Skip to main content

Falkland Islands

Search Falkland Islands:

TRAVELLING TO Falkland Islands

NOTE: We're thrilled to advise that many Antarctica operators are offering flexible deposit and cancellation options for bookings made after March 13, 2020 for a limited time.  Airlines are offering the same!!  Add to that insurance companies are offering cancel for any reason policies! So whilst the next trip to Antarctica is not until November this year and polar cruise itineraries are bookable right up to March 2022,  right now could well be the best time to book your journey and take advantage of these flexible offers.  

CONTACT US  for more detailed information


Head east for nearly 500 kilometres from South America’s southern Patagonian coast and you will reach the remote, isolated and ruggedly beautiful archipelago of the Falkland Islands. Falkland Islands Antarctica cruises allow you to explore these sparsely inhabited islands, with their rough windswept terrain, coastal wetlands, beautiful white sand beaches and dramatic rock faces set against stunning skies. Comprising more than 750 islands in the South Atlantic Ocean, the Falkland Islands are a haven for wildlife - home to large colonies of elephant seals and fur seals, vast populations of black-browed albatrosses and other abundant birdlife including five species of breeding penguin.

Surrounded by decades of controversy, the Falkland Islands (or Islas Malvinas as they are known in Argentina) have been settled and claimed by France, Spain, Britain and Argentina. Travel to the Falkland Islands will give you an insight into the area’s fascinating history and reveal some of the haunting relics and memorials of war. The colourful seaside town and capital, Port Stanley, boasts many reminders of its British heritage including a selection of traditional English-style pubs, old red phone boxes and numerous Land Rovers - in fact some say that the people here are more British than the British themselves!

Set sail on a Falkland Islands Antarctica cruise and discover this unique part on the world, one of the rare places on Earth where nature and man live in harmony.  

[ Continue Reading ]

NOTE: We're thrilled to advise that many Antarctica operators are offering flexible deposit and cancellation options for bookings made after March 13, 2020 for a limited time.  Airlines are offering the same!!  Add to that insurance companies are offering cancel for any reason policies! So whilst the next trip to Antarctica is not until November this year and polar cruise itineraries are bookable right up to March 2022,  right now could well be the best time to book your journey and take advantage of these flexible offers.  

CONTACT US  for more detailed information


Head east for nearly 500 kilometres from South America’s southern Patagonian coast and you will reach the remote, isolated and ruggedly beautiful archipelago of the Falkland Islands. Falkland Islands Antarctica cruises allow you to explore these sparsely inhabited islands, with their rough windswept terrain, coastal wetlands, beautiful white sand beaches and dramatic rock faces set against stunning skies. Comprising more than 750 islands in the South Atlantic Ocean, the Falkland Islands are a haven for wildlife - home to large colonies of elephant seals and fur seals, vast populations of black-browed albatrosses and other abundant birdlife including five species of breeding penguin.

Surrounded by decades of controversy, the Falkland Islands (or Islas Malvinas as they are known in Argentina) have been settled and claimed by France, Spain, Britain and Argentina. Travel to the Falkland Islands will give you an insight into the area’s fascinating history and reveal some of the haunting relics and memorials of war. The colourful seaside town and capital, Port Stanley, boasts many reminders of its British heritage including a selection of traditional English-style pubs, old red phone boxes and numerous Land Rovers - in fact some say that the people here are more British than the British themselves!

Set sail on a Falkland Islands Antarctica cruise and discover this unique part on the world, one of the rare places on Earth where nature and man live in harmony.  

[ Read Less ]

WHY TRAVEL WITH CHIMU ADVENTURES

  • We are true Polar specialists. Almost every Chimu team member has travelled to either Antarctica or the Arctic and collectively we have experienced over 50 expeditions.

  • You can choose from over 130 cruises to Antarctica and the Arctic,including itineraries aboard our own charter vessels.

  • We have inspected and continue to thoroughly research each individual vessel we work with, selecting only those with environmental, safety and value credentials.

  • We know all things Polar by heart and will work with you to determine which ship and itinerary is best suited to your needs.

  • Travellers visit the Polar regions for different reasons so whether your interests are wildlife or photography, or Antarctic activities such as snowshoeing and kayaking, we can work around you for the perfect trip.

  • From your initial enquiry until your trip ends, you will be assigned a personal Destination Specialist who will offer a full service for your travel needs: we can book flights, insurance and any ancillary travel required to complete your journey.

FEATURED Falkland Islands TRIPS & DEALS

23 Days

Fram - Falklands, South Georgia, Antarctica: The Ultimate Expedition

Antarctica

Ship: FRAM

18 Days

Roald Amundsen - Great Explorers and Wildlife 18 Days

Chilean Fjords, Antarctica, Falklands

Ship: ROALD AMUNDSEN

21 Days

Songs in the South with Paul Kelly

Antarctic Peninsula, Falkland Islands, South Georgia

Ship:  The Ocean Endeavour

Falkland Islands CRUISES

21 Days

Antarctica, South Georgia & The Falklands

Antarctic Peninsula, Falkland Islands, South Georgia

SHIP: SEA SPIRIT

22 Days

Falklands, Antarctica& South Georgia

Antarctic Peninsula, Falkland Islands, South Georgia

SHIP: Expedition

20 Days

Antarctica, Falklands South Georgia

Antarctic Peninsula, Falkland Islands, South Georgia

SHIP: World Explorer

8 Days

Ushuaia, Cape Horn & The Falklands

South America

SHIP: Magellan Explorer

21 Days

Antarctica Christmas: Falklands and South Georgia Explorer

Antarctica: Falklands and South Georgia

SHIP:  The Ocean Endeavour

17 Days

Ponant: Beyond the Polar Circle

Antarctic Peninsula, Falkland Islands, South Georgia

SHIP: LE SOLEAL

BLOGS ON Falkland Islands

Whether you are looking for advice on when to travel to Antarctica or the Arctic, which ship to travel on or which itinerary will suit you best, Chimu blogs are likely to have it covered. The range of topics is vast, with new and fascinating blogs being added regularly. There is ship information, guides about the activities you can do in the Polar regions, what to pack and what not to pack, and even blogs on various Polar explorers!

READ NOW

Falkland Islands REVIEWS

All Chimu Adventures' clients are given the opportunity to review their trip once they return home. These reviews are administered by a third party and as such are unfiltered by Chimu Adventures.

Falkland Islands

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great trip to Antarctica Trip organization was essentially good but some of the ground transfers in South America could be better timed - the transfer to the airport in Buenos Aires for example was at 8am when my flight was at 11.55am so not sure why I had to be picked up that early since the airport was only 20 minutes away by car. Overall the trip was well worth it to see Antarctica on a decent expedition ship M/V Ushuaia. Make sure you take good sea sickness treatments for the trip.
Date published: 2014-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved the Kayaking We kayaked almost everyday and the weather was perfect.
Date published: 2015-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A fantastic trip A beautiful place and the whole trip ran like clockwork. Well organised and staff couldn't have been more helpful.
Date published: 2015-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Antarctica It's an adventure cruise, since the ship is a repurposed research vessel, not designed for comfort.
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Trip One Ocean and Vavilov crew were great and made every effort to ensure our safety and enjoyment
Date published: 2015-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Voyage to Antarctic Peninsula Travelled with Quark Sea Adventurer. Absolutely loved the trip! We experienced everything - terrible weather, calm sunny days, lots of animals and birdlife, magnificent scenery. Quark expedition crew were amazing - such excellent organisation, as flexibility was certainly required with all the changing weather conditions. Their subject knowledge and presentations added a great amount to the voyage.
Date published: 2016-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant, life-changing experience The ratio of almost one crew member per guest ensured that everything ran perfectly on Albatros Expeditions' Ocean Atlantic. The guides were brilliant, the food magnificent and our (upgraded) cabin a delight. The Chimu rep on board was very helpful. To nitpick, the weather could have been kinder for photography, but the sea was reasonably benign and the wildlife magnificent. Utterly wonderful.
Date published: 2019-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truly the trip of a lifetime! Every day just brought better and better experiences. The expedition crew couldn’t do enough to maximise our opportunities to go out in the zodiacs and land wherever possible to see penguins and seals in particular and their enthusiasm for Antarctica was inspiring. Icebergs, glaciers, sea ice and snow covered mountains were everywhere and so beautiful. An unscheduled visit to the Argentinian Antarctica Research Base was one of many highlights of the trip. The 3 weeks on the MS Expedition flew by and was truly the trip of a lifetime!
Date published: 2018-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beyond Any Expectations From the very first contact with Chimu, I had a great experience. Everything about the trip far exceeded any of my expectations. Besides the fact that Antarctica is the most amazing place on Earth, the trip itself was phenomenal. To the food, service, crew, expertise of the expedition team, everything was fantastic. I would highly recommend Chimu to friends and family.
Date published: 2015-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extraordinary and amazing! Visiting Antarctica has been on my bucket list! Finally headed there, with Chimu organizing my trip, plus a few add-ons in Argentina. Everything was perfectly organized, and the Chimu team and the Antarctic expedition team were simply fabulous. Friendly and knowledgeable, and intent on ensuring everyone has the most memorable trip. Will definitely use Chimu again!
Date published: 2018-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bucket List Ticked!! My trip to Antarctica was beyond any of my expectations. From the moment we arrived at Sydney Airport, to when we touched down again two weeks later, everything ran so smoothly and very professional. There are no words to describe my experience and there's simply no video's or photographs that capture the pure magic that is Antarctica - you just have to experience it for yourself, and everyones experience is different. I saw whales that swam around our zodiac boat, seals and lots and lots of penguins, but nothing was as breathtaking as the beauty and serenity that is Antarctica. Staff on board the Sea Adventurer are not only incredibly intelligent and knowledgeable, they are also incredibly friendly. It felt as though I had known them for a long time and infact it was really sad to say goodbye. The only negative I have is the food is too good!!!!! Even using my strongest willpower I couldn't say no to the amazing food that was on offer - curse you fresh baked cookies that sit at the coffee and tea station all day every day!!!! I have no problems-and have already done so-in recommending Chimu Adventures to my friends and family. They were absolutely fantastic and I look forward to traveling with them again in the near future
Date published: 2015-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A unique experience Well organised tour with all connections working as promised. Excellent expedition team, with great knowledge of Antartica, on boat and very good selection of sites to visit. Unique experience passing through the Lemaire Channel. The scenery was, at times, spectacular but we had some cloudy days and snow, as well as sunshine. The Polar Pioneer is, by no means, luxurious and the cabins are small, but the meals were good and the small boat allowed great flexibility and the opportunity for all passengers to go on all landings.
Date published: 2019-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Words can not describe this place !!!!! A unique place in the world to have had the priviledge to visit. We had penguins sitting on our feet & nestling into us. Saw whales, seals, albatross, icebergs, spectacular scenery & walked on ice flows!!! Reached the furthest South for the season - 68 degrees south - Stonington Base. Plus we were lucky enough to have a smooth sail across the Drake Passage - in both directions. It is a definite destination to put on your bucket list. Thank you Clare & Chimu for your excellent planning & organisation for our holiday.
Date published: 2017-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NO negatives the trip turned out to be just as it was sold to us...the ship was very sea worthy and the captain gave confident.Food was excellent.The daily debrief worked well.Having the mud room was definitely an advantage..all wet gear could be left there.The staff in charge of the zodiac trips were professional and knowledgable and really went out of their way to ensure we got to see and experience everything the antartic had to offer.this is not a cheap holiday,it is an expensive experience but you really do get what you pay for!
Date published: 2018-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from South America and Antarctic Adventure The planing done by Chimu was meticulous. Hotels great,airport pickups always there. Greay variety of destinations. The quality of guides was terrific. We did both private tours and group tours and all worked. Our cruise boat MS Expedition was a highlight but our month in South America(Chile Peru Bolivia) exceded our expectations.
Date published: 2015-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow A trip of a lifetime. It was so much more that we expected, words cannot describe our time in Antarctica and once again Chimu came through with the most amazing journey. The Sea Adventurer was an awesome vessel with only 117 passengers and we were very fortunate to have 11 zodiac landings while down there. A very special place.
Date published: 2015-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous The Expedition crew were just wonderful. They ensure the safety and security of all passengers. Sea Adventurer crew were also excellent, very attentative and looked after all our needs. I must thank the Captain and Expedition Leader for the treat they gave us in Deception Bay. Absolutely marvellous holiday
Date published: 2016-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A continent of majestic beauty and wildlife A well organised and planned expedition to an extraordinary continent
Date published: 2014-12-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing This trip was advertised as 'In the Wake of Mawson' but it should have been advertised as 'Cruise of East Antarctica'. We didn't land on the 7th continent, and apparently its inaccessibility was something that the crew knew of from the start (reportedly the elusive Russian captain told a Russian passenger on the first day at sea that there would be no landing in Antarctica). Despite this, the NZ Expedition Leader continually provided false hope. Expectations were not managed. Communication was poor, especially during the first fortnight. Morale on the ship was low. The tour itself was not well managed, from hikes on the sub islands that were too long, rugged and dangerous given the ability of the passengers, to depressing lecture room entertainment (one old movie of which had sub titles, but only those seated in the front row could see them - why show it?), to the tour company not having warm jackets to fit all passengers because it hadn't sought sizing information prior to departure (nor had the jackets been dry cleaned between use). We were told that the onus was on us to keep an eye on the guide during the hikes. How could I do that when the French guide I had took off, aiming to break his personal best? I got separated from the group. I was still traumatised from seeing a male Hooker Sea Lion aggressively pursue the guide an hour earlier, and now I was facing two of them at the same time, on my own. There are so many areas in which Heritage Expeditions needs to improve. On the up side, the two chefs did an impressive job, and the Dr, Phil and Chris were great. Chris crafted an extensive powerpoint slide of our journey, using photos taken by him and some of the other guides. Macquarie Island was a highlight, and there were some memorable moments in Antarctic waters. Was it worth $25,000, a month of my life and everything I had to endure? No, it wasn't. The same trip is on again next season. The future Expedition Leader casually mentioned at dinner one night that they're thinking of cancelling it. Do they realise how much a passenger has to do just to get to the booking stage? Why not cancel the tour before advertising it, or advertise it realistically, not how it was in 2010 when Mawson's Hut was still accessible? What is wrong with Heritage Expeditions? I should have gone to the peninsula instead, with a different company. My experience with Chimu was good.
Date published: 2017-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An amazing trip! Antarctica was just stunning - vast pristine emptiness: mountains, icebergs, glaciers, snow covered islands & no-one but us (except for the 1000s of penguins!). Organisation & safety were superb. Crew wonderful: friendly, helpful & knowledgeable. DVD at end of trip a truly memorable & special gift.
Date published: 2015-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life changing experience The ship Quark's Ocean Endeavour provided every comfort and attention to each of the guests. Staff were extremely friendly. Scientific crew very knowledgable. Well planned zodiac trips that let us experience Antarctica up close. This is a trip that every on should put on their bucket list.
Date published: 2016-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing trip Loved our cruise to Antarctica. The cruise ship was clean and comfortable. The food was great. The tour guides were extremely knowledgeable. We were lucky on this trip to have a very calm Drake Passage. The weather was good, and we only missed one landing due to the weather.
Date published: 2020-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Breathtakingly awesome We were blessed with almost a week of perfect weather in Antarctica. Stunningly beautiful and presented by talented and enthusiastic expedition crew. Meals exceeded expectation as did the willingness of the Captain to position the ship to get the best view of the wildlife.
Date published: 2016-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truly Amazing, more like Incredible !!!! The expedition staff and crew for Antarctica were truly the most professional people. The whole expedition was incredible and the weather was perfect. I would highly recommend this to anyone who is interested in going to Antarctica
Date published: 2018-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEYOND AMAZING! I am having trouble writing this review because the experience was so amazing that it's hard to put it into words. There were some logistic misses in the beginning when I arrived in Ushuaia, but all that went away as soon as I boarded the MV Hondius. The staff was amazing, friendly, outgoing, supportive, encouraging, and so much more. Their pride of the ship and the roles they played was evident from beginning to end. The Drake Passage can be a gut buster for some, but never fear, there is a doctor on board. Sea sickness patches are available for those who want to take a precaution. From the moment you reach Antarctica, everything turns into a dream. I remember waking up around 3 am and looking out the porthole. There it was...Antarctica! I put on my parka and ran out to the deck. I don't remember how many hours I spent just looking at it in awe. Then it was time for the first zodiac trip. We saw whales, penguins, seals and icebergs. It was incredible. After dinner, it was time to board a zodiac again for our overnight camping trip. Make sure you sign up for it because it's worth it. The area where we dug holes in the ice to settle in was pristine and the scenery was crazy! Three seals showed up and thought we were hunkering down for the night so they joined us. They slept by us. But of course we did more than that on the first day. We took a polar plunge. First, only a handful of people said they would do it, however, when it was time to do the deed, we hand waves of people running into the water. All of this happened on the first day. We still had three days left in the continent to hike, take zodiac trips, make landings, kayak etc. Let's talk about the food....phenomenal. I gained nine pounds on the trip, and the barista setup in the lounge kept all tea, coffee, and hot chocolate lovers very happy. The lounge was where he had all our lectures and where we gathered to play card games or just enjoy some quiet time. Of course there always has to be one group of people that just takes it to the next level. That was my group. Around 10 of us met on the ship and bonded right away. We stuck together during this incredible adventure, and have remained in contact. I can go on about the trip but the best thing I can do for you is to tell you to contact Chimu asap and sign up for the next voyage.
Date published: 2019-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely amazing We were very lucky with weather, all landings and Zodiac tours happened. The amount of wildlife was overwhelming. The staff were very professional and gave interesting and informative talks and helped in identifying wildlife.
Date published: 2018-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Antarctic Adventure Well organised tour overall. Great information on Antarctica from experts on the cruise across Drake Passage. Fantastic landings with great scenery and wildlife. Everything ran smoothly. The ship's catering was great.
Date published: 2019-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Antarctica on MS Expedition We loved the trip and it was everything we expected it to be. The zodiac cruising around the icebergs and zodiac landings were just so very well organised and each one was different from the other.
Date published: 2016-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from was even better than I expected Chimu worked hard to overcome the problems created by airline strikes,which of course were out of their control. Once we got to the Antarctic the crew and excursion team were excellent.
Date published: 2017-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic experience A very well organised trip with a very enthusiastic crew who went out of their way to make it a trip of a life time and I would happily recommend it to anyone who ask me about it.
Date published: 2016-03-13
  • y_2020, m_3, d_31, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_313
  • loc_en_AU, sid_antarctica, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_chimu-adventures
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.3.0.1
  • CLOUD, method:getReviews, 3.79ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Video

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

A high level of fitness is not necessary for Falkland Islands Antarctica Cruises, but you need to be in good health as although there is generally a doctor on board the ships, you are a long way from any other medical assistance. The majority of activities are focused around shore excursions and zodiac cruising and so you need to be agile and able-bodied enough to climb into and out of the inflatable zodiacs from both the ship and the shore. On shore landings you may need to negotiate uneven and slippery ground. Shore excursions generally involve some walking.

All of our tours are 100% tried and tested to ensure that when you travel with us, you are doing so in a controlled and safe environment with trained experts. We consistently monitor weather conditions and will always provide you with the best possible adventure without risk of injury to you or the vessel. While some landings and activities may need to be rescheduled or cancelled due to weather, every effort is made to have a contingency plan should such conditions become a reality during your expedition. Chimu have been the experts in Falkland Islands and Antarctic travel for well over 10 years and use our vast experience and knowledge when picking the vessels we sell to provide you with an adventure that is unforgettable for all the right reasons.

Cruise ship passengers do not need a visa to visit the Falkland Islands and participate in shore excursions. If you are flying into Port Stanley to board a Falkland Islands Antarctica Cruise, or if you are planning to spend additional time in the Falkland Islands before or after your cruise, you may need a visa. Visas are not required by citizens of Australia, New Zealand, UK, Ireland, European Union, Canada, USA and South Africa. Citizens of other countries are advised to contact their nearest British Embassy or Consulate to check visa requirements for the Falkland Islands.

If your Falkland Islands Antarctica cruise is departing from an Argentinian port such as Ushuaia, no pre-arranged visa is required to enter Argentina by citizens of the UK, Australia, Ireland, European Union, New Zealand, Canada, South Africa and the USA. Other nationalities should check with their closest Argentinean embassy or consulate.

Australian, Canadian and USA citizens must pay a "reciprocity fee" to enter Argentina. This is not a visa, but a fee based on the fees that Argentinean citizens pay for visas to these countries. The fee must be paid online and in advance for arrival at all airports. 

Falkland Islands Antarctica cruises that set sail from Ushuaia generally arrive and start exploring the Falkland Islands on Day 3. From South Georgia or Elephant Island there are usually 2 days at sea before reaching the Falkland Islands. Some tours fly from Punta Arenas in Chile to Port Stanley and embark on the ship in Port Stanley.    

Most Falkland Islands Antarctica cruises typically spend 2 days exploring the Falkland Islands on their way to or from South Georgia and/or the Antarctic Peninsula.