Fri, 28 Oct 2016

Peru is well known for the Inca Empire but Peru was the home to many indigenous cultures before the Incas arrived. Peru has a diverse folklore due to the various influences of different cultures and the modern society, visible in the country’s music and dancing. Multi-ethnic Population Peru has a multi-ethnic population with influences from indigenous blood, Spanish colonisation, African slaves …

READ MORE

The Rich Biodiversity of Peru

Posted on Mon, 24 Oct 2016

Peru has a rich biodiversity that results from its varied geography ranging from the high Andes Mountains to the Amazon Rainforest to the coastal regions. Peru boasts over 1,800 species of birds, 500 species of mammals and 300 species of reptiles. Biodiversity in Peru Mammals Rare species include the puma, jaguar, spectacled bear and pink river dolphins. Peru is also …

READ MORE

The History of Peru

Posted on Wed, 12 Oct 2016

The Peru of today was shaped by its interesting and diverse history that dates back to 3000 years B.C and had a significant influence on culture, customs and cuisine of its inhabitants. Even though the complete history is difficult to explain in one blog, here is a brief summary of some of the main events in the history of Peru. Civilisation in …

READ MORE

The Peruvian Cuisine

Posted on Sat, 08 Oct 2016

Peruvian cuisine is very diverse with regions and some cities even having their own specialities depending on geography and climate that in turn dictates available ingredients. Today Peruvian cuisine combines pre-Inca and Inca staples and food with the cuisines that the immigrants from Europe, Africa and Asia brought with them. This has resulted in a unique fusion of foods and …

READ MORE

Frequently Asked Questions

What money do they use in Peru ?

The unit of currency in Peru is the Peruvian Nuevo Sol (PEN). The US Dollar is widely accepted in many stores throughout the country and prices are often given in both US dollars and Soles. Please check websites such as www.oanda.com or www.xe.com for up to date exchange rates prior to your departure.

What language do they speak in Peru?

Spanish is the official language of Peru, spoken by more than 80% of the population. There are also many indigenous languages including Quechua and Aymara. In recent years an increased effort has been made to promote all of the indigenous languages. Aymara was made an official language in the Puno/Lake Titicaca region.

What is the religion of Peru?

Peru’s predominant religion is Roman Catholic although the indigenous Peruvians have blended Catholicism with their traditional beliefs, creating a fascinating mix.

Do I need to be fit to go to Peru ?

The level of fitness needed will depend on the Peru tour that you choose to take in terms of places to be visited and the types of activities to be included on your itinerary. Many parts of Peru are at altitudes above 2000 metres, where there is a risk of altitude sickness. Altitude sickness affects everyone differently and usually has nothing to do with your general fitness level, but we highly recommend acclimatizing at altitude before taking strenuous treks or walks. If you do plan to include a trek whilst you are in Peru, particularly in the Andean highlands, then the fitter you are the easier you will find the trek.

Is it safe to travel in Peru ?

Most South American countries have now recognized that tourism plays an important part in their economies and governments have taken great steps to change South America’s poor security image. Peru has certainly become a much safer place to visit in recent years. You will find a strong police presence in the towns, cities and sites most frequently visited by tourists. To minimise security risks we recommend the following: • do not show any outward signs of wealth or wear expensive jewellery • keep your valuables in your hotel in safety deposit boxes • keep any valuables that you must carry with you hidden, as pickpockets can be present in crowded areas and around tourist areas • use only registered taxis with official identification • avoid going on your own to remote areas/ruins where tourists would not be expected to go • always keep your day pack and camera close to you and never leave them unattended

Do I need a visa to travel to Peru ?

A pre-arranged visa is not required to enter Peru for citizens of the following countries: • Australia • United Kingdom • The United States • Ireland • Canada • New Zealand • European Union • South Africa For other nationalities please visit the website of the relevant consulate.

How long do I need to travel Peru ?

You could spend anything from a few days to a few weeks on your Peru travels, depending on whether you plan to explore the entire country or just focus on one experience such as the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu or an Amazon adventure. Chimu Adventures offers itineraries to suit every time frame.

How much should I budget for daily in Peru?

Our Peru tours include breakfast daily and many other meals may also be included in your itinerary. As a rough guide for additional spending money based on having moderately-priced lunches and dinners and buying a few souvenirs at local markets, we suggest a budget of 20-30 USD per day per person.

Do I need to get vaccinations for Peru?

Although no specific vaccinations are required for Peru travel and no proof of any vaccination is required to enter Peru, we recommend that you visit your doctor or a traveller’s medical centre for current information specific to those places that you will be travelling through. As a general guide we recommend the following: • Yellow Fever – Especially for jungle areas • Hepatitis – Both A and B (twinrix) • Typhoid • Diphtheria • Cholera • Rabies • Tetanus

What kind of power adaptor plug do I need for Peru ?

In Peru the standard voltage is 220V and standard frequency is 60Hz. Power sockets are of types A, B and C. Please visit the below link for more information: http://electricaloutlet.org/

What should I pack to travel in Peru ?

What you need to pack will depend on when and where you plan on travelling and on the activities that you plan to include whilst on your Peru tour. The following should act as a useful checklist of essential items: • Passport, photocopy of passport & spare passport photos • Travel Insurance documents • Air tickets and itinerary • Foreign Currency (US$) and/or debit/credit cards, traveller’s cheques • Money belt • Small daypack • Basic first aid kit • High UVA sun block • Sunglasses & sunhat • Mosquito spray & insect repellent • Comfortable walking shoes/boots • Sandals • Long sleeve tops and trousers • Light-weight clothing • Warm clothing (depending on itinerary and time of year) • Camera with spare battery and memory cards • Security code padlock • Adaptor • Small torch