Hotels We Use

Chimu Adventures prides itself on its range of hotels throughout South and Central America. We avoid using large chain hotels wherever possible, working instead with small, locally owned and run boutique hotels. These range from budget hotels to luxurious lodges and haciendas, with options to suit every budget.

The properties that we select are clean, comfortable, safe and well located, giving easy access to the highlights of the city or area, often adding to the overall experience by their unique design, features or location.

Linked to each itinerary on our website, you will find a list of hotels included on that tour. The tour price is determined by the category of hotels you select and depending on the tour there may be Budget, Standard, Superior and Deluxe hotel options. View our tours to get started:

 


 

 

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent All Round The agents that Chimu used to fulfil my trip at Igauzu in Argentina / Brazil were fantastic, turned up exactly when they said they would, even phoned my hotel when they were running 10 minutes late to pick me up. The staff were enthusiastic, knowledgeable and helpful and the falls are just spectacular. Highlight of my much longer trip. Thank you!
Date published: 2014-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from South America The itinerary all went smoothly, except for a small cliche in Aguas Calientes, but Juan Carlos was straight onto it and it was all sorted within an hour. He was brilliant in Cusco, his advice and professionalism is to be applauded! What an asset , his advice was invaluable, and nothing was too much.A perfectionist.......
Date published: 2015-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Everything was just perfect, expedition staff, hotel staff - all perfect. The ship was amazing, the food fantastic, the free alcohol excellent, the helicopter flights awesome and plentiful. I will be sending Chad and Kieron an email that details everything. Cheers HEIDI
Date published: 2016-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Galapogas, Cusco, jungle The trip went very well, informative, enough relaxation, good food, comfortable rooms, good opportunities to interact with locals, lots of great stories from both guides and fellow travellers. We especially like the jungle trip. It wasn't too hot, no mosquitoes, it didn't rain (we were lucky) and we saw so many creatures from monkeys, birds, tarantulas, snakes and even a fresh jaguar footprint. I did get sick so didn't see Machu Picchu (boo hoo). But the medical attention was good and very prompt.
Date published: 2015-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing short of Exceptional! From my initial consultation with Clare in the Sydney office, I was very impressed. We were embarking on a "bucket list" trip of a lifetime for 4 weeks in South America and Antarctica in March of this year. Clare's selection of hotels were exceptional, and spot on our requests! All transfers turned up on time, and the Chimu team in Cusco really took great care of us when one of us became ill with the altitude. 5 star service, and already planning our next trip with you guys. Well done.
Date published: 2014-08-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Amazonia All went very smoothly with Chimu Adventures and the accommodation was great, but for me the Amazonia was not my most favorite destination!
Date published: 2016-08-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing Trip Flawless seamless pickup/drop offs and tour arrangements with great english speaking guides who all provided us with detailed itinerary for their different areas so we knew exactly what was happening when. The Chimu Staff in both Peru and Chile were excellent and did everything to assists us and make life easy for us. We were a little disappointed however with our Argentine experience with Chimu as it was not like the Peru or Chile experience. We were meet only contract transfer staff (no Chimu staff) none of whom could spoke a word of English. We were taken to our hotel expecting to later be contacted by a Chimu staff member and given a detailed itinerary of pickup times and details of our trips etc. but nothing happened, so we had rang the Chimu office and ask for the detailed itinerary which was then emailed to us.
Date published: 2017-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Argentina, Chile and Antarctica The entire itinerary went smoothly apart from an apparent lack of communication between your Argentinian and Chilean offices. This resulted in us not being met from the bus in Punta Arenas and having to pay for a taxi to our hotel. In addition we had to chase your offices for our bus tickets on 3 occasions, including telephoning your London office when we did not get any response from your Santiago office about our bus tickets from Santiago to Mendoza.
Date published: 2017-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Santiago before Anarctica Doug at Chimu Brisbane organized a fantastic itinerary for the three of us in and around Santiago for 3 days. On the ground local guides Hugo and Christian were fantastic guides and they adjusted the itinerary to suit our requirements (including jewelry shopping). both were very knowledgeable about the activities we were doing and of interesting facts and information about Chile and its people. both were brilliant ambassadors for Chile and Chimu.
Date published: 2017-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chile: Atacama Desert, Patagonia and Santiago Accommodation, flights, meals, tours (and even the weather) were perfect in every way . We spent lots of time walking and enjoying the beauty of Patagonia's scenery and wildlife and then on to watching the magic of seeing flamingo's feed while the sun set over the Atacama Desert. All the Chileans we met were warm and welcoming. Most definately the trip of a lifetime and we will be encouraging all our friends to visit Chile at least once!
Date published: 2014-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from South America and Antarctica All transfers, hotels and daily activities provided excellent services. Great itinerary, however flying straight from Lima to Puno and doing the sillustani route caused pretty bad altitude sickness. Transfers to airports - particularly small domestic flights - arrived way too early which meant a lot of time was spent sitting in airports waiting. Overall we had a great holiday and were very impressed with the service provided.
Date published: 2017-03-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Disappointing but ......................... Everything went smoothly apart from the ship breaking down before we even left port so the cruise had to be cancelled. Nobodies fault, certainly not Chimu. That said we were well looked after by G-Adventures who provided all sorts of facilities, mobile phones etc. to enable us to arrange flights home. Chimu, on hearing of the cancellation contacted us in Ushuaia making sure we were OK & offering their services to get us home.
Date published: 2014-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A trip to remember Having recently returned from a 2 week trip in Antarctica with Chimu Adventures, I would have to say that it was the trip of a lifetime. From towering icebergs to mingling with thousands of penguins - it was the trip of all trips! Chimu Adventures played no small part in that, in fact the knowledge of Matt Sourdin is to be applauded. He picked the right ship for us, and the rest of the arrangements were perfect. Many Thanks.
Date published: 2014-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A very special trip Saw everything I wanted to and more...Easter Island was a gem in amongst seeing wildlife in Antarctica and Galápagos Islands with a few days spent in cities in between. I enjoyed my time in Punta Arenas, but felt unsafe in Rio De Janiero. Quito was architecturally beautiful and didn't see much in Santiago. Loved staying at the Mansion del Rio in Guayaquil too - so close to everything you need to see.
Date published: 2015-03-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Rio - Day Tour Only - Left a lot to be desired! Unfortunately for us, the weather did not compliment the tour! However it could have been overcome should the bus we travelled in was completely enclosed - it had approx 8 seats in air conditioning and the balance of the passengers were out in the very hot sun. The open air bus also meant that you could not hear the commentary from the tour guide which was very disappointing and extremely annoying.
Date published: 2015-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can w go again please? How do I review for Chimu Adventures? Too many words to mention. Everything was exceptional, guides were knowledgeable, and always eager to help. The teams on the ground were super friendly and a credit to your organisation. Thankyou for the experience of a lifetime. Having booked in the past with other companies and having constant issues, everything was a dream. We will be back.
Date published: 2015-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great experience! We used Chimu Adventures for transfers and a guided tour from the Argentinian to Brazilian side of Iguazu Falls. Our transfers and crossing the border went very smoothly. The guided tour of the Brazilian side was informative and our guide was interesting and friendly. The Falls are amazing, and having a guide with us at the border crossing was very helpful.
Date published: 2016-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unforgetable trip to Mexico This small group packaged tour of Mexico went without a hitch. Guides and transport connections were punctual and friendly.
Date published: 2014-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Professional Planning - Great Itinerary We recently returned from a trip to South America organised by CHIMU Sydney. We did an Amazon River Adventure and a Galapagos Islands Cruise with a tour of Lima and Quito in between. The whole trip was professionally planned and organised and ran smoothly. Both adventures were amazing - well-paced, full of unique experiences and professionally managed.
Date published: 2016-12-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hobart Antarctica Festival An easy paced extended weekend at Hobart which included support for the Mawson's Huts Foundation. The highlights for me included the dinner speech by Peter Hilary, the opportunity to clamber over the two Antarctic Supply ships and the coastal tour of Bruny Island. Great opportunity to renew friendships with people from a previous trip to Antarctica.
Date published: 2016-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Viva Mexico! Mexico was wonderful! From the sites and sounds of the markets in Oaxaca to the beauty of the beaches of Playa del Carmen and surrounds, the trip was amazing. Our driver Miguel in Playa was incredible, and the highlight of our trip was when he invited us to his home for a meal with his family. The Mexican hospitality was as warm as the legend!
Date published: 2014-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Galapagos and Inca Trail I have made many trips to all parts of the world and I must say that none were smoother or better organised that this one. We were met everywhere we expected to be met and the staff were always very punctual and professional. I would not hesitate to make further bookings through Chimu. Well done!!
Date published: 2014-10-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Peru and Ecuador All transfers were on time. Guides were knowledgeable and courteous. Accommodation met our expectations. Length of time for stays was appropriate. Some of the information received regarding the cruises in The Amazon ( arrival and departure times) and Galapagos (luggage allowance) was not correct.
Date published: 2016-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from delivers all promises As a first time travelled to South America I appreciated all the care and attention Simon provided to answer all questions.Everything he arranged happened pretty much like clockwork giving us maximum independence with logistics of flights, trains,boats, accommodation and all the links,sorted 100%
Date published: 2014-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing trip !!! I would not hesitate to recommend Chimu to friends. Every transfer was on time. All information in each country was thorough and every representative from Chimu was fantastic. We had a wonderful holiday with wonderful friends and the itinerary was fantastic with very few hiccups.
Date published: 2016-12-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just a "heads up!" My experience was that CA was not the provider of my trip; they were just marketing it. As a result, they did not know of the provider's preparations and advice to the traveler. Result: when you get to the trip, there will inevitably be some surprises. Be ready to be flexible.
Date published: 2016-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Promised and Delivered The organisation of our trip was faultless. With 13 flights in 3 weeks we expected some challenges, but everything that Chimu organised went according to plan. The staff in Peru were fabulous, going out of their way to assist us to make the most of our time in Lima and Cusco.
Date published: 2016-06-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Retracing Shackleton's journey A childhood desire became an incredible adventure for me.The overall review doesn't seem to allow for input in some questions.I had nothing to do with selecting or booking my trip,some N/A may help here.There is no provision to make comments unless you backtrack to this box.
Date published: 2017-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant trip and such great value Merida ( Yucatan-Mexico) wonderful colonial city and close to the Mayan archaeological sites. Hotel Caribe was stunning and right in the centre of the town Guide was fantastic to the sites and Chechen Itza was brilliant. Great memories and excellent value for the money
Date published: 2014-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chimu Adventures is Very Reliable Excellent advice on destinations and accommodation - great attention to details, matching transfers to flight times - very helpful when hotel (not booked through Chimu) failed to pass on transfer details. This is a very reliable and supportive travel agent.
Date published: 2016-01-18
  • y_2017, m_6, d_23, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_95
  • loc_en_AU, sid_chimu-adventures-service, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_chimu-adventures
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.3.0.1
  • CLOUD, method:getReviews, 10.54ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT