Skip to main content

Falkland Islands

Search Falkland Islands:

TRAVELLING TO Falkland Islands

NOTE: We're thrilled to advise that many Antarctica operators are offering flexible deposit and cancellation options for bookings made after March 13, 2020 for a limited time.  Airlines are offering the same!!  Add to that insurance companies are offering cancel for any reason policies! So whilst the next trip to Antarctica is not until November this year and polar cruise itineraries are bookable right up to March 2022,  right now could well be the best time to book your journey and take advantage of these flexible offers.  

CONTACT US  for more detailed information


Head east for nearly 500 kilometres from South America’s southern Patagonian coast and you will reach the remote, isolated and ruggedly beautiful archipelago of the Falkland Islands. Falkland Islands Antarctica cruises allow you to explore these sparsely inhabited islands, with their rough windswept terrain, coastal wetlands, beautiful white sand beaches and dramatic rock faces set against stunning skies. Comprising more than 750 islands in the South Atlantic Ocean, the Falkland Islands are a haven for wildlife - home to large colonies of elephant seals and fur seals, vast populations of black-browed albatrosses and other abundant birdlife including five species of breeding penguin.

Surrounded by decades of controversy, the Falkland Islands (or Islas Malvinas as they are known in Argentina) have been settled and claimed by France, Spain, Britain and Argentina. Travel to the Falkland Islands will give you an insight into the area’s fascinating history and reveal some of the haunting relics and memorials of war. The colourful seaside town and capital, Port Stanley, boasts many reminders of its British heritage including a selection of traditional English-style pubs, old red phone boxes and numerous Land Rovers - in fact some say that the people here are more British than the British themselves!

Set sail on a Falkland Islands Antarctica cruise and discover this unique part on the world, one of the rare places on Earth where nature and man live in harmony.  

[ Continue Reading ]

NOTE: We're thrilled to advise that many Antarctica operators are offering flexible deposit and cancellation options for bookings made after March 13, 2020 for a limited time.  Airlines are offering the same!!  Add to that insurance companies are offering cancel for any reason policies! So whilst the next trip to Antarctica is not until November this year and polar cruise itineraries are bookable right up to March 2022,  right now could well be the best time to book your journey and take advantage of these flexible offers.  

CONTACT US  for more detailed information


Head east for nearly 500 kilometres from South America’s southern Patagonian coast and you will reach the remote, isolated and ruggedly beautiful archipelago of the Falkland Islands. Falkland Islands Antarctica cruises allow you to explore these sparsely inhabited islands, with their rough windswept terrain, coastal wetlands, beautiful white sand beaches and dramatic rock faces set against stunning skies. Comprising more than 750 islands in the South Atlantic Ocean, the Falkland Islands are a haven for wildlife - home to large colonies of elephant seals and fur seals, vast populations of black-browed albatrosses and other abundant birdlife including five species of breeding penguin.

Surrounded by decades of controversy, the Falkland Islands (or Islas Malvinas as they are known in Argentina) have been settled and claimed by France, Spain, Britain and Argentina. Travel to the Falkland Islands will give you an insight into the area’s fascinating history and reveal some of the haunting relics and memorials of war. The colourful seaside town and capital, Port Stanley, boasts many reminders of its British heritage including a selection of traditional English-style pubs, old red phone boxes and numerous Land Rovers - in fact some say that the people here are more British than the British themselves!

Set sail on a Falkland Islands Antarctica cruise and discover this unique part on the world, one of the rare places on Earth where nature and man live in harmony.  

[ Read Less ]

WHY TRAVEL WITH CHIMU ADVENTURES

  • We are true Polar specialists. Almost every Chimu team member has travelled to either Antarctica or the Arctic and collectively we have experienced over 50 expeditions.

  • You can choose from over 130 cruises to Antarctica and the Arctic,including itineraries aboard our own charter vessels.

  • We have inspected and continue to thoroughly research each individual vessel we work with, selecting only those with environmental, safety and value credentials.

  • We know all things Polar by heart and will work with you to determine which ship and itinerary is best suited to your needs.

  • Travellers visit the Polar regions for different reasons so whether your interests are wildlife or photography, or Antarctic activities such as snowshoeing and kayaking, we can work around you for the perfect trip.

  • From your initial enquiry until your trip ends, you will be assigned a personal Destination Specialist who will offer a full service for your travel needs: we can book flights, insurance and any ancillary travel required to complete your journey.

FEATURED Falkland Islands TRIPS & DEALS

23 Days

Fram - Falklands, South Georgia, Antarctica: The Ultimate Expedition

Antarctica

Ship: FRAM

18 Days

Roald Amundsen - Great Explorers and Wildlife 18 Days

Chilean Fjords, Antarctica, Falklands

Ship: ROALD AMUNDSEN

21 Days

Songs in the South with Paul Kelly

Antarctic Peninsula, Falkland Islands, South Georgia

Ship:  The Ocean Endeavour

Falkland Islands CRUISES

21 Days

Antarctica, South Georgia & The Falklands

Antarctic Peninsula, Falkland Islands, South Georgia

SHIP: SEA SPIRIT

22 Days

Falklands, Antarctica& South Georgia

Antarctic Peninsula, Falkland Islands, South Georgia

SHIP: Expedition

20 Days

Antarctica, Falklands South Georgia

Antarctic Peninsula, Falkland Islands, South Georgia

SHIP: World Explorer

8 Days

Ushuaia, Cape Horn & The Falklands

South America

SHIP: Magellan Explorer

21 Days

Antarctica Christmas: Falklands and South Georgia Explorer

Antarctica: Falklands and South Georgia

SHIP:  The Ocean Endeavour

17 Days

Ponant: Beyond the Polar Circle

Antarctic Peninsula, Falkland Islands, South Georgia

SHIP: LE SOLEAL

BLOGS ON Falkland Islands

Whether you are looking for advice on when to travel to Antarctica or the Arctic, which ship to travel on or which itinerary will suit you best, Chimu blogs are likely to have it covered. The range of topics is vast, with new and fascinating blogs being added regularly. There is ship information, guides about the activities you can do in the Polar regions, what to pack and what not to pack, and even blogs on various Polar explorers!

READ NOW

Falkland Islands REVIEWS

All Chimu Adventures' clients are given the opportunity to review their trip once they return home. These reviews are administered by a third party and as such are unfiltered by Chimu Adventures.

Falkland Islands

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Birding down under Unique, impressive wonderful islands and bird watching, Great staff and crew.
Date published: 2019-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A truly fabulous experience. Antarctica is beyond imagination. Breathtaking scenery and we were able to go ashore many times to fully experience it.
Date published: 2019-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stunning. Beyond our wildest dreams The wilderness, the beauty. Only way to see it is on a small ship. Thank you Chimu Adventures for helping us achieve this dream to see Antarctica
Date published: 2019-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing trip! Great itiniary, and only 130 passangers so one would get a very good amount of time on shore. The staff was very qualified for their job.
Date published: 2019-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Epic trip! The whole trip was absolutely amazing! We have had very special wildlife encounters and the staff on board as well as the crew and the leader of G expedition were fantastic - from organizing every day and being so friendly, professional and at the same time a good fun! We were all like a one family ;-) My agent from G adventures was also very good and got the trip well organised for me from the initial interest till the end of the trip, that's why I keep coming back to Chimu as they are amazing in also tailoring wildlife and nature adventures. So thank you everyone from Chimu and the G expedition voyage 14.7.19 -24.7.19
Date published: 2019-08-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Norwegian Ice Ocean Atlantic expedition crew was really good, made the most of a sold-out, charter cruise. Going for the Summer Solstice meant 24 hours of daylight, great flora and fauna, fabulous shipmates, weather was beautiful. As for kayaking, I wish there'd been greater opportunity for me. What I was able to take advantage of was magnificent. Take note, no solo kayaks for travelers...only for expedition staff! Svalbard is amazing. I spent a few days prior in Oslo, including a day train-trip to Lillihammer to explore their historical village of Maihaugen. Outstanding. And the Norwegians are wonderful, helpful folk.
Date published: 2019-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely brilliant From beginning to end the whole expedition was absolutely perfect.
Date published: 2019-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic Antarctica - 10 day cruise 10 day cruise to Antarctic Peninsular on the "Ushuaia". Rough crossing the Drake but Antarctica so peaceful and pristine.
Date published: 2019-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Antarctic Adventure Well organised tour overall. Great information on Antarctica from experts on the cruise across Drake Passage. Fantastic landings with great scenery and wildlife. Everything ran smoothly. The ship's catering was great.
Date published: 2019-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Trip. The entire trip was well organised and everything went smoothly.
Date published: 2019-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The trip is so organised, the staffs are looking after us so well. I felt safe and well informed all the ways. I told everyone how good is the trip.
Date published: 2019-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most Amazing trip ever We had high expectations but we were blown away by our experiences
Date published: 2019-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top holiday Everything went to plan. All was above expedition expedations. I had a great time, the ships crew were very experienced. What a great adventure.
Date published: 2019-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trip of a lifetime My lifetime wish to visit Antarctica was fulfilled beyond my wildest dreams in every aspect of the trip including the Force 10 storm while crossing the Drake Passage! It was fantastic.
Date published: 2019-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Antarctica I would definitely recommend booking a trip to Antarctica through Chimu. From the first landing in Buenos Aires - where there was someone to meet me at the airport to take me to the amazing hotel Dazzler Recoleta which was walking distance to the Le Recoleta cemetery. Chimu had organised pick ups both to and from the airports - to Ushuaia and back. The trip itself was jaw dropping. The crew on the ship were amazing - how they managed to stay upright during the Drake Crossing helping passengers in the dining room during meals. The food was amazing -(be prepared to come home heavier) - it caters to all dietary needs.The scenery was incredible -the penguins, orcas and all the other wildlife we encountered. I was so impressed that there are a few of us who will be doing the Arctic trip in 2021. The only thing I would suggest is that those who may have problems climbing the glanciers (which can be very slippery) is to take retractable hiking poles to give a bit of support - a few on my group used them. Other than that - take an open mind - some things may get cancelled - such as shore landings due to ice flow - but the crew do their very best to get us to shore or out on zodiacs - but safety will always come first.. So in closing - do it - get out there and see the most amazing place in the world.
Date published: 2019-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Once in a lifetime trip This is the third time I have used Chimu, and they have once again organised a perfect trip. All transfers were on time, accommodation in handy locations along with being (mostly) of the boutique type. Antarctica with Chimu's Poseidon expedition was very well organised and professional. Chimu Argentina worked hard to obtain alternate flights when our plane was grounded, making sure we made our home flight in time.
Date published: 2019-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Impossibly amazing trip The entire cruise was seamless, from the blue skies to the calm blue seas. Service onboard was fantastic and the service from Viva in the lead up to my cruise was outstanding.
Date published: 2019-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even better than expected Everything about this trip was exceptional and went beyond what were already lofty expectations - the locations, activities, ship and crew. This is a must for the bucket list.
Date published: 2019-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Met every expectation and more! The team were excellent - from booking (thank you Clem) to the expedition team and the ship crew. Everyone made sure we got the best experience ever.
Date published: 2019-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Memorable experiences No problems with the trip. It was well organised. A bit of down time could have been beneficial.
Date published: 2019-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Totally Amazing Very well organised and well run. Spectacular scenery and wildlife. Never expected to get so close to penguins. The boat was very comfortable and just the right size for this type of trip.
Date published: 2019-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Antarctic February 2019 Destinations and excursions terrific, but trip in reality less time than advertised
Date published: 2019-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The most wonderful experience. A most professionally run expedition. Cannot speak highly enough of all staff and crew
Date published: 2019-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not to be missed, truely amazing Faultless presentation and detail to attention. Met our expectations in every sense.
Date published: 2019-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magical, surreal Well organised, flexible itinerary allowed us to achieve most landings
Date published: 2019-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievably fantastic Indescribable trip. Everything was perfect from size of cabin to every excursion. The staff/crew on the boat were fabulous, the boat was great, beds comfortable with great doonas, the excursions and landings were amazing, the food was delicious. The whole trip was so much better than I ever could have anticipated. I would highly recommend this trip.
Date published: 2019-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Had perfect weather and drake crossing. Got further south than we imagined we ever would
Date published: 2019-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A superb cruise to Antarctica The Cruise was very successful with excellent weather enabling us to see the superb landscape and wildlife of Antarctica at its best . We were lucky to be able to cruise the LeMaire Passage being only the second ship to do this during the Summer 2018/19 and to be able to see Nepune's Window Beach on Deception Island which our Zodiac driver had only seen three times in ten years in the Antarctic. The ship Ocean Atlantic was very comfortable and the service and food of a very high standard. The lectures were delivered by highly qualified lecturers resulting in a very enjoyable and well organised visit to the most remote part of the World
Date published: 2019-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Antarctic Adventure Found the trip both enjoyable and informative. Staff on board ship were very helpful.
Date published: 2019-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Antarctica Cruise The ten day cruise was an excellent value with the eight Zodiac boat excursions included in the price. Our Vegan Antarctica group appreciated having our own separate dining room with delicious cruelty-free food choices. The expedition guides were very professional and knowledgeable. The accommodations were very basic and old. The cabin was the smallest and least comfortable of any ship I have been on. However, the magnificence of Antarctica was worth it!
Date published: 2019-03-11
  • y_2020, m_4, d_3, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_313
  • loc_en_AU, sid_antarctica, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_chimu-adventures
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.3.0.1
  • CLOUD, method:getReviews, 3.75ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Video

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

A high level of fitness is not necessary for Falkland Islands Antarctica Cruises, but you need to be in good health as although there is generally a doctor on board the ships, you are a long way from any other medical assistance. The majority of activities are focused around shore excursions and zodiac cruising and so you need to be agile and able-bodied enough to climb into and out of the inflatable zodiacs from both the ship and the shore. On shore landings you may need to negotiate uneven and slippery ground. Shore excursions generally involve some walking.

All of our tours are 100% tried and tested to ensure that when you travel with us, you are doing so in a controlled and safe environment with trained experts. We consistently monitor weather conditions and will always provide you with the best possible adventure without risk of injury to you or the vessel. While some landings and activities may need to be rescheduled or cancelled due to weather, every effort is made to have a contingency plan should such conditions become a reality during your expedition. Chimu have been the experts in Falkland Islands and Antarctic travel for well over 10 years and use our vast experience and knowledge when picking the vessels we sell to provide you with an adventure that is unforgettable for all the right reasons.

Cruise ship passengers do not need a visa to visit the Falkland Islands and participate in shore excursions. If you are flying into Port Stanley to board a Falkland Islands Antarctica Cruise, or if you are planning to spend additional time in the Falkland Islands before or after your cruise, you may need a visa. Visas are not required by citizens of Australia, New Zealand, UK, Ireland, European Union, Canada, USA and South Africa. Citizens of other countries are advised to contact their nearest British Embassy or Consulate to check visa requirements for the Falkland Islands.

If your Falkland Islands Antarctica cruise is departing from an Argentinian port such as Ushuaia, no pre-arranged visa is required to enter Argentina by citizens of the UK, Australia, Ireland, European Union, New Zealand, Canada, South Africa and the USA. Other nationalities should check with their closest Argentinean embassy or consulate.

Australian, Canadian and USA citizens must pay a "reciprocity fee" to enter Argentina. This is not a visa, but a fee based on the fees that Argentinean citizens pay for visas to these countries. The fee must be paid online and in advance for arrival at all airports. 

Falkland Islands Antarctica cruises that set sail from Ushuaia generally arrive and start exploring the Falkland Islands on Day 3. From South Georgia or Elephant Island there are usually 2 days at sea before reaching the Falkland Islands. Some tours fly from Punta Arenas in Chile to Port Stanley and embark on the ship in Port Stanley.    

Most Falkland Islands Antarctica cruises typically spend 2 days exploring the Falkland Islands on their way to or from South Georgia and/or the Antarctic Peninsula.