Skip to main content

Peru

Search Peru:

TRAVELLING TO Peru

Great Chimu Sale

Why visit?
While most travellers know the legendary Machu Picchu, Lost City of the Incas, only few of us know that it is only one out of twelve UNESCO World Heritage sites waiting to be discovered on a tour through what is known as the “Egypt of South America”.

From admiring the snow-capped peaks of the Andes or trekking the ancient Inca trail, to exploring the rainforests of the Amazon Basin, uncovering Peruvian weaving traditions on one of Lima’s colourful street markets or sampling "Pisco Sour" in a traditional hacienda, a tour to Peru will introduce you to the countless facets of one of the most fascinating cultures in the world.

How to get there? Generally, the easiest way for Australians to get to Peru is with LATAM or QANTAS via Santiago. Other slightly longer options include Air New Zealand via Buenos Aires, or a multitude of options via Los Angeles.

More information: Below we have shown you just a fraction of the options available for Peru and multi-country travel. Browse to get an idea of where you want to travel.

Still wondering? Contact us, you are definitely better off giving us a call or dropping us a line and letting us do the hard work for you.

#Livefortoday and book your Peru tour with us today. Chimu Adventures is Australia's leading Latin America and Polar specialist and can put together an itinerary to suit you.

[ Continue Reading ]

Great Chimu Sale

Why visit?
While most travellers know the legendary Machu Picchu, Lost City of the Incas, only few of us know that it is only one out of twelve UNESCO World Heritage sites waiting to be discovered on a tour through what is known as the “Egypt of South America”.

From admiring the snow-capped peaks of the Andes or trekking the ancient Inca trail, to exploring the rainforests of the Amazon Basin, uncovering Peruvian weaving traditions on one of Lima’s colourful street markets or sampling "Pisco Sour" in a traditional hacienda, a tour to Peru will introduce you to the countless facets of one of the most fascinating cultures in the world.

How to get there? Generally, the easiest way for Australians to get to Peru is with LATAM or QANTAS via Santiago. Other slightly longer options include Air New Zealand via Buenos Aires, or a multitude of options via Los Angeles.

More information: Below we have shown you just a fraction of the options available for Peru and multi-country travel. Browse to get an idea of where you want to travel.

Still wondering? Contact us, you are definitely better off giving us a call or dropping us a line and letting us do the hard work for you.

#Livefortoday and book your Peru tour with us today. Chimu Adventures is Australia's leading Latin America and Polar specialist and can put together an itinerary to suit you.

[ Read Less ]

WHY TRAVEL WITH CHIMU ADVENTURES

  • We offer you flexible travel options in Latin America at an affordable price.

  • You can choose from over 400 suggested itineraries or pick and choose elements to build your own unique experience; cover the areas you want to explore at a pace to suit you.

  • We know each Latin American country by heart and will work with you to determine which activities and accommodations are best suited to your needs.

  • From your initial enquiry until your trip ends, you will be assigned a personal Destination Specialist who will offer a full service for your travel needs: we can book flights, insurance and any ancillary travel required to complete your journey.

  • We have offices across South America so you can be assured that ground staff are close at hand to assist whilst you are travelling.

FEATURED Peru TRIPS & DEALS

CELEBRATING
15 YEARS

For 15 Years, Chimu have been inspired by the  incredible places we visit, the travellers we meet…

View Offer
Up to 10% off

Colours of Peru

13 NIGHTS FROM AUD 6,656

was AUD 7,395

Join this comprehensive small group tour, to Peru. Encompasses the very best of Lima, The Andes an...

View trip

Cusquenita Little Cusco

3 NIGHTS FROM AUD 1,560

On a limited time frame, or want to visit the Cusco region without the hard work of the Inca trail? ...

View trip

Peru TOURS

PERU IN DEPTH

17 NIGHTS FROM AUD 5,309

Trekking

Visit the major highlights of Peru. From Lima to Ica & Nazca & head up into the Andes via Arequipa. ...

View trip

DELFIN III CRUISE LUXURY AMAZON

3 NIGHTS FROM AUD 4,179

Delfin III

Experience the wonders of the Peruvian Amazon. Cruise aboard the luxurious Delfin III into the Pacay...

View trip
Up to 10% off

Colours of Peru

13 NIGHTS FROM AUD 6,656

was AUD 7,395

Join this comprehensive small group tour, to Peru. Encompasses the very best of Lima, The Andes an...

View trip
Up to 10% off

Enchanting South America

21 NIGHTS FROM AUD 11,336

Solo Traveller, Wildlife

was AUD 12,595

This small group tour visits South America's most incredible destinations in Argentina, Brazil, Peru...

View trip

Lares Adventure to Machu Picchu

7 NIGHTS FROM AUD 3,805

Trekking

Daily hikes take you to remote passes with panoramic views of waterfalls, snow peaks and turquoise g...

View trip

Machu Picchu and The Galapagos

9 NIGHTS FROM AUD 5,950

Small Ship Cruising

Delve into the depths of the Sacred Valley before rising to the pinnacle of Peru – Machu Picchu. C...

View trip

BLOGS ON Peru

Whether you are looking for advice on visas and vaccinations,when to travel, best markets or beaches to visit, wildlife guides or the top restaurants in a city, Chimu blogs are likely to have it covered. The range of topics is vast, with new and fascinating blogs being added regularly. There are airport guides, Galapagos Island guides, what to pack and what not to pack, and even a blog on the most romantic locations to propose in Latin America!

READ NOW

Peru REVIEWS

All Chimu Adventures' clients are given the opportunity to review their trip once they return home. These reviews are administered by a third party and as such are unfiltered by Chimu Adventures.

Peru

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous Peru Awesome trip from start to finish and everything ran so smoothly
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing experience - If you are flying into Puno from Lima - make sure you take the altitude tablets early!!
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peru has amazing history, culture and traditions! We loved every aspect of Peru from the inspiring destinations to the friendly, knowledgeable guides. We also thought the personal and small groups made our trip much more interesting and enjoyable.
Date published: 2016-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cattleya Boat cruise on the Amazon Very well organised. The Cattleya is an amazing boat. The whole trip was extremely worthwhile .... fun, adventurous and very informative. The staff on the boat ..... I just loved!!
Date published: 2016-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Peru! After Antarctica, Peru was #2 on my bucket list.. and I literally jumped off the boat and flew to Peru. Wow. Everything I imagined and more. Thanks to Chimu for making my dreams come true. I will always leave a part of my heart in Machu Picchu. Incredible people and incredible service. Thankyou so much!
Date published: 2016-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exhilarating Holiday. Very professionally organised trip. Couldn't fault it. All the timings, flights, pickups, excursions, and accmodation were spot on. As for Peru. It is a stunning country, with amazing scenery and friendly people. Worth doing the hiking treks to see the best of what's on offer. Can't recommend it enough. Excellent value for money. Thanks Chimu. Will book another holiday with you in the future.
Date published: 2016-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Trip! Everything was organised perfectly - guides were always there and efficient, accommodation great and the places visited were magic, many were wow! and wow!
Date published: 2016-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stunning Peru....... We ere so lucky the guides allocated to take us about Peru and its wonders Suited us well, they were informative, interesting and INTERESTED! in their Country and our reactions to the people, the sites and the country at large, We were very lucky - others were not so!
Date published: 2016-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I enjoyed Peru very much. Arrangements were excellent. Good hotels, well detailed transfers. Itinerary reflected a lot of expertise and local knowledge. On the ground staff were all first rate and guides very knowledgable.
Date published: 2015-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Variety, diversity, history Everything went smoothly - flights, transfers, hotels. Hotels were 3 star and all were clean and comfortable.
Date published: 2015-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing diversity - great service Peru is a wonderfully diverse country with welcoming people and great level of service. All Chimu staff were excellent - we were collected and delivered promptly by lovely friendly people. The Inca trail was an experience not to be missed - hard in places but the guides and porters were wonderful (especially the cook who managed to deal with my wheat intolerance at 3500m!!) and the views incredible. The jungle was a complete contrast - like walking into a sauna. I've never had so many showers. Again cannot fault the hacienda or the guides. Saw so much wildlife as they knew exactly where to look and were so knowledgeable. Cusco is a great place if a little touristy. Loads of places to eat at very reasonable prices and large portions.
Date published: 2015-10-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It took 33 years to see them Everything went perfectly. Hotels were all great, guides all on time and tours as promised. I finally saw the Nazca lines! Flights and boat trip were on the best planes and boats
Date published: 2015-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful first time in South America A very well-constructed independent tour that enabled us to see many varied destinations with a great diversity of landscape and culture and via a wealth of modes of travel. All underpinned by a reliable framework of "meets and greets" and comfortable hotels.
Date published: 2015-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best experience ever! Everything from the initial airport pick up went so smoothly! We were always looked after, guides were fantastic and knowledgeable. Organisation of our entire trip was very professional, so we could truly relax and get absorbed in the experience without having to worry about the logistics of getting places, organising tickets, finding out schedules etc. Peru is such an amazing country, so much to see - will definitely have to come back to explore more! Thanks Chimu for making this dream come true:)
Date published: 2015-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievable Country. A massive wealth of history everywhere you look. Truly amazing. Itinerary was great, and Chimu very helpful. Highlight would have to be Machu Picchu, but other Incan Ruins such as Raqch'i were equally amazing. Wonderful trip.
Date published: 2015-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceptional A fantastic 10 days in Peru. I cannot thank you enough. Lake Titicaca was spellbinding, Cusco a dream and Machu Picchu was a bucket list item ticked off!! The Chimu Adventures team on the ground were amazing, Juan Carlos, Larry and Rodolfo a credit to Chimu Adventures. The team made our trip exceptional.
Date published: 2015-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trip to Machu Pichu Our entire trip went so well. Originally I was travelling on my own so wanted everything to be thoroughly organised, met at airport etc. And everything went so well. Always met on time, delightful, informative drivers, great little boutique hotels and excellent tour guides. We had Sonia to ourselves in Machu Pichu and she was excellent. very knowledgeable. Just wonderful.
Date published: 2015-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from peru late flights with poor food seated apart on the plane row 7 and 19 not happy excellent tours very good guides plenty of interesting things to see and do
Date published: 2015-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Salkantay Trek plus The trek was fantastic. The Mountain Lodges of Peru were excellent in every way. In the future, we recommend that trekkers should be advised to take gaiters.
Date published: 2015-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from tour of peru Well organized good hotels whole experience brilliant
Date published: 2014-12-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Terrific trip The suggested itinerary went smoothly and we were met by guides at each destination and escorted to our hotels. We felt very safe.
Date published: 2014-12-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Peru The organizaton from and to each destination went very smoothly...well done. One day was too long travelling from A to B and would have preferred flights or trains between Cities. We cancelled the day before the Inca Tail because we didn't want another full day touring. The Inca Trail was good, but sleeping on the floor was difficult, toilet, washing facilites were poor and the food was acceptable.
Date published: 2014-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing destination & highlight of South America All transfers very good, accommodation in Lima (Second Home Hotel) very good & great location although on the last night it was too far from airport for early flight the next day. Accommodation in Puno (Casa Andina Private) very good but out of town, in Cusco (Casa Cartagena) superb & great staff, in Aguas Calientes (Machu Picchu Pueblo) very good but no water available early of 1st morning for showers etc., in Puerto Maldonado (Refugio Amazonas) good considering remote location & limited electricity. Beer was always cold after hard days jungle trecking! Will cover tours through Peru in a separate review
Date published: 2014-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved every moment! The trip was well planned ensuring that the impact of altitude was minimised. The destination provides a wide variety of experiences. From fantastic scenery to outdoor pursuits to strong cultural experiences of ancient civilisations.
Date published: 2014-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceeded expectations! Totally awesome!! The Chimu team set my Peruvian table......I just had to show up and enjoy! The jungle,the peaks,the cities and Cusco really got my attention totally! Left my phone in a cab....my Chimu mate got it back for me in minutes!, loved it.
Date published: 2014-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding - trip of a lifetime! The people, the scenery, the culture, the food - every aspect of our time in Peru was amazing. Macchu Pichu was an incredibly humbling and exhilarating experience, but we loved the whole of the Sacred Valley and all the surrounding areas. Sites were well maintained, two teenagers travelling with us were kept happy the entire time, and even the weather was great!
Date published: 2014-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peru, Peru, Peru! I don't think there was one meal in Peru that I regretted. The gastronomy in Peru was mentioned prior to leaving Australia, but to be perfectly honest I never had a chance to try it before. My gosh, forget other world cuisines - and get to Peru. The food was out of this world. It was something that really struck me. All enjoyed with a Pisco Sour of course! The rest of the trip was wonderful. Machu Picchu has long been on my bucket list, and to tick it off was a lifetime achievement. The Sacred Valley and Pisac markets were also fantastic, a wide variety of goods available all at a reasonable cost. We loved the Waka Punku hotel in Cusco, a real gem and close to the action.. Lake Titicaca was also a wonder, visit the Uros Islands was mind blowing. Next trip is Galapagos next year.. and please can we stop in Peru again? Many thanks to all in Peru we met, and were welcomed by including Larry, Sandra, Andy and Ale. You have a great team in Peru, and I will sing their praises to everyone I see.
Date published: 2014-08-30
  • y_2020, m_2, d_24, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_61
  • loc_en_AU, sid_peru, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_chimu-adventures
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.3.0.1
  • CLOUD, method:getReviews, 4.03ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Video

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Most South American countries have now recognized that tourism plays an important part in their economies and governments have taken great steps to change South America’s poor security image. Peru has certainly become a much safer place to visit in recent years. You will find a strong police presence in the towns, cities and sites most frequently visited by tourists. To minimise security risks we recommend the following: • do not show any outward signs of wealth or wear expensive jewellery • keep your valuables in your hotel in safety deposit boxes • keep any valuables that you must carry with you hidden, as pickpockets can be present in crowded areas and around tourist areas • use only registered taxis with official identification • avoid going on your own to remote areas/ruins where tourists would not be expected to go • always keep your day pack and camera close to you and never leave them unattended

A pre-arranged visa is not required to enter Peru for citizens of the following countries: • Australia • United Kingdom • The United States • Ireland • Canada • New Zealand • European Union • South Africa For other nationalities please visit the website of the relevant consulate.

You could spend anything from a few days to a few weeks on your Peru travels, depending on whether you plan to explore the entire country or just focus on one experience such as the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu or an Amazon adventure. Chimu Adventures offers itineraries to suit every time frame.

Our Peru tours include breakfast daily and many other meals may also be included in your itinerary. As a rough guide for additional spending money based on having moderately-priced lunches and dinners and buying a few souvenirs at local markets, we suggest a budget of 20-30 USD per day per person.

Although no specific vaccinations are required for Peru travel and no proof of any vaccination is required to enter Peru, we recommend that you visit your doctor or a traveller’s medical centre for current information specific to those places that you will be travelling through. As a general guide we recommend the following: • Yellow Fever – Especially for jungle areas • Hepatitis – Both A and B (twinrix) • Typhoid • Diphtheria • Cholera • Rabies • Tetanus

In Peru the standard voltage is 220V and standard frequency is 60Hz. Power sockets are of types A, B and C. Please visit the below link for more information: http://electricaloutlet.org/

What you need to pack will depend on when and where you plan on travelling and on the activities that you plan to include whilst on your Peru tour. The following should act as a useful checklist of essential items: • Passport, photocopy of passport & spare passport photos • Travel Insurance documents • Air tickets and itinerary • Foreign Currency (US$) and/or debit/credit cards, traveller’s cheques • Money belt • Small daypack • Basic first aid kit • High UVA sun block • Sunglasses & sunhat • Mosquito spray & insect repellent • Comfortable walking shoes/boots • Sandals • Long sleeve tops and trousers • Light-weight clothing • Warm clothing (depending on itinerary and time of year) • Camera with spare battery and memory cards • Security code padlock • Adaptor • Small torch

The unit of currency in Peru is the Peruvian Nuevo Sol (PEN). The US Dollar is widely accepted in many stores throughout the country and prices are often given in both US dollars and Soles. Please check websites such as www.oanda.com or www.xe.com for up to date exchange rates prior to your departure.

Spanish is the official language of Peru, spoken by more than 80% of the population. There are also many indigenous languages including Quechua and Aymara. In recent years an increased effort has been made to promote all of the indigenous languages. Aymara was made an official language in the Puno/Lake Titicaca region.

Peru’s predominant religion is Roman Catholic although the indigenous Peruvians have blended Catholicism with their traditional beliefs, creating a fascinating mix.

The level of fitness needed will depend on the Peru tour that you choose to take in terms of places to be visited and the types of activities to be included on your itinerary. Many parts of Peru are at altitudes above 2000 metres, where there is a risk of altitude sickness. Altitude sickness affects everyone differently and usually has nothing to do with your general fitness level, but we highly recommend acclimatizing at altitude before taking strenuous treks or walks. If you do plan to include a trek whilst you are in Peru, particularly in the Andean highlands, then the fitter you are the easier you will find the trek.