Skip to main content

Ecuador

Search Ecuador:

TRAVELLING TO Ecuador

Why visit? Ecuador might be relatively small in size compared to some of its neighbours but when it comes to diversity, it is nothing short of drawcards, boasting an incredible plethora of geographical, cultural and biological wonders.

From the snow-capped peaks of the mighty Andes, to the remote waters of the magnificent Amazon, awe-inspiring volcanoes, luscious rainforests brimming with endemic wildlife, indigenous villages reflecting the country’s endearing culture and endless stretches of beautiful beaches, an Ecuador tour really is a once in a lifetime adventure.

Usually, British travellers start their Ecuador tour in Quito, Ecuador’s capital, an exciting city that impresses not only with its lively vibe, bustling streets and ancient buildings but, being nestled amidst the Andean mountains, it also enjoys the most stunning of settings a city could ask for. The city is bursting with architectural gems and is one of the best preserved historical centres in all of Latin America.

For an exploration of Ecuador’s famous biodiversity, visitors will be spoilt for choice with the huge amount of nature reserves, forests, mangrove coastlines and beaches covering the country’s mainland.

In the east, Coca is the gateway for tours of the Amazon rainforest, one of the most bio-diverse regions in the world. Wildlife spotting at its most impressive is offered on an Amazon Tour where you can set off on canoe rides along the remote waters and rivers, hike through the thick forest as rich in flora and fauna as no other place on earth.

In the west, off the coast, a Galapagos Islands Cruise & Tour is a highlight of any visit to Latin America. Set against the backdrops of spectacular landscapes that range from volcanic peaks to ancient lava fields, the Galapagos Islands are one of nature’s most impressive wonders boasting some of the famous wildlife species unique to Galapagos such as the giant tortoise, marine iguanas and Darwin’s finches.

How to get there? There are no direct flights from the UK to Ecuador so a popular route is via one of the European hubs. Iberia operate flights from Heathrow in to Quito and Guayaquil via Madrid while KLM operate in to Quito via Amsterdam. Air Europa offer flights from Gatwick in to Guayaquil via Madrid. It’s also possible to fly via Bogotá to Quito and Guayaquil with Avianca.

More information: Below we have shown you just a fraction of the options available for Ecuador and multi-country travel. Browse to get an idea of where you want to travel.

Still wondering? Contact us: You are definitely better off giving us a call or dropping us a line and letting us do the hard work for you.

#Livefortoday and book your Ecuador tour with us today. Chimu Adventures can put together an itinerary to suit you. 

[ Continue Reading ]

Why visit? Ecuador might be relatively small in size compared to some of its neighbours but when it comes to diversity, it is nothing short of drawcards, boasting an incredible plethora of geographical, cultural and biological wonders.

From the snow-capped peaks of the mighty Andes, to the remote waters of the magnificent Amazon, awe-inspiring volcanoes, luscious rainforests brimming with endemic wildlife, indigenous villages reflecting the country’s endearing culture and endless stretches of beautiful beaches, an Ecuador tour really is a once in a lifetime adventure.

Usually, British travellers start their Ecuador tour in Quito, Ecuador’s capital, an exciting city that impresses not only with its lively vibe, bustling streets and ancient buildings but, being nestled amidst the Andean mountains, it also enjoys the most stunning of settings a city could ask for. The city is bursting with architectural gems and is one of the best preserved historical centres in all of Latin America.

For an exploration of Ecuador’s famous biodiversity, visitors will be spoilt for choice with the huge amount of nature reserves, forests, mangrove coastlines and beaches covering the country’s mainland.

In the east, Coca is the gateway for tours of the Amazon rainforest, one of the most bio-diverse regions in the world. Wildlife spotting at its most impressive is offered on an Amazon Tour where you can set off on canoe rides along the remote waters and rivers, hike through the thick forest as rich in flora and fauna as no other place on earth.

In the west, off the coast, a Galapagos Islands Cruise & Tour is a highlight of any visit to Latin America. Set against the backdrops of spectacular landscapes that range from volcanic peaks to ancient lava fields, the Galapagos Islands are one of nature’s most impressive wonders boasting some of the famous wildlife species unique to Galapagos such as the giant tortoise, marine iguanas and Darwin’s finches.

How to get there? There are no direct flights from the UK to Ecuador so a popular route is via one of the European hubs. Iberia operate flights from Heathrow in to Quito and Guayaquil via Madrid while KLM operate in to Quito via Amsterdam. Air Europa offer flights from Gatwick in to Guayaquil via Madrid. It’s also possible to fly via Bogotá to Quito and Guayaquil with Avianca.

More information: Below we have shown you just a fraction of the options available for Ecuador and multi-country travel. Browse to get an idea of where you want to travel.

Still wondering? Contact us: You are definitely better off giving us a call or dropping us a line and letting us do the hard work for you.

#Livefortoday and book your Ecuador tour with us today. Chimu Adventures can put together an itinerary to suit you. 

[ Read Less ]

WHY TRAVEL WITH CHIMU ADVENTURES

  • We offer you flexible travel options in Latin America at an affordable price.

  • You can choose from over 400 suggested itineraries or pick and choose elements to build your own unique experience; cover the areas you want to explore at a pace to suit you.

  • We know each Latin American country by heart and will work with you to determine which activities and accommodations are best suited to your needs.

  • From your initial enquiry until your trip ends, you will be assigned a personal Destination Specialist who will offer a full service for your travel needs: we can book flights, insurance and any ancillary travel required to complete your journey.

  • We have offices across South America so you can be assured that ground staff are close at hand to assist whilst you are travelling.

FEATURED Ecuador TRIPS & DEALS

M/C Galapagos Seaman 4 Day Cruise

3 NIGHTS FROM £ 1,579

Galapagos Seaman Journey

M/C Galapagos Seaman Journey is a first class catamaran offering superior comfort, size, style, and ...

View trip
Up to 20% off

Amazon Cruise aboard The Anakonda

3 NIGHTS FROM £ 1,279

Anakonda Amazon Cruise

was £ 1,599

Enjoy the spectacular highlights of the Amazon on this unforgettable cruise experience through the u...

View trip

Highlights of Ecuador

10 NIGHTS FROM £ 2,975

Discover the vibrant city of Quito, cruise the spectacular islands of the Galapagos and journey thro...

View trip

Ecuador TOURS

Guayaquil-Quito Luxury Train

3 NIGHTS FROM £ 1,415

Family Adventures

Join this exceptional trip through different times and spaces of Ecuadorian history aboard Tren Cruc...

View trip
Up to 10% off

Manatee Amazon Explorer

3 NIGHTS FROM £ 1,157

Manatee Amazon Explorer

was £ 1,286

This 4-day journey takes you into the heart of biodiversity, extending its fabulous prism of life th...

View trip

Mashpi Lodge

2 NIGHTS FROM £ 985

Wildlife

This Ecuadorian adventure will take you from vibrant city of Quito to the breathtaking cloud forest ...

View trip

Otavalo Hacienda Stay

4 NIGHTS FROM £ 730

Start your adventure in vibrant Quito before taking in the colourful markets of Otavalo. Pass by sno...

View trip

Sacha Lodge

3 NIGHTS FROM £ 1,139

The Sacha Lodge is the perfect base to explore the Ecuadorian Amazon Jungle from - designed to offer...

View trip

Galapagos Safari Camp Classic

4 NIGHTS FROM £ 2,795

Wildlife

Enjoy a luxurious 5-day stay at the Galapagos Safari Camp, an authentic inland experience with stunn...

View trip

BLOGS ON Ecuador

Whether you are looking for advice on visas and vaccinations,when to travel, best markets or beaches to visit, wildlife guides or the top restaurants in a city, Chimu blogs are likely to have it covered. The range of topics is vast, with new and fascinating blogs being added regularly. There are airport guides, Galapagos Island guides, what to pack and what not to pack, and even a blog on the most romantic locations to propose in Latin America!

READ NOW

Ecuador REVIEWS

All Chimu Adventures' clients are given the opportunity to review their trip once they return home. These reviews are administered by a third party and as such are unfiltered by Chimu Adventures.

Ecuador

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! Our time in Ecuador was mainly in the Galapagos and on the Napo River. Our 8 days in the Galapagos was an unforgettable experience and are time on the Napo River also great. What we saw of Quito and learnt about Ecuador made us think that it is probably worthwhile spending more time in Ecuador.
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great trip I visited Galapagos, Napo Wildlife Centre & Ecuador country areas. Thus got a very good overall coverage of the whole of Ecuador. Accommodation at Muma Hilda's was substandard with dodgy plumbing,& could be improved by staying at Quilotoa township nearby. The train to Devils Nose was also a non-event. I would prefer the option of spending more time at nearby local markets- much more interesting.
Date published: 2018-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exhilarating We knew we were in good hands from the first transfer at Quito airport. We loved all our wonderful & varied accommodations and delish gourmet meals. Our guide, Diego was brilliant & really added to our fantastic experiences in and around Quito. The Galapagos was sensational, the icing on the cake. We loved every minute!
Date published: 2018-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Galapagos Monserrat 6 May Overall we enjoyed the tour. The Monserrat is a little tired and needs some maintenance. The toilet didn't always work. The crew were excellent - helpful and friendly. However we were disappointed with the leaders who described everything in a monotone and rarely displayed any enthusiasm. Certainly a big contrast to a later guide in Bolivia who was very exuberant. Some of the information given was incorrect or incomplete. With 2 leaders for 20 guests, the group should have been split in 2 when we went ashore. People at the back couldn't hear what was being said and the group wasn't encouraged to move along. Also, a lot of the information could have been given prior to going ashore. We often stood in the hot sun for half an hour or so for a long monologue when we would have preferred to be exploring. There was a big emphasis on providing tips and a video on display on the boat asked for more than double what was on our documentation. Due to this, most of our group gave a lot less than the original suggested amount. To summarise, we enjoyed the trip and would recommend it. Food was excellent and varied and we had great service on the boat. It was mainly the standard of guiding which was disappointing. I have written this review in the hope that the leaders can learn from it and try and be enthusiastic about what they are doing.
Date published: 2018-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So pleased we did it. We asked for an itinerary that included one of the lodges in Yasuni National Park, Bellavista Lodge in the Cloud Forest, the Devils Nose train ride, Cotopaxi National Park, time in Cuenca and Quito and the Otavalo markets. I mentioned other things that interested us. Everything was covered even the things I had just mentioned. I lot of effort was put into coordinating things for flights and we had airport pick up and drops that all worked perfectly. We had the same guide for everything other than the lodges that obviously had their own very well informed naturalists and guides. The whole thing was great. Will most definitely be using Chimu again.
Date published: 2018-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Amazing Galapagos Islands We recently completed a cruise around the Eastern & Southern Islands of the Galapagos Islands. We booked through CHIMU and the tour provider was G-Adventures. Our ship was Queen of the Galapagos, with a total of 22 passengers and 11 crew. Our CEO and Naturalist was Omar Medina. Omar was a wonderful CEO who speaks fantastic English and has an extensive knowledge about the history and geography of the Galapagos Islands. The ship was modern, clean and comfortable and the rooms were spacious and air conditioned. The meals were beautifully prepared and presented with a range of items on the menu. Our tour included snorkelling, hiking, swimming, cultural, historical and educational presentations. We saw many of the local wildlife including Galapagos Tortoises, sea turtles, sea lions, sharks, rays and iguana. This was an amazing trip and highly recommended.
Date published: 2016-12-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from the trip was truly lovely we had a little hiccup on our tour of Galapagos, we chose to go to Santiago and from there were supposed to go to Galapagos via Quito, however there was a mixup and we were not booked to Quito and had to find our own accommodation in Guayaquil at 11pm at night and then book our own accommodation at Guayaquil on the return trip, so it was an anxious couple of hours to find out that the rest of the party were travelling to Guayaquil the next morning to go to Baltra, we missed out on our accommodation at the Hilton in Quito and did not get all the necessary information with regards to tipping, US dollars and non availability of credit cards, but otherwise the trip was great.
Date published: 2016-11-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ecuador - Lots of Contrasts Ecuador contains lots of contrasts from the tropical Amazonia region to the highlands with altitudes over 4000 metres and snow capped volcanoes, to the Galapagos with its arid islands and amazing wildlife.
Date published: 2016-07-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quito, Sacha Lodge, Galapagod cruise We saw and did so much. All the excursions went smoothly and we were well taken care of. No hitches with being met or the transfers. The Galapagos Is surpassed expectations - saw so many animals and amazing countryside. Definitely a place not to be missed. The boat (Estrella) was more basic than expected but the crew were fantastic.
Date published: 2015-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing experience Mashpi Lodge A brilliant 3 days from Quito to Quito. The wildlife and the way that our 2 guides Fernando and Franklin looked after the 4 of us was excellent. The location and food were out of this world.The hummingbirds,butterflies, frogs and lots of other animals was amazing and the supply of wellington boots and ponchos excellent.
Date published: 2015-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic trip We visited the Amazon and the Galapagos- both were interesting locations. Our accommodation and food were excellent and we found our guides to be knowledgeable and helpful
Date published: 2015-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beyond expectations We went to the Bellavista Cloud Forest Lodge at Tandiyapa and the Galapagos and both were amazing. Bellavista had brilliant wildlife guides and hummingbirds in particular in the wild and coming in to bird feeder stations. A bird-lover's wonderland. Galapagos, 7 nights aboard Estrella Del Mar was a great way to see a number of very different islands. Get an upstairs cabin - so worth the extra for the views, the fresh air and the extra size. Take your camera and extra batteries and cards!
Date published: 2015-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The excellence of Ecuador The trip surpassed our expectations, our guide was fantastic, we thoroughly enjoyed each destination.
Date published: 2015-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from ecuador overall Interesting - more developed than we expected - people very friendly - no hassling - very clean - food reasonable but a bit bland - offers a good variety of experiences
Date published: 2015-04-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent guide in Gina We did the Cotapaxi National Park and Quito city day tours with our exceptional guide who was able to tell us heaps about the people, the places we visited and life in general living in Ecuador. Though we didn't have much time at some places I felt I got a good feel of the place and would go back again.
Date published: 2015-03-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from See Ecuador and touch the sky Our trip was a 7 night road trip from Quito to Quyaquil following the Avenue of Volcanoes. Right from the first moment we felt at home. Our guide/driver, Jorge Castillo was a delight. He drove well, his English was excellent and he was extremely informative. He went out of his way to make sure everything ran smoothy. His sister Gina stood in for him on day 2, sightseeing in Quito and was just as good. Apart from Mama Hilda's all the accommodation chosen was excellent with wonderful traditional and colorful overtones. The scenery was spectacular and the local people with their brilliant colors and traditional hats charmed us. There was no one item that I could pin point as the highlight of the trip as everything was so exciting, beautiful and new. Regrets ... yes, only one ... we should have booked more days!
Date published: 2014-11-27
  • y_2020, m_2, d_16, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_20
  • loc_en_AU, sid_ecuador, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_chimu-adventures
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.3.0.1
  • CLOUD, method:getReviews, 3.42ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Our Ecuador tours include breakfast daily and many other meals may also be included in your itinerary. As a rough guide for additional spending money based on having moderately-priced lunches and dinners and buying a few souvenirs at local markets, we suggest a budget of 25-30 USD per day per person. 

No specific vaccinations are required for Ecuador travel, unless you are travelling from a country with risk of yellow fever, in which case proof of yellow fever vaccination is required. We do, however, recommend that you visit your doctor or a traveller’s medical centre for current information specific to those places that you will be travelling through. 
 
As a general guide we recommend the following:
 
  • Hepatitis - Both A and B (twinrix)
  • Yellow Fever - Especially for jungle areas
  • Typhoid
  • Diphtheria
  • Cholera
  • Rabies (minimal risk)
  • Tetanus
  • Measles-Mumps-Rubella (MMR)
In Ecuador the standard voltage is 120/127V and standard frequency is 60Hz. Power sockets are of types A and B.
Please visit the below link for more information: http://electricaloutlet.org/

The unit of currency in Ecuador and on the Galapagos Islands is the United States Dollar (USD).

Please check websites such as www.oanda.com or www.xe.com for up to date exchange rates prior to your departure.

 Spanish is the official language of Ecuador but 13 Indigenous languages are spoken, the principal ones being Quichua in the Andes and Amazon and Jivaroan in the Amazon.

Ecuador is in fact one of the best places in Latin America to learn Spanish as Ecuadorian Spanish is spoken slowly and clearly.

The wildlife that you will see will depend on where your Ecuador travel takes you. Ecuador has a vast biodiversity that includes over 300 mammal species, 1,500 bird species and a huge array of reptiles and amphibians. The Galapagos Islands are home to many endemic species of birds and animals found nowhere else in the world and some only found on specific islands. 

The best time to visit Ecuador will depend on the places that you plan to visit and the activities that you plan to include on your Ecuador travel. The highlands are best visited between June and September if your Ecuador tour includes hiking in the Andes; the Amazon is a year-round destination with the wet and dry seasons offering different experiences; the coast is best visited between January and May and the peak season for the Galapagos Islands is December to June.

Most South American countries have now recognized that tourism plays an important part in their economies and governments have taken great steps to change South America’s poor security image. Violent crime is rare in Ecuador.
 
To minimise security risks we recommend the following: 
 
  • do not show any outward signs of wealth or wear expensive jewellery
  • keep your valuables in your hotel in safety deposit boxes
  • keep any valuables that you must carry with you hidden, as pickpockets can be present in crowded areas and around tourist areas
  • use only registered taxis with official identification
  • avoid going on your own to remote areas where tourists would not be expected to go
  • always keep your day pack and camera close to you and never leave them unattended
A pre-arranged visa is not required to enter Ecuador or the Galapagos for the following countries:
  • Australia
  • United Kingdom
  • The United States
  • Ireland
  • Canada
  • New Zealand
  • European Union
  • South Africa
For other nationalities please visit the website of the relevant consulate.