Skip to main content

Antarctica

Search Antarctica:

TRAVELLING TO Antarctica

Travelling to Antarctica from The UK can be achieved a few ways, either by travelling to South America or Australia/ New Zealand.  
 
The most popular and affordable Antarctic journey is to fly to South America

Where: The southernmost city of the world, Ushuaia, in Argentina is the major thoroughfare for Antarctic cruises. From here you can visit the Antarctic Peninsula as well as the sub Antarctic islands such as South Georgia and the Falkland islands on your Antarctic cruise. A cruise will take anywhere from 10 to 21 days when leaving from Ushuaia, if crossing directly to the peninsula you can be there in as soon as one and a half to two days. 
 
Punta Arenas in Chile is also a gateway for cruises to the Antarctic Peninsula, here travellers may take a flight to the South Shetland islands to board their vessel, though more expensive, this is perfect for those wishing to cruise in Antarctica but avoid the drake passage. 
 
What’s is like: The Antarctic Peninsula is the most popular due to accessibility and for the plethora of wildlife found. The coast offers a dramatic mountainous backdrop being an extension of the Andes Mountain range. The entire region including the sub Antarctic Islands is home to incredible history including Shackleton’s epic journey of survival.  
 
Depending on the cruise it’s also possible to visit the British dependencies of the Falkland Islands and South Georgia including the British Antarctica Survey Research Station, King Edward Point. British research bases on the Antarctica Peninsula include Halley, Rothera and the historic Port Lockroy (often a favourite with travellers on our journeys, this is not an active research station but administrated by the UK Antarctic Heritage Trust).
 
Getting there: British Airways fly direct from Heathrow to Buenos Aires and there are easy connections via Sao Paulo or Madrid on Iberia, Air Europa or LATAM. From Buenos Aires it’s a simple domestic flight down to Ushuaia.
 
Australia and New Zealand themselves also act as gateways to the lesser frequented East Antarctica
 
Where? Leaving from New Zealand (Invercargill or Bluff) or Australia (Hobart) or it will take about seven days to arrive to the white continent, which can be broken up by visits to Macquarie, Snares, Auckland and Campbell Islands, all rich in wildlife and nature. Once having arrived to Antarctica, you will spend time around Commonwealth Bay or the Ross Sea region.
  
What is it like: A cruise to Antarctica from Australia and New Zealand offers the opportunity to witness the immense natural landscapes and seascapes of this incredibly remote yet ruggedly beautiful part of Antarctica and the best chance to see emperor and King Penguins. Steeped in history, East Antarctica is where British explorers Scott and Shackleton battled the Norwegian, Roald Amundsen and gained fame with their expeditions to be the first to reach the South Pole. This part of Antarctica is also home to the Britain’s historic huts from this period such as Scott’s Hut (Scott), Discovery Hut (Scott) and Cape Royds (Shackleton).
 
Getting there: If travelling from New Zealand first fly to Auckland or Wellington and then connect domestically to Invercargill. If flying to Australia first travel to Perth, Sydney, Brisbane or Melbourne and then connect domestically to Hobart.
 
More information: to help you decide where you want to visit, click on the trips below and start dreaming about your Antarctic cruise. For cruises from Australia and New Zealand only click here.
 
Still wondering? Contact us: and we will walk you through the whole process, answer all your questions and find the very best package, including flights, cruise and extra sightseeing to suit your needs.
[ Continue Reading ]
Travelling to Antarctica from The UK can be achieved a few ways, either by travelling to South America or Australia/ New Zealand.  
 
The most popular and affordable Antarctic journey is to fly to South America

Where: The southernmost city of the world, Ushuaia, in Argentina is the major thoroughfare for Antarctic cruises. From here you can visit the Antarctic Peninsula as well as the sub Antarctic islands such as South Georgia and the Falkland islands on your Antarctic cruise. A cruise will take anywhere from 10 to 21 days when leaving from Ushuaia, if crossing directly to the peninsula you can be there in as soon as one and a half to two days. 
 
Punta Arenas in Chile is also a gateway for cruises to the Antarctic Peninsula, here travellers may take a flight to the South Shetland islands to board their vessel, though more expensive, this is perfect for those wishing to cruise in Antarctica but avoid the drake passage. 
 
What’s is like: The Antarctic Peninsula is the most popular due to accessibility and for the plethora of wildlife found. The coast offers a dramatic mountainous backdrop being an extension of the Andes Mountain range. The entire region including the sub Antarctic Islands is home to incredible history including Shackleton’s epic journey of survival.  
 
Depending on the cruise it’s also possible to visit the British dependencies of the Falkland Islands and South Georgia including the British Antarctica Survey Research Station, King Edward Point. British research bases on the Antarctica Peninsula include Halley, Rothera and the historic Port Lockroy (often a favourite with travellers on our journeys, this is not an active research station but administrated by the UK Antarctic Heritage Trust).
 
Getting there: British Airways fly direct from Heathrow to Buenos Aires and there are easy connections via Sao Paulo or Madrid on Iberia, Air Europa or LATAM. From Buenos Aires it’s a simple domestic flight down to Ushuaia.
 
Australia and New Zealand themselves also act as gateways to the lesser frequented East Antarctica
 
Where? Leaving from New Zealand (Invercargill or Bluff) or Australia (Hobart) or it will take about seven days to arrive to the white continent, which can be broken up by visits to Macquarie, Snares, Auckland and Campbell Islands, all rich in wildlife and nature. Once having arrived to Antarctica, you will spend time around Commonwealth Bay or the Ross Sea region.
  
What is it like: A cruise to Antarctica from Australia and New Zealand offers the opportunity to witness the immense natural landscapes and seascapes of this incredibly remote yet ruggedly beautiful part of Antarctica and the best chance to see emperor and King Penguins. Steeped in history, East Antarctica is where British explorers Scott and Shackleton battled the Norwegian, Roald Amundsen and gained fame with their expeditions to be the first to reach the South Pole. This part of Antarctica is also home to the Britain’s historic huts from this period such as Scott’s Hut (Scott), Discovery Hut (Scott) and Cape Royds (Shackleton).
 
Getting there: If travelling from New Zealand first fly to Auckland or Wellington and then connect domestically to Invercargill. If flying to Australia first travel to Perth, Sydney, Brisbane or Melbourne and then connect domestically to Hobart.
 
More information: to help you decide where you want to visit, click on the trips below and start dreaming about your Antarctic cruise. For cruises from Australia and New Zealand only click here.
 
Still wondering? Contact us: and we will walk you through the whole process, answer all your questions and find the very best package, including flights, cruise and extra sightseeing to suit your needs.
[ Read Less ]

WHY TRAVEL WITH CHIMU ADVENTURES

  • We are true Polar specialists. Almost every Chimu team member has travelled to either Antarctica or the Arctic and collectively we have experienced over 50 expeditions.

  • You can choose from over 130 cruises to Antarctica and the Arctic,including itineraries aboard our own charter vessels.

  • We have inspected and continue to thoroughly research each individual vessel we work with, selecting only those with environmental, safety and value credentials.

  • We know all things Polar by heart and will work with you to determine which ship and itinerary is best suited to your needs.

  • Travellers visit the Polar regions for different reasons so whether your interests are wildlife or photography, or Antarctic activities such as snowshoeing and kayaking, we can work around you for the perfect trip.

  • From your initial enquiry until your trip ends, you will be assigned a personal Destination Specialist who will offer a full service for your travel needs: we can book flights, insurance and any ancillary travel required to complete your journey.

FEATURED Antarctica TRIPS & DEALS

Antarctica Special Deals

GREAT SAVINGS FROM £3,995

Cruising Antarctica has never been more affordable with our incredible special offers, click…

View Deals

Antarctic Whale Journey

STUNNING FROM £ 6,167

Set sail in search of the giants of the Southern Ocean on this 10 day voyage of discovery to the spe...

View Offer

Discover Antarctica, 10 days
2020/21 voyages

BEST PRICE FROM £ 4,510

Prepare yourself for a 10 day adventure aboard the spacious Ocean Endeavour and set sail across the ...

VIEW TOUR

Antarctica CRUISES

BLOGS ON Antarctica

Whether you are looking for advice on when to travel to Antarctica or the Arctic, which ship to travel on or which itinerary will suit you best, Chimu blogs are likely to have it covered. The range of topics is vast, with new and fascinating blogs being added regularly. There is ship information, guides about the activities you can do in the Polar regions, what to pack and what not to pack, and even blogs on various Polar explorers!

READ NOW

Antarctica REVIEWS

All Chimu Adventures' clients are given the opportunity to review their trip once they return home. These reviews are administered by a third party and as such are unfiltered by Chimu Adventures.

Rated 5 out of 5 by from A trip out of this world 10 days trip to Antarctic Peninsular. A bit shaky across the Drake Passage, as was expected, otherwise a beautiful sailing between the islands and icebergs. Lots of landings to see the native inhabitants with hundreds of Penguins, also Wales, Seals, Birds and Orcas. The staff on board were terrific and so helpful. The food was enough with a good breakfast and two 3 coarse meals (lunch and dinner) with fruit and afternoon snacks available. The cooking was a bit plain at times but still eatable. All in all, a terrific trip, quiet unforgettable.
Date published: 2015-02-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Terrible organisation and communication Antarctica, South Georgia and the Falklands were set to be a once in a lifetime experience everyone on board was excited to set off, even with a weather delay. However it soon became apparent that the itinerary we had been provided by Chimu did not match what we would be doing. When we were presented with the "plan B" itinerary onboard there was confusion as we were leaving antarctica earlier than indicated and had less time on South Georgia than expected. This appeared to be down to a lack of sea days in the itinerary, making the itinerary provided impossible or at best misleading. The chimu representative onboard did not communicate with the group effectively and was very dismisive of passangers concerns.
Date published: 2018-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Antactic. A once in a lifetime experience. All pickups and tours organised by Chimu were on time and well organised. Unfortunately the same cannot be said for LAN Airlines. Only 2 of our flights were on time. One flight was double booked, causing problems catching a connecting flight. On another occasion the aircraft needed to be unloaded and changed and this particular flight was the one taking us to Ushuaia to meet the boat. However the trip to the Antarctic made up for all LAN,s failings. The ships crew and expedition staff were extremely helpful, professional and very knowledgable and ensured safety of passengers at all times. Nothing was a problem. The scenery and wildlife can only be described a spectacular. It is impossible to take a bad photograph.
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing trip for a first time overseas traveller The whole trip from start to finish was well organised. Every transfer was on time and the staff on the MV Ushuaia were all skilled and willing to assist in any way possible to ensure our trip was the best it could be. The food that came out of the small galley was well prepared and fresh. Vegetarians were also well looked after. There was only one choice for each meal, but this is to be expected with limited supplies able to be carried on board. I'm still trying to find the right words to explain Antarctica itself. It embodies the true meaning of "awesome" as we were truly in awe of the pristine beauty & wildness.
Date published: 2015-02-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed with Chimu and Oceanwide M/V Plancius ANTARCTICA  CHIMU ADVENTURES /OCEANWIDE EXPEDITIONS REVIEW Antarctica will never disappoint and that’s clear from the moment you being your voyage. HOW you get there and WHO facilitates your journey is a massive decision and, unfortunately, I think that Chimu and Oceanwide fell well short of reasonable expectations throughout the trip. The booking process was fairly straight forward in that I had already done so much research that I didn’t need to spend a lot of time with them going back and forth about ships, cabins, budgets, etc. The “Basecamp” cruise sounded intriguing and I, foolishly, didn’t ask a lot of questions BUT they also didn’t offer a lot of information beyond the basic information. I’d like to think that Chimu would not sell this cruise based on my comments, later in this document, because the cruise itself was so poor that they should be weary of referring clients. Overall, Chimu do not provide any real level of nuanced customer service. They sign you up and take the money. Other guests on the same cruise were sent hats, packing cubes, customized fleece, etc. – not with Chimu. There is no “we’re happy to have you as a client and want repeat business” attitude with Chimu. I asked about Patagonia extensions, etc. and those questions were never met. Apparently you can go and select your cabin on a website- again this was never articulated by Chimu nor was I ever asked where I’d like to be located within my cabin category. The bare bones nature of this cruise (again captured in this document) was never expressed and that was hugely disappointing and frustrating. Having to drop my luggage (vs. the ship picking from the hotel), loading and unloading kayaks, packing and drying the ship’s camping kit, etc. were all elements that should have been fully revealed. I did not sign up for nor did I pay for a “DIY” cruise but that’s exactly what I got and I hold Chimu wholly responsible for that as it’s their job to know the details of every package they sell. The ship is older (and I knew that) but older doesn’t have to mean worn down and tatty. I read online that the food was “good” and ample – nothing extraordinary and that was fine with me. I knew I was sacrificing the “sexy” part of a cruise by not booking with Heb Sky and/or Ocean Diamond (for example) in exchange for some activities and more time on shore but by no means was I prepared for the wholly poor food served—(and if you’re a vegetarian or vegan you should forget this cruise and cruise line entirely). Overboiled vegetables (the same ones over and over again) and overcooked meat do not begin to address the unlimited culinary choices in today’s food market. This cruise is “physical” and demanding to an extent and lunch will almost never address the high caloric protein-centric intake (not just carbs/sugar) that one would expect. Ocean Diamond and Heb Sky are slightly more expensive ships – and I knew that – but if I knew that paying an addiitonal $1500US was going to exponentially improve my experience beyond activities I would have never booked Plancius. The crew are worn thin and haggard on this cruise. The expedition guides, save for just two or three, are not professional guides in that they were almost all on the cruise on their own “working holidays” to get a chance to come to Antarctica and that meant that their lack of professional, cruise guiding experience became a very glaring component to all days as they simply do not have the skills to communicate, direct, and engage guests. They often kept to themselves, rather than socialize with the guests which is very strange, and were, at times, understandably grouchy. Again, this was another area where this cruise felt very “bare bones”—woefully understaffed and the guides that were on board lacked experience and that was palpable from the on-shore experience to even their very dismal presentations. An excerpt from my trip report states, “Crew  could  have  been  much  more  informative  –  I  found  that  the  briefings  once  on  shore were  limited  if  not  totally  nonexistent.  When  you  get  off  the  zodiac,  you  are  told  where to  walk  and  what  to  see  and  that’s  about  it.  It  would  have  been  really  great  if  there  had been  a  “walking  tour”  of  each  site  and  if  you  were  notified  by  the  crew  if  there  was anything  of  interest  to  see  (chicks,  whale  bones,  seals,  etc.).  I  found  myself overhearing  most  of  the  information  I  wanted  or  needed  from  one  of  the  crew  walkie talkies  –  so  imagine  if  you’re  not  listening,  don’t  speak  English,  or  didn’t  know  to  listen  to “walkie  chatter”.  It  really  felt  as  though  these  guides  didn’t  know  how  to  be  with  guests beyond  their  specialty  –  so  if  you’re  the  mountaineering  guide,  you  don’t  actually  have the  skills  to  guide  people  on  shore,  etc.  –  you  only  speak  mountaineering.  And  that would  be  okay  if  there  were  other  crew  for  the  onshore  part  of  the  journey.  But  they don’t  and/or  aren’t  paying  attention  as  they  all  have  their  own  personal  agendas  (some expedition  crew  were  very  busy  with  their  cameras  and  not  paying  attention  to  guests). The  expedition  crew  are  friendly  but  they  lack  fundamental  people  skills  and  experience and  it’s  palpable  on  the  cruise. There  were  multiple  moments  missed  because  this  crew  didn’t  communicate  properly  – we  all  missed  wildlife,  whale  bones,  etc.  because  they  simply  didn’t  know  how  to communicate,  want  to  communicate  or  apparently  don’t  have  the  crew  numbers  to make  that  communication  meaningful  and  that  is  my  biggest  complaint  of  this  cruise  and I’ll  keep  going  back  to  it  –  it’s  woefully  understaffed.  You  will  get  no  personal  attention to  detail  and  you  will  miss  many  things  because  they  were  not  communicated  in  a  way that  works  for  tourists  standing  on  shore  of  an  island.  And  this  is  the  massive  departure between  this  cruise  and  what  I  imagine  a  Nat  Geo  (or  other  more  expensive  cruise)  to be  and  it’s  a  massive  learning  curve.  I  did  not  understand  that  “older  ship  and  perhaps a  bit  less  luxurious”  meant  that  they  would  skimp  on  the  crew  –  but  they  did.  This cruise,  I  would  estimate,  runs  at  an  enormous  margin  as  a  lot,  if  not  all,  of  the  expedition crew  were  on  their  own  holiday  and  “working  the  trip”  to  get  to  Antarctica  and  you  can feel  it  in  the  way  they  do  their  work,  relate  to  guests,  etc.  –  they  are  not  professional cruise  guides.  Quite  a  few  have  their  own  companies  and  they  took  the  work,  absent any  real  pay,  to  gain  experience  to  further  their  own  businesses  which  doesn’t  sit  well with  me  –  I  felt  like  I  was  “investing”  in  someone  else’s  future  earnings.” New Headings were an excellent company for gear rental and I would never purchase the same items I could rent from them in the future. In all, any company can take your money and place a booking – or you can just go direct to the company that controls the ship in this case with Oceanwide. But a true travel company/agent/consultant invests time to make sure that you are fully aware of all facets of a package before you commit – Chimu in no way met that standard. This cruise feels like a money earner – crew come and work for free, the rest of the crew no doubt work for bare wages, and guests “chip in” to make activities happen. The food is below average and the ship is poorly maintained so much so that even the linens and pillows are in dire need of replacing. This is Oceanwide’s “money maker” and you’ll feel it every day. Rebecca Chandler M/V Plancius 18-29 December 2017
Date published: 2018-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible Just returned from an amazing trip with Chimu to Antarctica and the Falkland Islands. We were due to visit South Georgia however with some bad luck for one of our fellow passengers and some bad weather to boot we did miss this part sadly. We saw an incredible array of wildlife, and I feel the trip was well handled. We had some wonderful weather and the guides onboard the sea spirit were first class. The mood on board did turn a bit sour when it was seen that we would miss South Georgia, but our trip leader Chad Carey (a Chimu director) handled it wonderfully. The trip was billed as expedition and indeed it was from the outset! I have travelled enough to know things don’t always go your way, and I will travel with you again anytime! See you in the Arctic next year!
Date published: 2018-04-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good in many ways but ultimately disappointing. I booked on the Shackleton's Antarctica trip in March 2018, intended to go to the Antarctic islands and mainland, South Georgia and the Falklands. The time at sea (about 16 days) would only have been adequate if everything had gone perfectly. However, a combination of rough weather in the landing sites on South Georgia and a medical emergency meant we lost S. Georgia completely. I would only recommend this trip if it is extended to at least 18 days. On the other hand the ship and the levels of service were immaculate, and the arrangements for meeting me at airports and the standard of the hotels booked were entirely satisfactory. There were plenty of landings at the places we did reach and the expedition staff were friendly and knowledgeable.
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Voyage of a lifetime This journey was exceptional. All that was arranged just fell into place. Hotel accommodation went smoothly and location perfect. The voyage itself was exceptional from the friendliness and professionalism of the crew to the ships accommodation and facilities, the expedition itinerary could not be faulted. I would highly recommend the MS Expedition and will sail with them again.Also I will not hesitate to use Chimu Adventure for future travel
Date published: 2015-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fab kayaking This was not my choice of holiday, but it has been on my husband's shortlist since he was a boy. He had a great time. It was pretty much as I expected and planned for, but the kayaking was fabulous. I might have gone stir crazy without the opportunity to get away from the crowd and to be almost alone in tne splendour. The trip cost a lot of money, but it was extremely well planned and run, and not expensive. Please not that gender is a social construct and not a biological fact.
Date published: 2015-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Antarctic Peninsular - what a trip!! Absolutely the best holiday I've experienced in my life. The company was G-Adventures, their vessel was the G-Explorer, only 130-odd passengers on board, the food was excellent, the crew were absolutely exceptional, and the four places we visited on the Peninsular were breathtaking!! We saw penguins and their colonies up close, saw various seals, an occasional whale breaching, and took a Polar Plunge (not mandatory) into the icy waters - with photos as proof!! If you have the Antarctic Peninsular on your bucket list, then go with G-Adventures (organised through Chimu). In my humble opinion, you won't be disappointed!
Date published: 2019-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply Incredible Antarctica Antarctica has been on my bucket list for decades, and I decided early last year that it was time for me to to take the plunge and go on this incredible journey. Having recently lost my wife to cancer, I was thrilled to see this trip with Chimu Adventures raising money for Breast Cancer care. After looking at several companies and many different ships, I called up Chimu and received incredible service from the word go. Nothing was too much effort and the whole process was made very easy. I undertook a 4 week trip with Chimu Adventures including a side visit to Peru and Argentina. Everything was faultless. Antarctica was the crowning glory - simply majestic. I cannot put into words the impact it had on me. Thank you Chimu for a wonderful voyage superbly hosted by Greg Carter. I'll be back when I save some more pennies!
Date published: 2016-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from epic antarctica This was the best group tour I have EVER been on. From contact with Staff at Chimu at time of booking to leaving the ship in Ushuaia at the end of our Journey. I travelled on the MV Ushuaia and ALL the Staff and Crew went 'above and beyond' in making sure everyone had the best time possible. Their commitment to customer service is immeasurable and the Expedition Leaders knowledge, insight and love of Antarctica supported their passion for this wondrous land. This is a journey that will stay with me forever! Thank You, Chimu
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Once in a Lifetime Best adventure ever! The staff were incredible, so helpful and knowledgeable, they went beyond expectations to make our cruise one in a million. Polar Pioneer was the perfect size for what was needed to cruise into the Antarctic Circle. We even did the Polar Plunge and have the T-shirt and certificate to prove it. The BBQ out on deck with Mulled Wine was great fun. Food was plentiful and tasty.
Date published: 2016-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trip of a Life Time From departure to arriving back home everything Chimu Adventures organised for us ran like clockwork. The Antarctic was fantastic. So quiet! The ship, crew and meals can not be faulted and we managed two landing per day whilst in the area.
Date published: 2016-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Antarctica with G Adventures G Adventures run ship MS Expedition. All run very smoothly, excellent attention to detail. Flexible destinations regarding weather conditions. Very good attention to environmental issues. Food too rich, could have had less stodgy desserts and meat was always very rare (ie raw); even vegetables were cooked in a stodgy sauce. However always fresh salad and fruit available.
Date published: 2015-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous trip from start to finish! I sailed with GAdventures on the MS Expedition from Montevideo to the Falklands, then to South Georgia and on to the Antarctic Peninsula. It was a wonderful trip. I had high expectations, and they were not just met, but exceeded in every regard. The expedition team were experts in their fields, and their enthusiasm was evident throughout our amazing journey.
Date published: 2015-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Greatest vacation so far We lost one day becouse one of ships engine was broken, so embark was delayed fo 24h, but we get refund, one night at hotel and some trips during those 24h. otherwise tour was excellent. CEO changed intinerary plan so we headed to polar circle first to be sure we can go through in time. if something didnt match itinerary, it was only becouse of weather or danger. Crew and CEO was group of fantastic people and thansk to them, this trip was double so awsome :)
Date published: 2015-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beyond words The most amazing trip from beginning to end. Chimu did a great job of helping me plan my trip & were available with advice & information. The ship (Akademik Ioffe) was fantastic,the One Ocean expedition team were so helpful & knowledgable as well as fun, the ships crew did a fantastic job, & even the weather was perfect!! Everything went smoothly, & the wildlife & scenery was astonishing, so beautiful.
Date published: 2015-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best trip ever! The expedition crew did everything they could to organise landings In a variety of settings and were able to adapt their plans due to any changes in weather. The expedition crew were very knowledgable and all the ships staff were fantastic. We crossed the Antarctic circle and went the furthest south the ship had been thanks to the great skills of the captain. I loved this trip! Penguins, seals, orca whales, wildlife in abundance!!
Date published: 2016-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More than I could have hoped Everything about the trip was fantastic. I have no complaints whatsoever. I would recommend the Sea Adventurer as a perfect ship for adventure/expedition travel because of the two public decks surrounding the ship.
Date published: 2015-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely Awesome! We had a wonderful expedition to Antarctica - but have to add that the weather was perfect which made the entire trip ideal. The Drake Passage crossing (both ways) was without incident (noted as the Drake Lake). Landed nine times on the Antarctic continent, which is about the most one could expect. The MS Expedition staff (headed by John) were exceptional and the ship's crew superb. Without a doubt, a trip of a lifetime!!
Date published: 2015-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Antarctica The entire trip was wonderful. It was a joy to see all the different penguins, sea birds, and seals, as well as experience the walking on the ice and snow. The icebergs were spectacular, both in shape and colour.
Date published: 2014-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic South Georgia and Antarctica Brilliant holiday. Budget hotels in Buenos Aires and Ushuaia booked by Chimu were excellent. Weather not all that good but the crew of the Ushuaia were really good and did all they could so that we could have the best in landings that were possible. All travel arranged by ourselves went well and the transfers arranged by Chimu were equally good and drivers were good too! The ship is quite basic so do not expect a cruise ship!
Date published: 2015-11-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing adventure to the White Continent This was an incredible 11 day 'Images of Antarctica' adventure. Despite the Drake Passage taking it's toll on many, this trip is incredibly worthwhile, if you have the money! The weather was good about half of the time that we were in Antarctica, if it had been miserable weather the whole time it would have been disappointing (not the cruise's fault of course!), but as it was, we got to see the very best (beautiful blue skies, bright white snow and humpback whales) and maybe not quite the worst (-45 degrees with wind chill factor!). Overall I think this enhanced the experience, as we got to see Antarctica for what it really is, completely wild. All of the staff on board were wonderful, funny and warm. I enjoyed the lectures, which gave a greater insight into what we were seeing on land.
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow ! Antarctica was everything we dreamed of and more. We took part in an expedition on the MV Ushuaia, and found the ship perfect for our needs. Plenty of space onboard to see wildlife from the decks, and a very informative guide in Augustin. We hope to go back and explore South Georgia in a few years time. We hear the wildlife is even more spectacular (if possible) there!. Thanks again, and hope this review is of use!
Date published: 2014-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Antarctica The trip to Antarctica on board the Sea Explorer was an unique experience I will never forget! The overnight stays in Buenos Aires incl. the transfers to/from the airport as well as the events to attend a Tango Show and to visit the Fireland National park were very well organised by Agnes Schneider of Chimu Adventures!
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful trip All went according to plan and was very well organised by the staff and crew on the ship.
Date published: 2015-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overwhelmed, emotional and speechless I had 8 flights, along with picks ups, hotels, drop offs, a ship to get to - on time and tours. Every single step of the way went flawlessly, thanks to Chimu and in particular Simon who has infinite patience. I am normally an independent traveller, so found it hard to relinquish control and let Chimu sort everything out. Thanks for indulging my many queries. Perfection!
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quest for the Antarctic Circle Fantastic Trip on the "Expedition", a great adventure, everything was well organised, destination exceeded all expectations, zodiac landings and cruises allowed spectacular sight seeing of wildlife, and the Antarctic landscapes and icebergs. Photos don do it justice, you have to experience it.
Date published: 2018-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Once in a lifetime experience Extremely we'll run cruise, perfect number of passengers and crew
Date published: 2014-09-10
  • y_2019, m_6, d_17, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_274
  • loc_en_AU, sid_antarctica, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_chimu-adventures
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.3.0.1
  • CLOUD, method:getReviews, 3.94ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Whilst some of our Antarctic cruise ships boast a gym, sauna and small pools, this is rare and generally the majority have a lecture theatre, library, bar and restaurant, as well as the main deck. All ships offer a series of lectures focusing on the geology, history and wildlife of Antarctica and the Southern Ocean, to help you prepare for what lies ahead. You can interact with the crew and expedition team as well as your fellow passengers in the common areas and either brave the elements to stand on deck taking in the spectacular scenery and wildlife-watching, scanning the horizon for whales, seals and seabirds, or do so from the comfort of the lounges and observation decks.

Shore landings are a feature of our Antarctic cruises and one or two shore or Zodiac excursions are usually planned per day, weather conditions permitting.

Shore landings are mainly for wildlife watching of penguins, seals and nesting birds although itineraries often try to include a visit to a scientific base. Certain cruises provide opportunities for activities such as snowshoeing, skiing, hiking, mountaineering and even overnight camping.

The number of people on board varies depending on the ship but the majority of our ships carry between 50 and 150 passengers. A few of the mega-yachts and purpose-built cruise ships carry around 250 passengers.

Chimu Adventures are the Antarctica specialists and an Associate Member of the International Association of Antarctica Tour Operators. We offer the largest range of vessels, an experienced, expert team of travel enthusiasts, and comprehensive, flexible itineraries, tailoring each cruise to your wishes and making your Antarctic Cruise unique and unforgettable.

All of our tours are 100% tried and tested to ensure that when you travel with us, you’re doing so in a controlled and safe environment with trained experts. We consistently monitor weather conditions and will always provide you with the best possible adventure without risk of injury to you or the vessel. While some activities may need to be rescheduled or cancelled due to weather, every effort is made to have a contingency plan should such conditions become a reality during your expeditions. We’ve been the experts in Antarctic travel for well over 10 years and use our vast experience and knowledge when picking the vessels we sell to provide you with an adventure that’s unforgettable for all the right reasons.

It is true that at times the Drake Passage can produce turbulent seas, but our vessels are built for maximum stability and comfort to ensure that even in rough conditions, sea and motion sickness are kept to a minimum at all times. We also have a host of services and facilities available should symptoms befall you. It also might be possible to fly over the Drake Passage, so speak to one of our destination specialists for more information about this.

We pride ourselves on our customisable range of Antarctica tours that allow you to tailor the perfect Antarctic experience for your own goals and wishes. We also offer a wide range of tours to suit a diverse array of budgets, from 6 day express cruises, to 35 day expeditions. Speak to one of our consultants who can help you plan your perfect Antarctica cruise, which includes all of the elements you’re looking for in your trip.

The remoteness of Antarctica can sometimes deter the adventurous heart, but unlike the famous explorers of the past, you can leave the ration packs at home as Chimu can provide all the modern comfort and luxuries you need after a day of adventure, in a safe and comfortable environment. Quiet, relaxing cabins, beautiful food and wine, and spacious common areas allow you to soak in the picturesque landscapes at your own pace. When it’s time to venture off the vessel, our range of itineraries include activities to suit all abilities and fitness levels.

Yes, a laundry service at a reasonable cost is included on every ship.

Food on board our cruise ships is excellent. Breakfasts and lunches tend to be buffet style, with dinners generally served to your table and featuring 3 and sometimes 4 courses. The range of food is diverse with professional chefs preparing a wide selection of gourmet dishes.

There is no native Antarctic language as there are no indigenous inhabitants. The majority of residents are linked to research stations and so speak the language of their home countries. Scientific research is generally formalized in English, with French where necessary.

There is no currency in Antarctica but the unit of currency in Argentina is the Argentinian Peso. The main currency at the Port Lockroy Post Office is the US $ although the UK £ and Euro € are also accepted. On all Antarctic cruises meals are included but drinks and souvenirs need to be purchased separately. Most cruise ships accept Euros € and US $. Major credit cards, in particular Visa and MasterCard are also widely accepted on board. If your Antarctic cruise includes the Falkland Islands, the currency of the islands is the Falkland Islands Pound (FK £), although UK £’s are accepted as well.

Antarctica is an extreme environment and although Antarctic cruises depart during the spring and summer months, the weather can change dramatically, with no warning and so you need to be prepared for conditions in this harsh region. When packing, avoid weighing yourself down with too many clothes or too much gear. Select informal, practical attire for your trip that can be worn in layers, including: • Parka jacket - lightweight, wind and weather-resistant shell • Warm trousers - ski pants or sturdy trousers • Waterproof trousers - Gore-Tex or similar waterproof and "breathable" fabrics are recommended • Long thermal underwear - silk or polypropylene is highly recommended • Sweaters - wool sweaters or a polar fleece jacket • Turtlenecks • Mittens and gloves - thin polypropylene gloves underneath warm mittens • Woollen cap and a scarf or balaclava • Warm socks - sturdy, long wool socks and thin pairs of silk, polypropylene or cotton/wool socks • A sturdy, lightweight and waterproof daypack for landings or Zodiac excursions • Sunglasses with U.V. filter • Protective sunscreen for lips, hands and face • Swimsuit for hotels, aboard some ships and (maybe) for a polar plunge • Camera with spare batteries and memory cards • Extra pair of prescription glasses • Prescription medicines and other remedies such as seasickness medication • Binoculars • Zip lock plastic bags or dry sacks for carrying camera, batteries, etc. • T-shirts or other casual warm weather clothes • Clothes for gateway cities

Copyright © Chimu Adventures All rights reserved 2004 - 2018