Falkland Islands Cruises & Tours

Head east for nearly 500 kilometres from South America’s southern Patagonian coast and you will reach the remote, isolated and ruggedly beautiful archipelago of the Falkland Islands. Falkland Islands Antarctica cruises allow you to explore these sparsely inhabited islands, with their rough windswept terrain, coastal wetlands, beautiful white sand beaches and dramatic rock faces set against stunning skies. Comprising more than 750 islands in the South Atlantic Ocean, the Falkland Islands are a haven for wildlife - home to large colonies of elephant seals and fur seals, vast populations of black-browed albatrosses and other abundant birdlife including five species of breeding penguin.
 
Surrounded by decades of controversy, the Falkland Islands (or Islas Malvinas as they are known in Argentina) have been settled and claimed by France, Spain, Britain and Argentina. Travel to the Falkland Islands will give you an insight into the area’s fascinating history and reveal some of the haunting relics and memorials of war. The colourful seaside town and capital, Port Stanley, boasts many reminders of its British heritage including a selection of traditional English-style pubs, old red phone boxes and numerous Land Rovers - in fact some say that the people here are more British than the British themselves!
 
Set sail on a Falkland Islands Antarctica cruise and discover this unique part on the world, one of the rare places on Earth where nature and man live in harmony.  
 

"It was so awesome making landings and getting up close to the icebergs, whales, penguins and seals...I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone who is considering a trip to Antarctica" - Carly

Read Reviews (Avg 4.8 ★)
 
0

Featured Falkland Islands Trips & Deals

AMAZING  From 12,145

This 17-day adventure introduces you to the highlights of the southern hemisphere as you fly from historic and vibrant Buenos Aires to Ushuaia to board the MS Midnatsol, bound for Antarctica and the Falklands. 

INCREDIBLE  From 17,115

This epic 23-day voyage sets sail from Ushuaia to explore the Falkland Islands and South Georgia, the ‘Serengeti of the Southern Ocean’, en route to the remote ice wilderness of Antarctica.

CHIMU EXCLUSIVE  From 15,700

This exclusive charter, unique to Chimu Adventures and aboard the Ocean Atlantic, will be trailing in the wake of Sir Ernest Shackleton. 

Falkland Islands Cruises

20 NIGHTS From 19,495

This is an epic voyage of discovery aboard the Ocean Endeavour, as you follow in the footsteps of Shackleton and unearth the secrets of Antarctica, South Georgia and the Falklands. 

20 NIGHTS From 17,995

Set sail from Ushuaia aboard the Ocean Endeavour. Cross the Drake Passage to the world’s most remote continent, Antarctica

21 NIGHTS From 13,999

Time to tick Antarctica off your bucket list? Cruise South Georgia, the Falkland Islands and Antarctica for a mixt of the most amazing wildlife & scenery.

16 NIGHTS From 19,564

A 17-day expedition taking you to the impressive Falkland Islands & South Georgia, before reaching an enchanting Polar desert & the mythical Antarctic Circle at the end of the world.

20 NIGHTS From 18,599

Experience vast penguin rookeries & seal colonies on this awe-inspiring voyage to Antarctica, South Georgia & the Falkland Islands on the M/S Expedition.

11 NIGHTS From 15,560

On this exceptional 11-day voyage, we explore the South Shetland Islands, the spectacular waters of the Antarctic Peninsula & then the Weddell Sea.

Articles On Falkland Islands

Best Things To Do in South and Central America – NOVEMBER Guide

Posted on Mon, 15 Oct 2018

As the southern summer season takes hold of a great part of the South America, now is the time to explore the more remote regions of Patagonia, the normally crowded big-name attractions in Peru and Bolivia, as well as the hot-spot of Colombia, where rains subside. November is a brilliant month to travel almost anywhere in Latin America, as the …

READ MORE

Visit the Pantanal and Meet Some of the World’s Strangest Creatures

Posted on Sun, 14 Oct 2018

You know you’re approaching an otherworldly place when the street sign tells you to watch out for an animal that seems to have been inspired by a science-fiction book. Sure, it kind of looks like a mouse…but how big would it have to be to warrant a SIGN?! Remote and pristine, the Pantanal was established as a UNESCO World Heritage …

READ MORE

Latin America Travel – Best Souvenirs That Won’t End Up in a Drawer

Posted on Fri, 12 Oct 2018

We admit that when travelling, sometimes, it is simply easier to dedicate just a couple of hours of our last day to hitting a gargantuan tourist market and filling up a small suitcase full of fridge magnets, key-chains and snow-globes that glow in the dark. Because, really, who wants to waste time and money buying stuff for friends back home …

READ MORE

Last Minute Bookings To Antarctica. Is It Possible?

Posted on Wed, 10 Oct 2018

Antarctica is a beautiful and majestic place and a must do on many people’s bucket list, but what options are there if you feel you may have missed out because of common issues such as lack of time, slight forgetfulness or low to high volumes of procrastination? We are here to let you know that there are still options for …

READ MORE

Crystal Endeavor- Where Luxury Meets Expedition

Posted on Tue, 09 Oct 2018

Many ships have braved the seas of the Polar regions and many have been specially designed for the distinct conditions, however, the Crystal Endeavor reaches new heights in the world of Polar vessels, being ‘the first purpose-built mega yacht that is Polar Code compliant’. The Crystal Endeavor has challenged and introduced exceptional new standards in expedition cruising and absolute luxury. …

READ MORE

Heads Up! Your Wildlife Guide to the Andes Mountains

Posted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018

Your comprehensive guide to South America’s Andes Mountains – one mesmerizing wildlife treat at a time South America’s most defining topographical feature is home to some of its most iconic creatures. Although many first-time visitors simply include some section of the Andes Mountain range in their itinerary for the sole purpose of being overawed by a wall of sky-high peaks …

READ MORE

National Geographic’s World’s Best Eco-lodges – Latin America Cleans Up!

Posted on Thu, 04 Oct 2018

National Geographic has just released its collection of World’s Best Eco-lodges and we certainly weren’t surprised to find that, out of the 44 worldwide contenders, Latin America is home to 12.  We’ve long-since known that Latin America offers a wealth of options for those who love exploring and love Mother Nature, in equal measure, and have been dedicated to offering …

READ MORE

Wildlife Watching in Brazil – Amazon VS the Pantanal

Posted on Thu, 04 Oct 2018

One amazing country – two magnificent wildlife powerhouses. Which one is best to visit? Wildlife-enthusiasts looking for an exceptional journey in Brazil will undoubtedly come to the same decision crossroads: should they visit the largest rainforest on earth…or the largest wetlands? Whilst the Amazon Rainforest may be the most famous and celebrated wildlife-watching destination in Brazil, the Pantanal is, by …

READ MORE

Why Travelling With a Purpose is the Best Way to Travel

Posted on Wed, 03 Oct 2018

There are more options for meaningful travel, out there, than humans on our planet and that’s because purpose, by its very definition, is an immensely personal perspective. Whether you travel to volunteer or learn a new language or to satisfy a particular personal challenge (hike a mountain in every country, watch a soccer match in every city or hike through …

READ MORE

The Most Sensational Hiking Trails in Chile (That Aren’t The W-Trek)

Posted on Tue, 02 Oct 2018

You’re an avid hiker and you already know that the W-trek is Chile’s #1 must-do trail. Time to discover what other sensational hiking trails the country has to offer. Chile’s recent announcement of the opening of a brand-new hiking trail, which effectively links three of its most impressive routes in Patagonia to form one colossal, 2800km odyssey, will certainly help …

READ MORE

Falkland Islands Cruise Reviews

All Chimu Adventures' clients are given the opportunity to review their trip once they return home. These reviews are administered by a third party and as such are unfiltered by Chimu Adventures.

Rated 5 out of 5 by from A trip out of this world 10 days trip to Antarctic Peninsular. A bit shaky across the Drake Passage, as was expected, otherwise a beautiful sailing between the islands and icebergs. Lots of landings to see the native inhabitants with hundreds of Penguins, also Wales, Seals, Birds and Orcas. The staff on board were terrific and so helpful. The food was enough with a good breakfast and two 3 coarse meals (lunch and dinner) with fruit and afternoon snacks available. The cooking was a bit plain at times but still eatable. All in all, a terrific trip, quiet unforgettable.
Date published: 2015-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Antactic. A once in a lifetime experience. All pickups and tours organised by Chimu were on time and well organised. Unfortunately the same cannot be said for LAN Airlines. Only 2 of our flights were on time. One flight was double booked, causing problems catching a connecting flight. On another occasion the aircraft needed to be unloaded and changed and this particular flight was the one taking us to Ushuaia to meet the boat. However the trip to the Antarctic made up for all LAN,s failings. The ships crew and expedition staff were extremely helpful, professional and very knowledgable and ensured safety of passengers at all times. Nothing was a problem. The scenery and wildlife can only be described a spectacular. It is impossible to take a bad photograph.
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing trip for a first time overseas traveller The whole trip from start to finish was well organised. Every transfer was on time and the staff on the MV Ushuaia were all skilled and willing to assist in any way possible to ensure our trip was the best it could be. The food that came out of the small galley was well prepared and fresh. Vegetarians were also well looked after. There was only one choice for each meal, but this is to be expected with limited supplies able to be carried on board. I'm still trying to find the right words to explain Antarctica itself. It embodies the true meaning of "awesome" as we were truly in awe of the pristine beauty & wildness.
Date published: 2015-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible Just returned from an amazing trip with Chimu to Antarctica and the Falkland Islands. We were due to visit South Georgia however with some bad luck for one of our fellow passengers and some bad weather to boot we did miss this part sadly. We saw an incredible array of wildlife, and I feel the trip was well handled. We had some wonderful weather and the guides onboard the sea spirit were first class. The mood on board did turn a bit sour when it was seen that we would miss South Georgia, but our trip leader Chad Carey (a Chimu director) handled it wonderfully. The trip was billed as expedition and indeed it was from the outset! I have travelled enough to know things don’t always go your way, and I will travel with you again anytime! See you in the Arctic next year!
Date published: 2018-04-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed with Chimu and Oceanwide M/V Plancius ANTARCTICA  CHIMU ADVENTURES /OCEANWIDE EXPEDITIONS REVIEW Antarctica will never disappoint and that’s clear from the moment you being your voyage. HOW you get there and WHO facilitates your journey is a massive decision and, unfortunately, I think that Chimu and Oceanwide fell well short of reasonable expectations throughout the trip. The booking process was fairly straight forward in that I had already done so much research that I didn’t need to spend a lot of time with them going back and forth about ships, cabins, budgets, etc. The “Basecamp” cruise sounded intriguing and I, foolishly, didn’t ask a lot of questions BUT they also didn’t offer a lot of information beyond the basic information. I’d like to think that Chimu would not sell this cruise based on my comments, later in this document, because the cruise itself was so poor that they should be weary of referring clients. Overall, Chimu do not provide any real level of nuanced customer service. They sign you up and take the money. Other guests on the same cruise were sent hats, packing cubes, customized fleece, etc. – not with Chimu. There is no “we’re happy to have you as a client and want repeat business” attitude with Chimu. I asked about Patagonia extensions, etc. and those questions were never met. Apparently you can go and select your cabin on a website- again this was never articulated by Chimu nor was I ever asked where I’d like to be located within my cabin category. The bare bones nature of this cruise (again captured in this document) was never expressed and that was hugely disappointing and frustrating. Having to drop my luggage (vs. the ship picking from the hotel), loading and unloading kayaks, packing and drying the ship’s camping kit, etc. were all elements that should have been fully revealed. I did not sign up for nor did I pay for a “DIY” cruise but that’s exactly what I got and I hold Chimu wholly responsible for that as it’s their job to know the details of every package they sell. The ship is older (and I knew that) but older doesn’t have to mean worn down and tatty. I read online that the food was “good” and ample – nothing extraordinary and that was fine with me. I knew I was sacrificing the “sexy” part of a cruise by not booking with Heb Sky and/or Ocean Diamond (for example) in exchange for some activities and more time on shore but by no means was I prepared for the wholly poor food served—(and if you’re a vegetarian or vegan you should forget this cruise and cruise line entirely). Overboiled vegetables (the same ones over and over again) and overcooked meat do not begin to address the unlimited culinary choices in today’s food market. This cruise is “physical” and demanding to an extent and lunch will almost never address the high caloric protein-centric intake (not just carbs/sugar) that one would expect. Ocean Diamond and Heb Sky are slightly more expensive ships – and I knew that – but if I knew that paying an addiitonal $1500US was going to exponentially improve my experience beyond activities I would have never booked Plancius. The crew are worn thin and haggard on this cruise. The expedition guides, save for just two or three, are not professional guides in that they were almost all on the cruise on their own “working holidays” to get a chance to come to Antarctica and that meant that their lack of professional, cruise guiding experience became a very glaring component to all days as they simply do not have the skills to communicate, direct, and engage guests. They often kept to themselves, rather than socialize with the guests which is very strange, and were, at times, understandably grouchy. Again, this was another area where this cruise felt very “bare bones”—woefully understaffed and the guides that were on board lacked experience and that was palpable from the on-shore experience to even their very dismal presentations. An excerpt from my trip report states, “Crew  could  have  been  much  more  informative  –  I  found  that  the  briefings  once  on  shore were  limited  if  not  totally  nonexistent.  When  you  get  off  the  zodiac,  you  are  told  where to  walk  and  what  to  see  and  that’s  about  it.  It  would  have  been  really  great  if  there  had been  a  “walking  tour”  of  each  site  and  if  you  were  notified  by  the  crew  if  there  was anything  of  interest  to  see  (chicks,  whale  bones,  seals,  etc.).  I  found  myself overhearing  most  of  the  information  I  wanted  or  needed  from  one  of  the  crew  walkie talkies  –  so  imagine  if  you’re  not  listening,  don’t  speak  English,  or  didn’t  know  to  listen  to “walkie  chatter”.  It  really  felt  as  though  these  guides  didn’t  know  how  to  be  with  guests beyond  their  specialty  –  so  if  you’re  the  mountaineering  guide,  you  don’t  actually  have the  skills  to  guide  people  on  shore,  etc.  –  you  only  speak  mountaineering.  And  that would  be  okay  if  there  were  other  crew  for  the  onshore  part  of  the  journey.  But  they don’t  and/or  aren’t  paying  attention  as  they  all  have  their  own  personal  agendas  (some expedition  crew  were  very  busy  with  their  cameras  and  not  paying  attention  to  guests). The  expedition  crew  are  friendly  but  they  lack  fundamental  people  skills  and  experience and  it’s  palpable  on  the  cruise. There  were  multiple  moments  missed  because  this  crew  didn’t  communicate  properly  – we  all  missed  wildlife,  whale  bones,  etc.  because  they  simply  didn’t  know  how  to communicate,  want  to  communicate  or  apparently  don’t  have  the  crew  numbers  to make  that  communication  meaningful  and  that  is  my  biggest  complaint  of  this  cruise  and I’ll  keep  going  back  to  it  –  it’s  woefully  understaffed.  You  will  get  no  personal  attention to  detail  and  you  will  miss  many  things  because  they  were  not  communicated  in  a  way that  works  for  tourists  standing  on  shore  of  an  island.  And  this  is  the  massive  departure between  this  cruise  and  what  I  imagine  a  Nat  Geo  (or  other  more  expensive  cruise)  to be  and  it’s  a  massive  learning  curve.  I  did  not  understand  that  “older  ship  and  perhaps a  bit  less  luxurious”  meant  that  they  would  skimp  on  the  crew  –  but  they  did.  This cruise,  I  would  estimate,  runs  at  an  enormous  margin  as  a  lot,  if  not  all,  of  the  expedition crew  were  on  their  own  holiday  and  “working  the  trip”  to  get  to  Antarctica  and  you  can feel  it  in  the  way  they  do  their  work,  relate  to  guests,  etc.  –  they  are  not  professional cruise  guides.  Quite  a  few  have  their  own  companies  and  they  took  the  work,  absent any  real  pay,  to  gain  experience  to  further  their  own  businesses  which  doesn’t  sit  well with  me  –  I  felt  like  I  was  “investing”  in  someone  else’s  future  earnings.” New Headings were an excellent company for gear rental and I would never purchase the same items I could rent from them in the future. In all, any company can take your money and place a booking – or you can just go direct to the company that controls the ship in this case with Oceanwide. But a true travel company/agent/consultant invests time to make sure that you are fully aware of all facets of a package before you commit – Chimu in no way met that standard. This cruise feels like a money earner – crew come and work for free, the rest of the crew no doubt work for bare wages, and guests “chip in” to make activities happen. The food is below average and the ship is poorly maintained so much so that even the linens and pillows are in dire need of replacing. This is Oceanwide’s “money maker” and you’ll feel it every day. Rebecca Chandler M/V Plancius 18-29 December 2017
Date published: 2018-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Voyage of a lifetime This journey was exceptional. All that was arranged just fell into place. Hotel accommodation went smoothly and location perfect. The voyage itself was exceptional from the friendliness and professionalism of the crew to the ships accommodation and facilities, the expedition itinerary could not be faulted. I would highly recommend the MS Expedition and will sail with them again.Also I will not hesitate to use Chimu Adventure for future travel
Date published: 2015-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fab kayaking This was not my choice of holiday, but it has been on my husband's shortlist since he was a boy. He had a great time. It was pretty much as I expected and planned for, but the kayaking was fabulous. I might have gone stir crazy without the opportunity to get away from the crowd and to be almost alone in tne splendour. The trip cost a lot of money, but it was extremely well planned and run, and not expensive. Please not that gender is a social construct and not a biological fact.
Date published: 2015-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply Incredible Antarctica Antarctica has been on my bucket list for decades, and I decided early last year that it was time for me to to take the plunge and go on this incredible journey. Having recently lost my wife to cancer, I was thrilled to see this trip with Chimu Adventures raising money for Breast Cancer care. After looking at several companies and many different ships, I called up Chimu and received incredible service from the word go. Nothing was too much effort and the whole process was made very easy. I undertook a 4 week trip with Chimu Adventures including a side visit to Peru and Argentina. Everything was faultless. Antarctica was the crowning glory - simply majestic. I cannot put into words the impact it had on me. Thank you Chimu for a wonderful voyage superbly hosted by Greg Carter. I'll be back when I save some more pennies!
Date published: 2016-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from epic antarctica This was the best group tour I have EVER been on. From contact with Staff at Chimu at time of booking to leaving the ship in Ushuaia at the end of our Journey. I travelled on the MV Ushuaia and ALL the Staff and Crew went 'above and beyond' in making sure everyone had the best time possible. Their commitment to customer service is immeasurable and the Expedition Leaders knowledge, insight and love of Antarctica supported their passion for this wondrous land. This is a journey that will stay with me forever! Thank You, Chimu
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Once in a Lifetime Best adventure ever! The staff were incredible, so helpful and knowledgeable, they went beyond expectations to make our cruise one in a million. Polar Pioneer was the perfect size for what was needed to cruise into the Antarctic Circle. We even did the Polar Plunge and have the T-shirt and certificate to prove it. The BBQ out on deck with Mulled Wine was great fun. Food was plentiful and tasty.
Date published: 2016-03-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Terrible organisation and communication Antarctica, South Georgia and the Falklands were set to be a once in a lifetime experience everyone on board was excited to set off, even with a weather delay. However it soon became apparent that the itinerary we had been provided by Chimu did not match what we would be doing. When we were presented with the "plan B" itinerary onboard there was confusion as we were leaving antarctica earlier than indicated and had less time on South Georgia than expected. This appeared to be down to a lack of sea days in the itinerary, making the itinerary provided impossible or at best misleading. The chimu representative onboard did not communicate with the group effectively and was very dismisive of passangers concerns.
Date published: 2018-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Antarctica with G Adventures G Adventures run ship MS Expedition. All run very smoothly, excellent attention to detail. Flexible destinations regarding weather conditions. Very good attention to environmental issues. Food too rich, could have had less stodgy desserts and meat was always very rare (ie raw); even vegetables were cooked in a stodgy sauce. However always fresh salad and fruit available.
Date published: 2015-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous trip from start to finish! I sailed with GAdventures on the MS Expedition from Montevideo to the Falklands, then to South Georgia and on to the Antarctic Peninsula. It was a wonderful trip. I had high expectations, and they were not just met, but exceeded in every regard. The expedition team were experts in their fields, and their enthusiasm was evident throughout our amazing journey.
Date published: 2015-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Greatest vacation so far We lost one day becouse one of ships engine was broken, so embark was delayed fo 24h, but we get refund, one night at hotel and some trips during those 24h. otherwise tour was excellent. CEO changed intinerary plan so we headed to polar circle first to be sure we can go through in time. if something didnt match itinerary, it was only becouse of weather or danger. Crew and CEO was group of fantastic people and thansk to them, this trip was double so awsome :)
Date published: 2015-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beyond words The most amazing trip from beginning to end. Chimu did a great job of helping me plan my trip & were available with advice & information. The ship (Akademik Ioffe) was fantastic,the One Ocean expedition team were so helpful & knowledgable as well as fun, the ships crew did a fantastic job, & even the weather was perfect!! Everything went smoothly, & the wildlife & scenery was astonishing, so beautiful.
Date published: 2015-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best trip ever! The expedition crew did everything they could to organise landings In a variety of settings and were able to adapt their plans due to any changes in weather. The expedition crew were very knowledgable and all the ships staff were fantastic. We crossed the Antarctic circle and went the furthest south the ship had been thanks to the great skills of the captain. I loved this trip! Penguins, seals, orca whales, wildlife in abundance!!
Date published: 2016-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More than I could have hoped Everything about the trip was fantastic. I have no complaints whatsoever. I would recommend the Sea Adventurer as a perfect ship for adventure/expedition travel because of the two public decks surrounding the ship.
Date published: 2015-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely Awesome! We had a wonderful expedition to Antarctica - but have to add that the weather was perfect which made the entire trip ideal. The Drake Passage crossing (both ways) was without incident (noted as the Drake Lake). Landed nine times on the Antarctic continent, which is about the most one could expect. The MS Expedition staff (headed by John) were exceptional and the ship's crew superb. Without a doubt, a trip of a lifetime!!
Date published: 2015-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Antarctica The entire trip was wonderful. It was a joy to see all the different penguins, sea birds, and seals, as well as experience the walking on the ice and snow. The icebergs were spectacular, both in shape and colour.
Date published: 2014-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic South Georgia and Antarctica Brilliant holiday. Budget hotels in Buenos Aires and Ushuaia booked by Chimu were excellent. Weather not all that good but the crew of the Ushuaia were really good and did all they could so that we could have the best in landings that were possible. All travel arranged by ourselves went well and the transfers arranged by Chimu were equally good and drivers were good too! The ship is quite basic so do not expect a cruise ship!
Date published: 2015-11-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing adventure to the White Continent This was an incredible 11 day 'Images of Antarctica' adventure. Despite the Drake Passage taking it's toll on many, this trip is incredibly worthwhile, if you have the money! The weather was good about half of the time that we were in Antarctica, if it had been miserable weather the whole time it would have been disappointing (not the cruise's fault of course!), but as it was, we got to see the very best (beautiful blue skies, bright white snow and humpback whales) and maybe not quite the worst (-45 degrees with wind chill factor!). Overall I think this enhanced the experience, as we got to see Antarctica for what it really is, completely wild. All of the staff on board were wonderful, funny and warm. I enjoyed the lectures, which gave a greater insight into what we were seeing on land.
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trip of a Life Time From departure to arriving back home everything Chimu Adventures organised for us ran like clockwork. The Antarctic was fantastic. So quiet! The ship, crew and meals can not be faulted and we managed two landing per day whilst in the area.
Date published: 2016-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow ! Antarctica was everything we dreamed of and more. We took part in an expedition on the MV Ushuaia, and found the ship perfect for our needs. Plenty of space onboard to see wildlife from the decks, and a very informative guide in Augustin. We hope to go back and explore South Georgia in a few years time. We hear the wildlife is even more spectacular (if possible) there!. Thanks again, and hope this review is of use!
Date published: 2014-08-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good in many ways but ultimately disappointing. I booked on the Shackleton's Antarctica trip in March 2018, intended to go to the Antarctic islands and mainland, South Georgia and the Falklands. The time at sea (about 16 days) would only have been adequate if everything had gone perfectly. However, a combination of rough weather in the landing sites on South Georgia and a medical emergency meant we lost S. Georgia completely. I would only recommend this trip if it is extended to at least 18 days. On the other hand the ship and the levels of service were immaculate, and the arrangements for meeting me at airports and the standard of the hotels booked were entirely satisfactory. There were plenty of landings at the places we did reach and the expedition staff were friendly and knowledgeable.
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Antarctica The trip to Antarctica on board the Sea Explorer was an unique experience I will never forget! The overnight stays in Buenos Aires incl. the transfers to/from the airport as well as the events to attend a Tango Show and to visit the Fireland National park were very well organised by Agnes Schneider of Chimu Adventures!
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful trip All went according to plan and was very well organised by the staff and crew on the ship.
Date published: 2015-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overwhelmed, emotional and speechless I had 8 flights, along with picks ups, hotels, drop offs, a ship to get to - on time and tours. Every single step of the way went flawlessly, thanks to Chimu and in particular Simon who has infinite patience. I am normally an independent traveller, so found it hard to relinquish control and let Chimu sort everything out. Thanks for indulging my many queries. Perfection!
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Once in a lifetime experience Extremely we'll run cruise, perfect number of passengers and crew
Date published: 2014-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tour!!! The whole trip was well organized an led us to stunning places! We were able to come really close with the wildlife and learnd a lot about our destinations history, fauna and environment. The days were packed with landings, different activities and lectures, so we were always busy!
Date published: 2015-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Pinktartica Journey Trip of a lifetime is only scratching the surface of what I felt after taking this trip. I was on a 12day trip on the Sea Adventurer that was specially chartered by Chimu for a charity foundation, McGrath Foundation. So not only was it going on a dream trip it was also supporting a great cause. Everything about the trip was amazing, we were lucky enough to have brilliant weather and get to see about everything we possibly could in our 12 day trip. Even when there was a minor issue of communication that originally had me off the list of one of the activities I'd signed up for it was fixed right away and I did not miss out on anything. The expedition crew were all very friendly and knowledgeable and could help answer any questions you had on Antarctica. The crew of the ship were also very friendly and very professional and made the trip easy as could be. The only complaint I can have was it was such a great trip that now it seems hard to be excited about going anywhere else, all I want to do is go on this trip again.
Date published: 2015-12-08
  • y_2019, m_1, d_21, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_227
  • loc_en_AU, sid_antarctica, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_chimu-adventures
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.3.0.1
  • CLOUD, method:getReviews, 322ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Country Information

WHEN TO GO TO THE FALKLAND ISLANDS

The best time to take a Falkland Islands Antarctica cruise is during the Austral summer, between October and April. November to February are the optimum months within this timeframe, as this is the warmest time of the year and also when wildlife activity is at its peak. Although temperatures range between 5 and 10°C, conditions are often windy due to the location of the Falklands in the latitudes of the south westerly “Roaring Forties” winds.

Later in the season in March and April, the magellanic penguins congregate on the beaches, preparing for their long journeys overseas.

October and November are the best months to see elephant seal pups.

For a taste of local culture, important events on the calendar include the May Ball and Liberation Day (June 14th). 

WEATHER IN THE FALKLAND ISLANDS

The Falkland Islands experience a cool temperate climate, regulated by the surrounding oceans and the winds. Temperatures fluctuate within a narrow range, from a minimum of -5°C (July) to a maximum of 24°C (January). Average monthly temperatures range from around 9°C in summer (January & February) to around 2°C in winter (June & July). The mean annual temperature is around 5.6°C.

Rainfall is comparatively low and constant throughout the year with the western side of the archipelago, shielded by the Andes, being drier than the eastern side. Port Stanley receives over 600 millimetres of rain annually whereas Westpoint receives just over 400 millimetres.

The islands are hit by westerly winds with gales frequent during the winter months.

WILDLIFE IN THE FALKLAND ISLANDS

 The Falkland Islands offer a fascinating and abundant range of wildlife. The South Atlantic waters are rich in marine life, supporting a variety of species that breed on the Falkland Islands archipelago including over 30 species of breeding birds that depend on the ocean for food.

Birds: Over 220 species of bird have been recorded on the Islands, with more than 60 species being known to breed here. The Falkland Islands are home to 80% of the world’s breeding population of black-browed albatross. Several rare and threatened species of petrel nest on offshore islands. Upland geese and ruddy-headed or Brent geese are found around fresh water ponds, along with silver teals, Chiloe or southern widgeons and white-tufted grebes. Other birds found on the Falklands include the striated caracara, the endemic Cobb’s wren and the Falklands flightless steamer duck. Five species of penguin breed on the Falkland Islands - rockhopper, magellanic, gentoo, king and macaroni. The Islands are the most important world site for the endangered rockhopper penguin.

Marine mammals: 14 species of marine mammals have been recorded in Falkland waters. The elephant seal, sea lion and fur seal all breed on the Islands, the largest elephant seal breeding site being found on Sea Lion Island with over 2,000 individuals. On rare occasions leopard seals and Ross seals are seen on the shorelines but porpoises and dolphins such as Peale's and Commerson's dolphins are often spotted. Orcas, sei and sperm whales are the most abundant whales to be sighted in the Falklands.

Land Mammals: There are no native land mammals found on the Falkland Islands, but introduced species include reindeer, hares, rabbits, Patagonian foxes, brown rats and cats.

TOURISM AND SUSTAINABILITY IN THE FALKLAND ISLANDS

Tourism is an important source of revenue to the Falkland Islands and sustainable development and preservation of the environment and the abundant flora and fauna are key to maintaining and increasing tourism. Wildlife tourism in particular is growing, and steps are being taken to protect the wildlife of the islands.

The key legislation aimed at protecting the wildlife and flora of the Falkland Islands is the Conservation of Wildlife and Nature Ordinance 1999. All birds are protected except the upland goose, domestic goose and mallard duck. Nineteen plants are protected and of the fish species, the zebra trout is protected. The black-browed albatross, southern giant petrel and white-chinned petrel are threatened species and have additional protection under the international Agreement for the Conservation of Albatross and Petrels (ACAP).

Sea Lion Island and Bertha’s Beach, East Falkland are protected under the Ramsar Convention on Wetlands. This is the only global environmental treaty that deals with a particular ecosystem.

GEOGRAPHY OF THE FALKLAND ISLANDS

The Falkland Islands are situated in the South Atlantic Ocean, 483 kilometres from the South American mainland and 1,365 kilometres north of the Antarctic Circle, midway between Argentina and South Africa. They are an archipelago consisting of two main islands (East and West Falkland) and over 750 smaller islands. The islands cover an area of approximately 12,000 square kilometres, with East and West Falkland accounting for over 90% of the land area.

East and West Falkland are separated by the Falkland Sound. This channel has an average width of 20 kilometres. The main islands are generally hilly, with low-lying undulating terrain in the south of East Falkland. The highest point is Mount Usborne on East Island at 705 metres. West Falkland’s highest point is Mount Adam at 700 metres. The distance from Stanley, on the extreme east, to New Island, on the extreme west, is 238 kilometres.

HISTORY OF THE FALKLAND ISLANDS
  •   Exploration and colonisation of the Falkland Islands began in the 18th century

  • France established a colony on the islands in 1764 at Port St. Louis on East Falkland

  • The islands were claimed for Britain by the British captain, John Byron in 1765, with a permanent settlement being established at Port Egmont the following year

  • In 1770 the Spanish forced the British to leave Port Egmont, sparking the Falkland Crisis, but the colony was soon re-established, becoming an important port-of-call for British ships sailing around Cape Horn

  • British forces withdrew in 1776 leaving Spain to rule the Falkland Islands from Buenos Aires until 1811

  • 1833 saw the British returning to the Falklands and Charles Darwin visiting the Islands

  • Charles Darwin revisited the Falklands in 1834 with the settlements of Darwin and Fitzroy taking their names from this visit

  • The construction of Port Stanley began in 1843 after the area was surveyed by James Ross of the Antarctic Expedition

  • Government House opened in 1847 becoming the Governor’s Residence in 1859

  • Christ Church Cathedral was completed in 1903, receiving its famous whale-bone arch in 1933 to commemorate the centenary of continuous British administration

  • President Juan Peron of Argentina attempted to buy the Falkland Islands in 1953

  • Argentina invaded the Falkland Islands on 2 April 1982 and took control briefly before being forced to surrender on 14 June 1982


 

FOOD AND DRINK IN THE FALKLAND ISLANDS

 Food on board cruise and expedition ships is of a very high standard - plentiful, tasty and nutritious. Breakfasts and lunches tend to be buffet style, with dinners generally served to your table and featuring 3 and sometimes 4 courses. The range of food is diverse with professional chefs preparing a wide selection of excellent dishes.

Beverages such as tea, coffee and hot chocolate are included whereas soft drinks and alcohol must be paid for. Most ships have very well stocked bars and a good selection of wines.

The cuisine of the Falkland Islands is influenced mainly by that of Britain. Seafood is plentiful and includes sea trout, mussels, oysters, snow crabs and scallops. The traditional British meal of fish and chips is very popular. Lamb and beef also feature heavily, the Falkland Islands being known for the organic meat produced on the islands.

FURTHER READING
  • Falkland Adventure by Andrew Coe

  • 74 Days: An Islander's Diary of the Falklands Occupation by John Smith

  • Going Back by Simon Weston

Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need to be fit to go to the Falkland Islands ?

A high level of fitness is not necessary for Falkland Islands Antarctica Cruises, but you need to be in good health as although there is generally a doctor on board the ships, you are a long way from any other medical assistance. The majority of activities are focused around shore excursions and zodiac cruising and so you need to be agile and able-bodied enough to climb into and out of the inflatable zodiacs from both the ship and the shore. On shore landings you may need to negotiate uneven and slippery ground. Shore excursions generally involve some walking.

Is it safe to travel to the Falkland Islands?

All of our tours are 100% tried and tested to ensure that when you travel with us, you are doing so in a controlled and safe environment with trained experts. We consistently monitor weather conditions and will always provide you with the best possible adventure without risk of injury to you or the vessel. While some landings and activities may need to be rescheduled or cancelled due to weather, every effort is made to have a contingency plan should such conditions become a reality during your expedition. Chimu have been the experts in Falkland Islands and Antarctic travel for well over 10 years and use our vast experience and knowledge when picking the vessels we sell to provide you with an adventure that is unforgettable for all the right reasons.

Do I need a visa to travel to the Falkland Islands?

Cruise ship passengers do not need a visa to visit the Falkland Islands and participate in shore excursions. If you are flying into Port Stanley to board a Falkland Islands Antarctica Cruise, or if you are planning to spend additional time in the Falkland Islands before or after your cruise, you may need a visa. Visas are not required by citizens of Australia, New Zealand, UK, Ireland, European Union, Canada, USA and South Africa. Citizens of other countries are advised to contact their nearest British Embassy or Consulate to check visa requirements for the Falkland Islands.

If your Falkland Islands Antarctica cruise is departing from an Argentinian port such as Ushuaia, no pre-arranged visa is required to enter Argentina by citizens of the UK, Australia, Ireland, European Union, New Zealand, Canada, South Africa and the USA. Other nationalities should check with their closest Argentinean embassy or consulate.

Australian, Canadian and USA citizens must pay a "reciprocity fee" to enter Argentina. This is not a visa, but a fee based on the fees that Argentinean citizens pay for visas to these countries. The fee must be paid online and in advance for arrival at all airports. 

How long will it take to reach Falkland Islands?

Falkland Islands Antarctica cruises that set sail from Ushuaia generally arrive and start exploring the Falkland Islands on Day 3. From South Georgia or Elephant Island there are usually 2 days at sea before reaching the Falkland Islands. Some tours fly from Punta Arenas in Chile to Port Stanley and embark on the ship in Port Stanley.    

How long will I spend in the Falkland Islands ?

Most Falkland Islands Antarctica cruises typically spend 2 days exploring the Falkland Islands on their way to or from South Georgia and/or the Antarctic Peninsula.