Skip to main content

Argentina

Search Argentina:

TRAVELLING TO Argentina

Why visit? From dancing the famous Argentinian tango in one of Buenos Aires’ traditional milongas to wine tasting in Mendoza overlooking the Andes, or admiring the impressive Iguazu Falls, an Argentina tour can introduce you to the perfect mix of buzzing cities, cultural highlights and natural wonders.

The most popular starting point for an Argentina tour is the country’s capital, Buenos Aires. Often referred to as ‘the Paris of South America’, Buenos Aires is a city in which you can linger. There are many fascinating neighbourhoods but some of our favourites include La Boca, a ‘barrio’ known for its European feel being home to some of the best art galleries and tango shows in town, or San Telmo with its restored mansions and antique stores.

From Buenos Aires, your Argentina tour could take you to Salta in the country’s north, where you can day trip along Route 40, visiting the Great Salt Flat or venture to Humahuaca to visit ancient ruins and stop at some of the indigenous communities along the way. 

For an active exploration of the country, there are many ways to explore the fascinating landscapes of Argentina, including crossing the Andes on a horseback or hiking along the sapphire-coloured lakes of Tierra del Fuego National Park in Patagonia, in the country’s south.

More information: Below we have shown you just a fraction of the options available for Argentina and multi-country travel. Browse to get an idea of where you want to travel.

Still wondering? Contact us: You are definitely better off giving us a call or dropping us a line and letting us do the hard work for you. 

#Livefortoday and book your Argentina tour with us today. Chimu Adventures can put together an itinerary to suit you.

[ Continue Reading ]

Why visit? From dancing the famous Argentinian tango in one of Buenos Aires’ traditional milongas to wine tasting in Mendoza overlooking the Andes, or admiring the impressive Iguazu Falls, an Argentina tour can introduce you to the perfect mix of buzzing cities, cultural highlights and natural wonders.

The most popular starting point for an Argentina tour is the country’s capital, Buenos Aires. Often referred to as ‘the Paris of South America’, Buenos Aires is a city in which you can linger. There are many fascinating neighbourhoods but some of our favourites include La Boca, a ‘barrio’ known for its European feel being home to some of the best art galleries and tango shows in town, or San Telmo with its restored mansions and antique stores.

From Buenos Aires, your Argentina tour could take you to Salta in the country’s north, where you can day trip along Route 40, visiting the Great Salt Flat or venture to Humahuaca to visit ancient ruins and stop at some of the indigenous communities along the way. 

For an active exploration of the country, there are many ways to explore the fascinating landscapes of Argentina, including crossing the Andes on a horseback or hiking along the sapphire-coloured lakes of Tierra del Fuego National Park in Patagonia, in the country’s south.

More information: Below we have shown you just a fraction of the options available for Argentina and multi-country travel. Browse to get an idea of where you want to travel.

Still wondering? Contact us: You are definitely better off giving us a call or dropping us a line and letting us do the hard work for you. 

#Livefortoday and book your Argentina tour with us today. Chimu Adventures can put together an itinerary to suit you.

[ Read Less ]

WHY TRAVEL WITH CHIMU ADVENTURES

  • We offer you flexible travel options in Latin America at an affordable price.

  • You can choose from over 400 suggested itineraries or pick and choose elements to build your own unique experience; cover the areas you want to explore at a pace to suit you.

  • We know each Latin American country by heart and will work with you to determine which activities and accommodations are best suited to your needs.

  • From your initial enquiry until your trip ends, you will be assigned a personal Destination Specialist who will offer a full service for your travel needs: we can book flights, insurance and any ancillary travel required to complete your journey.

  • We have offices across South America so you can be assured that ground staff are close at hand to assist whilst you are travelling.

FEATURED Argentina TRIPS & DEALS

Argentina in Depth

FROM USD 3,735

Travel Argentina in detail. Shop and eat in Buenos Aires, marvel at Iguazu Falls and visit Salta and...

View Offer

Classic Argentina

FROM USD 3,315

A short highlights tour of Argentina. Explore the urban delights of Buenos Aires and wander the endl...

View Offer

Highlights of Argentina

8 NIGHTS

One of our most popular tours to Argentina, travel to the most popular destinations in a compact tim...

View trip

Argentina TOURS

BLOGS ON Argentina

READ NOW

Argentina REVIEWS

All Chimu Adventures' clients are given the opportunity to review their trip once they return home. These reviews are administered by a third party and as such are unfiltered by Chimu Adventures.

Argentina

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous trip! The entire trip went smoothly thanks to our tour director Tamos that took care of our every need. We were 8 friends that travel every year, and this was our best trip. We plan to go next year to Peru with Chimu.
Date published: 2019-03-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Buenos Aires and Ushuaia Buenos Aires is a beautiful city but like any other place it has its dark side. Was disappointed to find that part of promised trip was not provided although a substitute was given and found to be enjoyable. Ushuaia was wet and we did not see very much of it on arrival and return from ship was mostly spent in airport awaiting flight.
Date published: 2019-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 3.5 weeks in argentina Chimu put together a great trip for me, my wife and 1yr old daughter including Patagonia, bariloche, Mendoza, iguasu and BA. With the exception of a total lack of baby car seats, everything worked effortlessly - could have been a nightmare with a baby but everything that was arranged happened as hoped
Date published: 2019-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Trip ! Each destination was completely different from the previous location, all were amazing. The itinerary was well thought out & simpley perfect !
Date published: 2018-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful destination Totally recommend Buenos Aires, San Antonio de Areco, Estancia El Ombu and Iguazzu Falls. Our stay at Own Recoleta was wonderful and the meals at La Cantera Jungle lodge were amazing. All our guides were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A truly spectacular trip We visited Buenos Aires, Mendoza and the vineyards, The Iguaza Falls and El Calafate. Every aspect of the itinerary created by Chimu was brilliant from the pick ups and drop offs at the airports, the hotels and the tours. Holidays don't get any better than this.
Date published: 2018-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved Buenos Aires! We were in Buenos Aires for a couple of days prior to heading to Ushuia. We loved every minute of our stay and the local manager was very knowledgeable and helpful. We also enjoyed our brief time in Trelew post cruise.
Date published: 2018-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Argentina and Southern Brazil The entire itinerary went smoothly and destinations lived up to or exceeded our expectations. The hotels on the whole were good and well located with the possible exception of El Calafate which was too far out of town but compensated by appointments and good breakfast. Hotels in Buenos Aires and Bariloche in good situations but only average amenities. The guides were very good in all locations and the instructions we received on arrival in each district very comprehensive with the possible exception of Salta.
Date published: 2018-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great new continent Buenos Aires is one of the most beautiful cities I have seen. The variety in Argentina, from the beauty of BA, to the vast expanse of the pampas, to the power of the Iguazu Falls, to the beauty and history of Salta, it was a magnificent experience.
Date published: 2018-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Argentina - highly recommended The scenery around Bariloche was stunning, beautiful mountains and lakes. Highly recommend crossing the lakes to go from Chile to Argentina. The IguazuFfalls were spectacular with 2 million litres of water falling every second. El Calafate is surrounded by an unusual landscape of Alpine Steppe and sits on the banks of Lake Argentina. A short distance away is the Moreno Glacier, another spectacular site. Our guides for all tours were friendly, knowledgeable and really nice people. The connections were seamless. Hotels were all good, we particularly enjoyed the quirky ones. Food great.
Date published: 2018-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tailor made to Argentina Although delayed by snow, we were soon booked onto a later connecting flight to Puerto Iguazu, so missed nothing. The Falls were amazing - worth going just for them. Would recommend the two days at Yacutinga Lodge, guides were fun but attentive and food cordon bleu! Wonderful rock formations around Salta. Chilly winds from the lakes at Bariloche, but we were lucky with the weather overall. Even saw a condor!
Date published: 2018-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievable trip The team were so supportive on the one occasion I needed them. But the trip itself was awesome. I can’t recommend Patagonia highly enough. The Chimu team steered me completely correct.
Date published: 2018-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Falls galore Seeing these falls from both the land sides and a helicopter gave us a truly magnificent appreciation of the place
Date published: 2018-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2 days in Buenos Aires We did a cycle ride, Argentine Experience and Tango Dinner and Show. All fantastic and would recommend them, especially the cycle and Argentine Experience. Wonderful staff who looked after us very well. The tango dinner and wine were average but the show was exceptional, loved it!
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Antarctica Antarctica- AMAZING! Everyday was slightly better than the day before. We couldn't have imagined it. No words can truly describe this amazing place.
Date published: 2017-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Great itinerary. Bit of a hiccup when we got to Bolivian border as bus was early on the Argentine side and we had to find our way alone to Bolivian border with no one waiting to pick us up.
Date published: 2017-04-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Buenos Aires and Ushaia Quite enjoyed BA and its European feel. The architecture is lovely and there are many places to walk to. Wasn't too impressed with our Chimu Guide. We had some Spanish speaking travellers with us and the translations took forever. He also kept telling us how safe it was when in fact 4 of our fellow Antarticans were robbed or bashed in BA. (found out after we'd visited) Dazzler Recoleta is a great position but service very average. Desk staff not very helpful and very busy. Ushaia is a beautiful little town/city. Spectacular scenery both at Ushaia and beyond. Could've stayed here a few more days. The Albatross Hotel was adequate and nice and close to Pier. A Tourist town but welcoming and very pretty. ATM's not always conducive to Australian cards though or had no money left on weekends.
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We had a brilliant time. The itinerary went really well although there appears to have been a lack of communication between your Argentinian and Chilean offices as we were not met upon arrival in Punta Arenas as the bus company we travelled with was not as originally planned. This meant your driver was at the wrong bus terminal which meant we had to get a taxi to the hotel.
Date published: 2017-04-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from buenos aires unfortunately the waiting time to get picked up for excursions was too long. the bus for the city tour had very small windows and it was hard to see the sights. our day tour to the estancia ended with a down pour of rain. we were told to get of the bus 2 blocks away from our hotel and walk. we wanted to be brought to the hotel and were told, if we are not getting off, we would have to walk from 12 blocks away. we got off and were drenched.
Date published: 2017-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Iguazu trip was amazing The arrangements for our pick up , transfers and hotel as well as our private guide for the day were excellent Our guide was great and explained so much to us about the falls and national park. We had a great trip and truly memorable experience
Date published: 2017-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great time before & after Antarctica Buenos Aries is a beautiful city. Iguazu Falls are amazing !!!
Date published: 2017-02-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good trip The entire trip went smoothly. The only flaw was when we were leaving EZE for IGZ, we were sent to terminal A instead of C. Terminal A is for international flights, Terminal C is for domestic. Our flight was domestic. The driver did not know, neither did we. We have to walk and roll our luggage from A to C, quite a long way.
Date published: 2016-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Argentina, Buenos Aries and Iguezu Falls We were made most welcome. Buenos Aries was a great city to visit. The Iguezu falls were magnificent.
Date published: 2016-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible trip It was excellent. It was amazing value for money. The accommodation was lovely, the transfers completely stress free, the trips were superb and the guides varied from good to excellent.
Date published: 2016-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Argentinean excellence! Had an amazing trip in Argentina prior to going to the Antarctic with Chimu. An incredibly faultless service. Guides were amazing and the support for single old me from Chimu's Argentinean office were incredible. Thanks
Date published: 2016-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Salta Valleys and Canyons Tour Fantastic scenery and interesting towns and villages. Did the tour with a guide who was excellent. Chimu were extremely professional to deal with and are highly recommended.
Date published: 2016-04-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Patagonia Glacier Trek An expectant boat load of walkers, ice trekkers and ice climbers were on their way to Viedma Glacier on a bright, warm, sunny day. Getting close to the glacier, the wind became much stronger, the waves bigger, and the captain decided (for good reasons) that the conditions were too difficult to continue. Sadly, the boat returned to the jetty. ...and you might think that this would result in a poor review. However the decision to turn around was made for safety reasons, and completely understandable. Travellers were immediately told about either getting a refund or rebooking for another trip. I chose the refund, and the funds were in my bank account just a few days after I returned from Patagonia. And finally, a bit later that day the local organisers gave me information about a great walk which turned out to be one of the highlights of my entire trip to Patagonia. In all, a good outcome.
Date published: 2016-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome falls Our trip from Buenos Aires to the Iguazo Falls ran like clockwork. We fly from BA to Iguazu and were picked up at Iguazu airport. The arrangements for our visit were fully explained and the pick ups were on time and the local guides were excellent. The falls are truely awesome.
Date published: 2016-02-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Buenos Aires, El Calafate, Ushuaia Great itinerary and all went very well. Some confusion at Buenos Aires as we did not receive information about when we would be picked up for some occasions and had to follow up via your out-of-hours number. Great tour guides and transfer to G Adventures at Ushuaia.
Date published: 2016-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The icing on the cake My friend and Carol and I had been on a 31 night cruise from San Diego to Buenos Aires and we wanted to see more of Argentina and also visit Rio. On searching for a suitable tour I found Chimu Adventures. We shortened the suggested tour by one day as it meant an overnight in Santiago en route back to Sydney to fit in with international flights. All transfers were by private transport which worked really well when we were travelling at unusual hours. 2 days in Buenos Aires was wonderful - we stayed at the Dazzler Tower Recoletta as we wanted to be near the cemetery where Evita Peron is buried, and this turned out to be a really good location. It's a nice inexpensive hotel one block from the cemetery plus close to restaurants, a shopping mall and amazing Recoletta markets. There's a pool and the breakfast was very good. The excursions each day were fantastic - a city tour, a half day tour to Tigre north of BA and an evening tango show and dinner. Tigre is amazing - islands in the river delta where people have weekenders but some also live full time. We had a launch tour lasting about 2 hours exploring the canals. The tango show was brilliant and the dinner really good, so this was a good ending to our stay in Buenos Aires. We flew to Iguasu on day 3. The town of Puerto Iguasu is a typical country town - nothing really grand here and the town is sprawling. We stayed at the Jardin del Iguazu - initially looking a little daunting but perfectly adequate. It does have a nice courtyard and pool - and we loved watching the hummingbirds feed on nectar. Our first day at the falls was long but totally amazing - words can't explain. In the morning we caught the train to the start of the walkway across the river to Hells Throat - the spray from the falls could be seen more than a kilometre away. After lunch we did the lower falls walk, with some people in our group opting to do the boat ride. More than 6 times the amount of water was cascading over the falls when we were there and it looked like liquid chocolate due to the erosion from the rain. The day was really tiring as it was hot and humid so an evening beside the pool was welcome. Day 2 at Iguasu took us to the Brazilian side of the Falls crossing the bridge at the border taking us to the Brazilian entrance. To be able to see the falls from the Brazilian side is a must as you aren't able to see all of the falls from the Argentinian side. The view is stunning and if you wish you may also get soaking wet by going out onto two walkways.This is an option though! We had mid afternoon flight to Rio de Janeiro and a private transfer to our hotel the Copa Sul, just one block from Copacabana Beach and four blocks from Ipanema Beach, where we arrived early evening. We had a snack sitting on the beach taking in the atmosphere and pinching ourselves to realise where we were. The night beach markets are very good and have a wide range of good souvenirs, so well worth a visit. At 7am on day 6 we were met at the hotel by our guide for the day Kiko from Carioca Tropical Tours. There were only the two of us on the morning tour and it was wonderful. Kiko's knowledge was exceptional and he excelled at each place we visited. We'd asked to go to Escadaria Selaron the world famous tiled steps hidden away where they'd easily be missed by independent travellers. A trip to the top of Mt Sugarloaf, the interior of the amazing cathedral, Ipanema Beach and a visit to the statue of Tom Jobim who wrote "Girl from Ipanema" and lunch at a Brazilian churrascaria. One of the best food experiences I've ever had, however I need to learn to eat like a Brazilian! We didn't do the range of BBQ meat justice! After lunch we were joined by 8 more people and headed to Corcovado Mountain. The bus took us partway up the mountain then we transferred to a national parks shuttle bus for the trip to the upper car park. To reach the top you have the option of climbing the 200 plus steps or a combination of lift and escalator. The initial view of the rear of Christ the Redeemer statue is breathtaking but it all changes when you reach the top. It was very crowded when we arrived which was disappointing but it was still wonderful. The 360 degree view is simply breathtaking. Another from the Bucket List ticked off.... We spent the evening on Copacabana Beach, then back to the hotel to pack for a 7.30am flight to Santiago. Both the Buenos Aires and Rio Offices contacted us several times to ensure everything was running smoothly and they also checked all of our flights were on time. Our stay in Argentina and Brazil was wonderful thanks to the excellent planning of Chimu Adventures.
Date published: 2016-01-28
  • y_2019, m_12, d_9, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_47
  • loc_en_AU, sid_argentina, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_chimu-adventures
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.3.0.1
  • CLOUD, method:getReviews, 3.85ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Video

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

What you need to pack will depend on when and where you plan on travelling and on the activities that you plan to include whilst on your Argentina tour.

The following should act as a useful checklist of essential items:

  • Passport, photocopy of passport & spare passport photos
  • Travel Insurance documents  
  • Air tickets and itinerary
  • Foreign Currency (US$) and/or debit/credit cards, traveller’s cheques
  • Money belt 
  • Small daypack
  • Basic first aid kit 
  • High UVA sun block 
  • Sunglasses & sunhat
  • Mosquito spray & insect repellent
  • Comfortable walking shoes/boots
  • Sandals 
  • Long sleeve tops and trousers 
  • Light-weight clothing
  • Warm clothing (depending on itinerary and time of year)
  • Camera with spare battery and memory cards
  • Security code padlock
  • Adaptor 
  • Small torch

The unit of currency in Argentina is the Argentinian Peso (ARS).

Please check websites such as www.oanda.com or www.xe.com for up to date exchange rates prior to your departure.

 Argentina's official language is Spanish, but Argentinian Spanish differs from Spanish spoken in other Latin American countries, mainly due to the Italian sounding intonations. Indigenous languages spoken today include Tehuelche, Guarani and Quechua. Many immigrant groups have continued to speak their own language and so you will also find many other languages in Argentina including Italian, German, English, French and even Welsh.

Argentina is predominantly Roman Catholic.

The level of fitness needed will depend on the Argentina tour that you choose to take in terms of places to be visited and the types of activities to be included on your itinerary. Argentina offers great opportunities for outdoor activities set against spectacular backdrops. They range from hiking ad trekking to rock climbing, skiing, white water rafting, horse riding and ice climbing. The majority of the best treks are to be found in the National Parks where the trails range from easy to difficult. If you plan on summiting Aconcagua, South America’s highest peak at 6962m, then you will need to be fit and ensure that you acclimatise thoroughly.

Most South American countries have now recognized that tourism plays an important part in their economies and governments have taken great steps to change South America’s poor security image. Violent crime is rare in Argentina and local police actively patrol the tourist areas. 

 

To minimise security risks we recommend the following: 

 

  • do not show any outward signs of wealth or wear expensive jewellery
  • keep your valuables in your hotel in safety deposit boxes
  • keep any valuables that you must carry with you hidden, as pickpockets can be present in crowded areas and around tourist areas
  • use only registered taxis with official identification
  • avoid going on your own to remote areas or the poorer barrios of Buenos Aires or where tourists would not be expected to go
  • always keep your day pack and camera close to you and never leave them unattended

A pre-arranged visa is not required to enter Argentina for citizens of the following countries:

  • Australia
  • United Kingdom
  • The United States
  • Ireland
  • Canada
  • New Zealand
  • European Union
  • South Africa

 

For other nationalities please visit the website of the relevant consulate.

Please note that Australian, Canadian and USA citizens must pay a "reciprocity fee" to enter Argentina. This is not a visa, since a visa is not required for visitors from these countries. It is a fee based on the fees that Argentinean citizens pay for visas to these countries. The fee is subject to change but must be paid in advance online. For US citizens, the reciprocity fee allows multiple entries into Argentina for 10 years in accordance with US visa reciprocity. For Australian citizens, the reciprocity fee is valid for multiple entries into Argentina within a period of one year from the date of first entry.

 

British and European Union passport holders are exempt from Reciprocity Fees.

You could spend anything from a few days to several weeks or even months on your Argentina travels, depending on whether you plan to explore the entire country or just focus on one experience such as the Valdes Peninsula, an estancia stay or a Patagonian glacier trek. Chimu Adventures offers itineraries to suit every time frame.

Our Argentina tours include breakfast daily and many other meals may also be included in your itinerary. As a rough guide for additional spending money based on having moderately-priced lunches and dinners and buying a few souvenirs at local markets, we suggest a budget of 25-35 USD per day per person. 

Although no specific vaccinations are required for Argentina travel and no proof of any vaccination is required to enter the country, we recommend that you visit your doctor or a traveller’s medical centre for current information specific to those places that you will be travelling through.

 

Yellow Fever is a risk in certain parts of Argentina and this vaccination is generally recommended if your Argentina tour includes the northern parts of the country bordering Brazil and Paraguay. Depending on your travel itinerary you may be required to produce proof of yellow fever vaccination when returning to Australia from parts of Argentina.

 

As a general guide we recommend the following:

 

  • Yellow Fever - Especially for northern parts of Argentina
  • Hepatitis - Both A and B (twinrix)
  • Typhoid
  • Diphtheria
  • Cholera
  • Rabies
  • Tetanus

In Argentina the standard voltage is 220V and standard frequency is 50Hz. Power sockets are of types C and I.

Please visit the below link for more information: http://electricaloutlet.org/