Skip to main content

Falkland Islands

Search Falkland Islands:

TRAVELLING TO Falkland Islands

Head east for nearly 500 kilometres from South America’s southern Patagonian coast and you will reach the remote, isolated and ruggedly beautiful archipelago of the Falkland Islands. Falkland Islands Antarctica cruises allow you to explore these sparsely inhabited islands, with their rough windswept terrain, coastal wetlands, beautiful white sand beaches and dramatic rock faces set against stunning skies. Comprising more than 750 islands in the South Atlantic Ocean, the Falkland Islands are a haven for wildlife - home to large colonies of elephant seals and fur seals, vast populations of black-browed albatrosses and other abundant birdlife including five species of breeding penguin.

Surrounded by decades of controversy, the Falkland Islands (or Islas Malvinas as they are known in Argentina) have been settled and claimed by France, Spain, Britain and Argentina. Travel to the Falkland Islands will give you an insight into the area’s fascinating history and reveal some of the haunting relics and memorials of war. The colourful seaside town and capital, Port Stanley, boasts many reminders of its British heritage including a selection of traditional English-style pubs, old red phone boxes and numerous Land Rovers - in fact some say that the people here are more British than the British themselves!

Set sail on a Falkland Islands Antarctica cruise and discover this unique part on the world, one of the rare places on Earth where nature and man live in harmony.  

[ Continue Reading ]

Head east for nearly 500 kilometres from South America’s southern Patagonian coast and you will reach the remote, isolated and ruggedly beautiful archipelago of the Falkland Islands. Falkland Islands Antarctica cruises allow you to explore these sparsely inhabited islands, with their rough windswept terrain, coastal wetlands, beautiful white sand beaches and dramatic rock faces set against stunning skies. Comprising more than 750 islands in the South Atlantic Ocean, the Falkland Islands are a haven for wildlife - home to large colonies of elephant seals and fur seals, vast populations of black-browed albatrosses and other abundant birdlife including five species of breeding penguin.

Surrounded by decades of controversy, the Falkland Islands (or Islas Malvinas as they are known in Argentina) have been settled and claimed by France, Spain, Britain and Argentina. Travel to the Falkland Islands will give you an insight into the area’s fascinating history and reveal some of the haunting relics and memorials of war. The colourful seaside town and capital, Port Stanley, boasts many reminders of its British heritage including a selection of traditional English-style pubs, old red phone boxes and numerous Land Rovers - in fact some say that the people here are more British than the British themselves!

Set sail on a Falkland Islands Antarctica cruise and discover this unique part on the world, one of the rare places on Earth where nature and man live in harmony.  

[ Read Less ]

WHY TRAVEL WITH CHIMU ADVENTURES

  • We are true Polar specialists. Almost every Chimu team member has travelled to either Antarctica or the Arctic and collectively we have experienced over 50 expeditions.

  • You can choose from over 130 cruises to Antarctica and the Arctic,including itineraries aboard our own charter vessels.

  • We have inspected and continue to thoroughly research each individual vessel we work with, selecting only those with environmental, safety and value credentials.

  • We know all things Polar by heart and will work with you to determine which ship and itinerary is best suited to your needs.

  • Travellers visit the Polar regions for different reasons so whether your interests are wildlife or photography, or Antarctic activities such as snowshoeing and kayaking, we can work around you for the perfect trip.

  • From your initial enquiry until your trip ends, you will be assigned a personal Destination Specialist who will offer a full service for your travel needs: we can book flights, insurance and any ancillary travel required to complete your journey.

FEATURED Falkland Islands TRIPS & DEALS

Up to 30% off

In
Shackleton's Wake

CHIMU EXCLUSIVE FROM AUD 11,990
was AUD 17,128

Visiting the Falklands, South Georgia and the Antarctic Peninsula, in this exclusive charter, unique...

View Offer

Falkland Islands & Antarctica Peninsula Discovery

19 NIGHTS

The Ocean Endeavour

Set sail aboard the comfortable and spacious polar expedition vessel, the Ocean Endeavour, to discov...

View trip

Songs in the South with Paul Kelly

20 NIGHTS FROM AUD 17,995

The Ocean Endeavour

In March 2021, iconic Australian singer-songwriter, Paul Kelly, will be joining Chimu Adventures for...

View trip

Falkland Islands CRUISES

BLOGS ON Falkland Islands

Whether you are looking for advice on when to travel to Antarctica or the Arctic, which ship to travel on or which itinerary will suit you best, Chimu blogs are likely to have it covered. The range of topics is vast, with new and fascinating blogs being added regularly. There is ship information, guides about the activities you can do in the Polar regions, what to pack and what not to pack, and even blogs on various Polar explorers!

READ NOW

Falkland Islands REVIEWS

All Chimu Adventures' clients are given the opportunity to review their trip once they return home. These reviews are administered by a third party and as such are unfiltered by Chimu Adventures.

Falkland Islands

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Antarctic Adventure Well organised tour overall. Great information on Antarctica from experts on the cruise across Drake Passage. Fantastic landings with great scenery and wildlife. Everything ran smoothly. The ship's catering was great.
Date published: 2019-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Trip. The entire trip was well organised and everything went smoothly.
Date published: 2019-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The trip is so organised, the staffs are looking after us so well. I felt safe and well informed all the ways. I told everyone how good is the trip.
Date published: 2019-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most Amazing trip ever We had high expectations but we were blown away by our experiences
Date published: 2019-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top holiday Everything went to plan. All was above expedition expedations. I had a great time, the ships crew were very experienced. What a great adventure.
Date published: 2019-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trip of a lifetime My lifetime wish to visit Antarctica was fulfilled beyond my wildest dreams in every aspect of the trip including the Force 10 storm while crossing the Drake Passage! It was fantastic.
Date published: 2019-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Antarctica I would definitely recommend booking a trip to Antarctica through Chimu. From the first landing in Buenos Aires - where there was someone to meet me at the airport to take me to the amazing hotel Dazzler Recoleta which was walking distance to the Le Recoleta cemetery. Chimu had organised pick ups both to and from the airports - to Ushuaia and back. The trip itself was jaw dropping. The crew on the ship were amazing - how they managed to stay upright during the Drake Crossing helping passengers in the dining room during meals. The food was amazing -(be prepared to come home heavier) - it caters to all dietary needs.The scenery was incredible -the penguins, orcas and all the other wildlife we encountered. I was so impressed that there are a few of us who will be doing the Arctic trip in 2021. The only thing I would suggest is that those who may have problems climbing the glanciers (which can be very slippery) is to take retractable hiking poles to give a bit of support - a few on my group used them. Other than that - take an open mind - some things may get cancelled - such as shore landings due to ice flow - but the crew do their very best to get us to shore or out on zodiacs - but safety will always come first.. So in closing - do it - get out there and see the most amazing place in the world.
Date published: 2019-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Once in a lifetime trip This is the third time I have used Chimu, and they have once again organised a perfect trip. All transfers were on time, accommodation in handy locations along with being (mostly) of the boutique type. Antarctica with Chimu's Poseidon expedition was very well organised and professional. Chimu Argentina worked hard to obtain alternate flights when our plane was grounded, making sure we made our home flight in time.
Date published: 2019-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Impossibly amazing trip The entire cruise was seamless, from the blue skies to the calm blue seas. Service onboard was fantastic and the service from Viva in the lead up to my cruise was outstanding.
Date published: 2019-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even better than expected Everything about this trip was exceptional and went beyond what were already lofty expectations - the locations, activities, ship and crew. This is a must for the bucket list.
Date published: 2019-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Met every expectation and more! The team were excellent - from booking (thank you Clem) to the expedition team and the ship crew. Everyone made sure we got the best experience ever.
Date published: 2019-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Memorable experiences No problems with the trip. It was well organised. A bit of down time could have been beneficial.
Date published: 2019-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Totally Amazing Very well organised and well run. Spectacular scenery and wildlife. Never expected to get so close to penguins. The boat was very comfortable and just the right size for this type of trip.
Date published: 2019-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Antarctic February 2019 Destinations and excursions terrific, but trip in reality less time than advertised
Date published: 2019-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The most wonderful experience. A most professionally run expedition. Cannot speak highly enough of all staff and crew
Date published: 2019-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not to be missed, truely amazing Faultless presentation and detail to attention. Met our expectations in every sense.
Date published: 2019-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magical, surreal Well organised, flexible itinerary allowed us to achieve most landings
Date published: 2019-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievably fantastic Indescribable trip. Everything was perfect from size of cabin to every excursion. The staff/crew on the boat were fabulous, the boat was great, beds comfortable with great doonas, the excursions and landings were amazing, the food was delicious. The whole trip was so much better than I ever could have anticipated. I would highly recommend this trip.
Date published: 2019-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Had perfect weather and drake crossing. Got further south than we imagined we ever would
Date published: 2019-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A superb cruise to Antarctica The Cruise was very successful with excellent weather enabling us to see the superb landscape and wildlife of Antarctica at its best . We were lucky to be able to cruise the LeMaire Passage being only the second ship to do this during the Summer 2018/19 and to be able to see Nepune's Window Beach on Deception Island which our Zodiac driver had only seen three times in ten years in the Antarctic. The ship Ocean Atlantic was very comfortable and the service and food of a very high standard. The lectures were delivered by highly qualified lecturers resulting in a very enjoyable and well organised visit to the most remote part of the World
Date published: 2019-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Antarctic Adventure Found the trip both enjoyable and informative. Staff on board ship were very helpful.
Date published: 2019-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Antarctica Cruise The ten day cruise was an excellent value with the eight Zodiac boat excursions included in the price. Our Vegan Antarctica group appreciated having our own separate dining room with delicious cruelty-free food choices. The expedition guides were very professional and knowledgeable. The accommodations were very basic and old. The cabin was the smallest and least comfortable of any ship I have been on. However, the magnificence of Antarctica was worth it!
Date published: 2019-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceeded Expectations The crew were excellent and so enthusiastic, Nothing was too much trouble. I felt safety was paramount and the places we visited were spectacular. Loved the kayaking and the wildlife we saw. The trip was fabulous from start to finish with each day bringing something new to experience.
Date published: 2019-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Antarctica The expedition was very well organised by gadventures, an the accommodation,airport pick up's, organised tour in Ushuaia etc were excellent.
Date published: 2019-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Once in a lifetime I went to South Georgia Island and Antartica on the Ocean Endeavour. It was a fantastic trip!
Date published: 2019-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trip of a lifetime Chimu booked our trip to the Antarctic on the Expedition ship with G adventures. The entire experience was utterly fabulous and efficiently arranged for the maximum highlights and experiences, especially the zodiac visits to the islands we passed. Accommodation, food, staffing...everything was suberb.
Date published: 2019-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Antarctica 10 day Fly/Cruise Our trip to Antarctica was everything we imagined and more. The entire trip from start to finish was wonderful. All our connections were well coordinated and we were looked after from booking time through to the end of the trip.
Date published: 2019-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Antarctica The expedition team were fantastic. Extremely knowledgeable and helpful. Most importantly very aware of the environment. The whole trip went very smoothly even the weather was kind to us.
Date published: 2019-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Antarctica We went on MS Expedition to Antarctica. On board were the Expedition team who made sure we had a great trip. Once there, it was great to go ashore in the zodiacs, do short hikes in the snow and get close to the penguins and other wildlife. The scenery is just stunning.
Date published: 2019-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Antarctica is unique An Antarctic expedition cruise by its very nature is unpredictable, as weather and seas play a major part in what is possible. January 2018's Spirit of Shackleton cruise was relative free of weather/seas problems, and was most enjoyable. Being so close to an albatross rookery in the Falklands, and so many king penguins and fur seals on South Georgia was extraordinary.
Date published: 2019-02-22
  • y_2019, m_11, d_7, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_275
  • loc_en_AU, sid_antarctica, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_chimu-adventures
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.3.0.1
  • CLOUD, method:getReviews, 3.53ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Video

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

A high level of fitness is not necessary for Falkland Islands Antarctica Cruises, but you need to be in good health as although there is generally a doctor on board the ships, you are a long way from any other medical assistance. The majority of activities are focused around shore excursions and zodiac cruising and so you need to be agile and able-bodied enough to climb into and out of the inflatable zodiacs from both the ship and the shore. On shore landings you may need to negotiate uneven and slippery ground. Shore excursions generally involve some walking.

All of our tours are 100% tried and tested to ensure that when you travel with us, you are doing so in a controlled and safe environment with trained experts. We consistently monitor weather conditions and will always provide you with the best possible adventure without risk of injury to you or the vessel. While some landings and activities may need to be rescheduled or cancelled due to weather, every effort is made to have a contingency plan should such conditions become a reality during your expedition. Chimu have been the experts in Falkland Islands and Antarctic travel for well over 10 years and use our vast experience and knowledge when picking the vessels we sell to provide you with an adventure that is unforgettable for all the right reasons.

Cruise ship passengers do not need a visa to visit the Falkland Islands and participate in shore excursions. If you are flying into Port Stanley to board a Falkland Islands Antarctica Cruise, or if you are planning to spend additional time in the Falkland Islands before or after your cruise, you may need a visa. Visas are not required by citizens of Australia, New Zealand, UK, Ireland, European Union, Canada, USA and South Africa. Citizens of other countries are advised to contact their nearest British Embassy or Consulate to check visa requirements for the Falkland Islands.

If your Falkland Islands Antarctica cruise is departing from an Argentinian port such as Ushuaia, no pre-arranged visa is required to enter Argentina by citizens of the UK, Australia, Ireland, European Union, New Zealand, Canada, South Africa and the USA. Other nationalities should check with their closest Argentinean embassy or consulate.

Australian, Canadian and USA citizens must pay a "reciprocity fee" to enter Argentina. This is not a visa, but a fee based on the fees that Argentinean citizens pay for visas to these countries. The fee must be paid online and in advance for arrival at all airports. 

Falkland Islands Antarctica cruises that set sail from Ushuaia generally arrive and start exploring the Falkland Islands on Day 3. From South Georgia or Elephant Island there are usually 2 days at sea before reaching the Falkland Islands. Some tours fly from Punta Arenas in Chile to Port Stanley and embark on the ship in Port Stanley.    

Most Falkland Islands Antarctica cruises typically spend 2 days exploring the Falkland Islands on their way to or from South Georgia and/or the Antarctic Peninsula.