Patagonia Tours

Why visit? Located at the southern end of South America, Patagonia is a region shared by Argentina and Chile. From snow-capped mountains to picturesque fjords, stunning lakes and impressive volcanoes, a Patagonia tour really has it all. 
 
While active holidaymakers will be able to give their hiking boots a good work out trekking or horse riding through Torres Del Paine, biking through Valdez Peninsula or skiing down the slopes of Tierra del Fuego, there is also plenty to do for the more slow-paced traveller.
 
Staring at the magnificent views, cruising the Fjords of Chile, or visiting one of the many wineries are just some of the equally exciting but less exertive activities to be enjoyed on a tour across the dramatic, windswept settings of Patagonia. 
 
Greg Carter, co-founder of Chimu Adventures, travelled with his family to Patagonia, read more about their adventures here.
 
How to get there? Access has never been easier for Australians with three top-ranked airlines (LATAM, Air New Zealand and Qantas) providing regularly scheduled services to Santiago and Buenos Aires. 
 
More information: Below we have shown you just a fraction of the options available for Patagonia and multi-country travel. Browse to get an idea of where you want to travel.
 
Still wondering? Contact us:  You are definitely better off giving us a call or dropping us a line and letting us do the hard work for you. 
 
#Livefortoday and book your Patagonia tour now with us today. Chimu Adventures is Australia’s leading Latin America and Polar specialist and can put together an itinerary to suit you.

"The Andes Crossing through national parks in Chile and Argentina by boat and bus is a special experience - particularly if you stay overnight in tiny Peulla. My third trip booked through Chimu whose approach works really well for an independent minded, not young traveller who likes remote places but enjoys the confidence of pre-arranged transfers and accommodation." -Flora 

Read Reviews (Avg 4.8 ★)
 
0

Featured Patagonia Trips & Deals

CRUISE  From 1,976

Embark on an adventurous 5 day, journey between Ushuaia to Punta Arenas aboard the Ventus Australis.

GROUP TOUR  From 10,390

Take a premium overland trip Patagonia from Santiago to Ushuaia. Designed for the adventurous 40-70 year olds.

Patagonia Tours

6 NIGHTS From 3,885

Discover some of Patagonia’s most beautiful features on this 7-day journey, including the Perito Moreno Glacier and Torres del Paine National Park in Chile.

8 NIGHTS From 2,820

Savour the very best of what Chile has to offer. Visit bustling cities, picturesque villages and the iconic Osomo Volcano.

6 NIGHTS From 2,575

Discover the Carretera Austral and explore the stunning landscapes of the Futaleufu Valley and the majestic Queulat Hanging Glacier on this 7-day journey.

6 NIGHTS From 2,000

Trek the famous Perito Moreno glacier on this adventure tour option south of Patagonia.

3 NIGHTS From 2,520

Patagonia Camp, near Torres del Paine & Puerto Natales, is a luxurious camp that invites you to see the wonders of Torres del Paine & its surroundings.

3 NIGHTS From 1,350

Live like a local in Estancias in Los Glaciares National Park on the shores of the southern arm of Lake Argentino.

5 NIGHTS From 10,205

Pure Patagonia Premium Photo Adventure is an amazing experience into Torres del Paine’s unique wildlife, led by photo & wildlife professionals.

4 NIGHTS From 2,015

Travel to the heart of Torres del Paine National Park. Enjoy guided treks, wildlife excursions & gaze up at the star-filled sky through your dome ceiling.

17 NIGHTS From 6,949

Experience the mystical glaciers, sparkling lakes, wildlife & breath-taking scenery of both the Chilean & Argentinean Patagonia.

Articles On Patagonia

Best Things To Do in South and Central America – NOVEMBER Guide

Posted on Mon, 15 Oct 2018

As the southern summer season takes hold of a great part of the South America, now is the time to explore the more remote regions of Patagonia, the normally crowded big-name attractions in Peru and Bolivia, as well as the hot-spot of Colombia, where rains subside. November is a brilliant month to travel almost anywhere in Latin America, as the …

READ MORE

Visit the Pantanal and Meet Some of the World’s Strangest Creatures

Posted on Sun, 14 Oct 2018

You know you’re approaching an otherworldly place when the street sign tells you to watch out for an animal that seems to have been inspired by a science-fiction book. Sure, it kind of looks like a mouse…but how big would it have to be to warrant a SIGN?! Remote and pristine, the Pantanal was established as a UNESCO World Heritage …

READ MORE

Latin America Travel – Best Souvenirs That Won’t End Up in a Drawer

Posted on Fri, 12 Oct 2018

We admit that when travelling, sometimes, it is simply easier to dedicate just a couple of hours of our last day to hitting a gargantuan tourist market and filling up a small suitcase full of fridge magnets, key-chains and snow-globes that glow in the dark. Because, really, who wants to waste time and money buying stuff for friends back home …

READ MORE

Last Minute Bookings To Antarctica. Is It Possible?

Posted on Wed, 10 Oct 2018

Antarctica is a beautiful and majestic place and a must do on many people’s bucket list, but what options are there if you feel you may have missed out because of common issues such as lack of time, slight forgetfulness or low to high volumes of procrastination? We are here to let you know that there are still options for …

READ MORE

Crystal Endeavor- Where Luxury Meets Expedition

Posted on Tue, 09 Oct 2018

Many ships have braved the seas of the Polar regions and many have been specially designed for the distinct conditions, however, the Crystal Endeavor reaches new heights in the world of Polar vessels, being ‘the first purpose-built mega yacht that is Polar Code compliant’. The Crystal Endeavor has challenged and introduced exceptional new standards in expedition cruising and absolute luxury. …

READ MORE

Heads Up! Your Wildlife Guide to the Andes Mountains

Posted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018

Your comprehensive guide to South America’s Andes Mountains – one mesmerizing wildlife treat at a time South America’s most defining topographical feature is home to some of its most iconic creatures. Although many first-time visitors simply include some section of the Andes Mountain range in their itinerary for the sole purpose of being overawed by a wall of sky-high peaks …

READ MORE

National Geographic’s World’s Best Eco-lodges – Latin America Cleans Up!

Posted on Thu, 04 Oct 2018

National Geographic has just released its collection of World’s Best Eco-lodges and we certainly weren’t surprised to find that, out of the 44 worldwide contenders, Latin America is home to 12.  We’ve long-since known that Latin America offers a wealth of options for those who love exploring and love Mother Nature, in equal measure, and have been dedicated to offering …

READ MORE

Wildlife Watching in Brazil – Amazon VS the Pantanal

Posted on Thu, 04 Oct 2018

One amazing country – two magnificent wildlife powerhouses. Which one is best to visit? Wildlife-enthusiasts looking for an exceptional journey in Brazil will undoubtedly come to the same decision crossroads: should they visit the largest rainforest on earth…or the largest wetlands? Whilst the Amazon Rainforest may be the most famous and celebrated wildlife-watching destination in Brazil, the Pantanal is, by …

READ MORE

Why Travelling With a Purpose is the Best Way to Travel

Posted on Wed, 03 Oct 2018

There are more options for meaningful travel, out there, than humans on our planet and that’s because purpose, by its very definition, is an immensely personal perspective. Whether you travel to volunteer or learn a new language or to satisfy a particular personal challenge (hike a mountain in every country, watch a soccer match in every city or hike through …

READ MORE

The Most Sensational Hiking Trails in Chile (That Aren’t The W-Trek)

Posted on Tue, 02 Oct 2018

You’re an avid hiker and you already know that the W-trek is Chile’s #1 must-do trail. Time to discover what other sensational hiking trails the country has to offer. Chile’s recent announcement of the opening of a brand-new hiking trail, which effectively links three of its most impressive routes in Patagonia to form one colossal, 2800km odyssey, will certainly help …

READ MORE

Patagonia Reviews

All Chimu Adventures' clients are given the opportunity to review their trip once they return home. These reviews are administered by a third party and as such are unfiltered by Chimu Adventures.

Rated 5 out of 5 by from absolutely amazing loved it all The organization and accommodation were just perfect
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trip of a Lifetime Stunning scenery, great guides, totally brilliant!
Date published: 2016-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tierra Patagonia Well organised - excellent service from lodge staff and guides - very comfortable - I cannot think of one thing in which they could have improved; When the Punta Arenas hotel failed to pass on transfer details which the lodge supplied, Chimu Australia was very helpful in sorting out the problem immediately. I have great confidence in Chimu. They are very dependable and give great attention to detail.
Date published: 2016-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mind blowing! Stunning scenery and the Hotel Las Torres was beautiful! The all inclusive package was worth the cost. The excursions offered were perfect. The only negative feedback was the transfers back to the airport. We were put in a van with 2 other couples at 7am when our flight wasn't until 6pm. The other passangers had flights at 1pm so our day was wasted. Luckily we managed to get on an earlier flight.
Date published: 2014-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wild Patagonia by truck - amazing! This trip lived up to our expectations and beyond. Melinda and Franco were fantastic and made the adventure so memorable. The truck 'Esperanza' was fabulous and became 'home' for those weeks - sad to say goodbye! Trip of a lifetime for us and we would recommend without hesitation. Thank you, Viva!
Date published: 2018-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Glaciers and Torres Del Paine All transfers ran smoothly and the tours on the boat to glaciers and by bus to Torres Del Paine were professionally handled. Guides were friendly and very informative. The Hotel Altiplanico was a great example of eco accommodation, with an interesting, creative design.
Date published: 2017-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The stay at the Hotel Las Torres hotel was awesome. The mountains surrounding the hotel were special. The optional tours and guides were all fantastic. We moved onto El Calafate in Argentina. The Perito Moreno glacier was special. Again the tours organised were great.
Date published: 2018-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Patagonia Patagonia - Chile and Argentina An exceptionally planned holiday made so memorable by our local Sunshine Coast Chimu Agent, her passion and South American knowledge ensured our group of 6 experienced a holiday of a life time. We were all totally impressed with the smooth running of everything... flights, transfers, accommodation, guides,excursions ... Chimu has established excellent local people in South America who provide so much more support than ever experienced before by our group. For example, the contact at Ushuaia went on line to get our boarding passes for our ongoing flight.Most of our local contacts ensured we were supported at the airport,they all enhanced our holiday with the warmth of their welcome, their pride in their country ,and the fun way they shared their story with us. We were contacted at every destination by the local Chimu Agent to ensure all was organized for us. Thank you so much . The experiences, the scenery, the people we met, the food, the wine ..... everything .........will live on in us forever.
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Viva ! Expeditions Santiago to Ushuaia Four weeks and each day something new to see do feel taste or hear : fabulous overall with excellent Mel as guide and “I’m only the driver” Franco expert bird and animal spotter both raconteurs with much knowledge to share.
Date published: 2018-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Patagonia at it's best Our trip ran as per the Itinerary that Chimu had arranged for the Group as requested. Pickups at airports,hotels along with ongoing information made for a trouble free enjoyable trip. Thanks Kieron for the good work
Date published: 2018-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Explora Torres del Paine. Explora Torres del Paine, what a great experience, well worth the journey to get there. The scenery, the walks, the hotel, the staff, all exceptional. a great experience. Well done Chimu.
Date published: 2016-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great times in southern Patagonia Our 3 town itinerary in Chile and Argentina worked out flawlessly. Chimu worked with us for months to perfect the itinerary given all the complexities of flight schedule changes.
Date published: 2017-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It just got better with every location. The trip just got better with each destination. A big thanks to Jason Dudson who, in conjunction with The Travel Authority, Newport, put together one amazing package for us.
Date published: 2016-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Epic Patagonia trip The itinerary was absolutely what I wanted. The tour guide was amazing! The culture in Chile is wonderful. Overall, a gorgeous destination.
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Experience Everything happened like clockwork, so we could just enjoy the trip. A great balance of planned excursions and time to ourselves.
Date published: 2017-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Patagonia Eco Camp The 3 days here ended up being the best time of my life.Spectacular scenery.Amazing staff .Fantastic food and accom.New friends.
Date published: 2016-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! 4 days trekking the amazing Torres Del Paine then over to El Calafate for the Moreno Glacier - unforgettable sights
Date published: 2016-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from an experience great food,good accommodation,excellent guides and well organised activities.
Date published: 2016-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great tour Fantastic destination, well organised and delivered by tremendous staff.
Date published: 2017-12-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect Patagonia Hotel at El Calafate was not quite up to standard,Patagonia Rebelde.
Date published: 2017-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing trip! The itinerary was well-organized and we were always satisfied with the pick-ups, coordination, hotels, etc. I have a few suggestions and qualifications: 1. I had thought we would be a private party of 4, which we were some of the time, but not nearly as much as I thought had been agreed, 2. We were told by the CTS guide that all the mueums in Santiago were on strike, but we found the most wonderful museum near our hotel of pre-Columbian and meso-American art, whioch your guide didn't tell us about, and 3. the best part of the trip by far was the wilderness and hiking part, and we would have preferred less time in Sanitago, Bariloche & Puerto Varas, and more time in El Calafate & Los Paines, if we had known beforehand what each was like. We did LOVE the yurts and accommodations and activities at Patagonia Camp. Also, for US citizens, I would have appreciated someone bringing to our attention in a more pronounced way (rather than a buried sentence in the itinerary) about the reciprocity tax for going into Argentina - we hadn't paid it ahead of time, and nearly missed out entirely on the lake crossing. That would have been very bad. As it was, we were able to pay on line, and pay a guide from CTS $100 to drive us specially to the boat launch, so we made it on time. But we were annoyed about that.
Date published: 2016-02-01
  • y_2019, m_1, d_22, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_29
  • loc_en_AU, sid_patagonia, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_chimu-adventures
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.3.0.1
  • CLOUD, method:getReviews, 339.74ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Frequently Asked Questions

What money do they use in Patagonia ?

Patagonia is shared by Chile and Argentina. On the Chilean side of Patagonia, the unit of currency in Chile is the Chilean Peso (CLP). On the Argentinean side, the unit of currency is the Argentinean Peso (ARS). Please check websites such as www.oanda.com or www.xe.com for up to date exchange rates prior to your departure.

What language do they speak in Patagonia ?

Spanish is the official language of both Chile and Argentina.

Do I need to be fit to go to Patagonia ?

The level of fitness needed will depend on the Patagonia tour that you choose to take in terms of places to be visited and the types of activities to be included in your itinerary. Patagonia offers great opportunities for outdoor activities that range from hiking and trekking to rock climbing, skiing, white water rafting, horse riding and ice climbing. The majority of the best treks are to be found in the National Parks and the Chilean Lake District where the trails range from easy to difficult.

Chimu Adventures offers many different tours to Patagonia, and whatever your level of fitness we can tailor-make an itinerary that will allow you to discover the stunning scenery of Patagonia. 

Is it safe to travel to Patagonia ?

Yes Patagonia is a very safe part of South America. Hygiene standards are high in Patagonia and even though it is an area that is remote with much untamed wilderness, it is still a safe place as long as you take the right precautions and make the right preparations, especially if trekking.  

Do I need a visa to travel to Patagonia ?

If travelling to the Chilean part of Patagonia, a pre-arranged visa is not required for citizens of the following countries: Australia, United Kingdom, United States, Ireland, Canada, New Zealand, European Union and South Africa.

For other nationalities please visit the website of the relevant consulate.

Australian citizens must pay a "reciprocity fee" to enter Chile. This is not a visa, since a visa is not required for visitors from these countries. It is a fee based upon the fees that Chilean citizens pay for visas to Australia. The fee is subject to change but can be paid on arrival in US$ cash or by credit card.

 

If travelling to the Argentinian side of Patagonia, a pre-arranged visa is not required to enter Argentina for citizens of the following countries: Australia, United Kingdom, United States, Ireland, Canada, New Zealand, European Union and South Africa.

For other nationalities please visit the website of the relevant consulate.

Australian, Canadian and USA citizens must pay a "reciprocity fee" to enter Argentina. This is not a visa, since a visa is not required for visitors from these countries. It is a fee based on the fees that Argentinean citizens pay for visas to these countries. The fee is subject to change but must be paid in advance online. For US citizens, the reciprocity fee allows multiple entries into Argentina for 10 years in accordance with US visa reciprocity. For Australian citizens, the reciprocity fee is valid for multiple entries into Argentina within a period of one year from the date of first entry.

British and European Union passport holders are exempt from Reciprocity Fees.

How long do I need to travel to Patagonia ?

You could spend anything from a few days to a few weeks on your Patagonia travels, depending on whether you plan to explore both the Chilean and Argentinian sides including the Lake District, central Patagonia and the South Patagonia Ice Fields, or just focus on one experience such as Torres del Paine National Park. Chimu Adventures offers itineraries to suit every time frame.

How much should I budget for daily in Patagonia ?

Our Patagonia tours include breakfast daily and many other meals may also be included in your itinerary. As a rough guide for additional spending money based on having moderately-priced lunches and dinners (if not included) and to cover drinks and tips, we suggest a budget of US$35-50 per day per person. 

Do I need to get vaccinations for Patagonia ?

Although no specific vaccinations are required for Patagonia travel and no proof of any vaccination is required to enter Chile or Argentina, we recommend that you visit your doctor or a traveller’s medical centre for current information specific to those places that you will be travelling through.

As a general guide we recommend the following:

·         Yellow Fever - especially if also travelling to Easter Island from an infected area or also travelling through northern Argentina

·         Measles, mumps, rubella (MMR)

·         Hepatitis - Both A and B (twinrix)

·         Typhoid

·         Diphtheria

·         Cholera

·         Rabies

·         Tetanus

Depending on your travel itinerary you may be required to produce proof of Yellow Fever vaccination when returning to Australia from parts of Argentina.

What kind of power adaptor plug do I need in Patagonia ?

In Argentina and Chile the standard voltage is 220V and standard frequency is 50Hz. Power sockets are of types C and I in Argentina and of types C and L in Chile.

Please visit the below link for more information: http://electricaloutlet.org/

What should I pack when visiting Patagonia ?

What you need to pack will depend on the Patagonia tour that you are taking and the activities that you plan to include, as well as the time of year you are travelling. Except for winter sports, most people travel to Patagonia during the summer months (November to March). Even during these months, there can be extreme variations in climate. Days can range from sunny with temperatures in the 20’s (°C), to rain, hail and even snow and so you need to be prepared for all possibilities. Night temperatures often drop down to around 4-5°C.

 

When trekking, temperatures at the highest elevations can be as low as -5°C at night. Generally trek temperatures are 4-8°C at night and 15-20°C during the day. Wind is one of the constant factors in Patagonia and can manifest itself in the form of a constant breeze or a strong gale.

 

If you are on a hotel or lodge based tour then items such as sleeping bags are not necessary. If your tour involves trekking where you will be staying in refugios or camping, then you will need to pack a good quality sleeping bag and clothes suitable for the possible climatic variations.

For a more detailed packing list, please refer to our Patagonia Information Sheet