Skip to main content

Falkland Islands

Search Falkland Islands:

TRAVELLING TO Falkland Islands

Head east for nearly 500 kilometres from South America’s southern Patagonian coast and you will reach the remote, isolated and ruggedly beautiful archipelago of the Falkland Islands. Falkland Islands Antarctica cruises allow you to explore these sparsely inhabited islands, with their rough windswept terrain, coastal wetlands, beautiful white sand beaches and dramatic rock faces set against stunning skies. Comprising more than 750 islands in the South Atlantic Ocean, the Falkland Islands are a haven for wildlife - home to large colonies of elephant seals and fur seals, vast populations of black-browed albatrosses and other abundant birdlife including five species of breeding penguin.
 
Surrounded by decades of controversy, the Falkland Islands (or Islas Malvinas as they are known in Argentina) have been settled and claimed by France, Spain, Britain and Argentina. Travel to the Falkland Islands will give you an insight into the area’s fascinating history and reveal some of the haunting relics and memorials of war. The colourful seaside town and capital, Port Stanley, boasts many reminders of its British heritage including a selection of traditional English-style pubs, old red phone boxes and numerous Land Rovers - in fact some say that the people here are more British than the British themselves!
 
Set sail on a Falkland Islands Antarctica cruise and discover this unique part on the world, one of the rare places on Earth where nature and man live in harmony.  
 
[ Continue Reading ]
Head east for nearly 500 kilometres from South America’s southern Patagonian coast and you will reach the remote, isolated and ruggedly beautiful archipelago of the Falkland Islands. Falkland Islands Antarctica cruises allow you to explore these sparsely inhabited islands, with their rough windswept terrain, coastal wetlands, beautiful white sand beaches and dramatic rock faces set against stunning skies. Comprising more than 750 islands in the South Atlantic Ocean, the Falkland Islands are a haven for wildlife - home to large colonies of elephant seals and fur seals, vast populations of black-browed albatrosses and other abundant birdlife including five species of breeding penguin.
 
Surrounded by decades of controversy, the Falkland Islands (or Islas Malvinas as they are known in Argentina) have been settled and claimed by France, Spain, Britain and Argentina. Travel to the Falkland Islands will give you an insight into the area’s fascinating history and reveal some of the haunting relics and memorials of war. The colourful seaside town and capital, Port Stanley, boasts many reminders of its British heritage including a selection of traditional English-style pubs, old red phone boxes and numerous Land Rovers - in fact some say that the people here are more British than the British themselves!
 
Set sail on a Falkland Islands Antarctica cruise and discover this unique part on the world, one of the rare places on Earth where nature and man live in harmony.  
 
[ Read Less ]

WHY TRAVEL WITH CHIMU ADVENTURES

  • We are true Polar specialists. Almost every Chimu team member has travelled to either Antarctica or the Arctic and collectively we have experienced over 50 expeditions.

  • You can choose from over 130 cruises to Antarctica and the Arctic,including itineraries aboard our own charter vessels.

  • We have inspected and continue to thoroughly research each individual vessel we work with, selecting only those with environmental, safety and value credentials.

  • We know all things Polar by heart and will work with you to determine which ship and itinerary is best suited to your needs.

  • Travellers visit the Polar regions for different reasons so whether your interests are wildlife or photography, or Antarctic activities such as snowshoeing and kayaking, we can work around you for the perfect trip.

  • From your initial enquiry until your trip ends, you will be assigned a personal Destination Specialist who will offer a full service for your travel needs: we can book flights, insurance and any ancillary travel required to complete your journey.

Falkland Islands CRUISES

21 Days

Antarctica, South Georgia & The Falklands

Antarctic Peninsula, Falkland Islands, South Georgia

SHIP: SEA SPIRIT

22 Days

Falklands, Antarctica& South Georgia

Antarctic Peninsula, Falkland Islands, South Georgia

SHIP: Expedition

20 Days

Antarctica, Falklands South Georgia

Antarctic Peninsula, Falkland Islands, South Georgia

SHIP: World Explorer

8 Days

Ushuaia, Cape Horn & The Falklands

South America

SHIP: Magellan Explorer

21 Days

Antarctica Christmas: Falklands and South Georgia Explorer

Antarctica: Falklands and South Georgia

SHIP:  The Ocean Endeavour

17 Days

Sylvia Earle | SubAntarctic Safari

Antarctica: Falklands and South Georgia

SHIP: Sylvia Earle

BLOGS ON Falkland Islands

Whether you are looking for advice on when to travel to Antarctica or the Arctic, which ship to travel on or which itinerary will suit you best, Chimu blogs are likely to have it covered. The range of topics is vast, with new and fascinating blogs being added regularly. There is ship information, guides about the activities you can do in the Polar regions, what to pack and what not to pack, and even blogs on various Polar explorers!

READ NOW

Falkland Islands REVIEWS

All Chimu Adventures' clients are given the opportunity to review their trip once they return home. These reviews are administered by a third party and as such are unfiltered by Chimu Adventures.

Falkland Islands

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic trip of a lifetime What a fantastic holiday. Still can’t believe I went to Antarctica. Such a beautifully stunning place full of amazing scenery, penguins, whales, seals and other bird life. All the Chimu staff and expedition crew were amazing looked after us and all their guests like they were family. Great food and drink, very comfortable cabins and spacious boat. we did 8 expeditions in total to different islands or mainland Antartica along with 8 boat expedition on smaller zodiac boats to get us closer to the wildlife. With out a doubt my best holiday experience and I’ve travelled all over the word. Will definitely book again with Chimu. Thanks again for the great memories.
Date published: 2020-03-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from incredible destination the trip overall was incredible. there were definitely some areas that needed to be improved. use the lecture room for lectures rather than the lounge. there was no escaping if you just wanted to relax. the kayaking was a debacle - usually 14 pax allowed and there was 28 on day one. i understand as we were not wanting to go if we couldn't do it but there was no requirement for experience for some of the companies booking and if there was people lied. there was several people who had clearly never paddled a day in their lives. the guides were nice guys but asking people what they want to do is ridiculous, they needed to take charge and advise what is being done for the day. i filled in the survey on the vessel as well. overall though the staff were incredibly knowledgeable and gave us great information along the way.
Date published: 2020-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spectacular Vistas, Close Encounters Ponant run a first class operation and we were lucky to get some great weather.
Date published: 2020-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Birds of Antartica I was interested in the birds of Antartica and was not disappointed.
Date published: 2020-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Jewels of Antarctica indeed! Jewels of Antarctica indeed! Amazing trip! We had a wonderful time in Antartica, beginning at the introduction meeting in Ushuaia to the spectacular wildlife in Antarctica. The trip: This trip was worth every penny and every second. You've seen pictures of Antarctica, you think you know what to expect, just to be blown away when you are there for yourself. The Drake Passage (ok, not my favourite, but part of the experience), massive icebergs, huge mountains (I somehow did not expect that), the wildlife... We were very lucky with the great amount of humpback whales and seals we have seen. And penguins are just amazing little creatures! The organisation: Nothing to complain, we felt very comfortable. First of all: compliments to the kitchen, we gained a few pounds, but the food was worth it. The Oceanwide expedition statt held very interesting lectures and cared for us during our landings. There was even one Chimu representative on board who was all around, checking with passengers, cared for organisational stuff and was available for questions during the whole day. All in all I can recommend this trip with Chimu!
Date published: 2020-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Jewels of the Antarctic The expedition part of the trip from boarding the Hondius on Sunday 26 January to disembarkation on Wednesday 5 February went flawlessly. On days when weather did not permit the shore or zodiac excursions to take place the expedition team always had a number of lectures up their sleeve in order to fill in time. The lectures were not just fillers but were interesting and relevant. For me, the most interesting lecture was towards the end of the trip when Eduardo presented a talk on surviving the Antropocene Era. This is an unofficial name for the current era since mankind started to walk the earth. Since my time as a student at university, I knew that the earth's climate moved in cycles and that there have been periods of global warming and global cooling. Since the current discussion on global warming began, I have been searching for scientific proof of how much man and his industrial legacy is contributing to the current problem. Eduardo's paper clearly presented the effect that man is having on the pattern of global warming. He presented a large number of graphs illustrating the effect. My request to Chimu is to request a copy of the graphs from Eduardo (probably through the operator Oceanwide Adventures). I would be very interested in obtaining a copy for myself. With respect to the Chimu side of the trip, I do have a couple of suggestions. On Saturday 25, there was a meeting of Chimu clients to discuss boarding procedures and, in the words of Chimu, for the participants to have a chance to meet one another. Sandra made a good job of explaining the process for the following day, but then that was it. I would have thought that to encourage participants to meet one another, Chimu could have provided a glass of wine or beer and a few nibbles to encourage participants to stay around for a little bit. Once on the ship, Sandra was basically missing in action. We did see her from time to time and she was around to promote the Mawson Foundation auction, but other than that - nothing. The Oceanwide Adventure guides made a point of sitting at tables with guests during all meals. Not once did we see Sandra doing the same. As the Chimu rep on board, I would have thought that it would have been part of her responsibility to talk to as many Chimu guests as it was possible during the 11 days that we had together. If you have any questions regarding my comments above, please do not hesitate to call me. Kind Regards Nick
Date published: 2020-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Antarctica absolutely amazing Had a wonderful time even if I did get seasick going through the Drake Passage. Seeing all the wildlife was just amazing
Date published: 2020-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everything was fantastic Hard to be critical of anything concerning this fantastic trip but a few things deserve mentioning. First I would not recomend the hotel I stayed at in Ushuaia or the National Park tour there.
Date published: 2020-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An excellent trip Enjoyed the trip immensely. Breathtaking scenery, wonderful wildlife, great hospitality and great educational experience
Date published: 2020-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 12 days in Antarctica Chimu arranged everything from the Antartic cruise to our hotels, pickups and tours in Argentina. Everything went like clockwork. The small ship Hondius and its staff meet all of our expectations, they are a very professional team looking after all our needs.The meals were very good and the bar prices very resonable but they could use local beer not European!
Date published: 2020-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spectacular scenery Pick ups and drop offs at each airport in each country on time and professional - welcome Letters and some local contact information provided either by driver or was awaiting at hotel. We had call to ring representatives a couple of times and always easy to do, promptly answered and dealt with. We have two issues though - one in Atacama where the person picking us up insisted on us filling out all sorts of forms for liability for Tierra Atacama when we were travelling through the town to get to our accommodation- we totally missed seeing the town which was a mining town and would have been really interesting- more annoying that we then filled out similar liability forms at Tierra Atacama so there was no need to do those first forms. In respect of our wonderful Antarctica part of the trip - we are still wondering what the Chimu representative on board was there for. a personal holiday probably as she made zero effort to interact with anyone, never sat at our tables, never said hello or how are you going. Didn’t realise she was a Chimu rep until the night of the auction and even then when she had opportunity to interact with us as we were buying tickets she didn’t bother to do more than sell the tickets. Same at tend when organising luggage and transfers to airport. Perfunctory at best and not one “how are you enjoying the trip?” Etc - such a contrast to another group on board and to the Oceanwide staff themselves.
Date published: 2020-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing trip Loved our cruise to Antarctica. The cruise ship was clean and comfortable. The food was great. The tour guides were extremely knowledgeable. We were lucky on this trip to have a very calm Drake Passage. The weather was good, and we only missed one landing due to the weather.
Date published: 2020-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spirit of Shackelton Totally exceeded my expectation. Good food, good restaurant service, room was clean, tidy & good crews
Date published: 2020-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great time in the Antarctic Every thing went well, except for a driver in Uschia who did not turn up to take me to the ship. The ship was fabulous and the excursions were memorable and well planned. I was able to get to and see all that I had wanted from this trip.
Date published: 2020-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Ultimate Expedition Falklands, South Georgia and Antarctica by Hurtigruten is perfect. Great comfort and amenity, amazing expedition team, awesome destinations, 2 landings a day.
Date published: 2020-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Antartica MS Expedition was an excellent small ship to experience Antarctica as a solo female traveller-I would highly recommend it
Date published: 2020-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best trip ever Everything was perfect, saw lots of penguins, seals and sea birds
Date published: 2020-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Epic Antarctica.......what else is there to say? By far the best trip you could ever have. Well organised by Chimu and Quark. Nothing to complain about at all, other than it had to end. We are so lucky to have great weather and sightings of all the wildlife Antarctica had to offer......even an emperor penguin who was somewhat lost! We watched a fur seal snatch from the rocks a penguin, then rip it apart. Not nice but nature in the raw. We were "mugged" by both a hump back and minke whale. There was nothing more we could ask for. Simply epic Antarctica.
Date published: 2020-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bucket list trip My family and I had a wonderful time. The Expedition team were excellent and all staff were wonderful. Unbelievable photo opportunities and breathtaking views. Only one suggestion Perhaps run a couple of short tours before and after cruise. Our cruise disembarked at 8 .00am and we were told not to book flights before lunch hence we had over 6 hours wait at very small airport.
Date published: 2020-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Trip of a Lifetime What an amazing trip. A trip that everyone should do at least once in their lifetime. I hope to return one day. The ship (MV Hondius) was brand new and was comfortable and rather luxurious for a expedition ship. The crew were excellent and the expedition crew were professional, friendly, and passionate about Antarctica. We had plain sailing the whole time. The Drake was a lake both ways (lucky us) plus we had ideal weather conditions on the peninsular. I recommend kayaking as you get close to the wildlife and icebergs. The Zodiacs used to carry passengers were as comfortable as to be expected and the crew were very efficient getting passengers on and off as quickly as possible. The scenery was breathtaking with giant icebergs, amazing ice formations and so clean and clear. The wildlife lived up to expectation with numerous types of penguins, seals, and whales to look at. Overall, a truly amazing experience and I thank Chimu for organising the charter of the ship and look forward to travelling with them next time I decide to go to Antarctica or the Arctic. I would definitively recommend this trip of a lifetime.
Date published: 2020-01-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Antarctica Went well and cruise ship Amundsen was new and comfortable and enjoyed the stay.
Date published: 2020-01-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from great trip terrible communication/organisation We had several changes that we were forced to make on this adventure and the liaison and checking of details and trying to get responses from Chimu I found really frustrating. We loved Antarctica, best trip ever but would never use Chimu again.
Date published: 2020-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Antartica Our trip to Antartica was everything we wished for and more. The beauty of this continent is breathtaking and the many opportunities we were given to walk or float amongst it made it even more so. The boat, the Expedition was well designed for the journey and the staff were knowledgeable, professional and extremely safety conscious. We would happily recommend the experience to anyone regardless of age!!
Date published: 2020-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceeded expectations! The whole trip went smoothly and according to plan. Don’t do the camping without incontinence undies and bring your own spade - not enough to go around.
Date published: 2019-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing trip Amazing place! Amazing service, wonderful food, comfortable accommodation, great price and knowledgeable staff
Date published: 2019-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Experience. Good Value Enjoyed the scenery and wildlife. The crew were extremely good. Don't pay for the snowshoeing as it is not worth what they are charging. Otherwise kayaking was wonderful and lots of fun. We had a great time and the ship and the food were great. Thoroughly recommend Chimu and the MV Hondius.
Date published: 2019-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from End of the World - get there soon! Every part of the experience went so smoothly, time was filled with great lectures whilst getting to Antarctica and camping on the snow was awesome! Love the penguins!
Date published: 2019-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Place On Earth This was my second trip to the Antarctic using Chimu and it did not disappoint. We had a great trip, an excellent crew and also got engaged so everything was amazing!
Date published: 2019-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing over exceeded my expectations The new ship was amazing. the weather well was perfect...... we had the best crew and the sights were unbelievable
Date published: 2019-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEYOND AMAZING! I am having trouble writing this review because the experience was so amazing that it's hard to put it into words. There were some logistic misses in the beginning when I arrived in Ushuaia, but all that went away as soon as I boarded the MV Hondius. The staff was amazing, friendly, outgoing, supportive, encouraging, and so much more. Their pride of the ship and the roles they played was evident from beginning to end. The Drake Passage can be a gut buster for some, but never fear, there is a doctor on board. Sea sickness patches are available for those who want to take a precaution. From the moment you reach Antarctica, everything turns into a dream. I remember waking up around 3 am and looking out the porthole. There it was...Antarctica! I put on my parka and ran out to the deck. I don't remember how many hours I spent just looking at it in awe. Then it was time for the first zodiac trip. We saw whales, penguins, seals and icebergs. It was incredible. After dinner, it was time to board a zodiac again for our overnight camping trip. Make sure you sign up for it because it's worth it. The area where we dug holes in the ice to settle in was pristine and the scenery was crazy! Three seals showed up and thought we were hunkering down for the night so they joined us. They slept by us. But of course we did more than that on the first day. We took a polar plunge. First, only a handful of people said they would do it, however, when it was time to do the deed, we hand waves of people running into the water. All of this happened on the first day. We still had three days left in the continent to hike, take zodiac trips, make landings, kayak etc. Let's talk about the food....phenomenal. I gained nine pounds on the trip, and the barista setup in the lounge kept all tea, coffee, and hot chocolate lovers very happy. The lounge was where he had all our lectures and where we gathered to play card games or just enjoy some quiet time. Of course there always has to be one group of people that just takes it to the next level. That was my group. Around 10 of us met on the ship and bonded right away. We stuck together during this incredible adventure, and have remained in contact. I can go on about the trip but the best thing I can do for you is to tell you to contact Chimu asap and sign up for the next voyage.
Date published: 2019-12-11
  • y_2020, m_4, d_4, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_313
  • loc_en_AU, sid_antarctica, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_chimu-adventures
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.3.0.1
  • CLOUD, method:getReviews, 5.26ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Video

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

A high level of fitness is not necessary for Falkland Islands Antarctica Cruises, but you need to be in good health as although there is generally a doctor on board the ships, you are a long way from any other medical assistance. The majority of activities are focused around shore excursions and zodiac cruising and so you need to be agile and able-bodied enough to climb into and out of the inflatable zodiacs from both the ship and the shore. On shore landings you may need to negotiate uneven and slippery ground. Shore excursions generally involve some walking.

All of our tours are 100% tried and tested to ensure that when you travel with us, you are doing so in a controlled and safe environment with trained experts. We consistently monitor weather conditions and will always provide you with the best possible adventure without risk of injury to you or the vessel. While some landings and activities may need to be rescheduled or cancelled due to weather, every effort is made to have a contingency plan should such conditions become a reality during your expedition. Chimu have been the experts in Falkland Islands and Antarctic travel for well over 10 years and use our vast experience and knowledge when picking the vessels we sell to provide you with an adventure that is unforgettable for all the right reasons.

Cruise ship passengers do not need a visa to visit the Falkland Islands and participate in shore excursions. If you are flying into Port Stanley to board a Falkland Islands Antarctica Cruise, or if you are planning to spend additional time in the Falkland Islands before or after your cruise, you may need a visa. Visas are not required by citizens of Australia, New Zealand, UK, Ireland, European Union, Canada, USA and South Africa. Citizens of other countries are advised to contact their nearest British Embassy or Consulate to check visa requirements for the Falkland Islands.

If your Falkland Islands Antarctica cruise is departing from an Argentinian port such as Ushuaia, no pre-arranged visa is required to enter Argentina by citizens of the UK, Australia, Ireland, European Union, New Zealand, Canada, South Africa and the USA. Other nationalities should check with their closest Argentinean embassy or consulate.

Australian, Canadian and USA citizens must pay a "reciprocity fee" to enter Argentina. This is not a visa, but a fee based on the fees that Argentinean citizens pay for visas to these countries. The fee must be paid online and in advance for arrival at all airports. 

Falkland Islands Antarctica cruises that set sail from Ushuaia generally arrive and start exploring the Falkland Islands on Day 3. From South Georgia or Elephant Island there are usually 2 days at sea before reaching the Falkland Islands. Some tours fly from Punta Arenas in Chile to Port Stanley and embark on the ship in Port Stanley.    

Most Falkland Islands Antarctica cruises typically spend 2 days exploring the Falkland Islands on their way to or from South Georgia and/or the Antarctic Peninsula.