Skip to main content

South Georgia

Search South Georgia:

TRAVELLING TO South Georgia

South Georgia is a remote yet magical island, exquisite in its beauty and virtually unspoilt by man. It is adorned with emerald green bays, blue glacier ice and formidable snow covered peaks. South Georgia travel will expose you to one of the world’s greatest wildlife areas - the “Galapagos of the South”. Home to over 30 million breeding birds, thousands of seals, the introduced Norwegian reindeer, four breeding species of penguin and the largest colony of king penguins on this planet - the island teems with life. South Georgia is also home to the macaroni penguin not often seen on the Peninsula and one of the very few places where you can see the nesting sites of the wandering albatross, a bird that boasts the largest wingspan of any bird in the world.
 
If the spectacular wildlife is not enough of a drawcard, South Georgia travel will bring you to a part of the Antarctic that is steeped in history. The island was an intrinsic part of Sir Ernest Shackleton's 1914-17 Trans-Antarctica Expedition in the Endurance, one of the most incredible adventure stories and most heroic survival stories of all times. South Georgia was once the centre of the whaling industry and an Antarctica cruise to this part of the Southern Ocean will give you the opportunity to see the relics and remains of abandoned whaling stations and to visit the grave of the intrepid explorer, Shackleton.
 
With the greatest concentration of wildlife on the planet, a captivating history and ruggedly beautiful terrain, the sub-Antarctic island of South Georgia is one of the jewels in the Southern Ocean’s crown. Why not discover it on an Antarctica cruise to the Falklands, South Georgia and the Antarctic Peninsula? 
 
[ Continue Reading ]
South Georgia is a remote yet magical island, exquisite in its beauty and virtually unspoilt by man. It is adorned with emerald green bays, blue glacier ice and formidable snow covered peaks. South Georgia travel will expose you to one of the world’s greatest wildlife areas - the “Galapagos of the South”. Home to over 30 million breeding birds, thousands of seals, the introduced Norwegian reindeer, four breeding species of penguin and the largest colony of king penguins on this planet - the island teems with life. South Georgia is also home to the macaroni penguin not often seen on the Peninsula and one of the very few places where you can see the nesting sites of the wandering albatross, a bird that boasts the largest wingspan of any bird in the world.
 
If the spectacular wildlife is not enough of a drawcard, South Georgia travel will bring you to a part of the Antarctic that is steeped in history. The island was an intrinsic part of Sir Ernest Shackleton's 1914-17 Trans-Antarctica Expedition in the Endurance, one of the most incredible adventure stories and most heroic survival stories of all times. South Georgia was once the centre of the whaling industry and an Antarctica cruise to this part of the Southern Ocean will give you the opportunity to see the relics and remains of abandoned whaling stations and to visit the grave of the intrepid explorer, Shackleton.
 
With the greatest concentration of wildlife on the planet, a captivating history and ruggedly beautiful terrain, the sub-Antarctic island of South Georgia is one of the jewels in the Southern Ocean’s crown. Why not discover it on an Antarctica cruise to the Falklands, South Georgia and the Antarctic Peninsula? 
 
[ Read Less ]

WHY TRAVEL WITH CHIMU ADVENTURES

  • We are true Polar specialists. Almost every Chimu team member has travelled to either Antarctica or the Arctic and collectively we have experienced over 50 expeditions.

  • You can choose from over 130 cruises to Antarctica and the Arctic,including itineraries aboard our own charter vessels.

  • We have inspected and continue to thoroughly research each individual vessel we work with, selecting only those with environmental, safety and value credentials.

  • We know all things Polar by heart and will work with you to determine which ship and itinerary is best suited to your needs.

  • Travellers visit the Polar regions for different reasons so whether your interests are wildlife or photography, or Antarctic activities such as snowshoeing and kayaking, we can work around you for the perfect trip.

  • From your initial enquiry until your trip ends, you will be assigned a personal Destination Specialist who will offer a full service for your travel needs: we can book flights, insurance and any ancillary travel required to complete your journey.

South Georgia CRUISES

BLOGS ON South Georgia

Whether you are looking for advice on when to travel to Antarctica or the Arctic, which ship to travel on or which itinerary will suit you best, Chimu blogs are likely to have it covered. The range of topics is vast, with new and fascinating blogs being added regularly. There is ship information, guides about the activities you can do in the Polar regions, what to pack and what not to pack, and even blogs on various Polar explorers!

READ NOW

South Georgia REVIEWS

All Chimu Adventures' clients are given the opportunity to review their trip once they return home. These reviews are administered by a third party and as such are unfiltered by Chimu Adventures.

South Georgia

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Probably my best trip ever Great itinerary and the Expedition staff on board were excellent
Date published: 2018-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Breathtaking We were so well supported by an expert crew and the academic staff, the crew who facilitated getting us on and off the zodiacs and onto shore, the chefs who fed us to bursting point and a fantastic cohort of passengers. Absolutely fantastic
Date published: 2018-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Antarctica The trip was more than I expected it to be and and a good value
Date published: 2018-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best trip ever The whole trip was fantastic. Everything that was planned happened as it was planned. It can't get any better than that. Chimu was easy to deal with and thorough in organising all aspects of the holiday
Date published: 2018-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievably Amazing Trip It was to be the adventure of a life time and it certainly was - what a trip
Date published: 2018-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truly the trip of a lifetime! Every day just brought better and better experiences. The expedition crew couldn’t do enough to maximise our opportunities to go out in the zodiacs and land wherever possible to see penguins and seals in particular and their enthusiasm for Antarctica was inspiring. Icebergs, glaciers, sea ice and snow covered mountains were everywhere and so beautiful. An unscheduled visit to the Argentinian Antarctica Research Base was one of many highlights of the trip. The 3 weeks on the MS Expedition flew by and was truly the trip of a lifetime!
Date published: 2018-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing experience Great trip and the whole G-adventures crew were fantastic
Date published: 2018-05-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Terrible organisation and communication Antarctica, South Georgia and the Falklands were set to be a once in a lifetime experience everyone on board was excited to set off, even with a weather delay. However it soon became apparent that the itinerary we had been provided by Chimu did not match what we would be doing. When we were presented with the "plan B" itinerary onboard there was confusion as we were leaving antarctica earlier than indicated and had less time on South Georgia than expected. This appeared to be down to a lack of sea days in the itinerary, making the itinerary provided impossible or at best misleading. The chimu representative onboard did not communicate with the group effectively and was very dismisive of passangers concerns.
Date published: 2018-04-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good in many ways but ultimately disappointing. I booked on the Shackleton's Antarctica trip in March 2018, intended to go to the Antarctic islands and mainland, South Georgia and the Falklands. The time at sea (about 16 days) would only have been adequate if everything had gone perfectly. However, a combination of rough weather in the landing sites on South Georgia and a medical emergency meant we lost S. Georgia completely. I would only recommend this trip if it is extended to at least 18 days. On the other hand the ship and the levels of service were immaculate, and the arrangements for meeting me at airports and the standard of the hotels booked were entirely satisfactory. There were plenty of landings at the places we did reach and the expedition staff were friendly and knowledgeable.
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed to miss a big chunk of the itinerary Firstly, let me express that what we did achieve for the most part was an incredible experience. Antarctica is truly an amazing place. The Sea Spirit and her crew, the hotel staff, and food where incredible, and more than met my expectations. The expedition team were very knowledgeable, and presented well planned and interesting lectures, and were always approachable to answer questions. However, the huge disappointment was with the omission of the key part of this expedition for me, which was the visit to South Georgia; 'The Galapagos of the South'. Trying to get a last minute cruise place booked, this was the deciding factor for me, and it was a huge disappointment to all travelers that we didn't go there, and that the possibility of actually going there was in fact highly unlikely/impossible from the start due to the allocated time, distances involved, ship speed, and local conditions at this time of year. From the point at which it was dictated to us that we weren't going, my excitement levels significantly reduced, and the alternative landings were somewhat disappointing due to the high expectations I had for South Georgia. I also opted for what I now believe is an overpriced Kayak option. Whilst a number of the excursions where incredible experiences, in particular the morning of the Antarctic peninsula landings, I also feel that I missed out on some very immersive wildlife encounters as a result (notably the first landing when none kayakers had up close and personal interactions with inquisitive Gentoo penguins, and also the already noted Antarctic peninsula morning, when the zodiac cruisers came within meters of the feeding humpbacks). When the itinerary went to pot, I think some of the excursions lacked any plan, and were much of a directionless paddle. I was particularly disappointed to miss the Kayak Group Photo, on the one occasion when I decided to not kayak, since the taking of the group photo was not announced in advance (that I heard anyway). I would have at least donned my kayak gear to be included in the photo, whether I actually kayaked or not. As such I am not even included in the photo on my own certificate! My overall memory of the cruise (my first ever) is a mix of incredible joy at some things I witnessed, but unfortunately overshadowed by the huge cloud of disappointment I feel at the omission of the key part of the expedition. It pains me that when friends and family ask how the trip was, that I can't be bursting with excitement about the amazing experience. It was a huge amount of money for me to part with and I feel short changed by the events that occurred.
Date published: 2018-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Antarctica classic The whole trip was amazing without any problems Staff were friendly and worked together well to make the expedition experience very enjoyable and safe for all of us
Date published: 2018-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible Just returned from an amazing trip with Chimu to Antarctica and the Falkland Islands. We were due to visit South Georgia however with some bad luck for one of our fellow passengers and some bad weather to boot we did miss this part sadly. We saw an incredible array of wildlife, and I feel the trip was well handled. We had some wonderful weather and the guides onboard the sea spirit were first class. The mood on board did turn a bit sour when it was seen that we would miss South Georgia, but our trip leader Chad Carey (a Chimu director) handled it wonderfully. The trip was billed as expedition and indeed it was from the outset! I have travelled enough to know things don’t always go your way, and I will travel with you again anytime! See you in the Arctic next year!
Date published: 2018-04-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Amazing Trip marred by sloppy communication The Antarctic is a must go to destination sometime in one's life. The Scenery and the Wildlife just incredible. The ship; the hospitality crew and the expedition professionals could not be faulted. Unfortunately the weather played havoc with our planned destinations and key elements were scrapped (but others added). Unfortunately the published marketing material from Chimu was nothing like what the expedition team (Poseidon) was trying to execute against.
Date published: 2018-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bucket list ticked! This was an adventure: marketed as such and fulfilled as such. I loved every minute - small irrits beyond the control of Chimu!
Date published: 2018-04-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Shackleton's Antarctica 2018 -- sigh Unfortunately all the disappointments cloud the highlights of the trip for us. The major disappointment was the cancelling of South Georgia, which was the main reason we went on this trip. Our time in the Antarctica peninsula and Falklands were wonderful. We were grateful that the lost days at South Georgia did allow for more wildlife days in the Falklands. There was great concern among many of the passengers about this trip only having 17 days at sea to cover all three areas. For those in future -- definitely seek out a 22 day itinerary for the large loop to Antarctica, South Georgia and the Falklands to allow for any lost days due to weather. The Sea Spirit was an excellent ship and there were great talks. Staff and food were very nice. We would have felt that Chimu and Poseidon Expeditions did not realize the magnitude at the loss of the South Georgia experience on its passengers and that was upsetting. Many of the passengers were elderly and would not have the opportunity to come back and try to experience it. Grateful for a beautiful continental landing day. Grateful for all the penguins and the Falkland Island settlements.
Date published: 2018-04-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Shackelton Very disappointed that we couldn't get to South Georgia, however alternate arrangements ere well organised and partially compensated for missing South Georgia
Date published: 2018-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best adventure trip I"ve ever had This trip cannot be beaten for its uniqueness, stunning location, adventuring nature, value for money and learning opportunities.
Date published: 2018-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic experience Different to what I expected, but really great. The various landing sights were different and quite interesting.
Date published: 2018-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Antarctica - what a privilege Antarctica was just beautiful, imposing and impressive landscapes constantly changing,but peaceful and serene at the same time. It is a place of its own where we were privileged to get a glimpse of its magnitude and a sense of its timelessness. Everything about the cruise went so smoothly, wonderful expedition crew, friendly and attentive staff, delighted to say that both crossings of the Drake Passage were fine, food very good, accommodation also very good. We particularly enjoyed cruising in the zodiacs beside minky and humpback whales and playful leopard seals. Plenty of time to spend on land with the penguins, more seals and at some of the bases. The trip was really faultless and a credit to everyone who made the logistics seem natural. I will remember our 'wonderful good morning' wake up calls. It was a very special experience.
Date published: 2018-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NO negatives the trip turned out to be just as it was sold to us...the ship was very sea worthy and the captain gave confident.Food was excellent.The daily debrief worked well.Having the mud room was definitely an advantage..all wet gear could be left there.The staff in charge of the zodiac trips were professional and knowledgable and really went out of their way to ensure we got to see and experience everything the antartic had to offer.this is not a cheap holiday,it is an expensive experience but you really do get what you pay for!
Date published: 2018-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW, THE ADVENTURE OF A LIFE TIME the whole holiday ran very smoothly and exceeded all our expectations. we had a wonderful time, and we saw so many amazing things.
Date published: 2018-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic adventure An educational active cruise to enjoy the amazing wildlife and scenery, facilitated by the helpful knowledgeable crew on the Explorer
Date published: 2018-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I would give 6 starts if I could! The crew, boat and experience exceeded all expectations, I was blown away by how enthusiastic the team was, and kayaking next to humpback whales was a life highlight!
Date published: 2018-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely amazing We were very lucky with weather, all landings and Zodiac tours happened. The amount of wildlife was overwhelming. The staff were very professional and gave interesting and informative talks and helped in identifying wildlife.
Date published: 2018-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect spot on and you fixed the sea conditions a Everything about this trip was perfect. The location -wondrous. The expedition staff - knowledgeable, friendly and direct. Good fun too. The ships crew excellent always thinking of the guests not themselves. Food staff excellent. The food could have been better but no complaints for this kind of trip
Date published: 2018-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful experience The one drawback was that the ship was delayed by over 24 hours. This meant one less day in Antarctica. The ship crew and Quark expedition team tried their best to give us as many experiences as possible and to have a rapid turnaround at port to get us on our way.
Date published: 2018-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extraordinary and amazing! Visiting Antarctica has been on my bucket list! Finally headed there, with Chimu organizing my trip, plus a few add-ons in Argentina. Everything was perfectly organized, and the Chimu team and the Antarctic expedition team were simply fabulous. Friendly and knowledgeable, and intent on ensuring everyone has the most memorable trip. Will definitely use Chimu again!
Date published: 2018-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Experience! This adventure was top notch in every way! Cruise staff were extremely knowledgeable and helpful. The ship was lovely, food was great, and the landings on the zodiacs were amazing experiences!
Date published: 2018-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Continent humans have not ruined The trip was perfect. The weather helped as the Drake Crossing was not bad.The on shore visits were great. The staff onshore and on the ship were excellent. The food was great. Penguins,whales,sealions,birds and more oh my!!
Date published: 2018-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truly Amazing, more like Incredible !!!! The expedition staff and crew for Antarctica were truly the most professional people. The whole expedition was incredible and the weather was perfect. I would highly recommend this to anyone who is interested in going to Antarctica
Date published: 2018-03-13
  • y_2019, m_12, d_8, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_277
  • loc_en_AU, sid_antarctica, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_chimu-adventures
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.3.0.1
  • CLOUD, method:getReviews, 3.82ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Video

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

The official currency of South Georgia is the pound sterling (GBP).

English is the official language of South Georgia as it is a British Overseas Territory.

A high level of fitness is not necessary for Antarctica cruises to South Georgia, but you need to be in good health as although there is generally a doctor on board the ships, you are a long way from any other medical assistance. The majority of activities are focused around shore excursions and zodiac cruising and so you need to be agile and able-bodied enough to climb into and out of the inflatable zodiacs from both the ship and the shore. On shore landings you may need to negotiate uneven and slippery ground. Shore excursions generally involve some walking.

 All of our tours are 100% tried and tested to ensure that when you travel with us, you are doing so in a controlled and safe environment with trained experts. We consistently monitor weather conditions and will always provide you with the best possible adventure without risk of injury to you or the vessel. While some landings and activities may need to be rescheduled or cancelled due to weather, every effort is made to have a contingency plan should such conditions become a reality during your expedition. Chimu have been the experts in Antarctic travel for well over 10 years and use our vast experience and knowledge when picking the vessels we sell to provide you with an adventure that is unforgettable for all the right reasons.

Note:

  • Extreme care should be taken in the proximity of seals (especially those in breeding colonies) and particularly fur seals from November to January, when they can be extremely aggressive

  • The buildings and jetties of the old whaling stations at Leith, Stromness, Husvik and Prince Olav Harbour are in a dangerous state of disrepair and so it is forbidden to approach within 200 metres

A visa is not required to visit South Georgia but all visitors must be in possession of a valid passport. All passports must be presented to the Government Officer (Immigration Officer) on arrival at Grytviken. If your Antarctica cruise is departing from an Argentinian port such as Ushuaia, no pre-arranged visa is required to enter Argentina by citizens of the UK, Australia, Ireland, European Union, New Zealand, Canada, South Africa and the USA. Other nationalities should check with your closest Argentinean embassy or consulate. Australian, Canadian and USA citizens must pay a "reciprocity fee" to enter Argentina. This is not a visa, but a fee based on the fees that Argentinean citizens pay for visas to these countries. The fee must be paid online and in advance for arrival at all airports.

Most Antarctica cruises that include South Georgia on their way to or from the Antarctic Peninsula, spend 3 to 5 days exploring South Georgia. Those cruises that feature South Georgia travel only typically spend at least 7 or 8 days in the region. Possible landing sites and excursions include Elsehul Bay, Salisbury Plain, Prion Island, Fortuna Bay, St. Andrews Bay, Gold Harbour, Drygalski Fjord, Cumberland Bay and the old whaling stations at Stromness, Leith, Husvik and Grytviken.