South America Tours

Most Australians travelling to South America visit more than one country on their holiday, crossing borders to get a true taste for the diversity this continent has to offer.
 
Where to start? There are numerous gateways in South America, the most common for Australians being Santiago and Buenos Aires. From there it will depend on what your style of travel is as to where you want to go.
 
What’s it like?  It is impossible to sum up South America in brief, it is a continent like no other, offering a variety of incredulous terrains, a host of differing cultures, a fascinating and unique range of wildlife, a gastronomic cuisine, an intriguing history and a range of adventure-filled activities. From snow-capped mountains to turquoise lakes, stark arid deserts, rainforest, vast salt flats, pampas grasslands, glaciers, volcanoes, spectacular coastline and waterfalls, the landscapes of South America are breathtaking. In complete contrast are bustling and vibrant cities such as Buenos Aires, Rio de Janeiro, Santiago, Lima and Montevideo. Then there are fascinating colonial towns such as Cusco, Sucre, Quito, Cartagena and Colonia and the mining towns of Potosi and Ouro Preto. South America is steeped in history and culture and a South America tour could allow you to delve into the history of the Inca, Moche and Nazca civilisations or immerse yourself in the culture of the Quechua Indians or the Afro-Brazilian beat of Salvador. For food lovers, a gastronomic experience awaits, tempting you with mouth-watering Argentinian steaks or fresh seafood ceviche accompanied by a glass of fine Chilean or Argentinian wine. Put simply South America has it all, all you need to decide is what type of journey you are after, South America has it all.  
 
Getting there: For Australians visiting South America there are many ways to get there, the most popular is flying the southern route south via Auckland to Santiago/Buenos Aires. From the west there is also the option to go via Abu Dhabi in the middle east to Sao Paulo/Buenos Aires, or for those who want to do a bit of shopping on the way there are many options via Los Angeles in the USA and then dropping down into Lima or Quito It will depend on where you start and end your journey.
 
More information: Below we have shown you just a fraction of the options available for multi-country travel. Browse to get an idea of where you want to travel.
 
Still wondering? Contact us:  You are definitely better off giving us a call or dropping us a line and letting us do the hard work for you. 
 

The entire journey with Chimu Adventures was amazing! Our guides were great. The hotels were perfect. I couldn't think of going with any other travel company! - Ashharman

Read Reviews (Avg 4.7 ★)
 
0

Featured South America Trips & Deals

BOOK BY 21 AUG & FLY FREE*  From 7,290

Looking to explore South America? This 21 day loop covers the best of Argentina, Brazil, Peru and a taste of Chile. Highlights include Machu Picchu, Iguazu Falls, the Amazon and more.

South America Tours

19 NIGHTS From 13,430

Discover South America's natural wonders & vivid cultures. Visit Buenos Aires, Iguazu Falls, Rio de Janeiro, Cusco, Machu Piccu & the Amazon jungle.

7 NIGHTS From 1,885

A spectacular 8-day tour of South America’s high mountain region, from Bolivia to Peru. See vibrant locals, amazing scenery & remnants of the Inca culture.

12 NIGHTS From 12,530

Travel to the ancient Inca Ruins of Machu Picchu and explore the impressive nature & wildlife of the Galapagos Islands on a cruise during this 13-day trip.

10 NIGHTS From 3,195

Explore Mayan ruins set in dense rainforests & the Spanish colonial architecture. Enjoy hand-rolled cigars, vintage cars & dance in the best salsa clubs.

14 NIGHTS From 5,870

Discover the sites and sounds of colourful Mexico & Peru on this extensive 15-day trip. Explore Machu Picchu, Lake Titicaca, Mexico city & Chichen Itza.

11 NIGHTS From 3,935

Marvel at the cascading beauty of Iguazu Falls, the famous sites of Rio de Janeiro and hidden histories of Cusco on this express tour of South America.

32 NIGHTS From 11,200

Want to travel in South America & fit in as much as possible? Take this 33 day journey around the continent, ticking off all the must-sees on the way.

15 NIGHTS From 6,725

Experience the mystical glaciers, sparkling lakes, wildlife & breath-taking scenery of both the Chilean & Argentinean Patagonia.

19 NIGHTS From 7,630

Visit Salta in Argentina & Salar de Uyuni in Bolivia - the real heart of South America & some of the most spectacular scenery in this great continent.

Destinations

Articles On South America

What To Do in South America – Plan The Trip of a Lifetime

Posted on Wed, 28 Jun 2017

Planning a South America adventure can be a tad challenging. In a continent brimming with exceptional attractions and an eclectic mix of destinations, knowing where to even start planning can easily bring one to despair. But chill right out! Wondering what to do in South America once you get there? Wonder no more! We present to you the top highlights …

READ MORE

Best Flights to South America from the UK

Posted on Wed, 21 Jun 2017

South America has always been reasonably accessible from the UK but over the past year a number of new routes have been added to the main flight schedules meaning there’s never been a better time to travel there. Below we look at some of the key flights you can take from the UK and the various pros and cons of each …

READ MORE

Inca Trail Packing Guide

Posted on Thu, 08 Jun 2017

Tackling the challenge of the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu is a lifelong dream for many. Yet packing for it can soon turn into a nightmare. With weight regulations, fluctuations in temperatures and the conundrums that arise from having to hike for days in remote and mountainous landscapes, not to mention the fact that you’ll probably be traveling elsewhere either …

READ MORE

The best time to travel to South America

Posted on Fri, 10 Mar 2017

It sounds like a simple question but “When is the best time to travel to South America?” depends on a huge number of factors. Consider for example that Brazil itself is a similar size to Australia or continental USA and you start to have an appreciation of how large the South America continent actually is. Obviously within this vast continent …

READ MORE

What is a hacienda? And why you should stay in one

Posted on Tue, 07 Mar 2017

Start planning for a trip to South America and you’ll no doubt be recommended to stay in a hacienda by anyone who’s been. Some will call it the South America equivalent of a homestay but a hacienda is so much more than just a simple accommodation choice. What exactly is a hacienda, you ask? Well, why not come visit and …

READ MORE

South America Guide: How to Keep Safe & Travel Smart

Posted on Sat, 04 Mar 2017

Worried about keeping safe while travelling through South America? Don’t be! Our South America Guide: How to Keep Safe and Travel Smart is that go-to guide you need to ensure your next stint to the most exciting and rewarding continent on the planet, will go down as your best travel experience to date. Just How Safe is South America for …

READ MORE

10 Fascinating Facts About the Andes Mountains

Posted on Wed, 01 Mar 2017

The Andes Mountains is the mountainous spine which dramatically dissects South America in two from north to south, crossing seven countries: Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru and Venezuela. The continent’s most magnificent natural attraction stretches for over 7,500km – from Venezuela all the way to Patagonia – and has spawned, in one way or another, the continent’s incredible natural …

READ MORE

Why Is The Amazon So Important?

Posted on Mon, 12 Dec 2016

The Amazon rainforest is a wondrous and beautiful place, full of mighty rivers and lush green trees. But, beneath its glossy green exterior, it’s working hard to provide the world with countless benefits. Without the Amazon the entire world’s climates would be thrown off, the atmosphere would be polluted with billions of tonnes of CO2, 10% of the world’s biodiversity …

READ MORE

How Does South America Celebrate Christmas?

Posted on Tue, 29 Nov 2016

Christmas is a wonderful time to visit South America. Not only do you get the priceless chance to escape the stresses of the holiday season at home, but you’ll also get the chance to experience a whole new part of the world in what is arguably the most special time of year. And Christmas in South America, a fervently traditional …

READ MORE

The Mysteries of The Amazon River

Posted on Sun, 02 Oct 2016

We have all heard about the mighty Amazon River, however there is still a lot of mystery surrounding this natural wonder. From it’s sheer length, majestic surrounding forests, rich and terrifying biodiversity, and unusual scientific history, this is definitely one of the most interesting rivers in the world. This is why we have put together this list of 10 mysteries of …

READ MORE

South America Reviews

All Chimu Adventures' clients are given the opportunity to review their trip once they return home. These reviews are administered by a third party and as such are unfiltered by Chimu Adventures.

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Epic Vacation!! The entire journey with Chimu Adventures was amazing! Our guides were great. The hotels were perfect. I couldn't think of going with any other travel company!
Date published: 2015-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What Wonderful trip!!!!!!!!!!! this trip exceeded our expect ions! arrangements were spot on and the guides were fantastic!!! and Iam smiling as I write this review as a flood of memories will last a life time. Many thanks Rose
Date published: 2015-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A wonderful adventure My husband and I have recently returned from South America ,visiting Argentina,Brazil,Peru and Chile Congratulations to Chimu Adventures,everything ran very smoothly. The guides were excellent and very knowledgeable The hotels were all very comfortable with great breakfasts. The countries were all different with interesting histories and some amazing scenery We have some great memories and photos to look back on now .Thanks Chimu
Date published: 2014-09-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Variety plus Love Sth America. Trekking in Patagonia was fabulous and wish I'd done more and had less travel here and there. The wide open spaces inspire and the beech forest and snowy mountains add awe. Iguazu Falls are truly amazing but should have left them to another trip as lots of travelling. The magazine left for me in Buenos Aires was great and had so much really good info - wish I'd had it to book stuff before I'd left home.
Date published: 2014-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Couldn't have been better! Our entire trip was perfect for us. Chimu did a fabulous job of meeting us at airports and organising group tours for the 6 of us everywhere!
Date published: 2015-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trip of a life-time! Our group of 5 couples did a multiple country itinerary, custom made for our chosen destinations. It went faultlessly due to the very professional work done by Australian and South American staff of Chimu. Our contact, Ben Alexander, in the Sunshine Coast office, was very professional, personable and met all our requests and itinerary changes. The experiences of this trip will remain with us forever!
Date published: 2014-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spectacular Holiday! We traveled as a family of four to Argentina, Brazil, Peru and Chile for a period of four weeks. From start to finish, every aspect of the superb itinerary went to plan. All our guides , accommodation, tours, and cultural events were high quality and very entertaining. Have to say that the itinerary that was put together for us did not disappoint in any way, with our highlight being our time in Peru, namely in Cusco and Machu Picchu, and an amazing four days in Posada Amazonas. A truly memorable and probably our best family holiday to date.
Date published: 2017-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exciting South America, from Manaus in the Amazon, Rio, Iguazu Falls to Buones Aires proved to be as exiting as we hoped for and Chimu Adventures made our whole trip smooth sailing. The guides and drivers at all the tours were very informative, courteous and punctual and transfers were right on time and there to meet us at each destination which took a lot of worry out of our travels.
Date published: 2014-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from South America 2014-2015 The trip was AMAZING!!!. Our first time in South America. The planned 7 weeks was not long enough. The places, and tours, we visited in the various countries were spectacular. All of our guides were knowledgeable, helpful and very tolerant of our lack of Spanish. We visited Peru, Chile, Argentina, Brazil, and Cuba. From the time we got on the plane in Melbourne, the trip went flawlessly. All the transportation was synchronised like clockwork, with the longest planned airport wait of 4 hours, in what was calculated to be one week, in total, worth of travel days for the holiday ( big holiday big continent). We only had one significant plane delay. Our accommodation was as requested, and very satisfactory. Had a fantastic time, you just have to be there!!!
Date published: 2015-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from South American Express A bit like the Ronseal advert " it does exactly what it says on the tin " ,and much more. This was one of the best holidays we have ever had , so well organised ,great hotels and everyone from guides to drivers were very good .Much better then we ever imagined it would be . Fantastic , thanks to Claire @ Chimu for helping us have our holiday of a lifetime.
Date published: 2015-07-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ecuador and Peru Aspects of the trip ranged from surprising, interesting, intriguing and a bit dull. Galápagos was great as the interaction with the animals was terrific. Loved all the activities and all connections worked. Ecuador train trip went really well. City tours were eye openers to give an insight to culture of local area. The vegetation of western Peru was unexpected, the condors were great and Chivay interesting. Long bus trips made more interesting by guides explaining surroundings etc. Lake Titicaca and Macchu Picchu both fabulous.
Date published: 2016-10-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing trip! Tambopata, Inca Trail, Galapagos The itinerary went very smoothly, met at each point by friendly and helpful reps. Incredible experiences everywhere! Only reason for not giving 5 stars is that our guide on the Inca Trail was only sometimes with us during the daily hiking, and not previously being a student of the Incas i think we could have had better explanations to help us understand.
Date published: 2016-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well looked after by Chimu We went to Argentina, Brazil, Peru and Chile. The itinerary was personally tailored for us by our consultant, Mariana C, after patiently working with us. When we arrived at each destination, there was always someone at the exit waiting for us. In Peru, Chimu representatives even turned up with the driver to greet us and personally explained the arrangement to us. Most tours were in small groups if not private tours just for us. We were very happy with Chimu. One thing for improvement though is that when we left each destination, we were always picked up so to arrive at the airport some three hours before the flight. While I appreciated the importance of arriving at airports early, three hours plus were a bit excessive and at the expense of sightseeing time.
Date published: 2015-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic trip, with the big things ticked off The trip was awesome, with only a couple of very minor things that didn't go straight forward, but the service to correct them was above and beyond. With not much time lots was able to be crammed in, yet we still had the ability to do a little bit of our own thing. All the hotels were comfortable and much appreciated after a full day exploring.
Date published: 2014-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous Holiday! I travelled to Argentina and Brazil. The tour was excellent. It was very well organised from start to finish. Drivers were very punctual, guides very informative, accommodation of an excellent standard and content of tour very interesting. Excellent support from Chimu personnel in both Argentina and Brazil offices.
Date published: 2016-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We were more than happy with Chimu Adventures Our expectations of the countries we visited were more than met and the guided tours were great. We did find we preferred the private tours better than the multi language tours. Particularly, impressed with the way we were met at airports and transfers to and from hotels.
Date published: 2014-12-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great trip to Peru and Buenos Aires I was initially a bit anxious about our Chimu experience as the travel staff in Australia don't go that extra mile for you.And on speaking to other Chimu traveller it's the same story. You get a good agent and and they leave and forget to pass your info on or once you've paid you're forgotten. :( However, We couldn't have been happier with the service we had in Peru. The itinerary ran smoothly, the guides were very caring and had amazing knowledge. This was our first shared and organised itinerary so very happy with the whole experience. Sadly the great guides etc didn't follow us to Buenos Aires. We weren't very impressed with our BA guide, hotel Dazzler Recoleta was average and hotel staff were super busy and not particularly helpful. Chimu DO Peru wonderfully but not to BA.
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I want to go back....NOW!!! We did the usual Tourist hot spots in Peru, including a stay in the Refugio Amazonas, Rio and Buenos Aires. Was amazed at the history around The Inca period and were glad to visit Rio and Buenos Aires, but the absolute beauty of Iguazu Falls was amazing. And then we went to Chile, well our eyes were in for an absolute feast of natural beauty, from the north Atacama Desert, San Pedro to Puerto Varas and the lakes, to The Patagonia and Las Torres Del Paine National Park, Calafate(Argentina), and then on to the Stella Australis cruise from Punta Arenas to Ushuaia. With lot's inbetween. All I can say is WOW WOW WOW, would go back to Chile especially today. THANK YOU Chimu for what was an absolutely fantastic trip, everything was brilliant, hotels were all great, transfers were efficient. We only had 1 hic-cup with 1 of the tours that was resolved. And a couple of little things that were always sorted quickly and always to our satisfaction. Would HIGHLY recommend CHIMU ADVENTURES to anyone wanting to travel to South America.
Date published: 2014-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The 3 Countries My friend and I visited Santiago, Brazil and Argentina en route to Antarctica. Chimu booked all our transfers, accommodation and tours in these countries except for Rio where we made our own arrangements. Apart from a couple of late pickups for our tours everything went well and we saw the main sites in and around Santiago and Buenos Aires. The accommodation was well suited to our needs and we felt very comfortable in the countries we visited because we knew we had the support of Chimu Adventures.
Date published: 2016-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great way to see highlights of South America. Our Itinerary went very smoothly. We were met in each of the countries by the Chimu guides who arranged drivers to and from the airports, welcomed us with itineraries and gave us sound advice. We needed a Doctor in Puno in Peru and our guide arranged for a doctor to visit the hotel and was on 24 hour call during our stay.The entire trip was very well organised and we found it very comforting to know a Chimu guide was just a phone call away. Well done Chimu we thoroughly enjoyed the trip.
Date published: 2015-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 countries, 5 stars! We loved every bit of our Chimu tour. From Chile to Colombia and everywhere in between. The trip was faultless. I have travelled all over the world and never had a 'perfect' holiday. This one certainly was. Full credit to Chimu for the amazing experience we just had. I have already reccomended you to three friends who are considering travelling to South America. Your staff in country should be applauded and your knowledge staff (Craig) are first class. Thanks for the memories!
Date published: 2017-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from incredible holiday! The itinerary was faultless,all the guides knowledgeable and helpful, the accommodation impeccable. The whole trip was unforgettable.
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Precision planned and organized Including airline flights and all tours, trips, airport pickups and transfers were all perfect.
Date published: 2016-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The most memorable and best-organised trip ever! Not a single moment of doubt in a very complicated and busy five weeks of travel.
Date published: 2015-05-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A real taste of South America The guides and transfer staff were amazing; helpful and so enthusiastic. Some of the domestic flight transfer pick ups were way too early. This caused trouble with my luggage on several occasions either going missing or not being able to check in for an hour later - very painful lugging suitcase etc around for an hour; International flights were fine though. Overall though it was an amazing trip with lovely hotels, fabulous locations and great people involved.
Date published: 2016-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great adventure We thoroughly enjoyed every place we visited and were well looked after.
Date published: 2015-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Travels through South America My wife and myself had a fantastic five weeks' trip through South America, which started from Santiago in Chile and finished in Quito, Ecuador. Everything went so well with knowledgeable guides and drivers who took us to many wonderful sights and supported by excellent accommodation, centrally located in the cities that we visited. Many thanks goes to Emma of Viva Expeditions for her sound advice during the planning of such a memorable journey.
Date published: 2016-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peru Argentina and Brazil - WOW Amazing trip. Cuzco and Machu Picchu were amazing for their atmosphere and beauty. Buenos Airies is really the Paris of Sth America - and don't miss the steaks ! Iguazu Falls must be seen and experienced at least once in a lifetime. RIO - almost as beautiful and spectacular as Sydney - need I say more. Bring on the Olympics ! CHIMU's organisation was excellent - Everything went as planned and Kieron was so accomodating and responsive !
Date published: 2016-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trip of a lifetime We cannot praise Chimu travel enough for the excellent organisation snd attention to detail that made this trip so special for us. From our first phone all with Matt in London we knew we had found the company that would provide us with enough support and arrangements whilst still enabling us to have time yo ourselves without a strict agenda. Everything from flights to the very welcome airport pick ups, excellent tours and country reps to the comfy and well located hotels was well organised and took the stress out of our trip. We chose South Anerican icons and it covered everything we had hoped for. In hindsight we would probably have spent less time in cities but these were still interesting. highlights were Iquazu falls, Rio, sacred valley in Peru and the wonderful Gslapagos islands. It really was an amazing trip and we would recommend it to anyone.
Date published: 2016-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from wonderful south american trip Our trip guided by chimu covered Brazil, Argentina, chili and Peru over almost 4 weeks. Our whole trip went without any glitch. Chimu organised all the tours including the pickup and drop off from each airport and hotels were superb. Most of our guided tours were supported by local guides with very good knowledge of history and culture with good grasp of English. Thanks chimu for making the trip stress free and enjoyable
Date published: 2016-11-10
  • y_2017, m_8, d_17, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_123
  • loc_en_AU, sid_south-america-multi-country, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_chimu-adventures
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.3.0.1
  • CLOUD, method:getReviews, 8.96ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Country Information

How to travel to South America

Posted on Thu, 25 Aug 2016

Unsurprisingly it’s something I’m often asked – where should I go and how should I travel to South America? I guess the answer can be as simple or as complicated as you’d like. What I mean by that is that people like to approach their travel planning in different ways and so I’m going to provide a range of answers …

READ MORE

12 Dazzling UNESCO-listed Attractions in South America

Posted on Thu, 18 Aug 2016

The Top UNESCO-listed Attractions in South America are a spellbinding collection of historical, cultural and natural wonders. Combined, they represent all that is so revered about this continent: from the amazing wilderness brimming with unique wildlife to all the ancient cultures that have shaped human evolution on our planet. Include a few or all on your next South America journey …

READ MORE

The Rich and Quirky History of South America

Posted on Tue, 16 Aug 2016

South America has a lot in common with Europe, which dates back to the colonial era in the 15th century. There are some great stories and there is so much to explore in South America, while many people don’t know too much about the history. Read some of the quirky stories Chad Carey (Co-founder of Chimu Adventures) tells about the …

READ MORE

Tip-Top Seasonal Dressing Guide for South America

Posted on Mon, 06 Jun 2016

Packing the right clothing for a cross-continental jaunt through South America is arguably one of the most daunting tasks you’ll face. That’s why we’ve compiled this handy Seasonal Dressing Guide for South America. Because figuring out what you should pack, what you should ditch, and what you should definitely not leave home without, can be mighty confusing to the uninitiated. Whether …

READ MORE

Must see destinations in South America

Posted on Fri, 20 May 2016

It’s hard to cover every nook and cranny when you are travelling to one of the largest continents on the planet, that’s why we’ve put together a list of must see destinations in South America. A vast place with ecosystems ranging from the driest desert in the world, to snow-capped peaks to the might Amazon river. Must see destinations in …

READ MORE

Wildlife in South America

Posted on Wed, 11 May 2016

The wildlife in South America is arguably the most varied on the entire planet. If not for culture and historical highlights alone, then at the very least for breathtaking nature and an array of utterly unique wildlife. The land of glaciers and tropical rainforests, vertiginous mountains and outstanding beaches, is home to a kaleidoscope of endemic wildlife. Most of it …

READ MORE

Top 10 Restaurants in South America

Posted on Fri, 23 Oct 2015

South America has plenty of culinary delights to offer diners everywhere. Looking for the best restaurants? Here’s our top 10: (not in any order) 1. D.O.M. Photocredit: The World’s 50 Best Restaurants

READ MORE

Frequently Asked Questions

What money do they use in South America ?

Each country has its own currency with US Dollars being readily exchangeable throughout most of South America and accepted in many large hotels, top-end restaurants, supermarkets and major stores. Argentina - Argentinian Peso (ARS) Bolivia - Boliviano (BOB) Brazil - Brazilian Real (BRL) Chile - Chilean Peso (CLP) Colombia - Colombian Peso (COP) Ecuador - US Dollar (USD) French Guiana - Euro (EUR) Guyana - Guyana Dollar (GYD) Peru - Peruvian Nuevo Sol (PEN) Suriname - Suriname Dollar (SRD) Uruguay - Uruguayan Peso (UYU) Venezuela - Bolivar (VEF) Please check websites such as www.oanda.com or www.xe.com for up to date exchange rates prior to your departure.

What language do they speak in South America?

Portuguese and Spanish are the primary languages of South America. The majority of South Americans speak Portuguese but most South American countries are Spanish-speaking. English is spoken in Guyana, Dutch and Indonesian in Suriname and French in French Guiana.

What is the religion of South Americans?

Roman Catholicism is the dominant religion in South America. In the Andes and lowland South America, shamanism and animism are common.

Do I need to be fit to go to South America ?

The level of fitness needed will depend on the South America tour that you choose to take in terms of countries to be visited and the types of activities to be included in your itinerary. Many parts of South America are at altitudes above 2000 metres, where there is a risk of altitude sickness. Altitude sickness effects everyone differently and usually has nothing to do with your general fitness level, but we highly recommend acclimatizing at altitude before taking strenuous treks or walks.

Is it safe to travel in South America?

Most South American countries have now recognized that tourism plays an important part in their economies and governments have taken great steps in the last few years to change South America’s poor security image. You will find a strong police presence in the towns, cities and sites most frequently visited by tourists. To minimise security risks we recommend the following: - do not show any outward signs of wealth or wear expensive jewellery - keep your valuables in your hotel in safety deposit boxes - keep any valuables that you must carry with you hidden, as pickpockets can be present in crowded areas and around tourist areas - use only taxis with official identification - avoid going on your own to remote areas/ruins where tourists would not be expected to go - always keep your day pack and camera close to you and never leave them unattended

Do I need a visa to travel to South America ?

Visas are required by some nationalities for travel to certain South American countries. Please refer to the detailed information on the specific countries that you plan to travel through for visa requirements.

How long do I need to travel to South America ?

You could spend anything from a few days to several months travelling in South America, depending on whether you plan to focus on just one country, or maybe just one experience such as the Inca Trail. Or whether you plan to encompass several countries in your South America travels. Chimu Adventures offers itineraries to suit every time frame.

How much should I budget for daily in South America?

South America can vary greatly in terms of prices in each country. Our South America tours include breakfast daily and many other meals may also be included in your itinerary. As a rough guide for additional spending money based on having moderately-priced lunches and dinners and buying a few souvenirs at local markets, we suggest the following budgets: 15-25 USD per day - Bolivia 20-30 USD per day - Peru, Ecuador, Colombia 25-35 USD per day - Argentina, Uruguay, Venezuela 30-40 USD per day - Chile 35-45 USD per day - Brazil 30-50 USD per day - The Guianas

Do I need to get vaccinations for South America?

We recommend that you visit your doctor or a traveller’s medical centre for current information specific to those countries that you will be travelling through. As a general guide we recommend the following: - Yellow Fever – Especially for jungle areas - Hepatitis – Both A and B (twinrix) - Typhoid - Diphtheria - Cholera - Rabies - Tetanus

What kind of power adaptor plug do I need for South America ?

Most countries in South America use the European style outlet which contains 110v. Please visit the below link for more information on each country: http://electricaloutlet.org/

What should I pack to travel in South America?

What you need to pack will depend on when and where you plan on travelling and on the activities that you plan to include whilst on your South America tour. The following should act as a useful checklist of essential items: • Passport, photocopy of passport & spare passport photos • Travel Insurance documents • Air tickets and itinerary • Foreign Currency (US$) and/or debit/credit cards, traveller’s cheques • Money belt • Small daypack • Basic first aid kit • High UVA sun block • Sunglasses & sunhat • Mosquito spray & insect repellent • Comfortable walking shoes/boots • Sandals • Long sleeve tops and trousers • Light-weight clothing • Warm clothing (depending on itinerary and time of year) • Camera with spare battery and memory cards • Security code padlock • Adaptor • Small torch