Skip to main content

Brazil

Search Brazil:

TRAVELLING TO Brazil

Why visit? From cruising the remote waters of the Amazon in Brazil’s north to celebrating the world’s greatest carnival in bustling Rio or sipping caipirinhas at Copacabana beach, a Brazil tour offers a diversity that is second to none. 
 
The most popular starting point for Australian travellers visiting Brazil is Rio de Janeiro, the country’s second largest city. Exploring Rio is one of the highlights of any Brazil or Latin America tour with popular attractions including visits to Sugar Loaf Mountain from where you can enjoy the best views over Rio’s spectacular natural settings, its lush green mountains, endless hills and valleys lined with some world-famous stretches of white beach including Ipanema and Copacabana beach. 
 
Far away from the busy streets of Rio, for an insight into the country’s rich biodiversity, a Brazil tour could introduce you to the diverse ecosystems of the Amazon Rainforest or the Pantanal where you may encounter species such as toucans, pink dolphins and jaguars. 
 
If you want to explore Brazil’s culture and heritage, a visit to Brazil’s north-east might be what you are looking for. Head to Salvador to feel the country’s rich Afro-Brazilian influences or wander the colonial streets of historic Olinda.  
 
One of the main attractions for many is a visit to the mighty Iguazu Falls in the south of Brazil, the largest water falls system in the world.
 
More information: Below we have shown you just a fraction of the options available for Brazil and multi-country travel. Browse to get an idea of where you want to travel.
 
Still wondering? Contact us:  You are definitely better off giving us a call or dropping us a line and letting us do the hard work for you. 
 
#Livefortoday and book your Brazil tour with us today. Chimu Adventures is Australia’s leading Latin America and Polar specialist and can put together an itinerary to suit you.
 
[ Continue Reading ]
Why visit? From cruising the remote waters of the Amazon in Brazil’s north to celebrating the world’s greatest carnival in bustling Rio or sipping caipirinhas at Copacabana beach, a Brazil tour offers a diversity that is second to none. 
 
The most popular starting point for Australian travellers visiting Brazil is Rio de Janeiro, the country’s second largest city. Exploring Rio is one of the highlights of any Brazil or Latin America tour with popular attractions including visits to Sugar Loaf Mountain from where you can enjoy the best views over Rio’s spectacular natural settings, its lush green mountains, endless hills and valleys lined with some world-famous stretches of white beach including Ipanema and Copacabana beach. 
 
Far away from the busy streets of Rio, for an insight into the country’s rich biodiversity, a Brazil tour could introduce you to the diverse ecosystems of the Amazon Rainforest or the Pantanal where you may encounter species such as toucans, pink dolphins and jaguars. 
 
If you want to explore Brazil’s culture and heritage, a visit to Brazil’s north-east might be what you are looking for. Head to Salvador to feel the country’s rich Afro-Brazilian influences or wander the colonial streets of historic Olinda.  
 
One of the main attractions for many is a visit to the mighty Iguazu Falls in the south of Brazil, the largest water falls system in the world.
 
More information: Below we have shown you just a fraction of the options available for Brazil and multi-country travel. Browse to get an idea of where you want to travel.
 
Still wondering? Contact us:  You are definitely better off giving us a call or dropping us a line and letting us do the hard work for you. 
 
#Livefortoday and book your Brazil tour with us today. Chimu Adventures is Australia’s leading Latin America and Polar specialist and can put together an itinerary to suit you.
 
[ Read Less ]

WHY TRAVEL WITH CHIMU ADVENTURES

  • We offer you flexible travel options in Latin America at an affordable price.

  • You can choose from over 400 suggested itineraries or pick and choose elements to build your own unique experience; cover the areas you want to explore at a pace to suit you.

  • We know each Latin American country by heart and will work with you to determine which activities and accommodations are best suited to your needs.

  • From your initial enquiry until your trip ends, you will be assigned a personal Destination Specialist who will offer a full service for your travel needs: we can book flights, insurance and any ancillary travel required to complete your journey.

  • We have offices across South America so you can be assured that ground staff are close at hand to assist whilst you are travelling.

FEATURED Brazil TRIPS & DEALS

Classic Brazil

FROM AUD 6,140

This 12-day tour offers a taste of Brazilian living - Rio, Salvador the birthplace of Brazilian cult...

View Offer

Highlights of Brazil

POPULAR FROM AUD 2,620

Feel the spray of the mighty Iguazu Falls, experience the vibrant city of Rio and sail around the be...

View Offer

Discover Rio de Janeiro

FROM AUD 859

This four-day itinerary is the perfect highlight trip of one of the world’s most famous and beauti...

View Offer

Brazil TOURS

BLOGS ON Brazil

Whether you are looking for advice on visas and vaccinations,when to travel, best markets or beaches to visit, wildlife guides or the top restaurants in a city, Chimu blogs are likely to have it covered. The range of topics is vast, with new and fascinating blogs being added regularly. There are airport guides, Galapagos Island guides, what to pack and what not to pack, and even a blog on the most romantic locations to propose in Latin America!

READ NOW

Brazil REVIEWS

All Chimu Adventures' clients are given the opportunity to review their trip once they return home. These reviews are administered by a third party and as such are unfiltered by Chimu Adventures.

Brazil

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Iguazu stopover Everything went smoothly and I enjoyed the trip very much!
Date published: 2017-12-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sao Paulo Not the top city for tourists to Brazil but despite the traffic, size and dearth of public transport facilities(tho excellent metro for central area)it does have a couple of super art museums, Just to see the city skyscrapers from Edificio Italia and Ave Paulista is amazing. Besides its reputation it is actually a safe place to wander. like anywhere don't flash expensive things about. Because it is so large things are spread out and need time to get to them
Date published: 2017-06-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from amazing rio everything went well with the itinerary and we had a good time.
Date published: 2017-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible Carnival Loved every minute of carnival in Brazil. Unbelievable and a bucket list item truly ticked! Everything from Chimu was perfect and Nick was very helpful on the ground in Rio. Loved our hotel, the tours were incredible (especially the bike tour - I reccomend this to anyone visiting the city ) and Betty was a great guide on our city tour. Transfers worked like a dream, everything was A1 - can't wait to travel with Chimu again. Thanks for the memories!
Date published: 2017-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trip of a Life Time Everything was planned and executed according to plan from the very beginning to the end! Amazing trip with great friends.
Date published: 2017-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really successful trip! This trip met all my hopes (I won't say expectations because I didn't dare have any). My main focus was to find places where my grandparents had lived in Rio and in Minas Gerais at the beginning of the 20th century, but with advice from Chimu I build in some nice extras, too, which included a couple of days in Belo Horizonte and plenty of sightseeing time in Ouro Preto (lovely hillside town which is full of amazing Baroque churches, museums and interesting old buildings) and nearby Mariana. I found the addresses of the places where my grandparents had lived in Rio, but I needed to have a guide to help me to find the fairly remote area where my grandparents had spent 3 years. The guide that Chimu organized for me was really helpful and also interested in the reason I was in Minas Gerais. Amazingly, he managed to get informaton online for me and then took me to the tiny town near where my grandparents had set up home in 1909 and introduced me to a local man who knew a lot about the history of the area and was able to take me to see a fazenda that was familiar to my grandparents and to see the grave of a close colleague of my grandfather's. We also went to the small town where they had first arrived by train from Rio all those years ago. This was a different kind of a trip, but the whole thing went really smoothly, and was very exciting! My accommodation throughout was very good, but the hotel in Rio was particularly good, with friendly staff and excellent breakfasts - and very close to Copacabana Beach.
Date published: 2017-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A pleasant trip Every thing went very smoothly, no flaws. I like the trip.
Date published: 2016-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buzios was Amazing We went to Buzios for a wedding and the destination was perfect but not long enough. Chez Pitu was the pick of the accommodation, fantastic place
Date published: 2016-12-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Brazil, Iguecu Falls and Rio De Janeiro The Brazilian side of the Iguecu Falls were very impressive and we had a great time in Rio.
Date published: 2016-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Amazon trip - completely recommend Everything was perfect about the trip from the pick up from the airport to us leaving the amazon. The guide (Zacarchious) was superb, really informative, went out of his way to give us the most perfect trip. The itinerary was perfect and the Amazon Eco Lodge was a really great place to stay with good accommodation, helpful staff and really good food. In case you cannot tell, we had an AMAZING TIME!
Date published: 2016-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unforgettable experience and trip! I would like to thank you guys for making our trip really an awesome experience and being very helpful all the time and whenever we needed being there for us. I can definitely only recommend Chimu adventures and would love to make my next adventure happen with you again!
Date published: 2016-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous Thoroughly enjoyed the holiday, all the arrangements by Chimu went really well. the guides in all the places that we stopped were excellent, knowledgeable and helpful. The local domestic airports are interesting, well chaotic actually watch the boards carefully as they change gates regularly and even if we spoke Portuguese the tannoy announcements are not clear. Pantanals were very good for birds and butterflies, didn't realise how big the Blue Macau's were until 4 of them flew over the pool at the Pousada, and the treks were easy. There were cats in the area but unfortunately we didn't see them but we did see Caymen, Capybara, Foxes, Armadillo's, Coati, Rhea, Capuchin and Marmoset monkeys, Horse riding was a lovely way to see the area. Iguacu Falls were spectacular and well worth the visit you really don't get the full effect on a TV screen, the sound of the water accentuates the drama of thousands of litres of water plummeting over sheer drops. Ihla Grande was pretty but you do need to be fit as the 'walks' are more rock scrambles in a lot of places. Beaches were beautiful and gently shelve into the warm sea so swimming was relaxed. We stayed in a standard room at the Asalem, our choice not Chimu's, which I have to say was a little disappointing. The room was definitely in need of some serious refurbishment. All the standard rooms had a third bed in the 'living area' fine if you have 3 people staying but we didn't, which meant there was nowhere to sit inside the room and the space was cramped to say the least, the table was under the stairs so you could not use it. Website photos look great but do not portray what you get when there. We asked if there was a suite available but unfortunately they were fully booked. Swimming from the sundeck was possible but the area was poorly maintained, the steps were bent and one set unstable and the area was the material store for the new building work that was underway. Shame because the area would have been nice to relax in and the location of the hotel was lovely - definitely go for a suite if you are thinking of staying here. Although the area of Brazil we visited is not a malaria area the mosquitoes were still widespread so take precautions. All in all this holiday definitely celebrated 30 years of marriage in style.
Date published: 2016-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Anavilhanis Jungle Lodge Excellent area to visit. Chimu arranged for our travel from Rio and return to Manaus, all very smooth and well organised. Anavilhanis Jungle Lodge looks out over the Anavilhanis Archipelago and is stunning. Guides and staff provide a very special experience.
Date published: 2016-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW, Brasil is a buzz The itinerary went as planned with no hiccups. The tour guides were all very helpful. Salvador da Bahia was our hilight.
Date published: 2015-10-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from brazil falls were very good Rio was the pitts guide Rachel was the worst ever couldn't understand anything she said and she would not answer questions the open bus ride was horrid sitting in the hot sun for hours on end ended up with sore eyes from wind and dust we were an hour late for lunch
Date published: 2015-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Once in a lifetime trip....or is it? Winning a competition to spend 5 nights in Rio was something I never thought would happen to me but it did! So off we went to Rio in February, leaving the UK in temperatures below 0 and enjoying 5 days of temperatures in the mid to high 30's. Ipanema beach soon became our favourite for an afternoon spent under an umbrella and enjoying a swim in the sea. We did a full tour of Rio (Christ the Redeemer, Maracana and Sugar Loaf Mountain) which made you realise just how big Rio is and what an amazing city it is. Like many people, we had a vision of crime happening every few minutes with robberies happening left, right and centre. Staying between Ipanema and Copacabana, I can honestly say I never once felt unsafe. We left phones and cameras in the safe at the hotel on the first day but soon realised that everyone had their phones on the beach and you just needed to be careful (as in any major city in this world). The fact that people were selling selfie sticks and waterproof phone covers on the beach was also a give away!!! So what we thought would be a once in a lifetime trip may well now turn out to be the first of many winter sunshine holidays.
Date published: 2015-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful trip! Itinerary went to plan and all accommodation and activities were great! Guides and drivers were punctual and informative.
Date published: 2014-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rio, Paraty, Isla Grande and Iguazzu Our first visit to S.America. We were trepidacious at our age (mid sixties) about going to Rio and whether the transfers were going to be arduous. But we had a whale of a time. All the destinations were fabulous and we felt safe everywhere even in Rio where safety was no different to a city in Europe. Two transfers were arduous but how else can one get around to see these wonderful sights? If you think one waterfall is like another - don't. Iguazzu Falls are totally awesome and must be seen from both Brazil and Argentina. I suggest Argentina first.
Date published: 2014-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brazil - what a trip! I travelled through Brazil (and Argentina) recently with a few friends. The trip was spectacular. It's was my second trip with Chimu after an amazing adventure in Peru a few years earlier
Date published: 2014-09-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Brazil Well organised. Good hotels and tour guides. Iguassu was fantastic.
Date published: 2014-09-10
  • y_2019, m_11, d_7, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_24
  • loc_en_AU, sid_brazil, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_chimu-adventures
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.3.0.1
  • CLOUD, method:getReviews, 3.47ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Video

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

The unit of currency in Brazil is the Brazilian Real (BRL). Please check websites such as www.oanda.com or www.xe.com for up to date exchange rates prior to your departure.

Portuguese is the official language of Brazil, the only Portuguese-speaking country in South America.

Brazil’s predominant religion is Roman Catholic with Brazil boasting more Roman Catholics than any other country in the world.

The level of fitness needed will depend on the Brazil tour that you choose to take in terms of places to be visited and the types of activities to be included on your itinerary. Hiking and trekking are not activities that are generally associated with Brazil although most Brazil tours that include the Amazon and/or Pantanal do include guided walks, when conditions may be hot and humid. Altitude is not a problem in Brazil as only a fraction of the country lies above 1,200 metres.

Most South American countries have now recognized that tourism plays an important part in their economies and governments have taken great steps in the last few years to change South America’s poor security image. Security has been an issue in Brazil for many years, but there is a strong police presence in the major tourist areas of Rio de Janeiro, Iguazu Falls and in coastal areas most frequently visited by tourists. To minimise security risks we recommend the following: - do not show any outward signs of wealth or wear expensive jewellery - keep your valuables in your hotel in safety deposit boxes (you may be charged a small fee for the use of in-room safety deposit boxes in some Brazilian hotels) - keep any valuables that you must carry with you hidden, as pickpockets can be present in crowded areas and around tourist areas - use only taxis with official identification - avoid going on your own to remote areas where tourists would not be expected to go - always keep your day pack and camera close to you and never leave them unattended There has been a huge effort in recent years to clean up many of the favela areas (shanty towns) and as a result of social programs, gang activity in these areas has been drastically reduced. Some of the favelas are now open to tourists and becoming popular inclusions on a Brazil tour. Drugs are an issue in parts of Brazil. Acute poverty, access to drugs and a party reputation all lead to Rio de Janeiro being a hotspot for drug activity. Activity is at its highest around party events such as Carnival and New Year’s Eve. In the Amazon region, mosquito-borne illnesses can be prevalent. In areas such as Manaus, most tourist areas are considered “safe” but we do advise that you take precautions such as using mosquito repellent and wearing long sleeves and trousers. In the Rio Negro section of the Amazon River, the black waters of the river are highly acidic and mosquitos are rare.

A pre-arranged visa is not required to enter Brazil for citizens of the United Kingdom, United States, Canada, Ireland, New Zealand, European Union, Japan, Australia and South Africa. Please check with us if you originate from another country. 

You could spend anything from a few days to several weeks or even months on your Brazil travels, depending on whether you plan to explore the entire country or just focus on one experience such as the Pantanal or an Amazon adventure or maybe join in the Carnival festivities in Rio de Janeiro or Salvador. Chimu Adventures offers itineraries to suit every time frame.

Our Brazil tours include breakfast daily and many other meals may also be included in your itinerary. As a rough guide for additional spending money based on having moderately-priced lunches and dinners and buying a few souvenirs at local markets, we suggest a budget of 35-45 USD per day per person.

For some states of Brazil (generally in or around the Amazon Rainforest), it is compulsory for all travellers to have been vaccinated against Yellow Fever. It is also compulsory for all travellers to have had a vaccination against Yellow Fever if entering Brazil through the following South American countries: - Bolivia - Colombia - Ecuador - French Guiana - Guyana - Peru - Suriname - Venezuela We recommend that you visit your doctor or a traveller’s medical centre for current information specific to those places that you will be travelling through. As a general guide we recommend the following: - Yellow Fever - Especially for jungle areas - Hepatitis - Both A and B (twinrix) - Typhoid - Diphtheria - Cholera - Rabies - Tetanus The risk of malaria is present throughout the year in parts of Brazil, in particular in the Amazon. Malaria precautions are essential. Avoid mosquito bites by covering up with long sleeves and long trousers especially after sunset, using insect repellents on exposed skin and, when necessary, sleeping under a mosquito net.

In Brazil the standard voltage is 110V or 220V and standard frequency is 60Hz. Power sockets are of types A, B and C but outlets are often a combination of types A and C, and can accept either plug. Please visit the below link for more information: http://electricaloutlet.org/

What you need to pack will depend on when and where you plan on travelling and on the activities that you plan to include whilst on your Brazil tour. The following should act as a useful checklist of essential items: • Passport, photocopy of passport & spare passport photos • Travel Insurance documents • Air tickets and itinerary • Foreign Currency (US$) and/or debit/credit cards, traveller’s cheques • Money belt • Small daypack • Basic first aid kit • High UVA sun block • Sunglasses & sunhat • Mosquito spray & insect repellent • Comfortable walking shoes/boots • Sandals • Long sleeve tops and trousers • Light-weight clothing • Warm clothing (depending on itinerary and time of year) • Camera with spare battery and memory cards • Security code padlock • Adaptor • Small torch If your Brazil travel is to include the Amazon, the climate is hot and humid year round but it can be surprisingly cool at night. Most of the time light clothes such as shorts, T-shirts and sandals are suitable, but for hikes in the forest we recommend long sleeved shirts, long trousers, light rain jacket, good supportive footwear such as trainers or hiking boots and items such as small torch or flash light, binoculars, water and personal effects. Additional Amazon items: • Light rain jacket or rain poncho • Swim suit • Binoculars • Lightweight towel • Dry sack for camera • Water bottle