Chile Tours

Why visit? Whether it’s delving into the rich cultural heritage of Santiago, exploring Patagonia by horseback, trekking Atacama Desert, or wining and dining in Valparaiso, Chile offers endless opportunities to explore, rendering this combination the best recipe for the ultimate escape! 
 
Most Australian travellers start their tour in Santiago, the country’s capital. More European in feel than most Latin American cities, Santiago is a vibrant metropolis that is flanked on each side by the Andes and enjoys one of the most beautiful locations of any cities in the world.
 
From Santiago, you can continue your Chile tour to Calama in the country’s north and explore the driest hot desert in the world, Atacama Desert. Trekking Atacama will allow you to see the famous Atacama Salt Flats, visit Indigenous cultures or witness the incredible views over the moonlike landscape of Valley of the Moon. 
 
In Chile’s south, Patagonia is a place full of natural beauty with its spectacular volcanoes, ancient forests and glittering lakes and fjords set against spectacular mountain ranges. While Torres del Paine National Park has established itself as a Patagonia icon, there are many other hot spots from which you can get different perspectives of Patagonian countryside.
 
How to get there? Chile is now more accessible than ever thanks to increased air capacity and LATAM launching direct flights from Melbourne to Santiago last year. Two top-ranked airlines (LATAM and Qantas) now provide regularly scheduled services to Santiago. 
 
More information: Below we have shown you just a fraction of the options available for Chile and multi-country travel. Browse to get an idea of where you want to travel.
 
Still wondering? Contact us:  You are definitely better off giving us a call or dropping us a line and letting us do the hard work for you. 
 
#Livefortoday and book your Chile tour with us today. Chimu Adventures is Australia’s Latin America and Polar specialist and can put together an itinerary to suit you.

The tour we arranged through Chimu was excellent in every respect. From the moment we arrived at the airport, we were well looked after! - Martin

Read Reviews (Avg 4.5 ★)
 
0

Featured Chile Trips & Deals

POPULAR  From 4,310

Visit the spectacular highlights Chile has to offer. Witness the driest desert in the world and explore Chile's amazing nature in Torres del Paine.

Chile Tours

3 NIGHTS From 2,359

The Alto Atacama is the perfect base to spend 4 days exploring the desert, having cultural encounters, or simply absorbing the breathtaking landscape.

4 NIGHTS From 900

For a picture perfect adventure, visit Chile's Lake District, combining stunning scenery and a range of outdoor activities.

3 NIGHTS From 960

Explore Easter Island, one of the most isolated places on earth, and meet the Moai, the watchful stone guardians of the island.

3 NIGHTS From 2,490

Enjoy this 4-day tour and enlighten your senses travelling through incredible Chile -visit some of the marvellous wineries the country has to offer.

8 NIGHTS From 6,245

Discover two of Chile's most beautiful areas staying at two of Tierra Hotels luxury properties. 

4 NIGHTS From 2,659

Enjoy the spectacular fjords and stunning natural beauty of Patagonia and Tierra del Fuego, as you cruise from Ushuaia to Punta Arenas aboard the Stella Australis.

8 NIGHTS From 7,999

From the icy south to the desert north, from the rugged Pacific coastline to the highest peaks of the Andes, Chimu Adventures offers a myriad of opportunities to enjoy the country's unique geography and culture.

Articles On Chile

Best Things To Do in South and Central America – NOVEMBER Guide

Posted on Mon, 15 Oct 2018

As the southern summer season takes hold of a great part of the South America, now is the time to explore the more remote regions of Patagonia, the normally crowded big-name attractions in Peru and Bolivia, as well as the hot-spot of Colombia, where rains subside. November is a brilliant month to travel almost anywhere in Latin America, as the …

READ MORE

Visit the Pantanal and Meet Some of the World’s Strangest Creatures

Posted on Sun, 14 Oct 2018

You know you’re approaching an otherworldly place when the street sign tells you to watch out for an animal that seems to have been inspired by a science-fiction book. Sure, it kind of looks like a mouse…but how big would it have to be to warrant a SIGN?! Remote and pristine, the Pantanal was established as a UNESCO World Heritage …

READ MORE

Latin America Travel – Best Souvenirs That Won’t End Up in a Drawer

Posted on Fri, 12 Oct 2018

We admit that when travelling, sometimes, it is simply easier to dedicate just a couple of hours of our last day to hitting a gargantuan tourist market and filling up a small suitcase full of fridge magnets, key-chains and snow-globes that glow in the dark. Because, really, who wants to waste time and money buying stuff for friends back home …

READ MORE

Last Minute Bookings To Antarctica. Is It Possible?

Posted on Wed, 10 Oct 2018

Antarctica is a beautiful and majestic place and a must do on many people’s bucket list, but what options are there if you feel you may have missed out because of common issues such as lack of time, slight forgetfulness or low to high volumes of procrastination? We are here to let you know that there are still options for …

READ MORE

Crystal Endeavor- Where Luxury Meets Expedition

Posted on Tue, 09 Oct 2018

Many ships have braved the seas of the Polar regions and many have been specially designed for the distinct conditions, however, the Crystal Endeavor reaches new heights in the world of Polar vessels, being ‘the first purpose-built mega yacht that is Polar Code compliant’. The Crystal Endeavor has challenged and introduced exceptional new standards in expedition cruising and absolute luxury. …

READ MORE

Heads Up! Your Wildlife Guide to the Andes Mountains

Posted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018

Your comprehensive guide to South America’s Andes Mountains – one mesmerizing wildlife treat at a time South America’s most defining topographical feature is home to some of its most iconic creatures. Although many first-time visitors simply include some section of the Andes Mountain range in their itinerary for the sole purpose of being overawed by a wall of sky-high peaks …

READ MORE

National Geographic’s World’s Best Eco-lodges – Latin America Cleans Up!

Posted on Thu, 04 Oct 2018

National Geographic has just released its collection of World’s Best Eco-lodges and we certainly weren’t surprised to find that, out of the 44 worldwide contenders, Latin America is home to 12.  We’ve long-since known that Latin America offers a wealth of options for those who love exploring and love Mother Nature, in equal measure, and have been dedicated to offering …

READ MORE

Wildlife Watching in Brazil – Amazon VS the Pantanal

Posted on Thu, 04 Oct 2018

One amazing country – two magnificent wildlife powerhouses. Which one is best to visit? Wildlife-enthusiasts looking for an exceptional journey in Brazil will undoubtedly come to the same decision crossroads: should they visit the largest rainforest on earth…or the largest wetlands? Whilst the Amazon Rainforest may be the most famous and celebrated wildlife-watching destination in Brazil, the Pantanal is, by …

READ MORE

Why Travelling With a Purpose is the Best Way to Travel

Posted on Wed, 03 Oct 2018

There are more options for meaningful travel, out there, than humans on our planet and that’s because purpose, by its very definition, is an immensely personal perspective. Whether you travel to volunteer or learn a new language or to satisfy a particular personal challenge (hike a mountain in every country, watch a soccer match in every city or hike through …

READ MORE

The Most Sensational Hiking Trails in Chile (That Aren’t The W-Trek)

Posted on Tue, 02 Oct 2018

You’re an avid hiker and you already know that the W-trek is Chile’s #1 must-do trail. Time to discover what other sensational hiking trails the country has to offer. Chile’s recent announcement of the opening of a brand-new hiking trail, which effectively links three of its most impressive routes in Patagonia to form one colossal, 2800km odyssey, will certainly help …

READ MORE

Chile Reviews

All Chimu Adventures' clients are given the opportunity to review their trip once they return home. These reviews are administered by a third party and as such are unfiltered by Chimu Adventures.

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Chile! We absolutely adored our trip to Chile. Everything ran smoothly and according to plan. Accommodation exceeded our expectations and the guides, transfers were amazing. We are aching to go back, and looking at where our next adventure will take us. We have already recommended you to 3 friends who are considering a trip with you in 2018! thanks Chimu!
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chile, Chile, Chile! We didn't have many expectations, as just had 3 days on our way over as a stopover. We spent a nice time at Valparaiso, and enjoyed the street art around the place. In our spare time we visited the pre Colombian museum in Santiago, and thought it was incredible. We ask Chimu include it in all their tours to Santiago, as it is well worth a look!
Date published: 2016-05-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Unusual scenery On the whole, the trip went smoothly. However, we were given the wrong pick up time for one excursion and weren't told we needed passport details for the trip to the geysers at Tatio. We also had a free morning and we organised an archaeological you with another company.
Date published: 2017-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An ambition fulfilled I have always wanted to go to Easter Island and having been to Chile before I wanted a bespoke trip rather than a package. The wine tours near Santiago were wonderful and Colchagua Museum deserves at least a few hours as they have the most amazing examples of pre Columbian art and Inca and Aztec treasures plus much more. We then went southwards to the lakes and Volcanoes which was truly beautiful and stayed in a lovely hotel right on the lake. Lots to see and do and the scenery was spectacular. Easter Island was everything and far more than I had imagined. I have wanted to go for almost 40 years. Really well explained by the guides and a wide variety of things to do so not just the statues (which were unbelievable.) Great Botanical garden and a cave walk. It was lovely to meet local people. Great guides throughout especially Terry in Santiago and such friendly people. Chile has so much to offer and really easy to get around. All the arrangements were perfect and the hotels much better than they looked in the pictures in our itinerary.
Date published: 2016-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Consider my mind blown From the hilarious, informative and caring guides, to the vibrancy of the destinations (I particularly loved the Atacama Desert) it was a faultless itinerary. I can't wait to go back!
Date published: 2016-11-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easter Island Everything ran smoothly, we were collected at the airport, the tours ran on time, we had a knowledgeable guide, transport was fine.
Date published: 2015-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Atacama Desert and Chilean Patagonia Perfect weather throughout - great picture making opportunities and faultless organisation added up to us having a wonderful time.
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from People Places Perfect We loved South America it's so different from all the standard Asian and European destinations.
Date published: 2016-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Santiago de Chile, a must see Love this city and surrounds. At the foothills of the snow covered Andes mountains.
Date published: 2015-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Santiago & Valparaiso after Patagonia After Patagonia and Antarctica we entered another world and saw the new year in at Valparaiso. We had a replacement driver from Santiago to Valparaiso. His shift finished at 2100 but owing to an accident he stayed on but the normal travelling time of 1 hour turned into 3.5+ due to the mass exodus of people wanting to see the fireworks! As soon as we arrived, our landlady invited us to join her family and go to their friends' place for NYE. We literally fell on our feet. I'd been told to leave the tripod and big camera back at the apartment. Suddenly I was able to take them with me, so I set up on the patio. With one hand on a remote control, I used the other one to take some video with a different camera. The birds took off flying through the red and grey skies. I was glad I was able to repay our guests with photos and videos. A fantastic place to visit and the street outside our door consisted of a hundred steps! As for the colours, you'll just have to check out my photos. Back in Santiago, we met up with one of the best guides you'd arranged for us (and they were all good). Our walking tour was fantastic and we wouldn't have been able to see half of the places of interest except for our guide. Well done, Jason Dudson.
Date published: 2016-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chile - a definite must see We were very impressed with the itineraries and how we could customize to suit our wants. The organization of everything, including flights, transport, transfers, accommodation, tours, and guides was exceptional. We were looked after and felt safe at all times. Everything ran smoothly but if something unexpected occurred it was sorted out straight away without fuss. The main places in Chile we visited were Santiago, the Atacama Desert, Puerto Varas, Puerto Natales and Torres del Paine National Park. The guides who showed us around deserve special mention. They were local to the area (often having grown up there), passionate about their history and culture, enthusiastic, well educated, multi-lingual, happy to answer questions, and helpful. We would be happy to recommend Chimua Adventures to anyone thinking of visiting South America.
Date published: 2017-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easter Island The tour we arranged through Chimu was excellent in every respect. From the moment we arrived at the airport, we were well looked after. We had three tours (2 x half and 1 x whole day) which covered the main aspects and sites on the island. We had the same guide throughout (Matu'a) - he was a man of Rapa Nui descent, so we had both an authentic and informative commentary. On the third day we hired a car and revisited some sites and explored more - an ideal combination. The hotel, Taha Tai, was within ten minutes walk of the town and restaurants, so we ate at a different restaurant each night - the locally-caught fish is excellent. Breakfast at the hotel was an ample selection of cold sweet and savoury dishes, plus hot scrambled eggs and sausages. Easter Island has a delightful Polynesian atmosphere. It's a pity it's so far from anywhere - or, perhaps, not! Tourist numbers are increasing, so visit before it gets too crowded!!
Date published: 2015-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Incredible Experience! In Chile we started at San Pedro de Atacama before going to Lima and then Santiago. From here we flew to Rapu Nui and then Puerto Montt and the northern part of the Patagonia. What a magnificent experience seeing the extremes Chile has to offer from desert to lakes, volcanoes and forests. An absolutely incredible experience!
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Chile - vibrant & diverse & worth the visit Santiago - airport transfers good, accommodation (Aubrey Hotel) very good, local tour operator slack with advising next days pick up times & hard to contact. Day trip to Valpraiso disappointing due to lack of English by guide despite 50% of customers being English speaking. Lunch at Vina Del Mar very good.
Date published: 2014-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The whole experience was breathtaking. There are probably cheaper options but because of my time frame this was perfect. Every thing ran well, I never felt rushed, my timing (early May) was perfect as there weren't too many tourists - cold destinations are not my usual choice but so happy i did this. Chile rocks!
Date published: 2017-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic experience The Atacama Desert was my only destination in Chile, but it was worth it. The various sites around San Pedro were different and all very interesting. The people were very friendly and most spoke passable English, as opposed to Santiago. Beautiful and enriching experience.
Date published: 2018-03-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Valparaiso day tour from Santiago Felt rushed and not much time to see some of the sights, I would've preferred to have stayed there rather than travelling from Santiago as there isn't much to see along the way - maybe a stop at a winery should be part of the tour.
Date published: 2015-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from CTS were great We traveled in and out and around Santiago and Valparaiso using CTS for tours and transfers as booked by Chimu. CTS's performance was faultless and made our Chile experience all the more enjoyable. Thanks CTS and Chimu.
Date published: 2016-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trip of a lifetime We had the most amazing trip with Chimu to Antarctica, Chile, Argentina and Peru. Everything worked like clockwork on the ground, excellent hotels and guides. Thank you for the most incredible experience.
Date published: 2018-04-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Our tour was perfectly organised by Chimu Out itinerary covered a visit to the incredible Atacama Desert in Chile, the amazing Machu Picchu area and Lima in Peru. Chimu did a great job and we experienced exactly what we wanted to see and do.
Date published: 2015-03-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Chile late flights again poor airline food got hit with a reciprocal fee of $117 each on arrival fairly boring bus trip to the coast would have been better things to look at in the city
Date published: 2015-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great trip to Chile! The entire itinerary ran smoothly and on time. The Chilean drivers and local reps were very friendly, courteous and made me feel important. I would recommend this trip to anyone!
Date published: 2015-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The wonders of San Pedro de Atacama A truly unique place to visit with beautiful natural landscapes, amazing food and interesting wildlife.
Date published: 2014-12-17
  • y_2018, m_12, d_14, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_31
  • loc_en_AU, sid_chile, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_chimu-adventures
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.3.0.1
  • CLOUD, method:getReviews, 5.11ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Country Information

The Five Geographical Zones of Chile

Posted on Thu, 23 Feb 2017

Chile is one of the longest north-south countries in the world, extending over 4,000 kilometres from north to south, from the Atacama Desert in the far north to Tierra del Fuego and the Drake Passage in the south. From east to west it averages only 177 kilometres, a long thin country wedged between the longest mountain range in the world …

READ MORE

Wildlife in Chile

Posted on Wed, 11 Jan 2017

Chile’s narrow elongated shape spanning a wide range of latitudes as well as altitudes, has resulted in many distinct ecosystems and a diverse range of wildlife. Marine mammals Along the country’s extensive coastline it is possible to see elephant seals, sea lions, blue whales, humpback whales, sperm whales, sea otters and dolphins. Mammals Animals that can be found in Chile’s diverse …

READ MORE

The Chilean Cuisine

Posted on Tue, 08 Nov 2016

To get the most out of a trip to any country you should try to experience the culture and the cuisine and sample some of the local dishes and the local drinks. Chilean food is fairly simple but varied and seafood, beef, fruit and vegetables all feature heavily. The cuisine stems from a combination of traditional Spanish cuisine, Chilean indigenous …

READ MORE

The Rich History of Chile

Posted on Tue, 25 Oct 2016

The history of Chile dates back 10,000 years when migrating Native Americans first settled along the coast and in the fertile valleys of what is now Chile. As a result the country has a rich and vibrant history. A few interesting facts about the history of Chile are listed below. Mapuche The Incas extended their empire to northern Chile, albeit briefly, …

READ MORE

The Culture and Customs of Chile

Posted on Wed, 19 Oct 2016

Chile is one of the longest North-South countries in the world from the Atacama desert till Torres del Paine in Patagonia. Due to its interesting and vibrant history, Chile has a rich mix of culture and customs. The Population of Chile The majority of Chileans are mestizo (of mixed blood) although there are some remote parts of Chile where the …

READ MORE

The Great Variance in Climate in Chile

Posted on Sun, 09 Oct 2016

One thing that can be said about Chile’s climate – and that is that it differs greatly depending on where you are in the country. Chile is one of the longest north-south countries in the world, extending across 38 degrees of latitude and its climate varies significantly along its length. If you are in the south you are likely to …

READ MORE

Best time to visit Chile

Posted on Wed, 05 Oct 2016

Chile is one of the longest north-south countries in the world with an incredibly diverse range of landscapes and spectacular scenery that ranges from the arid-sun baked Atacama Desert in the north to wild, rugged and breathtakingly beautiful Patagonia in the South. The climate is also varied and will depend on where you are in the country. This means that the best …

READ MORE

Frequently Asked Questions

What money do they use in Chile?

The unit of currency in Chile is the Chilean Peso (CLP).
Please check websites such as www.oanda.com or www.xe.com for up to date exchange rates prior to your departure.

What language do they speak in Chile?

Spanish is the official language of Chile with over 85% of the population speaking Spanish as their first language. The Spanish spoken in Chile differs from that in neighbouring countries due to it being distinctively accented with the use of local slang. Several indigenous languages are spoken in Chile including Mapudungun, Quechua, Aymara, Huilliche and Rapa Nui.

What is the religion of Chile?

The official religion of Chile is Roman Catholicism, and the majority of Chileans are Catholic, with an estimated 55-60% of Chileans belonging to the Catholic Church. There are also Protestants in Chile, and some Mapuche Indians who still practice their traditional religion.

Do I need to be fit to go to Chile?

The level of fitness needed will depend on the Chile tour that you choose to take in terms of places to be visited and the types of activities to be included on your itinerary. Chile offers great opportunities for outdoor activities set against spectacular backdrops. They range from hiking ad trekking to climbing, skiing, white-water rafting, kayaking and fishing. Many of the best treks are to be found in the Lake District and National Parks such as the spectacular Torres del Paine National Park where the trails range from easy to difficult, with treks ranging from a few hours to many days.

Is it safe to travel in Chile?

Most South American countries have now recognized that tourism plays an important part in their economies and governments have taken great steps to change South America’s poor security image. Violent crime is rare in Chile but there are the usual risks of pickpocketing in crowded areas and bag theft. 

To minimise security risks we recommend the following: 

  • do not show any outward signs of wealth or wear expensive jewellery
  • keep your valuables in your hotel in safety deposit boxes
  • keep any valuables that you must carry with you hidden, as pickpockets can be present in crowded areas and around tourist areas
  • use only registered taxis with official identification
  • avoid going on your own to remote areas or where tourists would not be expected to go
  • always keep your day pack and camera close to you and never leave them unattended

Do I need a visa to travel to Chile?

A pre-arranged visa is not required to enter Chile for citizens of the following countries:

  • Australia
  • United Kingdom
  • The United States
  • Ireland
  • Canada
  • New Zealand
  • European Union
  • South Africa

For other nationalities please visit the website of the relevant consulate.

Please note that Australian citizens must pay a "reciprocity fee" to enter Chile. This is not a visa, since a visa is not required for visitors from these countries. It is a fee based upon the fees that Chilean citizens pay for visas to Australia. The fee is subject to change but can be paid on arrival in US$ cash or by credit card.

How long do I need to travel to Chile?

You could spend anything from a few days to a few weeks on your Chile travels, depending on whether you plan to explore the entire country or just focus on one experience such as Torres del Paine National Park, the Lake District or a wine tour. Chimu Adventures offers itineraries to suit every time frame.

How much should I budget daily for Chile?

Our Chile tours include breakfast daily and many other meals may also be included in your itinerary. As a rough guide for additional spending money based on having moderately-priced lunches and dinners and buying a few souvenirs at local markets, we suggest a budget of 30-40 USD per day per person. 

Do I need to get vaccinations for Chile?

Although no specific vaccinations are required for Chile travel and no proof of any vaccination is required to enter the country, we recommend that you visit your doctor or a traveller’s medical centre for current information specific to those places that you will be travelling through.

A yellow fever vaccination certificate is not required for mainland Chile but it is required if you are travelling to Easter Island from yellow fever infected areas in Africa or the Americas. Measles occurs worldwide and is common in developing countries. As a general guide we recommend the following:

  • Yellow Fever - if travelling to Easter Island from an infected area
  • Measles, mumps, rubella (MMR)
  • Hepatitis - Both A and B (twinrix)
  • Typhoid
  • Diphtheria
  • Cholera
  • Rabies
  • Tetanus

What kind of power adaptor plug do I need for Chile?

In Chile the standard voltage is 220V and standard frequency is 50Hz. Power sockets are of types C and L.

Please visit the below link for more information: http://electricaloutlet.org/

What should I pack to travel in Chile?

What you need to pack will depend on when and where you plan on travelling and on the activities that you plan to include whilst on your Chile tour.

The following should act as a useful checklist of essential items:

  • Passport, photocopy of passport & spare passport photos
  • Travel Insurance documents  
  • Air tickets and itinerary
  • Foreign Currency (US$) and/or debit/credit cards, traveller’s cheques
  • Money belt 
  • Small daypack
  • Basic first aid kit 
  • High UVA sun block 
  • Sunglasses & sunhat
  • Mosquito spray & insect repellent
  • Comfortable walking shoes/boots
  • Sandals 
  • Long sleeve tops and trousers 
  • Light-weight clothing
  • Warm clothing (depending on itinerary and time of year)
  • Camera with spare battery and memory cards
  • Security code padlock
  • Adaptor 
  • Small torch