Skip to main content

South Georgia

Search South Georgia:

TRAVELLING TO South Georgia

South Georgia is a remote yet magical island, exquisite in its beauty and virtually unspoilt by man. It is adorned with emerald green bays, blue glacier ice and formidable snow covered peaks. South Georgia travel will expose you to one of the world’s greatest wildlife areas - the “Galapagos of the South”. Home to over 30 million breeding birds, thousands of seals, the introduced Norwegian reindeer, four breeding species of penguin and the largest colony of king penguins on this planet - the island teems with life. South Georgia is also home to the macaroni penguin not often seen on the Peninsula and one of the very few places where you can see the nesting sites of the wandering albatross, a bird that boasts the largest wingspan of any bird in the world.
 
If the spectacular wildlife is not enough of a drawcard, South Georgia travel will bring you to a part of the Antarctic that is steeped in history. The island was an intrinsic part of Sir Ernest Shackleton's 1914-17 Trans-Antarctica Expedition in the Endurance, one of the most incredible adventure stories and most heroic survival stories of all times. South Georgia was once the centre of the whaling industry and an Antarctica cruise to this part of the Southern Ocean will give you the opportunity to see the relics and remains of abandoned whaling stations and to visit the grave of the intrepid explorer, Shackleton.
 
With the greatest concentration of wildlife on the planet, a captivating history and ruggedly beautiful terrain, the sub-Antarctic island of South Georgia is one of the jewels in the Southern Ocean’s crown. Why not discover it on an Antarctica cruise to the Falklands, South Georgia and the Antarctic Peninsula? 
 
[ Continue Reading ]
South Georgia is a remote yet magical island, exquisite in its beauty and virtually unspoilt by man. It is adorned with emerald green bays, blue glacier ice and formidable snow covered peaks. South Georgia travel will expose you to one of the world’s greatest wildlife areas - the “Galapagos of the South”. Home to over 30 million breeding birds, thousands of seals, the introduced Norwegian reindeer, four breeding species of penguin and the largest colony of king penguins on this planet - the island teems with life. South Georgia is also home to the macaroni penguin not often seen on the Peninsula and one of the very few places where you can see the nesting sites of the wandering albatross, a bird that boasts the largest wingspan of any bird in the world.
 
If the spectacular wildlife is not enough of a drawcard, South Georgia travel will bring you to a part of the Antarctic that is steeped in history. The island was an intrinsic part of Sir Ernest Shackleton's 1914-17 Trans-Antarctica Expedition in the Endurance, one of the most incredible adventure stories and most heroic survival stories of all times. South Georgia was once the centre of the whaling industry and an Antarctica cruise to this part of the Southern Ocean will give you the opportunity to see the relics and remains of abandoned whaling stations and to visit the grave of the intrepid explorer, Shackleton.
 
With the greatest concentration of wildlife on the planet, a captivating history and ruggedly beautiful terrain, the sub-Antarctic island of South Georgia is one of the jewels in the Southern Ocean’s crown. Why not discover it on an Antarctica cruise to the Falklands, South Georgia and the Antarctic Peninsula? 
 
[ Read Less ]

WHY TRAVEL WITH CHIMU ADVENTURES

  • We are true Polar specialists. Almost every Chimu team member has travelled to either Antarctica or the Arctic and collectively we have experienced over 50 expeditions.

  • You can choose from over 130 cruises to Antarctica and the Arctic,including itineraries aboard our own charter vessels.

  • We have inspected and continue to thoroughly research each individual vessel we work with, selecting only those with environmental, safety and value credentials.

  • We know all things Polar by heart and will work with you to determine which ship and itinerary is best suited to your needs.

  • Travellers visit the Polar regions for different reasons so whether your interests are wildlife or photography, or Antarctic activities such as snowshoeing and kayaking, we can work around you for the perfect trip.

  • From your initial enquiry until your trip ends, you will be assigned a personal Destination Specialist who will offer a full service for your travel needs: we can book flights, insurance and any ancillary travel required to complete your journey.

South Georgia CRUISES

BLOGS ON South Georgia

Whether you are looking for advice on when to travel to Antarctica or the Arctic, which ship to travel on or which itinerary will suit you best, Chimu blogs are likely to have it covered. The range of topics is vast, with new and fascinating blogs being added regularly. There is ship information, guides about the activities you can do in the Polar regions, what to pack and what not to pack, and even blogs on various Polar explorers!

READ NOW

South Georgia REVIEWS

All Chimu Adventures' clients are given the opportunity to review their trip once they return home. These reviews are administered by a third party and as such are unfiltered by Chimu Adventures.

Rated 5 out of 5 by from A superb cruise to Antarctica The Cruise was very successful with excellent weather enabling us to see the superb landscape and wildlife of Antarctica at its best . We were lucky to be able to cruise the LeMaire Passage being only the second ship to do this during the Summer 2018/19 and to be able to see Nepune's Window Beach on Deception Island which our Zodiac driver had only seen three times in ten years in the Antarctic. The ship Ocean Atlantic was very comfortable and the service and food of a very high standard. The lectures were delivered by highly qualified lecturers resulting in a very enjoyable and well organised visit to the most remote part of the World
Date published: 2019-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A trip out of this world 10 days trip to Antarctic Peninsular. A bit shaky across the Drake Passage, as was expected, otherwise a beautiful sailing between the islands and icebergs. Lots of landings to see the native inhabitants with hundreds of Penguins, also Wales, Seals, Birds and Orcas. The staff on board were terrific and so helpful. The food was enough with a good breakfast and two 3 coarse meals (lunch and dinner) with fruit and afternoon snacks available. The cooking was a bit plain at times but still eatable. All in all, a terrific trip, quiet unforgettable.
Date published: 2015-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Antactic. A once in a lifetime experience. All pickups and tours organised by Chimu were on time and well organised. Unfortunately the same cannot be said for LAN Airlines. Only 2 of our flights were on time. One flight was double booked, causing problems catching a connecting flight. On another occasion the aircraft needed to be unloaded and changed and this particular flight was the one taking us to Ushuaia to meet the boat. However the trip to the Antarctic made up for all LAN,s failings. The ships crew and expedition staff were extremely helpful, professional and very knowledgable and ensured safety of passengers at all times. Nothing was a problem. The scenery and wildlife can only be described a spectacular. It is impossible to take a bad photograph.
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing trip for a first time overseas traveller The whole trip from start to finish was well organised. Every transfer was on time and the staff on the MV Ushuaia were all skilled and willing to assist in any way possible to ensure our trip was the best it could be. The food that came out of the small galley was well prepared and fresh. Vegetarians were also well looked after. There was only one choice for each meal, but this is to be expected with limited supplies able to be carried on board. I'm still trying to find the right words to explain Antarctica itself. It embodies the true meaning of "awesome" as we were truly in awe of the pristine beauty & wildness.
Date published: 2015-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible Just returned from an amazing trip with Chimu to Antarctica and the Falkland Islands. We were due to visit South Georgia however with some bad luck for one of our fellow passengers and some bad weather to boot we did miss this part sadly. We saw an incredible array of wildlife, and I feel the trip was well handled. We had some wonderful weather and the guides onboard the sea spirit were first class. The mood on board did turn a bit sour when it was seen that we would miss South Georgia, but our trip leader Chad Carey (a Chimu director) handled it wonderfully. The trip was billed as expedition and indeed it was from the outset! I have travelled enough to know things don’t always go your way, and I will travel with you again anytime! See you in the Arctic next year!
Date published: 2018-04-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good in many ways but ultimately disappointing. I booked on the Shackleton's Antarctica trip in March 2018, intended to go to the Antarctic islands and mainland, South Georgia and the Falklands. The time at sea (about 16 days) would only have been adequate if everything had gone perfectly. However, a combination of rough weather in the landing sites on South Georgia and a medical emergency meant we lost S. Georgia completely. I would only recommend this trip if it is extended to at least 18 days. On the other hand the ship and the levels of service were immaculate, and the arrangements for meeting me at airports and the standard of the hotels booked were entirely satisfactory. There were plenty of landings at the places we did reach and the expedition staff were friendly and knowledgeable.
Date published: 2018-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Epic trip! The whole trip was absolutely amazing! We have had very special wildlife encounters and the staff on board as well as the crew and the leader of G expedition were fantastic - from organizing every day and being so friendly, professional and at the same time a good fun! We were all like a one family ;-) My agent from G adventures was also very good and got the trip well organised for me from the initial interest till the end of the trip, that's why I keep coming back to Chimu as they are amazing in also tailoring wildlife and nature adventures. So thank you everyone from Chimu and the G expedition voyage 14.7.19 -24.7.19
Date published: 2019-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Voyage of a lifetime This journey was exceptional. All that was arranged just fell into place. Hotel accommodation went smoothly and location perfect. The voyage itself was exceptional from the friendliness and professionalism of the crew to the ships accommodation and facilities, the expedition itinerary could not be faulted. I would highly recommend the MS Expedition and will sail with them again.Also I will not hesitate to use Chimu Adventure for future travel
Date published: 2015-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fab kayaking This was not my choice of holiday, but it has been on my husband's shortlist since he was a boy. He had a great time. It was pretty much as I expected and planned for, but the kayaking was fabulous. I might have gone stir crazy without the opportunity to get away from the crowd and to be almost alone in tne splendour. The trip cost a lot of money, but it was extremely well planned and run, and not expensive. Please not that gender is a social construct and not a biological fact.
Date published: 2015-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Antarctic Peninsular - what a trip!! Absolutely the best holiday I've experienced in my life. The company was G-Adventures, their vessel was the G-Explorer, only 130-odd passengers on board, the food was excellent, the crew were absolutely exceptional, and the four places we visited on the Peninsular were breathtaking!! We saw penguins and their colonies up close, saw various seals, an occasional whale breaching, and took a Polar Plunge (not mandatory) into the icy waters - with photos as proof!! If you have the Antarctic Peninsular on your bucket list, then go with G-Adventures (organised through Chimu). In my humble opinion, you won't be disappointed!
Date published: 2019-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply Incredible Antarctica Antarctica has been on my bucket list for decades, and I decided early last year that it was time for me to to take the plunge and go on this incredible journey. Having recently lost my wife to cancer, I was thrilled to see this trip with Chimu Adventures raising money for Breast Cancer care. After looking at several companies and many different ships, I called up Chimu and received incredible service from the word go. Nothing was too much effort and the whole process was made very easy. I undertook a 4 week trip with Chimu Adventures including a side visit to Peru and Argentina. Everything was faultless. Antarctica was the crowning glory - simply majestic. I cannot put into words the impact it had on me. Thank you Chimu for a wonderful voyage superbly hosted by Greg Carter. I'll be back when I save some more pennies!
Date published: 2016-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from epic antarctica This was the best group tour I have EVER been on. From contact with Staff at Chimu at time of booking to leaving the ship in Ushuaia at the end of our Journey. I travelled on the MV Ushuaia and ALL the Staff and Crew went 'above and beyond' in making sure everyone had the best time possible. Their commitment to customer service is immeasurable and the Expedition Leaders knowledge, insight and love of Antarctica supported their passion for this wondrous land. This is a journey that will stay with me forever! Thank You, Chimu
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Once in a Lifetime Best adventure ever! The staff were incredible, so helpful and knowledgeable, they went beyond expectations to make our cruise one in a million. Polar Pioneer was the perfect size for what was needed to cruise into the Antarctic Circle. We even did the Polar Plunge and have the T-shirt and certificate to prove it. The BBQ out on deck with Mulled Wine was great fun. Food was plentiful and tasty.
Date published: 2016-03-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Antarctica with G Adventures G Adventures run ship MS Expedition. All run very smoothly, excellent attention to detail. Flexible destinations regarding weather conditions. Very good attention to environmental issues. Food too rich, could have had less stodgy desserts and meat was always very rare (ie raw); even vegetables were cooked in a stodgy sauce. However always fresh salad and fruit available.
Date published: 2015-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous trip from start to finish! I sailed with GAdventures on the MS Expedition from Montevideo to the Falklands, then to South Georgia and on to the Antarctic Peninsula. It was a wonderful trip. I had high expectations, and they were not just met, but exceeded in every regard. The expedition team were experts in their fields, and their enthusiasm was evident throughout our amazing journey.
Date published: 2015-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Greatest vacation so far We lost one day becouse one of ships engine was broken, so embark was delayed fo 24h, but we get refund, one night at hotel and some trips during those 24h. otherwise tour was excellent. CEO changed intinerary plan so we headed to polar circle first to be sure we can go through in time. if something didnt match itinerary, it was only becouse of weather or danger. Crew and CEO was group of fantastic people and thansk to them, this trip was double so awsome :)
Date published: 2015-02-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Norwegian Ice Ocean Atlantic expedition crew was really good, made the most of a sold-out, charter cruise. Going for the Summer Solstice meant 24 hours of daylight, great flora and fauna, fabulous shipmates, weather was beautiful. As for kayaking, I wish there'd been greater opportunity for me. What I was able to take advantage of was magnificent. Take note, no solo kayaks for travelers...only for expedition staff! Svalbard is amazing. I spent a few days prior in Oslo, including a day train-trip to Lillihammer to explore their historical village of Maihaugen. Outstanding. And the Norwegians are wonderful, helpful folk.
Date published: 2019-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beyond words The most amazing trip from beginning to end. Chimu did a great job of helping me plan my trip & were available with advice & information. The ship (Akademik Ioffe) was fantastic,the One Ocean expedition team were so helpful & knowledgable as well as fun, the ships crew did a fantastic job, & even the weather was perfect!! Everything went smoothly, & the wildlife & scenery was astonishing, so beautiful.
Date published: 2015-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best trip ever! The expedition crew did everything they could to organise landings In a variety of settings and were able to adapt their plans due to any changes in weather. The expedition crew were very knowledgable and all the ships staff were fantastic. We crossed the Antarctic circle and went the furthest south the ship had been thanks to the great skills of the captain. I loved this trip! Penguins, seals, orca whales, wildlife in abundance!!
Date published: 2016-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More than I could have hoped Everything about the trip was fantastic. I have no complaints whatsoever. I would recommend the Sea Adventurer as a perfect ship for adventure/expedition travel because of the two public decks surrounding the ship.
Date published: 2015-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely Awesome! We had a wonderful expedition to Antarctica - but have to add that the weather was perfect which made the entire trip ideal. The Drake Passage crossing (both ways) was without incident (noted as the Drake Lake). Landed nine times on the Antarctic continent, which is about the most one could expect. The MS Expedition staff (headed by John) were exceptional and the ship's crew superb. Without a doubt, a trip of a lifetime!!
Date published: 2015-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Antarctica The entire trip was wonderful. It was a joy to see all the different penguins, sea birds, and seals, as well as experience the walking on the ice and snow. The icebergs were spectacular, both in shape and colour.
Date published: 2014-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic South Georgia and Antarctica Brilliant holiday. Budget hotels in Buenos Aires and Ushuaia booked by Chimu were excellent. Weather not all that good but the crew of the Ushuaia were really good and did all they could so that we could have the best in landings that were possible. All travel arranged by ourselves went well and the transfers arranged by Chimu were equally good and drivers were good too! The ship is quite basic so do not expect a cruise ship!
Date published: 2015-11-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing adventure to the White Continent This was an incredible 11 day 'Images of Antarctica' adventure. Despite the Drake Passage taking it's toll on many, this trip is incredibly worthwhile, if you have the money! The weather was good about half of the time that we were in Antarctica, if it had been miserable weather the whole time it would have been disappointing (not the cruise's fault of course!), but as it was, we got to see the very best (beautiful blue skies, bright white snow and humpback whales) and maybe not quite the worst (-45 degrees with wind chill factor!). Overall I think this enhanced the experience, as we got to see Antarctica for what it really is, completely wild. All of the staff on board were wonderful, funny and warm. I enjoyed the lectures, which gave a greater insight into what we were seeing on land.
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trip of a Life Time From departure to arriving back home everything Chimu Adventures organised for us ran like clockwork. The Antarctic was fantastic. So quiet! The ship, crew and meals can not be faulted and we managed two landing per day whilst in the area.
Date published: 2016-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow ! Antarctica was everything we dreamed of and more. We took part in an expedition on the MV Ushuaia, and found the ship perfect for our needs. Plenty of space onboard to see wildlife from the decks, and a very informative guide in Augustin. We hope to go back and explore South Georgia in a few years time. We hear the wildlife is even more spectacular (if possible) there!. Thanks again, and hope this review is of use!
Date published: 2014-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Antarctica The trip to Antarctica on board the Sea Explorer was an unique experience I will never forget! The overnight stays in Buenos Aires incl. the transfers to/from the airport as well as the events to attend a Tango Show and to visit the Fireland National park were very well organised by Agnes Schneider of Chimu Adventures!
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful trip All went according to plan and was very well organised by the staff and crew on the ship.
Date published: 2015-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quest for the Antarctic Circle Fantastic Trip on the "Expedition", a great adventure, everything was well organised, destination exceeded all expectations, zodiac landings and cruises allowed spectacular sight seeing of wildlife, and the Antarctic landscapes and icebergs. Photos don do it justice, you have to experience it.
Date published: 2018-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Once in a lifetime experience Extremely we'll run cruise, perfect number of passengers and crew
Date published: 2014-09-10
  • y_2019, m_8, d_16, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_275
  • loc_en_AU, sid_antarctica, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_chimu-adventures
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.3.0.1
  • CLOUD, method:getReviews, 3.58ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Video

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

A high level of fitness is not necessary for Antarctica cruises to South Georgia, but you need to be in good health as although there is generally a doctor on board the ships, you are a long way from any other medical assistance. The majority of activities are focused around shore excursions and zodiac cruising and so you need to be agile and able-bodied enough to climb into and out of the inflatable zodiacs from both the ship and the shore. On shore landings you may need to negotiate uneven and slippery ground. Shore excursions generally involve some walking.

 All of our tours are 100% tried and tested to ensure that when you travel with us, you are doing so in a controlled and safe environment with trained experts. We consistently monitor weather conditions and will always provide you with the best possible adventure without risk of injury to you or the vessel. While some landings and activities may need to be rescheduled or cancelled due to weather, every effort is made to have a contingency plan should such conditions become a reality during your expedition. Chimu have been the experts in Antarctic travel for well over 10 years and use our vast experience and knowledge when picking the vessels we sell to provide you with an adventure that is unforgettable for all the right reasons.

Note:

  • Extreme care should be taken in the proximity of seals (especially those in breeding colonies) and particularly fur seals from November to January, when they can be extremely aggressive

  • The buildings and jetties of the old whaling stations at Leith, Stromness, Husvik and Prince Olav Harbour are in a dangerous state of disrepair and so it is forbidden to approach within 200 metres

A visa is not required to visit South Georgia but all visitors must be in possession of a valid passport. All passports must be presented to the Government Officer (Immigration Officer) on arrival at Grytviken. If your Antarctica cruise is departing from an Argentinian port such as Ushuaia, no pre-arranged visa is required to enter Argentina by citizens of the UK, Australia, Ireland, European Union, New Zealand, Canada, South Africa and the USA. Other nationalities should check with your closest Argentinean embassy or consulate. Australian, Canadian and USA citizens must pay a "reciprocity fee" to enter Argentina. This is not a visa, but a fee based on the fees that Argentinean citizens pay for visas to these countries. The fee must be paid online and in advance for arrival at all airports.

Most Antarctica cruises that include South Georgia on their way to or from the Antarctic Peninsula, spend 3 to 5 days exploring South Georgia. Those cruises that feature South Georgia travel only typically spend at least 7 or 8 days in the region. Possible landing sites and excursions include Elsehul Bay, Salisbury Plain, Prion Island, Fortuna Bay, St. Andrews Bay, Gold Harbour, Drygalski Fjord, Cumberland Bay and the old whaling stations at Stromness, Leith, Husvik and Grytviken.

The official currency of South Georgia is the pound sterling (GBP).

English is the official language of South Georgia as it is a British Overseas Territory.