Skip to main content

Peru

Search Peru:

TRAVELLING TO Peru

Why visit? While most travellers know the legendary Machu Picchu, Lost City of the Incas, only few of us know that it is only one out of twelve UNESCO World Heritage sites waiting to be discovered on a tour through what is known as the “Egypt of South America”.

 

From admiring the snow-capped peaks of the Andes or trekking the ancient Inca trail, to exploring the rainforests of the Amazon Basin, uncovering Peruvian weaving traditions on one of Lima’s colourful street markets or sampling “Pisco Sour” in a traditional hacienda, a tour to Peru will introduce you to the countless facets of one of the most fascinating cultures in the world. 

 

More information: Below we have shown you just a fraction of the options available for Peru and multi-country travel. Browse to get an idea of where you want to travel.

 

Still wondering? Contact us: You are definitely better off giving us a call or dropping us a line and letting us do the hard work for you. 

 

#Livefortoday and book your Peru tour with us today. Chimu Adventures can put together an itinerary to suit you.

[ Continue Reading ]

Why visit? While most travellers know the legendary Machu Picchu, Lost City of the Incas, only few of us know that it is only one out of twelve UNESCO World Heritage sites waiting to be discovered on a tour through what is known as the “Egypt of South America”.

 

From admiring the snow-capped peaks of the Andes or trekking the ancient Inca trail, to exploring the rainforests of the Amazon Basin, uncovering Peruvian weaving traditions on one of Lima’s colourful street markets or sampling “Pisco Sour” in a traditional hacienda, a tour to Peru will introduce you to the countless facets of one of the most fascinating cultures in the world. 

 

More information: Below we have shown you just a fraction of the options available for Peru and multi-country travel. Browse to get an idea of where you want to travel.

 

Still wondering? Contact us: You are definitely better off giving us a call or dropping us a line and letting us do the hard work for you. 

 

#Livefortoday and book your Peru tour with us today. Chimu Adventures can put together an itinerary to suit you.

[ Read Less ]

WHY TRAVEL WITH CHIMU ADVENTURES

  • We offer you flexible travel options in Latin America at an affordable price.

  • You can choose from over 400 suggested itineraries or pick and choose elements to build your own unique experience; cover the areas you want to explore at a pace to suit you.

  • We know each Latin American country by heart and will work with you to determine which activities and accommodations are best suited to your needs.

  • From your initial enquiry until your trip ends, you will be assigned a personal Destination Specialist who will offer a full service for your travel needs: we can book flights, insurance and any ancillary travel required to complete your journey.

  • We have offices across South America so you can be assured that ground staff are close at hand to assist whilst you are travelling.

FEATURED Peru TRIPS & DEALS

CELEBRATING
15 YEARS

For 15 Years, Chimu have been inspired by the  incredible places we visit, the travellers we meet…

View Offer
Up to 10% off

Colours of Peru

13 NIGHTS FROM USD 4,568

was USD 5,075

Join this comprehensive small group tour, to Peru. Encompasses the very best of Lima, The Andes an...

View trip

Cusquenita Little Cusco

3 NIGHTS FROM USD 920

On a limited time frame, or want to visit the Cusco region without the hard work of the Inca trail? ...

View trip

Peru TOURS

PERU IN DEPTH

17 NIGHTS FROM USD 3,725

Trekking

Visit the major highlights of Peru. From Lima to Ica & Nazca & head up into the Andes via Arequipa. ...

View trip

DELFIN III CRUISE LUXURY AMAZON

3 NIGHTS FROM USD 2,800

Delfin III

Experience the wonders of the Peruvian Amazon. Cruise aboard the luxurious Delfin III into the Pacay...

View trip
Up to 10% off

Colours of Peru

13 NIGHTS FROM USD 4,568

was USD 5,075

Join this comprehensive small group tour, to Peru. Encompasses the very best of Lima, The Andes an...

View trip
Up to 10% off

Enchanting South America

21 NIGHTS FROM USD 7,808

Solo Traveller, Wildlife

was USD 8,676

This small group tour visits South America's most incredible destinations in Argentina, Brazil, Peru...

View trip

Lares Adventure to Machu Picchu

7 NIGHTS FROM USD 2,549

Trekking

Daily hikes take you to remote passes with panoramic views of waterfalls, snow peaks and turquoise g...

View trip

Machu Picchu and The Galapagos

9 NIGHTS FROM USD 3,065

Small Ship Cruising

Delve into the depths of the Sacred Valley before rising to the pinnacle of Peru – Machu Picchu. C...

View trip

BLOGS ON Peru

Whether you are looking for advice on visas and vaccinations,when to travel, best markets or beaches to visit, wildlife guides or the top restaurants in a city, Chimu blogs are likely to have it covered. The range of topics is vast, with new and fascinating blogs being added regularly. There are airport guides, Galapagos Island guides, what to pack and what not to pack, and even a blog on the most romantic locations to propose in Latin America!

READ NOW

Peru REVIEWS

All Chimu Adventures' clients are given the opportunity to review their trip once they return home. These reviews are administered by a third party and as such are unfiltered by Chimu Adventures.

Peru

Rated 4 out of 5 by from amazing backcountry entry to Machu Pichu I travelled with Chimu, and my travel companions with two other companies but we all got to experience the astonishing beauty of the Lares trail to Ollyantotambo and then up to Machu Pichu. It was really hard and very cold as the elevations went up to 4600m but we were alone up there. Just us, the ponies to support us, the local villagers, and the llamas and alpacas. No one else on the trail. Amazing. Machu Pichu is of course an astonishing place and Inca creation but was so crowded that we all felt the need to return to the solitude and beauty of the Lares valley. But don't tell anyone as we were very happy all the other trekkers were on the Inca Trail and Salkantay trek!
Date published: 2019-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another tick off the bucket list Hard to pick a highlight from this amazing country and its friendly people but it's hard to go past Macchu Pichu. All went perfectly to plan apart from some (not unexpected) conniptions with the South American airline system. That's just part of the experience.
Date published: 2019-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peru and Machu Pichu Lima is a lovely city to visit. We stayed two nights, did a city tour and ate out at Miraflores Town. Nice restaurants there, the Peruvian cuisine was surprisingly good, and their local drinks a real winner (you have to try a Pisco sour, and a Chicha Morada - a purple corn based beverage). The view out to sea was exceptional. We also visited Lake Titicaca, Cusco, and Machu Pichu. Be aware that altitude sickness is very real, and in our case, we travelled from Lima to Lake Titicaca in six hours (flight to Juliaca, then by car to Puno beside the Lake), rising from sea level to nearly 4,000 metres. I wouldn't recommend doing this to anyone, and feel a more gradual ascent might've helped us acclimatize far better. Recommend the Lake Titicaca tour by boat - the floating islands are quite interesting. The ten-hour train ride from Puno to Cusco was an absolute gem, and a real surprise. If time permits, I'd include that on your itinerary too. Machu Pichu - what can I say! A dream come true for me. I also climbed Huayna Pichu, being the only 65-plus senior on the climb that I saw, and what a view!! Suggest this too, but only if you consider yourself fit enough to do a fairly intensive climb. Loved our Peruvian experience, but the altitude sickness took away some of the gloss.
Date published: 2019-02-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Incredible Incas Wrong advice from guide checking us in at Guayaquil on 25 Nov caused a half day delay in reaching Cusco so no free time to explore city. Wasted most of a day on 28 Nov by getting early morning train to Agua Callientes and having to wait around for half a day to check in; could have stayed later at delightful Casa Andina Sacred Valley and caught afternoon train.
Date published: 2019-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Machu Piccu short visit Everything went to plan and as per itinerary. Our trip was organised thru jason in Sydney and was terrific. We had booked a cruise around South America and added our trip to Peru to an existing itinerary. Jason fitted it in with the existing flights in and out of Santiago. All the tour guides and meet and greet people were spot on ! The hotels we stayed at were all good, as were the internal flights and the one bus journey from Cusco to Puno was also great
Date published: 2018-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Marvellous Trip Our trip in Peru, where we went from Lima to Paracas, Nasca, Arequipa, Puno and Cusco, including Lake Titikaka, Colca Canyon and Machu Picchu was truly amazing. It showed us so many different aspects of Peru and everything was so well organized by Chimu that our time in Peru was wonderful.
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievable Although we had some hurdles due to political unrest in Peru, the amazing staff at the Chimu office in Cusco went out of their way to ensure alternate arrangements were made quickly. Our guides on the Lares Trek were second to none & we are still pinching ourselves that we actually hiked up the big scary mountain at the back of Machu Picchu (Huayna Picchu). All our accommodations were brilliant & wonderful food, especially in Lima. Our only criticism was the boring long winded guides on the city tours.
Date published: 2018-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Holiday - Trip of a life time! Everything was fantastic. We were met at all destinations and Transfers were excellent. Casa Adina Standard Hotels were fantastic and in good locations. We had the best time and loved ALL of Peru. Thanks to Craig at Chimu for organising everything.
Date published: 2018-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Peru Great stay in Peru and the hotel choices were incredible. We LOVED Casa Republica in Lima and the Monestario in Cusco. Lovely people, incredible cuisine and mind blowing landscapes!
Date published: 2018-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great destination The various destinations were great, the guides very knowledgeable and passionate and all connections went like clockwork.
Date published: 2018-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peru is an amazing country. Everything went well and the local Chimu people were very helpful. All the tours were well organised. We particularly loved Machu Picchu.
Date published: 2018-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The elevation and the ruins were special Machu Picchu, The Sacred Valley and Cusco were all great experiences
Date published: 2018-03-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Peru This was an excellent trip although I think the typical traveler should be made aware of certain things about a journey in this country. I think that touring Peru is about taking some precautions as to what time of year. October and the dry season is best, but most crowded; and to be prepared for the weather and bring adequate footwear. I would not go to the Amazon without waterproof boots, for example. Spend a bit more to purchase good climbing boots and wear a hat and have handy rain-gear, especially if travelling in the 'rainy' season. Doing this trip with only joggers is impracticable. Bring sandals. Most of the monuments visited are likely wet and slippery. Your fitness will be a factor as most sites are above 3000 metres; consider visiting a doctor (you have to have a Yellow Fever shot anyway) before the journey, esp. above the age of 50. Know how to minimize altitude sickness as this will be a factor for most of the trip. Bring a small backpack for personal belongings as you are restricted to 5 kg at Machu Picchu and the Amazon. You will need a torch in the Amazon, not for wildlife viewing but for light to see in the morning since the power at the camps is shutoff after 10:00 pm. This is important if you have an early departure. Most of these points are mentioned in the itinerary. Have fun.
Date published: 2018-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peru - a definite must see We were very impressed with the itineraries and how we could customize to suit our wants. The organization of everything, including flights, transport, transfers, accommodation, tours, and guides was exceptional. We were looked after and felt safe at all times. Everything ran smoothly but if something unexpected occurred it was sorted out straight away without fuss. The main places in Peru we visited were Machu Picchu, Colca Canyon, Lake Titicaca, the Amazonian rainforest, and the towns and cities near these sites. The guides who showed us around deserve special mention. They were local to the area (often having grown up there), passionate about their history and culture, enthusiastic, well educated, multi-lingual, happy to answer questions, and helpful. We would be happy to recommend Chimua Adventures to anyone thinking of visiting South America.
Date published: 2017-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Peru and Machu Picchu All went very smoothly and the contact from Chimu was very good. We did change our train trip to a much shorter trip and we did wonder if there should have been a refund but it was never mentioned. Also the guide at MP (Rebeka) kept answering her phone during the tour which was disappointing.
Date published: 2017-09-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Peru and the Inca Trail Peru is a fantastic country. We had a fixed idea of where we wanted to go and Chimu Travel organised about half of it and we did the other half ourselves. Peru lived up to our expectations. Lima is not a city we'd choose to stay in again because it is a typical large city with not a lot to recommend it. Lake Titicaca is spectacular, Cusco is fantastic. Inca Trek the hardest but the highlight. We loved Peru
Date published: 2017-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Trip Every thing went off like clock work and their staff was so helpful especially Juan Carlos Auccapuma in Cusco and our Treck leader Angel was fantastic, with his passion for the Inca Track and his encouragement to help us get through.
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Food, Food, Food! Wow. We expected the food to be great, but not as exceptional as we experienced. We loved Machu Picchu, Lake Titicaca and the sites, but what really blew us away was the food experience. From Astrid and Gaston in Lima, to Central, to local delights the Chimu team organised an amazing array of options for us, and we cannot be more thankful. Do not visit Peru without eating at one of their top restaurants. Our guides were all wonderful and a big thanks to Juan Carlos who really looked after us in Cusco.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant Entire journey so well organised with punctuality and courtesy. Great
Date published: 2017-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from wonderful trip the whole itinerary went like clock work and we had really good guides. the only complaint was our accommodation in cusco where we stayed 4 nights and we got a room under the roof were you could not swing a cat and had to watch your head because of the rafters. when we complained we got at least the room next to ours for the last 2 nights, which was a lot bigger and nicer.
Date published: 2017-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazon Jungles, Andres Trek and Machu Picchu Brilliant - lodge you put us in in the jungle was absolutely amazing, unbelievable place, and the mountains were beautiful - would have liked an extra day walking on the Lares Trail - was called a "three day hike", but really it was only a day and a half, when you include driving time and train time etc - but it was still an incredible hike, best walk of my life. And of course, MP was a wonderful experience - had massive expectations and they were exceeded. All in all, an amazing trip, and Simon Evans at Chimu organised it like a dream - so easy, couldn't have asked for more. THANK YOU!
Date published: 2017-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Peru Blown away by the organisation to make our travelling easy and the level of knowledge, passion for their history and care shown by the guides. Loved everything we saw in Peru.
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An amazing trip Every thing was arranged carefully and no flaws. Especially in Machu Picchu, they even arranged a girl to lead us from the bus station to the train station lest we couldn't find our way. Very good service.
Date published: 2016-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peru has much to offer We saw some amazing things in Peru from Lima to the Amazon. Machu Picchu was wonderful. Did struggle a little tho with the altitude but amazing Country
Date published: 2016-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant, easy holiday. We stayed at Cusco, visited the sacred valley and did a day trip to Machu Picchu. Everything was excellent and I would thoroughly recommend Chimu. From being picked up at the airport to when we were dropped off four days later, everything was explained well and we were looked after perfectly. Thanks to Larry for his clear explanations and the great hotel we were booked into. Both the tours were simply spectacular - and our guide Jose at Machu Picchu was very helpful.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great experience Hospitality style service while in the country, we been look after everywhere,the tour guide are knowledgeable and helpful, We Heppy with chimu, thanks to Clare who make us trip more enjoyably.
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fantastic Absolutely fantastic guides considerate of age, and very thoughtful throughout
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peru, archaeologic sites, cities and rainforest. From ancient indigenous Indian sites to Inca cities, we got a taste of ancient Peru. Our time in Lima gave us insight into a modern city and the excursions through the rainforest led us to see animals in the wild.
Date published: 2016-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As promised it was amazing and as promised. The trip worked like clockwork from start to finish. The trips and guides were helpful, attentive and professional. All the destinations were spectacular, the Hotels really top class and the staff very helpful. I would say that this was one of the best trips we've been on. Lima is massive and busy but so interesting. Machu Pichu eye opening and so different. Lake Titticaca such a spectacular sight and all the people so friendly and different. Each journey opened our eyes and peaked our interest, added to our knowledge We want to see more! Maybe Chilean and Patagonian adventures!? next?
Date published: 2016-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Machu Picchu and Amazon Thank you for a wonderful holiday - we really enjoyed Peru and we were very impressed with the service provided by Chimu. We did the 4 day Inca Trail and then 4 days in the Amazon at Muyuna Lodge. The Inca Trail was incredible and so glad we did it - it was a once in a lifetime opportunity that we won't forget and Chimu helped make the experience all the more memorable with a small group and an outstanding guide, Edson who got us up and over the top - not to mention the porters & chef who packed and carried everything and made us a cake on the last day! We stayed at Hotel Estelar in Lima, Sonesta Posadas del Inca, Cusco and Muyuna Lodge. All of the places we stayed were in great locations close to where we wanted to visit/site see and were good middle range hotels. Our first room at Sonesta Posadas was a little cramped and overlooked the main street of Cusco which was a bit noisy during the night with car horns and police whistles but the second room we stayed in when we returned from the Inca Trail was much better - larger room and quieter. We loved Muyuna Lodge which has a beautiful setting in the Amazon jungle and they are doing good work there with the local village to help them out. All of our guides were great and looked after us well - in particular we wanted to mention Juan Carlos in Cusco who went above and beyond - when we were delayed on the train coming back from Machu Picchu he waited for us at the station and generally he was very good at his job, very enthusiastic and made us feel very welcome. All in all a great trip, great experience and great memories.
Date published: 2016-10-08
  • y_2020, m_2, d_20, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_61
  • loc_en_AU, sid_peru, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_chimu-adventures
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.3.0.1
  • CLOUD, method:getReviews, 3.78ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Video

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Most South American countries have now recognized that tourism plays an important part in their economies and governments have taken great steps to change South America’s poor security image. Peru has certainly become a much safer place to visit in recent years. You will find a strong police presence in the towns, cities and sites most frequently visited by tourists. To minimise security risks we recommend the following: • do not show any outward signs of wealth or wear expensive jewellery • keep your valuables in your hotel in safety deposit boxes • keep any valuables that you must carry with you hidden, as pickpockets can be present in crowded areas and around tourist areas • use only registered taxis with official identification • avoid going on your own to remote areas/ruins where tourists would not be expected to go • always keep your day pack and camera close to you and never leave them unattended

A pre-arranged visa is not required to enter Peru for citizens of the following countries: • Australia • United Kingdom • The United States • Ireland • Canada • New Zealand • European Union • South Africa For other nationalities please visit the website of the relevant consulate.

You could spend anything from a few days to a few weeks on your Peru travels, depending on whether you plan to explore the entire country or just focus on one experience such as the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu or an Amazon adventure. Chimu Adventures offers itineraries to suit every time frame.

Our Peru tours include breakfast daily and many other meals may also be included in your itinerary. As a rough guide for additional spending money based on having moderately-priced lunches and dinners and buying a few souvenirs at local markets, we suggest a budget of 20-30 USD per day per person.

Although no specific vaccinations are required for Peru travel and no proof of any vaccination is required to enter Peru, we recommend that you visit your doctor or a traveller’s medical centre for current information specific to those places that you will be travelling through. As a general guide we recommend the following: • Yellow Fever – Especially for jungle areas • Hepatitis – Both A and B (twinrix) • Typhoid • Diphtheria • Cholera • Rabies • Tetanus

What you need to pack will depend on when and where you plan on travelling and on the activities that you plan to include whilst on your Peru tour. The following should act as a useful checklist of essential items: • Passport, photocopy of passport & spare passport photos • Travel Insurance documents • Air tickets and itinerary • Foreign Currency (US$) and/or debit/credit cards, traveller’s cheques • Money belt • Small daypack • Basic first aid kit • High UVA sun block • Sunglasses & sunhat • Mosquito spray & insect repellent • Comfortable walking shoes/boots • Sandals • Long sleeve tops and trousers • Light-weight clothing • Warm clothing (depending on itinerary and time of year) • Camera with spare battery and memory cards • Security code padlock • Adaptor • Small torch

The unit of currency in Peru is the Peruvian Nuevo Sol (PEN). The US Dollar is widely accepted in many stores throughout the country and prices are often given in both US dollars and Soles. Please check websites such as www.oanda.com or www.xe.com for up to date exchange rates prior to your departure.

Spanish is the official language of Peru, spoken by more than 80% of the population. There are also many indigenous languages including Quechua and Aymara. In recent years an increased effort has been made to promote all of the indigenous languages. Aymara was made an official language in the Puno/Lake Titicaca region.

Peru’s predominant religion is Roman Catholic although the indigenous Peruvians have blended Catholicism with their traditional beliefs, creating a fascinating mix.

The level of fitness needed will depend on the Peru tour that you choose to take in terms of places to be visited and the types of activities to be included on your itinerary. Many parts of Peru are at altitudes above 2000 metres, where there is a risk of altitude sickness. Altitude sickness affects everyone differently and usually has nothing to do with your general fitness level, but we highly recommend acclimatizing at altitude before taking strenuous treks or walks. If you do plan to include a trek whilst you are in Peru, particularly in the Andean highlands, then the fitter you are the easier you will find the trek.