Argentina Tours

Why visit? From dancing the famous Argentinian tango in one of Buenos Aires’ traditional milongas to wine tasting in Mendoza overlooking the Andes, or admiring the impressive Iguazu Falls, an Argentina tour can introduce you to the perfect mix of buzzing cities, cultural highlights and natural wonders. 
 
The most popular starting point for an Argentina tour is the country’s capital, Buenos Aires. Often referred to as ‘the Paris of South America’, Buenos Aires is a city in which you can linger. There are many fascinating neighbourhoods but some of our favourites include La Boca, a ‘barrio’ known for its European feel being home to some of the best art galleries and tango shows in town, or San Telmo with its restored mansions and antique stores.
 
From Buenos Aires, your Argentina tour could take you to Salta in the country’s north, where you can day trip along Route 40, visiting the Great Salt Flat or venture to Humahuaca to visit ancient ruins and stop at some of the indigenous communities along the way. 
 
For an active exploration of the country, there are many ways to explore the fascinating landscapes of Argentina, including crossing the Andes on a horseback or hiking along the sapphire-coloured lakes of Tierra del Fuego National Park in Patagonia, in the country’s south. 
 
How to get there? Access has never been easier for Australians with three top-ranked airlines (LATAM, Air New Zealand and Qantas) providing regularly scheduled services to Buenos Aires. Qantas and Air New Zealand provide the quickest and easiest route to Argentina with only one stop along the way – Auckland for Air New Zealand and Santiago for Qantas. With LATAM, travellers stop in two cities, Auckland and Santiago.  
 
More information: Below we have shown you just a fraction of the options available for Argentina and multi-country travel. Browse to get an idea of where you want to travel.
 
Still wondering? Contact us:  You are definitely better off giving us a call or dropping us a line and letting us do the hard work for you. 
 
#Livefortoday and book your Argentina tour with us today. Chimu Adventures is Australia’s leading Latin America and Polar specialist and can put together an itinerary to suit you.
 

Chimu arranged our itinerary and everything went to perfection. We loved BA taking in a Tango show, Soccer game and a great Bike Tour thru the city. Mendoza, the home of Malbec wine was great. We enjoyed the rafting and the day trip to the Andes Mountains was superb! - Lindy

Read Reviews (Avg 4.7 ★)
 
0

Featured Argentina Trips & Deals

GROUP TOUR  From 3,995

Join us on this wonderful journey from Buenos Aires to Rio. Marvel at the mighty Iguazu Falls, experience Buenos Aires and the beaches of Rio.

Argentina Tours

3 NIGHTS From 665

Escape to northern Patagonia - the Switzerland of South America - for breathtaking forests, lakes and mountains.

3 NIGHTS From 875

The perfect stopover for your arrival into South America. Relax and enjoy the cafes and theatres and experience the must-see sights.

5 NIGHTS From 3,465

Take a short trip out to the real pampas and stay on an Estancia with the gauchos.

2 NIGHTS From 790

Our most popular short break tour to Iguacu. Explore the Argentina and Brazilian side of the falls and visit the devil's throat.

3 NIGHTS From 1,825

Explore Argentina's most famous and popular wineries on this short tour wine tasting visit through Mendoza.

6 NIGHTS From 2,000

Trek the famous Perito Moreno glacier on this adventure tour option south of Patagonia.

8 NIGHTS From 2,680

Take and in depth tour of the Salta region. Visit the salt flats and coloured sands and canyons. Sample the wines of Cafayate.

20 NIGHTS From 7,339

Looking to explore South America? This 21 day loop covers the best of Argentina, Brazil, Peru and a taste of Chile. Giving you an incredible taste of the continent.   

17 NIGHTS From 6,949

Experience the mystical glaciers, sparkling lakes, wildlife & breath-taking scenery of both the Chilean & Argentinean Patagonia.

Articles On Argentina

Best Things To Do in South and Central America – NOVEMBER Guide

Posted on Mon, 15 Oct 2018

As the southern summer season takes hold of a great part of the South America, now is the time to explore the more remote regions of Patagonia, the normally crowded big-name attractions in Peru and Bolivia, as well as the hot-spot of Colombia, where rains subside. November is a brilliant month to travel almost anywhere in Latin America, as the …

READ MORE

Visit the Pantanal and Meet Some of the World’s Strangest Creatures

Posted on Sun, 14 Oct 2018

You know you’re approaching an otherworldly place when the street sign tells you to watch out for an animal that seems to have been inspired by a science-fiction book. Sure, it kind of looks like a mouse…but how big would it have to be to warrant a SIGN?! Remote and pristine, the Pantanal was established as a UNESCO World Heritage …

READ MORE

Latin America Travel – Best Souvenirs That Won’t End Up in a Drawer

Posted on Fri, 12 Oct 2018

We admit that when travelling, sometimes, it is simply easier to dedicate just a couple of hours of our last day to hitting a gargantuan tourist market and filling up a small suitcase full of fridge magnets, key-chains and snow-globes that glow in the dark. Because, really, who wants to waste time and money buying stuff for friends back home …

READ MORE

Last Minute Bookings To Antarctica. Is It Possible?

Posted on Wed, 10 Oct 2018

Antarctica is a beautiful and majestic place and a must do on many people’s bucket list, but what options are there if you feel you may have missed out because of common issues such as lack of time, slight forgetfulness or low to high volumes of procrastination? We are here to let you know that there are still options for …

READ MORE

Crystal Endeavor- Where Luxury Meets Expedition

Posted on Tue, 09 Oct 2018

Many ships have braved the seas of the Polar regions and many have been specially designed for the distinct conditions, however, the Crystal Endeavor reaches new heights in the world of Polar vessels, being ‘the first purpose-built mega yacht that is Polar Code compliant’. The Crystal Endeavor has challenged and introduced exceptional new standards in expedition cruising and absolute luxury. …

READ MORE

Heads Up! Your Wildlife Guide to the Andes Mountains

Posted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018

Your comprehensive guide to South America’s Andes Mountains – one mesmerizing wildlife treat at a time South America’s most defining topographical feature is home to some of its most iconic creatures. Although many first-time visitors simply include some section of the Andes Mountain range in their itinerary for the sole purpose of being overawed by a wall of sky-high peaks …

READ MORE

National Geographic’s World’s Best Eco-lodges – Latin America Cleans Up!

Posted on Thu, 04 Oct 2018

National Geographic has just released its collection of World’s Best Eco-lodges and we certainly weren’t surprised to find that, out of the 44 worldwide contenders, Latin America is home to 12.  We’ve long-since known that Latin America offers a wealth of options for those who love exploring and love Mother Nature, in equal measure, and have been dedicated to offering …

READ MORE

Wildlife Watching in Brazil – Amazon VS the Pantanal

Posted on Thu, 04 Oct 2018

One amazing country – two magnificent wildlife powerhouses. Which one is best to visit? Wildlife-enthusiasts looking for an exceptional journey in Brazil will undoubtedly come to the same decision crossroads: should they visit the largest rainforest on earth…or the largest wetlands? Whilst the Amazon Rainforest may be the most famous and celebrated wildlife-watching destination in Brazil, the Pantanal is, by …

READ MORE

Why Travelling With a Purpose is the Best Way to Travel

Posted on Wed, 03 Oct 2018

There are more options for meaningful travel, out there, than humans on our planet and that’s because purpose, by its very definition, is an immensely personal perspective. Whether you travel to volunteer or learn a new language or to satisfy a particular personal challenge (hike a mountain in every country, watch a soccer match in every city or hike through …

READ MORE

The Most Sensational Hiking Trails in Chile (That Aren’t The W-Trek)

Posted on Tue, 02 Oct 2018

You’re an avid hiker and you already know that the W-trek is Chile’s #1 must-do trail. Time to discover what other sensational hiking trails the country has to offer. Chile’s recent announcement of the opening of a brand-new hiking trail, which effectively links three of its most impressive routes in Patagonia to form one colossal, 2800km odyssey, will certainly help …

READ MORE

Argentina Reviews

All Chimu Adventures' clients are given the opportunity to review their trip once they return home. These reviews are administered by a third party and as such are unfiltered by Chimu Adventures.

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible trip. Well organised itinerary, amazing country, wonderful holiday. Iquazu Falls are unbelievably beautiful, and for sure the highlight of the trip. No complaints.....well done Chimu.
Date published: 2015-08-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from buenos aires unfortunately the waiting time to get picked up for excursions was too long. the bus for the city tour had very small windows and it was hard to see the sights. our day tour to the estancia ended with a down pour of rain. we were told to get of the bus 2 blocks away from our hotel and walk. we wanted to be brought to the hotel and were told, if we are not getting off, we would have to walk from 12 blocks away. we got off and were drenched.
Date published: 2017-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tailor made to Argentina Although delayed by snow, we were soon booked onto a later connecting flight to Puerto Iguazu, so missed nothing. The Falls were amazing - worth going just for them. Would recommend the two days at Yacutinga Lodge, guides were fun but attentive and food cordon bleu! Wonderful rock formations around Salta. Chilly winds from the lakes at Bariloche, but we were lucky with the weather overall. Even saw a condor!
Date published: 2018-03-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Patagonia Glacier Trek An expectant boat load of walkers, ice trekkers and ice climbers were on their way to Viedma Glacier on a bright, warm, sunny day. Getting close to the glacier, the wind became much stronger, the waves bigger, and the captain decided (for good reasons) that the conditions were too difficult to continue. Sadly, the boat returned to the jetty. ...and you might think that this would result in a poor review. However the decision to turn around was made for safety reasons, and completely understandable. Travellers were immediately told about either getting a refund or rebooking for another trip. I chose the refund, and the funds were in my bank account just a few days after I returned from Patagonia. And finally, a bit later that day the local organisers gave me information about a great walk which turned out to be one of the highlights of my entire trip to Patagonia. In all, a good outcome.
Date published: 2016-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wildlife Highlights V2 Generally a great trip - hotels with exception of one were perfect, tours and excursions were great (would be better if all the guides had spoken english). Communications re pickups could be better (we had a 7am flight and only got a call at 4.30 that morning to tell us when we were getting picked up). Argentina is a wonderful country and this trip certainly highlighted its best features.
Date published: 2015-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We had a brilliant time. The itinerary went really well although there appears to have been a lack of communication between your Argentinian and Chilean offices as we were not met upon arrival in Punta Arenas as the bus company we travelled with was not as originally planned. This meant your driver was at the wrong bus terminal which meant we had to get a taxi to the hotel.
Date published: 2017-04-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good trip The entire trip went smoothly. The only flaw was when we were leaving EZE for IGZ, we were sent to terminal A instead of C. Terminal A is for international flights, Terminal C is for domestic. Our flight was domestic. The driver did not know, neither did we. We have to walk and roll our luggage from A to C, quite a long way.
Date published: 2016-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2 days in Buenos Aires We did a cycle ride, Argentine Experience and Tango Dinner and Show. All fantastic and would recommend them, especially the cycle and Argentine Experience. Wonderful staff who looked after us very well. The tango dinner and wine were average but the show was exceptional, loved it!
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome falls Our trip from Buenos Aires to the Iguazo Falls ran like clockwork. We fly from BA to Iguazu and were picked up at Iguazu airport. The arrangements for our visit were fully explained and the pick ups were on time and the local guides were excellent. The falls are truely awesome.
Date published: 2016-02-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Buenos Aires, El Calafate, Ushuaia Great itinerary and all went very well. Some confusion at Buenos Aires as we did not receive information about when we would be picked up for some occasions and had to follow up via your out-of-hours number. Great tour guides and transfer to G Adventures at Ushuaia.
Date published: 2016-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A truly spectacular trip We visited Buenos Aires, Mendoza and the vineyards, The Iguaza Falls and El Calafate. Every aspect of the itinerary created by Chimu was brilliant from the pick ups and drop offs at the airports, the hotels and the tours. Holidays don't get any better than this.
Date published: 2018-08-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from antatica & Beounerius Antantic cruse it would have better if were able to see other stations other than penquins all the time all the pick up and drop was ok expect in beonoiures the drop of drives could not speak english and dropped me off both time @ the wong terminal samuel
Date published: 2015-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great new continent Buenos Aires is one of the most beautiful cities I have seen. The variety in Argentina, from the beauty of BA, to the vast expanse of the pampas, to the power of the Iguazu Falls, to the beauty and history of Salta, it was a magnificent experience.
Date published: 2018-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Iguazu trip was amazing The arrangements for our pick up , transfers and hotel as well as our private guide for the day were excellent Our guide was great and explained so much to us about the falls and national park. We had a great trip and truly memorable experience
Date published: 2017-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful destination Totally recommend Buenos Aires, San Antonio de Areco, Estancia El Ombu and Iguazzu Falls. Our stay at Own Recoleta was wonderful and the meals at La Cantera Jungle lodge were amazing. All our guides were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.
Date published: 2018-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Argentinean excellence! Had an amazing trip in Argentina prior to going to the Antarctic with Chimu. An incredibly faultless service. Guides were amazing and the support for single old me from Chimu's Argentinean office were incredible. Thanks
Date published: 2016-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved Buenos Aires! We were in Buenos Aires for a couple of days prior to heading to Ushuia. We loved every minute of our stay and the local manager was very knowledgeable and helpful. We also enjoyed our brief time in Trelew post cruise.
Date published: 2018-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Great itinerary. Bit of a hiccup when we got to Bolivian border as bus was early on the Argentine side and we had to find our way alone to Bolivian border with no one waiting to pick us up.
Date published: 2017-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievable trip The team were so supportive on the one occasion I needed them. But the trip itself was awesome. I can’t recommend Patagonia highly enough. The Chimu team steered me completely correct.
Date published: 2018-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible trip It was excellent. It was amazing value for money. The accommodation was lovely, the transfers completely stress free, the trips were superb and the guides varied from good to excellent.
Date published: 2016-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Iguazu falls Again well organised and an excellent tour of the Argentina side of the falls. What a day, so much included and saw so much of the falls. Wonderful and again a great tour guide.
Date published: 2015-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Salta Valleys and Canyons Tour Fantastic scenery and interesting towns and villages. Did the tour with a guide who was excellent. Chimu were extremely professional to deal with and are highly recommended.
Date published: 2016-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Antarctica Antarctica- AMAZING! Everyday was slightly better than the day before. We couldn't have imagined it. No words can truly describe this amazing place.
Date published: 2017-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Trip ! Each destination was completely different from the previous location, all were amazing. The itinerary was well thought out & simpley perfect !
Date published: 2018-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful experience Apart from a delayed return flight, everything went to plan. Great hotel, great guides, great experience. We were blessed with the weather.
Date published: 2015-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Iguacu Dalls From initial contact to finish of trip,everything was perfect.Helpful,organised,informed and good standard of accomadation/
Date published: 2015-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Falls galore Seeing these falls from both the land sides and a helicopter gave us a truly magnificent appreciation of the place
Date published: 2018-03-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from argentina just another big city falls were very good pity about the airline and the disgusting food and always late
Date published: 2015-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Argentina, Buenos Aries and Iguezu Falls We were made most welcome. Buenos Aries was a great city to visit. The Iguezu falls were magnificent.
Date published: 2016-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great time before & after Antarctica Buenos Aries is a beautiful city. Iguazu Falls are amazing !!!
Date published: 2017-02-13
  • y_2018, m_12, d_14, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_40
  • loc_en_AU, sid_argentina, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_chimu-adventures
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.3.0.1
  • CLOUD, method:getReviews, 4.66ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Country Information

Geography of Argentina

Posted on Mon, 30 Jan 2017

Argentina is a huge country – the 8th largest country in the world and the 2nd largest in South America (after Brazil), covering an area of 2.7 million square kilometres. Its diverse landscapes and climates vary dramatically from north to south, ranging from Andean mountains and glacial lakes to Pampas grassland where its famed beef cattle graze. Argentina is bordered …

READ MORE

History of Argentina – Ancient to Modern

Posted on Fri, 18 Nov 2016

History of Argentina – Ancient to Modern day The history of Argentina dates back thousands of years, with the first human settlements beginning on the southern tip of Patagonia 13,000 years ago. The indigenous people here and in the Pampas were advanced hunters and gatherers and included the Yamana and the Tehuelches. The country’s history has been tumultuous over the years …

READ MORE

The Wildlife of Argentina

Posted on Thu, 03 Nov 2016

Argentina is home to a diverse range of wildlife due to its varied terrain and habitats ranging from lush rainforest to marshlands, grasslands, mountains and bleak Patagonian desert. This means that you may encounter an astonishing range of fauna on your Argentina travels – from penguins, whales and seals to condors, armadillos and guanacos. Wildlife species of Argentina Mammals Alpacas, …

READ MORE

Experience the Great Cuisine of Argentina

Posted on Sun, 23 Oct 2016

The cuisine of Argentina is distinctive in South America because of its strong resemblance to Italian, Spanish, French and other European cuisines. Indigenous gastronomies derived from groups such as the Quechua, Mapuche and Guarani have also played a role. Grilled meats and pasta are common with extensive use of local ingredients. Cuisine of Argentina Another determining factor in Argentine cuisine …

READ MORE

The Culture and Customs of Argentina

Posted on Mon, 03 Oct 2016

Argentina is considered the most European republic in South America with the majority of Argentines being descendants of Spanish and other European colonists. Modern Argentinian culture has been strongly influenced by its European immigrant population but with a South American flair. Latin American passion is combined with a cosmopolitan European lifestyle. The character of Buenos Aires, the cultural capital, has stemmed from …

READ MORE

Weather In Argentina

Posted on Wed, 14 Sep 2016

Argentina stretches across many different latitudes and as such there are great variations in climate within the country. The climate ranges from subtropical along the north eastern border with Brazil to sub polar in the Tierra del Fuego region in the far south. The country has four seasons: winter (June – August), spring (September – November), summer (December – February) and …

READ MORE

When to go to Argentina?

Posted on Thu, 08 Sep 2016

Argentina is a year round destination, but due to its vast size and resulting differences in climate across the country, the best time to visit will depend on where you are planning on visiting for your Argentina travel and the activities that you plan to include on your Argentina tour. Patagonia and Tierra del Fuego The summer months of December …

READ MORE

Frequently Asked Questions

What money do they use in Argentina ?

The unit of currency in Argentina is the Argentinian Peso (ARS).
 
Please check websites such as www.oanda.com or www.xe.com for up to date exchange rates prior to your departure.

What language do they speak in Argentina?

 Argentina's official language is Spanish, but Argentinian Spanish differs from Spanish spoken in other Latin American countries, mainly due to the Italian sounding intonations. Indigenous languages spoken today include Tehuelche, Guarani and Quechua. Many immigrant groups have continued to speak their own language and so you will also find many other languages in Argentina including Italian, German, English, French and even Welsh.

What is the religion of Argentina?

Argentina is predominantly Roman Catholic.

Do I need to be fit to go to Argentina?

The level of fitness needed will depend on the Argentina tour that you choose to take in terms of places to be visited and the types of activities to be included on your itinerary. Argentina offers great opportunities for outdoor activities set against spectacular backdrops. They range from hiking ad trekking to rock climbing, skiing, white water rafting, horse riding and ice climbing. The majority of the best treks are to be found in the National Parks where the trails range from easy to difficult. If you plan on summiting Aconcagua, South America’s highest peak at 6962m, then you will need to be fit and ensure that you acclimatise thoroughly.

Is it safe to travel in Argentina?

Most South American countries have now recognized that tourism plays an important part in their economies and governments have taken great steps to change South America’s poor security image. Violent crime is rare in Argentina and local police actively patrol the tourist areas. 
 
To minimise security risks we recommend the following: 

 

  • do not show any outward signs of wealth or wear expensive jewellery
  • keep your valuables in your hotel in safety deposit boxes
  • keep any valuables that you must carry with you hidden, as pickpockets can be present in crowded areas and around tourist areas
  • use only registered taxis with official identification
  • avoid going on your own to remote areas or the poorer barrios of Buenos Aires or where tourists would not be expected to go
  • always keep your day pack and camera close to you and never leave them unattended

Do I need a visa to travel to Argentina?

A pre-arranged visa is not required to enter Argentina for citizens of the following countries:

 

  • Australia
  • United Kingdom
  • The United States
  • Ireland
  • Canada
  • New Zealand
  • European Union
  • South Africa
 
For other nationalities please visit the website of the relevant consulate.
Please note that Canadian and USA citizens must pay a "reciprocity fee" to enter Argentina. This is not a visa, since a visa is not required for visitors from these countries. It is a fee based on the fees that Argentinean citizens pay for visas to these countries. The fee is subject to change but must be paid in advance online. For US citizens, the reciprocity fee allows multiple entries into Argentina for 10 years in accordance with US visa reciprocity. 
 
British and European Union passport holders are exempt from Reciprocity Fees.
* As of the 1st of July 2017 Australian citizens no longer require to pay a reciprocity fee to enter Argentina. 

 

How long do I need to travel to Argentina?

You could spend anything from a few days to several weeks or even months on your Argentina travels, depending on whether you plan to explore the entire country or just focus on one experience such as the Valdes Peninsula, an estancia stay or a Patagonian glacier trek. Chimu Adventures offers itineraries to suit every time frame.

How much should I budget for daily in Argentina ?

Our Argentina tours include breakfast daily and many other meals may also be included in your itinerary. As a rough guide for additional spending money based on having moderately-priced lunches and dinners and buying a few souvenirs at local markets, we suggest a budget of 25-35 USD per day per person. 

Do I need to get vaccinations for Argentina?

Although no specific vaccinations are required for Argentina travel and no proof of any vaccination is required to enter the country, we recommend that you visit your doctor or a traveller’s medical centre for current information specific to those places that you will be travelling through.
 
Yellow Fever is a risk in certain parts of Argentina and this vaccination is generally recommended if your Argentina tour includes the northern parts of the country bordering Brazil and Paraguay. Depending on your travel itinerary you may be required to produce proof of yellow fever vaccination when returning to Australia from parts of Argentina.
 
As a general guide we recommend the following:

 

  • Yellow Fever - Especially for northern parts of Argentina
  • Hepatitis - Both A and B (twinrix)
  • Typhoid
  • Diphtheria
  • Cholera
  • Rabies
  • Tetanus

What kind of power adaptor plug do I need for Argentina?

In Argentina the standard voltage is 220V and standard frequency is 50Hz. Power sockets are of types C and I.
 
Please visit the below link for more information: http://electricaloutlet.org/

What should I pack to travel in Argentina ?

What you need to pack will depend on when and where you plan on travelling and on the activities that you plan to include whilst on your Argentina tour.
 
The following should act as a useful checklist of essential items:

 

  • Passport, photocopy of passport & spare passport photos
  • Travel Insurance documents  
  • Air tickets and itinerary
  • Foreign Currency (US$) and/or debit/credit cards, traveller’s cheques
  • Money belt 
  • Small daypack
  • Basic first aid kit 
  • High UVA sun block 
  • Sunglasses & sunhat
  • Mosquito spray & insect repellent
  • Comfortable walking shoes/boots
  • Sandals 
  • Long sleeve tops and trousers 
  • Light-weight clothing
  • Warm clothing (depending on itinerary and time of year)
  • Camera with spare battery and memory cards
  • Security code padlock
  • Adaptor 
  • Small torch