Skip to main content

South Georgia

Search South Georgia:

TRAVELLING TO South Georgia

South Georgia is a remote yet magical island, exquisite in its beauty and virtually unspoilt by man. It is adorned with emerald green bays, blue glacier ice and formidable snow covered peaks. South Georgia travel will expose you to one of the world’s greatest wildlife areas - the “Galapagos of the South”. Home to over 30 million breeding birds, thousands of seals, the introduced Norwegian reindeer, four breeding species of penguin and the largest colony of king penguins on this planet - the island teems with life. South Georgia is also home to the macaroni penguin not often seen on the Peninsula and one of the very few places where you can see the nesting sites of the wandering albatross, a bird that boasts the largest wingspan of any bird in the world.
 
If the spectacular wildlife is not enough of a drawcard, South Georgia travel will bring you to a part of the Antarctic that is steeped in history. The island was an intrinsic part of Sir Ernest Shackleton's 1914-17 Trans-Antarctica Expedition in the Endurance, one of the most incredible adventure stories and most heroic survival stories of all times. South Georgia was once the centre of the whaling industry and an Antarctica cruise to this part of the Southern Ocean will give you the opportunity to see the relics and remains of abandoned whaling stations and to visit the grave of the intrepid explorer, Shackleton.
 
With the greatest concentration of wildlife on the planet, a captivating history and ruggedly beautiful terrain, the sub-Antarctic island of South Georgia is one of the jewels in the Southern Ocean’s crown. Why not discover it on an Antarctica cruise to the Falklands, South Georgia and the Antarctic Peninsula? 
 
[ Continue Reading ]
South Georgia is a remote yet magical island, exquisite in its beauty and virtually unspoilt by man. It is adorned with emerald green bays, blue glacier ice and formidable snow covered peaks. South Georgia travel will expose you to one of the world’s greatest wildlife areas - the “Galapagos of the South”. Home to over 30 million breeding birds, thousands of seals, the introduced Norwegian reindeer, four breeding species of penguin and the largest colony of king penguins on this planet - the island teems with life. South Georgia is also home to the macaroni penguin not often seen on the Peninsula and one of the very few places where you can see the nesting sites of the wandering albatross, a bird that boasts the largest wingspan of any bird in the world.
 
If the spectacular wildlife is not enough of a drawcard, South Georgia travel will bring you to a part of the Antarctic that is steeped in history. The island was an intrinsic part of Sir Ernest Shackleton's 1914-17 Trans-Antarctica Expedition in the Endurance, one of the most incredible adventure stories and most heroic survival stories of all times. South Georgia was once the centre of the whaling industry and an Antarctica cruise to this part of the Southern Ocean will give you the opportunity to see the relics and remains of abandoned whaling stations and to visit the grave of the intrepid explorer, Shackleton.
 
With the greatest concentration of wildlife on the planet, a captivating history and ruggedly beautiful terrain, the sub-Antarctic island of South Georgia is one of the jewels in the Southern Ocean’s crown. Why not discover it on an Antarctica cruise to the Falklands, South Georgia and the Antarctic Peninsula? 
 
[ Read Less ]

WHY TRAVEL WITH CHIMU ADVENTURES

  • We are true Polar specialists. Almost every Chimu team member has travelled to either Antarctica or the Arctic and collectively we have experienced over 50 expeditions.

  • You can choose from over 130 cruises to Antarctica and the Arctic,including itineraries aboard our own charter vessels.

  • We have inspected and continue to thoroughly research each individual vessel we work with, selecting only those with environmental, safety and value credentials.

  • We know all things Polar by heart and will work with you to determine which ship and itinerary is best suited to your needs.

  • Travellers visit the Polar regions for different reasons so whether your interests are wildlife or photography, or Antarctic activities such as snowshoeing and kayaking, we can work around you for the perfect trip.

  • From your initial enquiry until your trip ends, you will be assigned a personal Destination Specialist who will offer a full service for your travel needs: we can book flights, insurance and any ancillary travel required to complete your journey.

South Georgia CRUISES

BLOGS ON South Georgia

Whether you are looking for advice on when to travel to Antarctica or the Arctic, which ship to travel on or which itinerary will suit you best, Chimu blogs are likely to have it covered. The range of topics is vast, with new and fascinating blogs being added regularly. There is ship information, guides about the activities you can do in the Polar regions, what to pack and what not to pack, and even blogs on various Polar explorers!

READ NOW

South Georgia REVIEWS

All Chimu Adventures' clients are given the opportunity to review their trip once they return home. These reviews are administered by a third party and as such are unfiltered by Chimu Adventures.

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Antarctica It's an adventure cruise, since the ship is a repurposed research vessel, not designed for comfort.
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Trip One Ocean and Vavilov crew were great and made every effort to ensure our safety and enjoyment
Date published: 2015-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Voyage to Antarctic Peninsula Travelled with Quark Sea Adventurer. Absolutely loved the trip! We experienced everything - terrible weather, calm sunny days, lots of animals and birdlife, magnificent scenery. Quark expedition crew were amazing - such excellent organisation, as flexibility was certainly required with all the changing weather conditions. Their subject knowledge and presentations added a great amount to the voyage.
Date published: 2016-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant, life-changing experience The ratio of almost one crew member per guest ensured that everything ran perfectly on Albatros Expeditions' Ocean Atlantic. The guides were brilliant, the food magnificent and our (upgraded) cabin a delight. The Chimu rep on board was very helpful. To nitpick, the weather could have been kinder for photography, but the sea was reasonably benign and the wildlife magnificent. Utterly wonderful.
Date published: 2019-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truly the trip of a lifetime! Every day just brought better and better experiences. The expedition crew couldn’t do enough to maximise our opportunities to go out in the zodiacs and land wherever possible to see penguins and seals in particular and their enthusiasm for Antarctica was inspiring. Icebergs, glaciers, sea ice and snow covered mountains were everywhere and so beautiful. An unscheduled visit to the Argentinian Antarctica Research Base was one of many highlights of the trip. The 3 weeks on the MS Expedition flew by and was truly the trip of a lifetime!
Date published: 2018-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beyond Any Expectations From the very first contact with Chimu, I had a great experience. Everything about the trip far exceeded any of my expectations. Besides the fact that Antarctica is the most amazing place on Earth, the trip itself was phenomenal. To the food, service, crew, expertise of the expedition team, everything was fantastic. I would highly recommend Chimu to friends and family.
Date published: 2015-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extraordinary and amazing! Visiting Antarctica has been on my bucket list! Finally headed there, with Chimu organizing my trip, plus a few add-ons in Argentina. Everything was perfectly organized, and the Chimu team and the Antarctic expedition team were simply fabulous. Friendly and knowledgeable, and intent on ensuring everyone has the most memorable trip. Will definitely use Chimu again!
Date published: 2018-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bucket List Ticked!! My trip to Antarctica was beyond any of my expectations. From the moment we arrived at Sydney Airport, to when we touched down again two weeks later, everything ran so smoothly and very professional. There are no words to describe my experience and there's simply no video's or photographs that capture the pure magic that is Antarctica - you just have to experience it for yourself, and everyones experience is different. I saw whales that swam around our zodiac boat, seals and lots and lots of penguins, but nothing was as breathtaking as the beauty and serenity that is Antarctica. Staff on board the Sea Adventurer are not only incredibly intelligent and knowledgeable, they are also incredibly friendly. It felt as though I had known them for a long time and infact it was really sad to say goodbye. The only negative I have is the food is too good!!!!! Even using my strongest willpower I couldn't say no to the amazing food that was on offer - curse you fresh baked cookies that sit at the coffee and tea station all day every day!!!! I have no problems-and have already done so-in recommending Chimu Adventures to my friends and family. They were absolutely fantastic and I look forward to traveling with them again in the near future
Date published: 2015-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A unique experience Well organised tour with all connections working as promised. Excellent expedition team, with great knowledge of Antartica, on boat and very good selection of sites to visit. Unique experience passing through the Lemaire Channel. The scenery was, at times, spectacular but we had some cloudy days and snow, as well as sunshine. The Polar Pioneer is, by no means, luxurious and the cabins are small, but the meals were good and the small boat allowed great flexibility and the opportunity for all passengers to go on all landings.
Date published: 2019-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Words can not describe this place !!!!! A unique place in the world to have had the priviledge to visit. We had penguins sitting on our feet & nestling into us. Saw whales, seals, albatross, icebergs, spectacular scenery & walked on ice flows!!! Reached the furthest South for the season - 68 degrees south - Stonington Base. Plus we were lucky enough to have a smooth sail across the Drake Passage - in both directions. It is a definite destination to put on your bucket list. Thank you Clare & Chimu for your excellent planning & organisation for our holiday.
Date published: 2017-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NO negatives the trip turned out to be just as it was sold to us...the ship was very sea worthy and the captain gave confident.Food was excellent.The daily debrief worked well.Having the mud room was definitely an advantage..all wet gear could be left there.The staff in charge of the zodiac trips were professional and knowledgable and really went out of their way to ensure we got to see and experience everything the antartic had to offer.this is not a cheap holiday,it is an expensive experience but you really do get what you pay for!
Date published: 2018-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from South America and Antarctic Adventure The planing done by Chimu was meticulous. Hotels great,airport pickups always there. Greay variety of destinations. The quality of guides was terrific. We did both private tours and group tours and all worked. Our cruise boat MS Expedition was a highlight but our month in South America(Chile Peru Bolivia) exceded our expectations.
Date published: 2015-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow A trip of a lifetime. It was so much more that we expected, words cannot describe our time in Antarctica and once again Chimu came through with the most amazing journey. The Sea Adventurer was an awesome vessel with only 117 passengers and we were very fortunate to have 11 zodiac landings while down there. A very special place.
Date published: 2015-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous The Expedition crew were just wonderful. They ensure the safety and security of all passengers. Sea Adventurer crew were also excellent, very attentative and looked after all our needs. I must thank the Captain and Expedition Leader for the treat they gave us in Deception Bay. Absolutely marvellous holiday
Date published: 2016-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A continent of majestic beauty and wildlife A well organised and planned expedition to an extraordinary continent
Date published: 2014-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An amazing trip! Antarctica was just stunning - vast pristine emptiness: mountains, icebergs, glaciers, snow covered islands & no-one but us (except for the 1000s of penguins!). Organisation & safety were superb. Crew wonderful: friendly, helpful & knowledgeable. DVD at end of trip a truly memorable & special gift.
Date published: 2015-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life changing experience The ship Quark's Ocean Endeavour provided every comfort and attention to each of the guests. Staff were extremely friendly. Scientific crew very knowledgable. Well planned zodiac trips that let us experience Antarctica up close. This is a trip that every on should put on their bucket list.
Date published: 2016-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Breathtakingly awesome We were blessed with almost a week of perfect weather in Antarctica. Stunningly beautiful and presented by talented and enthusiastic expedition crew. Meals exceeded expectation as did the willingness of the Captain to position the ship to get the best view of the wildlife.
Date published: 2016-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truly Amazing, more like Incredible !!!! The expedition staff and crew for Antarctica were truly the most professional people. The whole expedition was incredible and the weather was perfect. I would highly recommend this to anyone who is interested in going to Antarctica
Date published: 2018-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely amazing We were very lucky with weather, all landings and Zodiac tours happened. The amount of wildlife was overwhelming. The staff were very professional and gave interesting and informative talks and helped in identifying wildlife.
Date published: 2018-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Antarctic Adventure Well organised tour overall. Great information on Antarctica from experts on the cruise across Drake Passage. Fantastic landings with great scenery and wildlife. Everything ran smoothly. The ship's catering was great.
Date published: 2019-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Antarctica on MS Expedition We loved the trip and it was everything we expected it to be. The zodiac cruising around the icebergs and zodiac landings were just so very well organised and each one was different from the other.
Date published: 2016-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from was even better than I expected Chimu worked hard to overcome the problems created by airline strikes,which of course were out of their control. Once we got to the Antarctic the crew and excursion team were excellent.
Date published: 2017-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic experience A very well organised trip with a very enthusiastic crew who went out of their way to make it a trip of a life time and I would happily recommend it to anyone who ask me about it.
Date published: 2016-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME TRIP - EXPERIENCE OF A LIFETIME Just the most amazing trip. Would be happy to book with Chimu and go again. My contact with Chimu Qld was great and he was happy to respond to my numerous emails/questions.
Date published: 2014-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beyond wildest imagination From start to finish, this trip went smoothly and was both exciting and challenging. Recommended for anybody wanting to see nature at her finest.
Date published: 2017-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top holiday Everything went to plan. All was above expedition expedations. I had a great time, the ships crew were very experienced. What a great adventure.
Date published: 2019-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best possible option This itinerary was based around an admiration for the explorer Sir Ernest Shackleton and it certainly delivered. The destinations and all places we visited were spectacular and interesting. There were many lectures based around learning more about Shackleton, delivered with enthusiasm and insight. There were specialists and researchers on the crew who delivered interesting lectures on many topics relating to Antarctica and its fauna. I chose the kayaking as an additional option and I'm so glad I did. It was stunning kayaking over brash ice and around icebergs, amongst whales and penguins. Safety was foremost and the guides, staff, crew were fantastic. The expedition leader and captain were incredibly competent and overall the trip was faultless. I wouldn't let my friends take anything other than this trip.
Date published: 2018-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Experience of a life time what was promised was delivered, there were no coordination issues, the customer support Mr Jason was very prompt in responding to all queries, the only glitch would have been some of my co participants got a better pricing deal for the same occupancy, but the cruise operators Albetross were thorough professional. top importance to safety, amazing food, though the bar was on the expensive side. they were very passionate about what they are doing and caring for the ecosystem.
Date published: 2019-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic Antarctica - 10 day cruise 10 day cruise to Antarctic Peninsular on the "Ushuaia". Rough crossing the Drake but Antarctica so peaceful and pristine.
Date published: 2019-04-18
  • y_2019, m_8, d_19, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_275
  • loc_en_AU, sid_antarctica, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_chimu-adventures
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.3.0.1
  • CLOUD, method:getReviews, 4.51ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Video

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

 All of our tours are 100% tried and tested to ensure that when you travel with us, you are doing so in a controlled and safe environment with trained experts. We consistently monitor weather conditions and will always provide you with the best possible adventure without risk of injury to you or the vessel. While some landings and activities may need to be rescheduled or cancelled due to weather, every effort is made to have a contingency plan should such conditions become a reality during your expedition. Chimu have been the experts in Antarctic travel for well over 10 years and use our vast experience and knowledge when picking the vessels we sell to provide you with an adventure that is unforgettable for all the right reasons.

Note:

  • Extreme care should be taken in the proximity of seals (especially those in breeding colonies) and particularly fur seals from November to January, when they can be extremely aggressive

  • The buildings and jetties of the old whaling stations at Leith, Stromness, Husvik and Prince Olav Harbour are in a dangerous state of disrepair and so it is forbidden to approach within 200 metres

A visa is not required to visit South Georgia but all visitors must be in possession of a valid passport. All passports must be presented to the Government Officer (Immigration Officer) on arrival at Grytviken. If your Antarctica cruise is departing from an Argentinian port such as Ushuaia, no pre-arranged visa is required to enter Argentina by citizens of the UK, Australia, Ireland, European Union, New Zealand, Canada, South Africa and the USA. Other nationalities should check with your closest Argentinean embassy or consulate. Australian, Canadian and USA citizens must pay a "reciprocity fee" to enter Argentina. This is not a visa, but a fee based on the fees that Argentinean citizens pay for visas to these countries. The fee must be paid online and in advance for arrival at all airports.

Most Antarctica cruises that include South Georgia on their way to or from the Antarctic Peninsula, spend 3 to 5 days exploring South Georgia. Those cruises that feature South Georgia travel only typically spend at least 7 or 8 days in the region. Possible landing sites and excursions include Elsehul Bay, Salisbury Plain, Prion Island, Fortuna Bay, St. Andrews Bay, Gold Harbour, Drygalski Fjord, Cumberland Bay and the old whaling stations at Stromness, Leith, Husvik and Grytviken.

The official currency of South Georgia is the pound sterling (GBP).

English is the official language of South Georgia as it is a British Overseas Territory.

A high level of fitness is not necessary for Antarctica cruises to South Georgia, but you need to be in good health as although there is generally a doctor on board the ships, you are a long way from any other medical assistance. The majority of activities are focused around shore excursions and zodiac cruising and so you need to be agile and able-bodied enough to climb into and out of the inflatable zodiacs from both the ship and the shore. On shore landings you may need to negotiate uneven and slippery ground. Shore excursions generally involve some walking.