Skip to main content

South America

Search South America:

TRAVELLING TO South America

Tantalise your senses with a multi-country South America tour or focus your travels on just one of the spectacular countries that South America has to offer.

South America is a continent like no other, offering a variety of incredulous terrains, a host of differing cultures, a fascinating and unique range of wildlife, a gastronomic cuisine, an intriguing history and a range of adventure-filled activities.

From snow-capped mountains to turquoise lakes, stark arid deserts, rainforest, vast salt flats, pampas grasslands, glaciers, volcanoes, spectacular coastline and waterfalls, the landscapes of South America are breathtaking. In complete contrast are bustling and vibrant cities such as Buenos Aires, Rio de Janeiro, Santiago, Lima and Montevideo. Then there are fascinating colonial towns such as Cusco, Sucre, Quito, Cartagena and Colonia and the mining towns of Potosi and Ouro Preto. South America is steeped in history and culture and a South America tour could allow you to delve into the history of the Inca, Moche and Nazca civilisations or immerse yourself in the culture of the Quechua Indians or the Afro-Brazilian beat of Salvador. For food lovers, a gastronomic experience awaits, tempting you with mouth-watering Argentinian steaks or fresh seafood ceviche accompanied by a glass of fine Chilean or Argentinian wine.

South America travel offers something for everyone and for all ages.

[ Continue Reading ]

Tantalise your senses with a multi-country South America tour or focus your travels on just one of the spectacular countries that South America has to offer.

South America is a continent like no other, offering a variety of incredulous terrains, a host of differing cultures, a fascinating and unique range of wildlife, a gastronomic cuisine, an intriguing history and a range of adventure-filled activities.

From snow-capped mountains to turquoise lakes, stark arid deserts, rainforest, vast salt flats, pampas grasslands, glaciers, volcanoes, spectacular coastline and waterfalls, the landscapes of South America are breathtaking. In complete contrast are bustling and vibrant cities such as Buenos Aires, Rio de Janeiro, Santiago, Lima and Montevideo. Then there are fascinating colonial towns such as Cusco, Sucre, Quito, Cartagena and Colonia and the mining towns of Potosi and Ouro Preto. South America is steeped in history and culture and a South America tour could allow you to delve into the history of the Inca, Moche and Nazca civilisations or immerse yourself in the culture of the Quechua Indians or the Afro-Brazilian beat of Salvador. For food lovers, a gastronomic experience awaits, tempting you with mouth-watering Argentinian steaks or fresh seafood ceviche accompanied by a glass of fine Chilean or Argentinian wine.

South America travel offers something for everyone and for all ages.

[ Read Less ]

WHY TRAVEL WITH CHIMU ADVENTURES

  • We offer you flexible travel options in Latin America at an affordable price.

  • You can choose from over 400 suggested itineraries or pick and choose elements to build your own unique experience; cover the areas you want to explore at a pace to suit you.

  • We know each Latin American country by heart and will work with you to determine which activities and accommodations are best suited to your needs.

  • From your initial enquiry until your trip ends, you will be assigned a personal Destination Specialist who will offer a full service for your travel needs: we can book flights, insurance and any ancillary travel required to complete your journey.

  • We have offices across South America so you can be assured that ground staff are close at hand to assist whilst you are travelling.

South America TOURS

BLOGS ON South America

Whether you are looking for advice on visas and vaccinations, when to travel, best markets or beaches to visit, wildlife guides or the top restaurants in a city, Chimu blogs are likely to have it covered. The range of topics is vast, with new and fascinating
blogs being added regularly. There are airport guides, Galapagos Island guides, what to pack and what not to pack, and even a blog on the most romantic locations to propose in Latin America!

READ NOW

South America REVIEWS

All Chimu Adventures' clients are given the opportunity to review their trip once they return home. These reviews are administered by a third party and as such are unfiltered by Chimu Adventures.

South America

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superbly Organised Holiday We normally plan our own holidays, but with 5 countries, 11 flights and language barriers we decided to leave it to Chimu and they delivered a perfect holiday. Great hotels, wonderful guides, and someone waiting at every single step with a sign with our name on it - it was seamless and stress-free.
Date published: 2019-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very well organised. All plans went like clockwork. Even though one of the hotels overbooked, an alternative was organised. and we were informed in advance of the change.
Date published: 2019-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic trip to Chile, Argentina & Uruguay We recently returned from two weeks exploring Santiago, the Atacama region, Buenos Aires and Uruguay, and couldn't have hoped for a better introduction to South America. Guides, transfers and hotels were all excellent, and our agents at Viva Expeditions were an outstanding source of recommendations. We were especially wowed by the Atacama region, the landscapes, wildlife and culture, and would recommend to anyone. Buenos Aires, Santiago and Valparaiso were all enjoyable city experiences, and the opportunity to spend two nights in Uruguay topped it off. Special thanks and recommendation to the tour operator in Santiago. Our guide and driver Reuben was a fantastic host, extremely knowledgeable and friendly, we really enjoyed his company. A massive thank you to all, we will be back!
Date published: 2019-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Once in a Lifetime Experience. Valerie @ Chimu organised our trip around the destinations we wanted to visit/experience. The typical places most tourists want to see: Buenos Aires, Iguazu Falls, Rio de Janeiro, Cuzco, Machu Pichu, Amazon, Lake Titicaca, Galapogas and much more. The trip was the best organised trip we have jad. Transfers between hotels and airports were on time with friendly helpful staff who provided us with our detailed itinerary at each destination. The mix of small group tours and private tours suited our style of travel. We felt safe at all times and the location of hotels was ideal, e.g. the hotel was across the road from Copacabana Beach and room had panoramic views of the beach. A brilliant trip. So many highlights. Thanks Valerie for outstanding communication pre-trip and checking in during our time in South America.
Date published: 2019-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic trip The layout was fabulous. All drivers and guides were on time and extremely helpful especially Saulo from Cusco
Date published: 2019-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Adventure Our entire 5+ week South American holiday through 5 countries went off without a hitch. In fact it was perfect!
Date published: 2019-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An amazing trip Our experience of travelling with Chimu was wonderful. At every airport, for every excursion we were greeted by a friendly face who took us to our hotel or on our tour. Our accomodation was clean and comfortable, and generally central to the area. The extra experiences built into our itinerary were invaluable to heightening our enjoyment of the trip.
Date published: 2019-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chimu Experiences From the greeting in Lima to the departure in Santiago all went perfect. All staff were excellent.
Date published: 2019-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Big Five (I think) The trip was very well organised, accommodation was excellent, pick ups went according to plan (apart from our driver in Rio not turning up to transport us to the airport), most of our guides were very competent and there were many highlights. The pace seemed quite relentless at times but that was because we were packing so much into 28 days.
Date published: 2019-06-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worth waiting for Even though I was doubtful that things would run so smoothly, I was really surprised at how well everthing was organised and how smoothly they did run. A fantastic trip that I'd recommend to any one to do.
Date published: 2019-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A real adventure Every thing ran smoothly thanks to Mel and Franco They were very knowledgeable, organised, patient and most of all great fun
Date published: 2019-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Experience We would highly recommend Chimu Adventures for their organisation, professional ism and attention to detail. We did the Big 5 tour but adjusted it to suit our needs. The travel consultant we dealt with, Symone Sawyer, was excellent throughout....before during and after our holiday. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2019-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 4 countries We travelled in Chile, Argentina, Uruguay and Brazil. We did a mixture of independent travel and small group tours. Highlights included hiking in Torres del Paine national park in Patagonia, the amazing Iguazu Falls and the iconic sites of Rio de Janeiro.
Date published: 2019-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great trip put together well The Guides were excellent and most hotels were excellent recognising some locations had limited deluxe hotels
Date published: 2019-02-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good trip with Iguazu the stand out This trip went from Ushuaia to Buenos Aires to Iguazu Falls (both sides) to Rio and ended up in Santiago. All connections were reliable and the hotels were good and well situated. The booked tours (both shared and private) were all very interesting, with very helpful guides, especially in Argentina and Iguazu Falls (the latter are a memorable visit and the highlight of the trip). Buses or vans were air-conditioned and of good quality. The city tour in Rio was not so good as the guide seemed more intent in getting through the schedule than giving the best experience. While Rio has great scenery, it was also the hottest (and most humid) and there is more crime in the city. I highly recommend Chimu for their knowledge of South America, organisation and helpfulness.
Date published: 2019-02-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Trip with some frustrations The first frustration of the trip was my wife and my airline tickets were not linked.the second was the Iguaçu driver/guided was 40 minutes late to pick us up from the airport. The third was being told both verbally and in writing to be ready at 12 noon when we were leaving Iguaçu from the Argentinian airport and needed to leave at 11am. The fourth were the rooms being standard with out views in places that had wonderful outlooks. If we had have been told prior we would have payed more for these rooms. The accomodation overall was good, the guides were knowledgeable and helpful. I could continue but enough is enough.
Date published: 2019-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love South America Thank you for arranging such a wonderful trip. People, places and the overall program was enough to tell me I must return again to South America. Everything worked exactly right, no problems at all, thanks again for making my first experience so enjoyable.
Date published: 2019-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Andes highlights Great programme to see Atacama and Patagonia including cruise in the Magellan straits.
Date published: 2018-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trip of a lifetime fulfilled! Everything went like clockwork, all guides were exceptional. Hotels perfect and pace of itinerary was great. Something in the memory bank for a LONG time, we loved it. Thanks for our agent Rachel at Aspire, she worked the perfect itinerary for us.
Date published: 2018-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic trip Everything went perfectly and was well planned... just one hiccup at the end - we were told that we were to be booked into one particular hotel in Ushuaia - once we had walked several blocks and then decided to take a taxi as it was all uphill - we discovered that they had no booking for us. After many phone calls to the emergency number provided - a booking was found for us back at a hotel where we had first walked from. So back into a taxi and down to the hotel. All good in the end, but a lot of wasted time especially when we had so little time in Ushuaia.
Date published: 2018-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Trip The entire itinerary went smoothly, and we did not experience any delays, interuptions or revisions. Everything possible was covered, including entry fees, guides, tours etc. Some of the early pick ups (eg 4.00am!) should be reviewed, as they did not prove to be necessary. Most of the accommodation was excellent, including some that were 3 star rated. However some e.g. the Libertador chain should improve aspects of their service. It seems that the culture of the organisation is consistent thruout the chain, and they often seem that dealing with customers is an imposition. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our trip
Date published: 2018-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful trip of a Lifetime Everything was wonderful, from the flights to the transfers, the hotels to the tours everything ran smoothly and was amazing.
Date published: 2018-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply the best holiday ever Argentina - Chile and Uruguay - six action packed weeks - a stunning cruise down the Megellan Straights - a railway journey in the footsteps of Chris Tarrant - glaciers snow capped mountains - deserts and forests and too many jaw dropping sights to mention
Date published: 2018-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from South America Trip The program went smoothly and matched with the plans we had. At each place, we had the guide waiting for us with clear instructions. There were no delays or any confusion. I am very happy with the overall process.
Date published: 2018-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb tailor-made 3 weeks in Chile & Argentina With only a couple of very small hiccups, all arrangements worked perfectly and made for a worry-free trip. All destinations were great and we appreciated the skill of Chimu reps in suggesting them and in particular to taking note of our pr-tour wishes on travel, hotels and activities
Date published: 2018-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from South America was amazing. We could not fault the itinerary. Accomodation through out was high class. The guides & drivers were excellent. Well done Chimu.
Date published: 2018-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Fantastic Trip Chimu helped us plan a well organized trip of the west coast of South America that catered for our interests, particularly in nature, and thus made our trip a fabulous experience!
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic South America Trip! An excellent trip, seamless and perfect in the organisation. Local Guides were excellent. Good mix of sightseeing and rest days. Thank you for organising such a good itinerary Clare. I highly recommend Chimu!
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from excellent trip, well managed by Chimu Saw amazing sites, pick-ups and drop-off went smoothly, guides were pleasant, knowledgeable and informative
Date published: 2018-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bolivia, Chile, Argentina What a great trip with so many different experiences. Local buses, 4xdrives, small buses as transport and a plane to BA. All excellent even when snow blocked the road in Bolivia and a 12hour trip turned into 21hours! Our ‘Intrepid’ leader had it all covered and organised for our arrival as well as a dinner venue and what we were to do the next day. Looked after us so well. Accomodation from hotels in the right place to dorms in remote areas. The personal touch much appreciated by all the group as felt like old friends yet with a personable, knowledgeable and well organised group leader full of ideas that suited us as individuals. Local knowledge of visited places made the most of our time in the area and ensured we did not miss out on any opportunity. Such a great way to see and experience fe elsewhere in a safe and secure feeling environment.
Date published: 2018-08-26
  • y_2019, m_12, d_13, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_175
  • loc_en_AU, sid_south-america-multi-country, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_chimu-adventures
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.3.0.1
  • CLOUD, method:getReviews, 3.63ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Video

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Roman Catholicism is the dominant religion in South America. In the Andes and lowland South America, shamanism and animism are common.

The level of fitness needed will depend on the South America tour that you choose to take in terms of countries to be visited and the types of activities to be included in your itinerary. Many parts of South America are at altitudes above 2000 metres, where there is a risk of altitude sickness. Altitude sickness effects everyone differently and usually has nothing to do with your general fitness level, but we highly recommend acclimatizing at altitude before taking strenuous treks or walks.

Most South American countries have now recognized that tourism plays an important part in their economies and governments have taken great steps in the last few years to change South America’s poor security image. You will find a strong police presence in the towns, cities and sites most frequently visited by tourists. To minimise security risks we recommend the following: - do not show any outward signs of wealth or wear expensive jewellery - keep your valuables in your hotel in safety deposit boxes - keep any valuables that you must carry with you hidden, as pickpockets can be present in crowded areas and around tourist areas - use only taxis with official identification - avoid going on your own to remote areas/ruins where tourists would not be expected to go - always keep your day pack and camera close to you and never leave them unattended

Visas are required by some nationalities for travel to certain South American countries. Please refer to the detailed information on the specific countries that you plan to travel through for visa requirements.

You could spend anything from a few days to several months travelling in South America, depending on whether you plan to focus on just one country, or maybe just one experience such as the Inca Trail. Or whether you plan to encompass several countries in your South America travels. Chimu Adventures offers itineraries to suit every time frame.

South America can vary greatly in terms of prices in each country. Our South America tours include breakfast daily and many other meals may also be included in your itinerary. As a rough guide for additional spending money based on having moderately-priced lunches and dinners and buying a few souvenirs at local markets, we suggest the following budgets: 15-25 USD per day - Bolivia 20-30 USD per day - Peru, Ecuador, Colombia 25-35 USD per day - Argentina, Uruguay, Venezuela 30-40 USD per day - Chile 35-45 USD per day - Brazil 30-50 USD per day - The Guianas

We recommend that you visit your doctor or a traveller’s medical centre for current information specific to those countries that you will be travelling through. As a general guide we recommend the following: - Yellow Fever – Especially for jungle areas - Hepatitis – Both A and B (twinrix) - Typhoid - Diphtheria - Cholera - Rabies - Tetanus

Most countries in South America use the European style outlet which contains 110v. Please visit the below link for more information on each country: http://electricaloutlet.org/

What you need to pack will depend on when and where you plan on travelling and on the activities that you plan to include whilst on your South America tour. The following should act as a useful checklist of essential items: • Passport, photocopy of passport & spare passport photos • Travel Insurance documents • Air tickets and itinerary • Foreign Currency (US$) and/or debit/credit cards, traveller’s cheques • Money belt • Small daypack • Basic first aid kit • High UVA sun block • Sunglasses & sunhat • Mosquito spray & insect repellent • Comfortable walking shoes/boots • Sandals • Long sleeve tops and trousers • Light-weight clothing • Warm clothing (depending on itinerary and time of year) • Camera with spare battery and memory cards • Security code padlock • Adaptor • Small torch

Each country has its own currency with US Dollars being readily exchangeable throughout most of South America and accepted in many large hotels, top-end restaurants, supermarkets and major stores. Argentina - Argentinian Peso (ARS) Bolivia - Boliviano (BOB) Brazil - Brazilian Real (BRL) Chile - Chilean Peso (CLP) Colombia - Colombian Peso (COP) Ecuador - US Dollar (USD) French Guiana - Euro (EUR) Guyana - Guyana Dollar (GYD) Peru - Peruvian Nuevo Sol (PEN) Suriname - Suriname Dollar (SRD) Uruguay - Uruguayan Peso (UYU) Venezuela - Bolivar (VEF) Please check websites such as www.oanda.com or www.xe.com for up to date exchange rates prior to your departure.

Portuguese and Spanish are the primary languages of South America. The majority of South Americans speak Portuguese but most South American countries are Spanish-speaking. English is spoken in Guyana, Dutch and Indonesian in Suriname and French in French Guiana.