Skip to main content

South Georgia

Search South Georgia:

TRAVELLING TO South Georgia

South Georgia is a remote yet magical island, exquisite in its beauty and virtually unspoilt by man. It is adorned with emerald green bays, blue glacier ice and formidable snow covered peaks. South Georgia travel will expose you to one of the world’s greatest wildlife areas - the “Galapagos of the South”. Home to over 30 million breeding birds, thousands of seals, the introduced Norwegian reindeer, four breeding species of penguin and the largest colony of king penguins on this planet - the island teems with life. South Georgia is also home to the macaroni penguin not often seen on the Peninsula and one of the very few places where you can see the nesting sites of the wandering albatross, a bird that boasts the largest wingspan of any bird in the world.
 
If the spectacular wildlife is not enough of a drawcard, South Georgia travel will bring you to a part of the Antarctic that is steeped in history. The island was an intrinsic part of Sir Ernest Shackleton's 1914-17 Trans-Antarctica Expedition in the Endurance, one of the most incredible adventure stories and most heroic survival stories of all times. South Georgia was once the centre of the whaling industry and an Antarctica cruise to this part of the Southern Ocean will give you the opportunity to see the relics and remains of abandoned whaling stations and to visit the grave of the intrepid explorer, Shackleton.
 
With the greatest concentration of wildlife on the planet, a captivating history and ruggedly beautiful terrain, the sub-Antarctic island of South Georgia is one of the jewels in the Southern Ocean’s crown. Why not discover it on an Antarctica cruise to the Falklands, South Georgia and the Antarctic Peninsula? 
 
[ Continue Reading ]
South Georgia is a remote yet magical island, exquisite in its beauty and virtually unspoilt by man. It is adorned with emerald green bays, blue glacier ice and formidable snow covered peaks. South Georgia travel will expose you to one of the world’s greatest wildlife areas - the “Galapagos of the South”. Home to over 30 million breeding birds, thousands of seals, the introduced Norwegian reindeer, four breeding species of penguin and the largest colony of king penguins on this planet - the island teems with life. South Georgia is also home to the macaroni penguin not often seen on the Peninsula and one of the very few places where you can see the nesting sites of the wandering albatross, a bird that boasts the largest wingspan of any bird in the world.
 
If the spectacular wildlife is not enough of a drawcard, South Georgia travel will bring you to a part of the Antarctic that is steeped in history. The island was an intrinsic part of Sir Ernest Shackleton's 1914-17 Trans-Antarctica Expedition in the Endurance, one of the most incredible adventure stories and most heroic survival stories of all times. South Georgia was once the centre of the whaling industry and an Antarctica cruise to this part of the Southern Ocean will give you the opportunity to see the relics and remains of abandoned whaling stations and to visit the grave of the intrepid explorer, Shackleton.
 
With the greatest concentration of wildlife on the planet, a captivating history and ruggedly beautiful terrain, the sub-Antarctic island of South Georgia is one of the jewels in the Southern Ocean’s crown. Why not discover it on an Antarctica cruise to the Falklands, South Georgia and the Antarctic Peninsula? 
 
[ Read Less ]

WHY TRAVEL WITH CHIMU ADVENTURES

  • We are true Polar specialists. Almost every Chimu team member has travelled to either Antarctica or the Arctic and collectively we have experienced over 50 expeditions.

  • You can choose from over 130 cruises to Antarctica and the Arctic,including itineraries aboard our own charter vessels.

  • We have inspected and continue to thoroughly research each individual vessel we work with, selecting only those with environmental, safety and value credentials.

  • We know all things Polar by heart and will work with you to determine which ship and itinerary is best suited to your needs.

  • Travellers visit the Polar regions for different reasons so whether your interests are wildlife or photography, or Antarctic activities such as snowshoeing and kayaking, we can work around you for the perfect trip.

  • From your initial enquiry until your trip ends, you will be assigned a personal Destination Specialist who will offer a full service for your travel needs: we can book flights, insurance and any ancillary travel required to complete your journey.

South Georgia CRUISES

Antarctica & South Georgia Air Cruise

15 NIGHTS FROM USD 11,990

Magellan Explorer

Travel in the footstep of explorer Ernest Shackleton to the extremes of the Southern Hemisphere! Vis...

View trip
Up to 15% off

Greg Mortimer: South Georgia & Antarctic Odyssey

20 NIGHTS FROM USD 20,060

Greg Mortimer

was USD 23,600

Set sail from Ushuaia, across the infamous Drake Passage to explore and step foot on the stunningly ...

View trip

Highlights of South Georgia and Peninsula

17 NIGHTS FROM USD 14,995

The Ocean Endeavour

With its enormous King Penguin colonies, historic sites of Antarctic exploration and dramatic glacia...

View trip

Antarctica Christmas: Falklands and South Georgia Explorer

20 NIGHTS FROM USD 16,995

The Ocean Endeavour

This is a truly unique voyage as you experience Christmas and the New year in the breathtaking lands...

View trip

Classic South Georgia

19 NIGHTS FROM USD 14,070

Ushuaia

The MV Ushuaia is an ice-reinforced ex-research vessel, offering some of the best value trips to Ant...

View trip

Antarctica, South Georgia and Falklands Explorer

20 NIGHTS FROM USD 16,990

The Ocean Endeavour

This is an epic 21 day voyage of discovery aboard the Ocean Endeavour, as you follow in the footstep...

View trip

BLOGS ON South Georgia

Whether you are looking for advice on when to travel to Antarctica or the Arctic, which ship to travel on or which itinerary will suit you best, Chimu blogs are likely to have it covered. The range of topics is vast, with new and fascinating blogs being added regularly. There is ship information, guides about the activities you can do in the Polar regions, what to pack and what not to pack, and even blogs on various Polar explorers!

READ NOW

South Georgia REVIEWS

All Chimu Adventures' clients are given the opportunity to review their trip once they return home. These reviews are administered by a third party and as such are unfiltered by Chimu Adventures.

South Georgia

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Antartica Our trip to Antartica was everything we wished for and more. The beauty of this continent is breathtaking and the many opportunities we were given to walk or float amongst it made it even more so. The boat, the Expedition was well designed for the journey and the staff were knowledgeable, professional and extremely safety conscious. We would happily recommend the experience to anyone regardless of age!!
Date published: 2020-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceeded expectations! The whole trip went smoothly and according to plan. Don’t do the camping without incontinence undies and bring your own spade - not enough to go around.
Date published: 2019-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing trip Amazing place! Amazing service, wonderful food, comfortable accommodation, great price and knowledgeable staff
Date published: 2019-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Experience. Good Value Enjoyed the scenery and wildlife. The crew were extremely good. Don't pay for the snowshoeing as it is not worth what they are charging. Otherwise kayaking was wonderful and lots of fun. We had a great time and the ship and the food were great. Thoroughly recommend Chimu and the MV Hondius.
Date published: 2019-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from End of the World - get there soon! Every part of the experience went so smoothly, time was filled with great lectures whilst getting to Antarctica and camping on the snow was awesome! Love the penguins!
Date published: 2019-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Place On Earth This was my second trip to the Antarctic using Chimu and it did not disappoint. We had a great trip, an excellent crew and also got engaged so everything was amazing!
Date published: 2019-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing over exceeded my expectations The new ship was amazing. the weather well was perfect...... we had the best crew and the sights were unbelievable
Date published: 2019-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEYOND AMAZING! I am having trouble writing this review because the experience was so amazing that it's hard to put it into words. There were some logistic misses in the beginning when I arrived in Ushuaia, but all that went away as soon as I boarded the MV Hondius. The staff was amazing, friendly, outgoing, supportive, encouraging, and so much more. Their pride of the ship and the roles they played was evident from beginning to end. The Drake Passage can be a gut buster for some, but never fear, there is a doctor on board. Sea sickness patches are available for those who want to take a precaution. From the moment you reach Antarctica, everything turns into a dream. I remember waking up around 3 am and looking out the porthole. There it was...Antarctica! I put on my parka and ran out to the deck. I don't remember how many hours I spent just looking at it in awe. Then it was time for the first zodiac trip. We saw whales, penguins, seals and icebergs. It was incredible. After dinner, it was time to board a zodiac again for our overnight camping trip. Make sure you sign up for it because it's worth it. The area where we dug holes in the ice to settle in was pristine and the scenery was crazy! Three seals showed up and thought we were hunkering down for the night so they joined us. They slept by us. But of course we did more than that on the first day. We took a polar plunge. First, only a handful of people said they would do it, however, when it was time to do the deed, we hand waves of people running into the water. All of this happened on the first day. We still had three days left in the continent to hike, take zodiac trips, make landings, kayak etc. Let's talk about the food....phenomenal. I gained nine pounds on the trip, and the barista setup in the lounge kept all tea, coffee, and hot chocolate lovers very happy. The lounge was where he had all our lectures and where we gathered to play card games or just enjoy some quiet time. Of course there always has to be one group of people that just takes it to the next level. That was my group. Around 10 of us met on the ship and bonded right away. We stuck together during this incredible adventure, and have remained in contact. I can go on about the trip but the best thing I can do for you is to tell you to contact Chimu asap and sign up for the next voyage.
Date published: 2019-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Birding down under Unique, impressive wonderful islands and bird watching, Great staff and crew.
Date published: 2019-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A truly fabulous experience. Antarctica is beyond imagination. Breathtaking scenery and we were able to go ashore many times to fully experience it.
Date published: 2019-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stunning. Beyond our wildest dreams The wilderness, the beauty. Only way to see it is on a small ship. Thank you Chimu Adventures for helping us achieve this dream to see Antarctica
Date published: 2019-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing trip! Great itiniary, and only 130 passangers so one would get a very good amount of time on shore. The staff was very qualified for their job.
Date published: 2019-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Epic trip! The whole trip was absolutely amazing! We have had very special wildlife encounters and the staff on board as well as the crew and the leader of G expedition were fantastic - from organizing every day and being so friendly, professional and at the same time a good fun! We were all like a one family ;-) My agent from G adventures was also very good and got the trip well organised for me from the initial interest till the end of the trip, that's why I keep coming back to Chimu as they are amazing in also tailoring wildlife and nature adventures. So thank you everyone from Chimu and the G expedition voyage 14.7.19 -24.7.19
Date published: 2019-08-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Norwegian Ice Ocean Atlantic expedition crew was really good, made the most of a sold-out, charter cruise. Going for the Summer Solstice meant 24 hours of daylight, great flora and fauna, fabulous shipmates, weather was beautiful. As for kayaking, I wish there'd been greater opportunity for me. What I was able to take advantage of was magnificent. Take note, no solo kayaks for travelers...only for expedition staff! Svalbard is amazing. I spent a few days prior in Oslo, including a day train-trip to Lillihammer to explore their historical village of Maihaugen. Outstanding. And the Norwegians are wonderful, helpful folk.
Date published: 2019-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely brilliant From beginning to end the whole expedition was absolutely perfect.
Date published: 2019-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic Antarctica - 10 day cruise 10 day cruise to Antarctic Peninsular on the "Ushuaia". Rough crossing the Drake but Antarctica so peaceful and pristine.
Date published: 2019-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Antarctic Adventure Well organised tour overall. Great information on Antarctica from experts on the cruise across Drake Passage. Fantastic landings with great scenery and wildlife. Everything ran smoothly. The ship's catering was great.
Date published: 2019-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Trip. The entire trip was well organised and everything went smoothly.
Date published: 2019-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The trip is so organised, the staffs are looking after us so well. I felt safe and well informed all the ways. I told everyone how good is the trip.
Date published: 2019-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most Amazing trip ever We had high expectations but we were blown away by our experiences
Date published: 2019-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top holiday Everything went to plan. All was above expedition expedations. I had a great time, the ships crew were very experienced. What a great adventure.
Date published: 2019-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trip of a lifetime My lifetime wish to visit Antarctica was fulfilled beyond my wildest dreams in every aspect of the trip including the Force 10 storm while crossing the Drake Passage! It was fantastic.
Date published: 2019-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Antarctica I would definitely recommend booking a trip to Antarctica through Chimu. From the first landing in Buenos Aires - where there was someone to meet me at the airport to take me to the amazing hotel Dazzler Recoleta which was walking distance to the Le Recoleta cemetery. Chimu had organised pick ups both to and from the airports - to Ushuaia and back. The trip itself was jaw dropping. The crew on the ship were amazing - how they managed to stay upright during the Drake Crossing helping passengers in the dining room during meals. The food was amazing -(be prepared to come home heavier) - it caters to all dietary needs.The scenery was incredible -the penguins, orcas and all the other wildlife we encountered. I was so impressed that there are a few of us who will be doing the Arctic trip in 2021. The only thing I would suggest is that those who may have problems climbing the glanciers (which can be very slippery) is to take retractable hiking poles to give a bit of support - a few on my group used them. Other than that - take an open mind - some things may get cancelled - such as shore landings due to ice flow - but the crew do their very best to get us to shore or out on zodiacs - but safety will always come first.. So in closing - do it - get out there and see the most amazing place in the world.
Date published: 2019-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Once in a lifetime trip This is the third time I have used Chimu, and they have once again organised a perfect trip. All transfers were on time, accommodation in handy locations along with being (mostly) of the boutique type. Antarctica with Chimu's Poseidon expedition was very well organised and professional. Chimu Argentina worked hard to obtain alternate flights when our plane was grounded, making sure we made our home flight in time.
Date published: 2019-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Impossibly amazing trip The entire cruise was seamless, from the blue skies to the calm blue seas. Service onboard was fantastic and the service from Viva in the lead up to my cruise was outstanding.
Date published: 2019-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even better than expected Everything about this trip was exceptional and went beyond what were already lofty expectations - the locations, activities, ship and crew. This is a must for the bucket list.
Date published: 2019-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Met every expectation and more! The team were excellent - from booking (thank you Clem) to the expedition team and the ship crew. Everyone made sure we got the best experience ever.
Date published: 2019-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Memorable experiences No problems with the trip. It was well organised. A bit of down time could have been beneficial.
Date published: 2019-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Totally Amazing Very well organised and well run. Spectacular scenery and wildlife. Never expected to get so close to penguins. The boat was very comfortable and just the right size for this type of trip.
Date published: 2019-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Antarctic February 2019 Destinations and excursions terrific, but trip in reality less time than advertised
Date published: 2019-03-24
  • y_2020, m_1, d_18, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_291
  • loc_en_AU, sid_antarctica, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_chimu-adventures
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.3.0.1
  • CLOUD, method:getReviews, 3.21ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Video

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

A high level of fitness is not necessary for Antarctica cruises to South Georgia, but you need to be in good health as although there is generally a doctor on board the ships, you are a long way from any other medical assistance. The majority of activities are focused around shore excursions and zodiac cruising and so you need to be agile and able-bodied enough to climb into and out of the inflatable zodiacs from both the ship and the shore. On shore landings you may need to negotiate uneven and slippery ground. Shore excursions generally involve some walking.

 All of our tours are 100% tried and tested to ensure that when you travel with us, you are doing so in a controlled and safe environment with trained experts. We consistently monitor weather conditions and will always provide you with the best possible adventure without risk of injury to you or the vessel. While some landings and activities may need to be rescheduled or cancelled due to weather, every effort is made to have a contingency plan should such conditions become a reality during your expedition. Chimu have been the experts in Antarctic travel for well over 10 years and use our vast experience and knowledge when picking the vessels we sell to provide you with an adventure that is unforgettable for all the right reasons.

Note:

  • Extreme care should be taken in the proximity of seals (especially those in breeding colonies) and particularly fur seals from November to January, when they can be extremely aggressive

  • The buildings and jetties of the old whaling stations at Leith, Stromness, Husvik and Prince Olav Harbour are in a dangerous state of disrepair and so it is forbidden to approach within 200 metres

A visa is not required to visit South Georgia but all visitors must be in possession of a valid passport. All passports must be presented to the Government Officer (Immigration Officer) on arrival at Grytviken. If your Antarctica cruise is departing from an Argentinian port such as Ushuaia, no pre-arranged visa is required to enter Argentina by citizens of the UK, Australia, Ireland, European Union, New Zealand, Canada, South Africa and the USA. Other nationalities should check with your closest Argentinean embassy or consulate. Australian, Canadian and USA citizens must pay a "reciprocity fee" to enter Argentina. This is not a visa, but a fee based on the fees that Argentinean citizens pay for visas to these countries. The fee must be paid online and in advance for arrival at all airports.

Most Antarctica cruises that include South Georgia on their way to or from the Antarctic Peninsula, spend 3 to 5 days exploring South Georgia. Those cruises that feature South Georgia travel only typically spend at least 7 or 8 days in the region. Possible landing sites and excursions include Elsehul Bay, Salisbury Plain, Prion Island, Fortuna Bay, St. Andrews Bay, Gold Harbour, Drygalski Fjord, Cumberland Bay and the old whaling stations at Stromness, Leith, Husvik and Grytviken.

The official currency of South Georgia is the pound sterling (GBP).

English is the official language of South Georgia as it is a British Overseas Territory.