Skip to main content

Peru

Search Peru:

TRAVELLING TO Peru

Why visit? While most travellers know the legendary Machu Picchu, Lost City of the Incas, only few of us know that it is only one out of twelve UNESCO World Heritage sites waiting to be discovered on a tour through what is known as the “Egypt of South America”.

From admiring the snow-capped peaks of the Andes or trekking the ancient Inca trail, to exploring the rainforests of the Amazon Basin, uncovering Peruvian weaving traditions on one of Lima’s colourful street markets or sampling “Pisco Sour” in a traditional hacienda, a tour to Peru will introduce you to the countless facets of one of the most fascinating cultures in the world.

How to get there? Travellers from the United States have some of the best air access in the world to Latin America. Flights are available from most major cities, as well as fantastic connections through hubs such as Los Angeles, Dallas, Houston, Chicago, Atlanta, New York and Miami. All major US carriers have regular flights to Peru.

More information: Below we have shown you just a fraction of the options available for Peru and multi-country travel. Browse to get an idea of where you want to travel.

Still wondering? Contact us, you are definitely better off giving us a call or dropping us a line and letting us do the hard work for you.

#Livefortoday and book your Peru tour with us today. Chimu Adventures can put together an itinerary to suit you.

[ Continue Reading ]

Why visit? While most travellers know the legendary Machu Picchu, Lost City of the Incas, only few of us know that it is only one out of twelve UNESCO World Heritage sites waiting to be discovered on a tour through what is known as the “Egypt of South America”.

From admiring the snow-capped peaks of the Andes or trekking the ancient Inca trail, to exploring the rainforests of the Amazon Basin, uncovering Peruvian weaving traditions on one of Lima’s colourful street markets or sampling “Pisco Sour” in a traditional hacienda, a tour to Peru will introduce you to the countless facets of one of the most fascinating cultures in the world.

How to get there? Travellers from the United States have some of the best air access in the world to Latin America. Flights are available from most major cities, as well as fantastic connections through hubs such as Los Angeles, Dallas, Houston, Chicago, Atlanta, New York and Miami. All major US carriers have regular flights to Peru.

More information: Below we have shown you just a fraction of the options available for Peru and multi-country travel. Browse to get an idea of where you want to travel.

Still wondering? Contact us, you are definitely better off giving us a call or dropping us a line and letting us do the hard work for you.

#Livefortoday and book your Peru tour with us today. Chimu Adventures can put together an itinerary to suit you.

[ Read Less ]

WHY TRAVEL WITH CHIMU ADVENTURES

  • We offer you flexible travel options in Latin America at an affordable price.

  • You can choose from over 400 suggested itineraries or pick and choose elements to build your own unique experience; cover the areas you want to explore at a pace to suit you.

  • We know each Latin American country by heart and will work with you to determine which activities and accommodations are best suited to your needs.

  • From your initial enquiry until your trip ends, you will be assigned a personal Destination Specialist who will offer a full service for your travel needs: we can book flights, insurance and any ancillary travel required to complete your journey.

  • We have offices across South America so you can be assured that ground staff are close at hand to assist whilst you are travelling.

Peru TOURS

BLOGS ON Peru

Whether you are looking for advice on visas and vaccinations,when to travel, best markets or beaches to visit, wildlife guides or the top restaurants in a city, Chimu blogs are likely to have it covered. The range of topics is vast, with new and fascinating blogs being added regularly. There are airport guides, Galapagos Island guides, what to pack and what not to pack, and even a blog on the most romantic locations to propose in Latin America!

READ NOW

Peru REVIEWS

All Chimu Adventures' clients are given the opportunity to review their trip once they return home. These reviews are administered by a third party and as such are unfiltered by Chimu Adventures.

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazon Jungles, Andres Trek and Machu Picchu Brilliant - lodge you put us in in the jungle was absolutely amazing, unbelievable place, and the mountains were beautiful - would have liked an extra day walking on the Lares Trail - was called a "three day hike", but really it was only a day and a half, when you include driving time and train time etc - but it was still an incredible hike, best walk of my life. And of course, MP was a wonderful experience - had massive expectations and they were exceeded. All in all, an amazing trip, and Simon Evans at Chimu organised it like a dream - so easy, couldn't have asked for more. THANK YOU!
Date published: 2017-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from peru late flights with poor food seated apart on the plane row 7 and 19 not happy excellent tours very good guides plenty of interesting things to see and do
Date published: 2015-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peru has much to offer We saw some amazing things in Peru from Lima to the Amazon. Machu Picchu was wonderful. Did struggle a little tho with the altitude but amazing Country
Date published: 2016-12-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Peru The organizaton from and to each destination went very smoothly...well done. One day was too long travelling from A to B and would have preferred flights or trains between Cities. We cancelled the day before the Inca Tail because we didn't want another full day touring. The Inca Trail was good, but sleeping on the floor was difficult, toilet, washing facilites were poor and the food was acceptable.
Date published: 2014-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievable Although we had some hurdles due to political unrest in Peru, the amazing staff at the Chimu office in Cusco went out of their way to ensure alternate arrangements were made quickly. Our guides on the Lares Trek were second to none & we are still pinching ourselves that we actually hiked up the big scary mountain at the back of Machu Picchu (Huayna Picchu). All our accommodations were brilliant & wonderful food, especially in Lima. Our only criticism was the boring long winded guides on the city tours.
Date published: 2018-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Food, Food, Food! Wow. We expected the food to be great, but not as exceptional as we experienced. We loved Machu Picchu, Lake Titicaca and the sites, but what really blew us away was the food experience. From Astrid and Gaston in Lima, to Central, to local delights the Chimu team organised an amazing array of options for us, and we cannot be more thankful. Do not visit Peru without eating at one of their top restaurants. Our guides were all wonderful and a big thanks to Juan Carlos who really looked after us in Cusco.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cattleya Boat cruise on the Amazon Very well organised. The Cattleya is an amazing boat. The whole trip was extremely worthwhile .... fun, adventurous and very informative. The staff on the boat ..... I just loved!!
Date published: 2016-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant, easy holiday. We stayed at Cusco, visited the sacred valley and did a day trip to Machu Picchu. Everything was excellent and I would thoroughly recommend Chimu. From being picked up at the airport to when we were dropped off four days later, everything was explained well and we were looked after perfectly. Thanks to Larry for his clear explanations and the great hotel we were booked into. Both the tours were simply spectacular - and our guide Jose at Machu Picchu was very helpful.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from tour of peru Well organized good hotels whole experience brilliant
Date published: 2014-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Machu Piccu short visit Everything went to plan and as per itinerary. Our trip was organised thru jason in Sydney and was terrific. We had booked a cruise around South America and added our trip to Peru to an existing itinerary. Jason fitted it in with the existing flights in and out of Santiago. All the tour guides and meet and greet people were spot on ! The hotels we stayed at were all good, as were the internal flights and the one bus journey from Cusco to Puno was also great
Date published: 2018-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peru - a definite must see We were very impressed with the itineraries and how we could customize to suit our wants. The organization of everything, including flights, transport, transfers, accommodation, tours, and guides was exceptional. We were looked after and felt safe at all times. Everything ran smoothly but if something unexpected occurred it was sorted out straight away without fuss. The main places in Peru we visited were Machu Picchu, Colca Canyon, Lake Titicaca, the Amazonian rainforest, and the towns and cities near these sites. The guides who showed us around deserve special mention. They were local to the area (often having grown up there), passionate about their history and culture, enthusiastic, well educated, multi-lingual, happy to answer questions, and helpful. We would be happy to recommend Chimua Adventures to anyone thinking of visiting South America.
Date published: 2017-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Peru and the Inca Trail Peru is a fantastic country. We had a fixed idea of where we wanted to go and Chimu Travel organised about half of it and we did the other half ourselves. Peru lived up to our expectations. Lima is not a city we'd choose to stay in again because it is a typical large city with not a lot to recommend it. Lake Titicaca is spectacular, Cusco is fantastic. Inca Trek the hardest but the highlight. We loved Peru
Date published: 2017-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exhilarating Holiday. Very professionally organised trip. Couldn't fault it. All the timings, flights, pickups, excursions, and accmodation were spot on. As for Peru. It is a stunning country, with amazing scenery and friendly people. Worth doing the hiking treks to see the best of what's on offer. Can't recommend it enough. Excellent value for money. Thanks Chimu. Will book another holiday with you in the future.
Date published: 2016-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peru, archaeologic sites, cities and rainforest. From ancient indigenous Indian sites to Inca cities, we got a taste of ancient Peru. Our time in Lima gave us insight into a modern city and the excursions through the rainforest led us to see animals in the wild.
Date published: 2016-11-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from wonderful trip the whole itinerary went like clock work and we had really good guides. the only complaint was our accommodation in cusco where we stayed 4 nights and we got a room under the roof were you could not swing a cat and had to watch your head because of the rafters. when we complained we got at least the room next to ours for the last 2 nights, which was a lot bigger and nicer.
Date published: 2017-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trip to Machu Pichu Our entire trip went so well. Originally I was travelling on my own so wanted everything to be thoroughly organised, met at airport etc. And everything went so well. Always met on time, delightful, informative drivers, great little boutique hotels and excellent tour guides. We had Sonia to ourselves in Machu Pichu and she was excellent. very knowledgeable. Just wonderful.
Date published: 2015-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Incredible Incas Wrong advice from guide checking us in at Guayaquil on 25 Nov caused a half day delay in reaching Cusco so no free time to explore city. Wasted most of a day on 28 Nov by getting early morning train to Agua Callientes and having to wait around for half a day to check in; could have stayed later at delightful Casa Andina Sacred Valley and caught afternoon train.
Date published: 2019-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding - trip of a lifetime! The people, the scenery, the culture, the food - every aspect of our time in Peru was amazing. Macchu Pichu was an incredibly humbling and exhilarating experience, but we loved the whole of the Sacred Valley and all the surrounding areas. Sites were well maintained, two teenagers travelling with us were kept happy the entire time, and even the weather was great!
Date published: 2014-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceptional A fantastic 10 days in Peru. I cannot thank you enough. Lake Titicaca was spellbinding, Cusco a dream and Machu Picchu was a bucket list item ticked off!! The Chimu Adventures team on the ground were amazing, Juan Carlos, Larry and Rodolfo a credit to Chimu Adventures. The team made our trip exceptional.
Date published: 2015-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Peru! After Antarctica, Peru was #2 on my bucket list.. and I literally jumped off the boat and flew to Peru. Wow. Everything I imagined and more. Thanks to Chimu for making my dreams come true. I will always leave a part of my heart in Machu Picchu. Incredible people and incredible service. Thankyou so much!
Date published: 2016-07-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Peru and Machu Picchu All went very smoothly and the contact from Chimu was very good. We did change our train trip to a much shorter trip and we did wonder if there should have been a refund but it was never mentioned. Also the guide at MP (Rebeka) kept answering her phone during the tour which was disappointing.
Date published: 2017-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Marvellous Trip Our trip in Peru, where we went from Lima to Paracas, Nasca, Arequipa, Puno and Cusco, including Lake Titikaka, Colca Canyon and Machu Picchu was truly amazing. It showed us so many different aspects of Peru and everything was so well organized by Chimu that our time in Peru was wonderful.
Date published: 2018-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stunning Peru....... We ere so lucky the guides allocated to take us about Peru and its wonders Suited us well, they were informative, interesting and INTERESTED! in their Country and our reactions to the people, the sites and the country at large, We were very lucky - others were not so!
Date published: 2016-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another tick off the bucket list Hard to pick a highlight from this amazing country and its friendly people but it's hard to go past Macchu Pichu. All went perfectly to plan apart from some (not unexpected) conniptions with the South American airline system. That's just part of the experience.
Date published: 2019-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful first time in South America A very well-constructed independent tour that enabled us to see many varied destinations with a great diversity of landscape and culture and via a wealth of modes of travel. All underpinned by a reliable framework of "meets and greets" and comfortable hotels.
Date published: 2015-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Holiday - Trip of a life time! Everything was fantastic. We were met at all destinations and Transfers were excellent. Casa Adina Standard Hotels were fantastic and in good locations. We had the best time and loved ALL of Peru. Thanks to Craig at Chimu for organising everything.
Date published: 2018-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Trip Every thing went off like clock work and their staff was so helpful especially Juan Carlos Auccapuma in Cusco and our Treck leader Angel was fantastic, with his passion for the Inca Track and his encouragement to help us get through.
Date published: 2017-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceeded expectations! Totally awesome!! The Chimu team set my Peruvian table......I just had to show up and enjoy! The jungle,the peaks,the cities and Cusco really got my attention totally! Left my phone in a cab....my Chimu mate got it back for me in minutes!, loved it.
Date published: 2014-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievable Country. A massive wealth of history everywhere you look. Truly amazing. Itinerary was great, and Chimu very helpful. Highlight would have to be Machu Picchu, but other Incan Ruins such as Raqch'i were equally amazing. Wonderful trip.
Date published: 2015-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An amazing trip Every thing was arranged carefully and no flaws. Especially in Machu Picchu, they even arranged a girl to lead us from the bus station to the train station lest we couldn't find our way. Very good service.
Date published: 2016-12-14
  • y_2019, m_7, d_16, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_56
  • loc_en_AU, sid_peru, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_chimu-adventures
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.3.0.1
  • CLOUD, method:getReviews, 5.05ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Video

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

The unit of currency in Peru is the Peruvian Nuevo Sol (PEN). The US Dollar is widely accepted in many stores throughout the country and prices are often given in both US dollars and Soles. Please check websites such as www.oanda.com or www.xe.com for up to date exchange rates prior to your departure.

Spanish is the official language of Peru, spoken by more than 80% of the population. There are also many indigenous languages including Quechua and Aymara. In recent years an increased effort has been made to promote all of the indigenous languages. Aymara was made an official language in the Puno/Lake Titicaca region.

Peru’s predominant religion is Roman Catholic although the indigenous Peruvians have blended Catholicism with their traditional beliefs, creating a fascinating mix.

The level of fitness needed will depend on the Peru tour that you choose to take in terms of places to be visited and the types of activities to be included on your itinerary. Many parts of Peru are at altitudes above 2000 metres, where there is a risk of altitude sickness. Altitude sickness affects everyone differently and usually has nothing to do with your general fitness level, but we highly recommend acclimatizing at altitude before taking strenuous treks or walks. If you do plan to include a trek whilst you are in Peru, particularly in the Andean highlands, then the fitter you are the easier you will find the trek.

Most South American countries have now recognized that tourism plays an important part in their economies and governments have taken great steps to change South America’s poor security image. Peru has certainly become a much safer place to visit in recent years. You will find a strong police presence in the towns, cities and sites most frequently visited by tourists. To minimise security risks we recommend the following: • do not show any outward signs of wealth or wear expensive jewellery • keep your valuables in your hotel in safety deposit boxes • keep any valuables that you must carry with you hidden, as pickpockets can be present in crowded areas and around tourist areas • use only registered taxis with official identification • avoid going on your own to remote areas/ruins where tourists would not be expected to go • always keep your day pack and camera close to you and never leave them unattended

A pre-arranged visa is not required to enter Peru for citizens of the following countries: • Australia • United Kingdom • The United States • Ireland • Canada • New Zealand • European Union • South Africa For other nationalities please visit the website of the relevant consulate.

You could spend anything from a few days to a few weeks on your Peru travels, depending on whether you plan to explore the entire country or just focus on one experience such as the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu or an Amazon adventure. Chimu Adventures offers itineraries to suit every time frame.

Our Peru tours include breakfast daily and many other meals may also be included in your itinerary. As a rough guide for additional spending money based on having moderately-priced lunches and dinners and buying a few souvenirs at local markets, we suggest a budget of 20-30 USD per day per person.

Although no specific vaccinations are required for Peru travel and no proof of any vaccination is required to enter Peru, we recommend that you visit your doctor or a traveller’s medical centre for current information specific to those places that you will be travelling through. As a general guide we recommend the following: • Yellow Fever – Especially for jungle areas • Hepatitis – Both A and B (twinrix) • Typhoid • Diphtheria • Cholera • Rabies • Tetanus

In Peru the standard voltage is 220V and standard frequency is 60Hz. Power sockets are of types A, B and C. Please visit the below link for more information: http://electricaloutlet.org/

What you need to pack will depend on when and where you plan on travelling and on the activities that you plan to include whilst on your Peru tour. The following should act as a useful checklist of essential items: • Passport, photocopy of passport & spare passport photos • Travel Insurance documents • Air tickets and itinerary • Foreign Currency (US$) and/or debit/credit cards, traveller’s cheques • Money belt • Small daypack • Basic first aid kit • High UVA sun block • Sunglasses & sunhat • Mosquito spray & insect repellent • Comfortable walking shoes/boots • Sandals • Long sleeve tops and trousers • Light-weight clothing • Warm clothing (depending on itinerary and time of year) • Camera with spare battery and memory cards • Security code padlock • Adaptor • Small torch