Skip to main content

Peru

Search Peru:

TRAVELLING TO Peru

Why visit? While most travellers know the legendary Machu Picchu, Lost City of the Incas, only few of us know that it is only one out of twelve UNESCO World Heritage sites waiting to be discovered on a tour through what is known as the “Egypt of South America”.

From admiring the snow-capped peaks of the Andes or trekking the ancient Inca trail, to exploring the rainforests of the Amazon Basin, uncovering Peruvian weaving traditions on one of Lima’s colourful street markets or sampling “Pisco Sour” in a traditional hacienda, a tour to Peru will introduce you to the countless facets of one of the most fascinating cultures in the world.

How to get there? Travellers from the United States have some of the best air access in the world to Latin America. Flights are available from most major cities, as well as fantastic connections through hubs such as Los Angeles, Dallas, Houston, Chicago, Atlanta, New York and Miami. All major US carriers have regular flights to Peru.

More information: Below we have shown you just a fraction of the options available for Peru and multi-country travel. Browse to get an idea of where you want to travel.

Still wondering? Contact us, you are definitely better off giving us a call or dropping us a line and letting us do the hard work for you.

#Livefortoday and book your Peru tour with us today. Chimu Adventures can put together an itinerary to suit you.

[ Continue Reading ]

Why visit? While most travellers know the legendary Machu Picchu, Lost City of the Incas, only few of us know that it is only one out of twelve UNESCO World Heritage sites waiting to be discovered on a tour through what is known as the “Egypt of South America”.

From admiring the snow-capped peaks of the Andes or trekking the ancient Inca trail, to exploring the rainforests of the Amazon Basin, uncovering Peruvian weaving traditions on one of Lima’s colourful street markets or sampling “Pisco Sour” in a traditional hacienda, a tour to Peru will introduce you to the countless facets of one of the most fascinating cultures in the world.

How to get there? Travellers from the United States have some of the best air access in the world to Latin America. Flights are available from most major cities, as well as fantastic connections through hubs such as Los Angeles, Dallas, Houston, Chicago, Atlanta, New York and Miami. All major US carriers have regular flights to Peru.

More information: Below we have shown you just a fraction of the options available for Peru and multi-country travel. Browse to get an idea of where you want to travel.

Still wondering? Contact us, you are definitely better off giving us a call or dropping us a line and letting us do the hard work for you.

#Livefortoday and book your Peru tour with us today. Chimu Adventures can put together an itinerary to suit you.

[ Read Less ]

WHY TRAVEL WITH CHIMU ADVENTURES

  • We offer you flexible travel options in Latin America at an affordable price.

  • You can choose from over 400 suggested itineraries or pick and choose elements to build your own unique experience; cover the areas you want to explore at a pace to suit you.

  • We know each Latin American country by heart and will work with you to determine which activities and accommodations are best suited to your needs.

  • From your initial enquiry until your trip ends, you will be assigned a personal Destination Specialist who will offer a full service for your travel needs: we can book flights, insurance and any ancillary travel required to complete your journey.

  • We have offices across South America so you can be assured that ground staff are close at hand to assist whilst you are travelling.

FEATURED Peru TRIPS & DEALS

Delfin III - 4 Day Cruise

POPULAR FROM USD 2,550

Experience the wonders of the Peruvian Amazon. Cruise aboard the luxurious Delfin III into the Pacay...

View Offer

Highlights of Peru

POPULAR FROM USD 1,845

From Lake Titicaca, to Cusco and Machu Picchu, this nine-day trip is packed full of excitement allow...

View Offer

Peru TOURS

BLOGS ON Peru

Whether you are looking for advice on visas and vaccinations,when to travel, best markets or beaches to visit, wildlife guides or the top restaurants in a city, Chimu blogs are likely to have it covered. The range of topics is vast, with new and fascinating blogs being added regularly. There are airport guides, Galapagos Island guides, what to pack and what not to pack, and even a blog on the most romantic locations to propose in Latin America!

READ NOW

Peru REVIEWS

All Chimu Adventures' clients are given the opportunity to review their trip once they return home. These reviews are administered by a third party and as such are unfiltered by Chimu Adventures.

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peru has amazing history, culture and traditions! We loved every aspect of Peru from the inspiring destinations to the friendly, knowledgeable guides. We also thought the personal and small groups made our trip much more interesting and enjoyable.
Date published: 2016-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I enjoyed Peru very much. Arrangements were excellent. Good hotels, well detailed transfers. Itinerary reflected a lot of expertise and local knowledge. On the ground staff were all first rate and guides very knowledgable.
Date published: 2015-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great experience Hospitality style service while in the country, we been look after everywhere,the tour guide are knowledgeable and helpful, We Heppy with chimu, thanks to Clare who make us trip more enjoyably.
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Peru Great stay in Peru and the hotel choices were incredible. We LOVED Casa Republica in Lima and the Monestario in Cusco. Lovely people, incredible cuisine and mind blowing landscapes!
Date published: 2018-04-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It took 33 years to see them Everything went perfectly. Hotels were all great, guides all on time and tours as promised. I finally saw the Nazca lines! Flights and boat trip were on the best planes and boats
Date published: 2015-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Peru Blown away by the organisation to make our travelling easy and the level of knowledge, passion for their history and care shown by the guides. Loved everything we saw in Peru.
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Trip! Everything was organised perfectly - guides were always there and efficient, accommodation great and the places visited were magic, many were wow! and wow!
Date published: 2016-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peru is an amazing country. Everything went well and the local Chimu people were very helpful. All the tours were well organised. We particularly loved Machu Picchu.
Date published: 2018-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great destination The various destinations were great, the guides very knowledgeable and passionate and all connections went like clockwork.
Date published: 2018-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Variety, diversity, history Everything went smoothly - flights, transfers, hotels. Hotels were 3 star and all were clean and comfortable.
Date published: 2015-12-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing experience - If you are flying into Puno from Lima - make sure you take the altitude tablets early!!
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fantastic Absolutely fantastic guides considerate of age, and very thoughtful throughout
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant Entire journey so well organised with punctuality and courtesy. Great
Date published: 2017-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The elevation and the ruins were special Machu Picchu, The Sacred Valley and Cusco were all great experiences
Date published: 2018-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous Peru Awesome trip from start to finish and everything ran so smoothly
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peru and Machu Pichu Lima is a lovely city to visit. We stayed two nights, did a city tour and ate out at Miraflores Town. Nice restaurants there, the Peruvian cuisine was surprisingly good, and their local drinks a real winner (you have to try a Pisco sour, and a Chicha Morada - a purple corn based beverage). The view out to sea was exceptional. We also visited Lake Titicaca, Cusco, and Machu Pichu. Be aware that altitude sickness is very real, and in our case, we travelled from Lima to Lake Titicaca in six hours (flight to Juliaca, then by car to Puno beside the Lake), rising from sea level to nearly 4,000 metres. I wouldn't recommend doing this to anyone, and feel a more gradual ascent might've helped us acclimatize far better. Recommend the Lake Titicaca tour by boat - the floating islands are quite interesting. The ten-hour train ride from Puno to Cusco was an absolute gem, and a real surprise. If time permits, I'd include that on your itinerary too. Machu Pichu - what can I say! A dream come true for me. I also climbed Huayna Pichu, being the only 65-plus senior on the climb that I saw, and what a view!! Suggest this too, but only if you consider yourself fit enough to do a fairly intensive climb. Loved our Peruvian experience, but the altitude sickness took away some of the gloss.
Date published: 2019-02-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Peru This was an excellent trip although I think the typical traveler should be made aware of certain things about a journey in this country. I think that touring Peru is about taking some precautions as to what time of year. October and the dry season is best, but most crowded; and to be prepared for the weather and bring adequate footwear. I would not go to the Amazon without waterproof boots, for example. Spend a bit more to purchase good climbing boots and wear a hat and have handy rain-gear, especially if travelling in the 'rainy' season. Doing this trip with only joggers is impracticable. Bring sandals. Most of the monuments visited are likely wet and slippery. Your fitness will be a factor as most sites are above 3000 metres; consider visiting a doctor (you have to have a Yellow Fever shot anyway) before the journey, esp. above the age of 50. Know how to minimize altitude sickness as this will be a factor for most of the trip. Bring a small backpack for personal belongings as you are restricted to 5 kg at Machu Picchu and the Amazon. You will need a torch in the Amazon, not for wildlife viewing but for light to see in the morning since the power at the camps is shutoff after 10:00 pm. This is important if you have an early departure. Most of these points are mentioned in the itinerary. Have fun.
Date published: 2018-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Machu Picchu and Amazon Thank you for a wonderful holiday - we really enjoyed Peru and we were very impressed with the service provided by Chimu. We did the 4 day Inca Trail and then 4 days in the Amazon at Muyuna Lodge. The Inca Trail was incredible and so glad we did it - it was a once in a lifetime opportunity that we won't forget and Chimu helped make the experience all the more memorable with a small group and an outstanding guide, Edson who got us up and over the top - not to mention the porters & chef who packed and carried everything and made us a cake on the last day! We stayed at Hotel Estelar in Lima, Sonesta Posadas del Inca, Cusco and Muyuna Lodge. All of the places we stayed were in great locations close to where we wanted to visit/site see and were good middle range hotels. Our first room at Sonesta Posadas was a little cramped and overlooked the main street of Cusco which was a bit noisy during the night with car horns and police whistles but the second room we stayed in when we returned from the Inca Trail was much better - larger room and quieter. We loved Muyuna Lodge which has a beautiful setting in the Amazon jungle and they are doing good work there with the local village to help them out. All of our guides were great and looked after us well - in particular we wanted to mention Juan Carlos in Cusco who went above and beyond - when we were delayed on the train coming back from Machu Picchu he waited for us at the station and generally he was very good at his job, very enthusiastic and made us feel very welcome. All in all a great trip, great experience and great memories.
Date published: 2016-10-08
  • y_2019, m_6, d_18, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_56
  • loc_en_AU, sid_peru, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_chimu-adventures
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.3.0.1
  • CLOUD, method:getReviews, 4.72ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Video

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

A pre-arranged visa is not required to enter Peru for citizens of the following countries: • Australia • United Kingdom • The United States • Ireland • Canada • New Zealand • European Union • South Africa For other nationalities please visit the website of the relevant consulate.

You could spend anything from a few days to a few weeks on your Peru travels, depending on whether you plan to explore the entire country or just focus on one experience such as the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu or an Amazon adventure. Chimu Adventures offers itineraries to suit every time frame.

Our Peru tours include breakfast daily and many other meals may also be included in your itinerary. As a rough guide for additional spending money based on having moderately-priced lunches and dinners and buying a few souvenirs at local markets, we suggest a budget of 20-30 USD per day per person.

Although no specific vaccinations are required for Peru travel and no proof of any vaccination is required to enter Peru, we recommend that you visit your doctor or a traveller’s medical centre for current information specific to those places that you will be travelling through. As a general guide we recommend the following: • Yellow Fever – Especially for jungle areas • Hepatitis – Both A and B (twinrix) • Typhoid • Diphtheria • Cholera • Rabies • Tetanus

In Peru the standard voltage is 220V and standard frequency is 60Hz. Power sockets are of types A, B and C. Please visit the below link for more information: http://electricaloutlet.org/

What you need to pack will depend on when and where you plan on travelling and on the activities that you plan to include whilst on your Peru tour. The following should act as a useful checklist of essential items: • Passport, photocopy of passport & spare passport photos • Travel Insurance documents • Air tickets and itinerary • Foreign Currency (US$) and/or debit/credit cards, traveller’s cheques • Money belt • Small daypack • Basic first aid kit • High UVA sun block • Sunglasses & sunhat • Mosquito spray & insect repellent • Comfortable walking shoes/boots • Sandals • Long sleeve tops and trousers • Light-weight clothing • Warm clothing (depending on itinerary and time of year) • Camera with spare battery and memory cards • Security code padlock • Adaptor • Small torch

The unit of currency in Peru is the Peruvian Nuevo Sol (PEN). The US Dollar is widely accepted in many stores throughout the country and prices are often given in both US dollars and Soles. Please check websites such as www.oanda.com or www.xe.com for up to date exchange rates prior to your departure.

Spanish is the official language of Peru, spoken by more than 80% of the population. There are also many indigenous languages including Quechua and Aymara. In recent years an increased effort has been made to promote all of the indigenous languages. Aymara was made an official language in the Puno/Lake Titicaca region.

Peru’s predominant religion is Roman Catholic although the indigenous Peruvians have blended Catholicism with their traditional beliefs, creating a fascinating mix.

The level of fitness needed will depend on the Peru tour that you choose to take in terms of places to be visited and the types of activities to be included on your itinerary. Many parts of Peru are at altitudes above 2000 metres, where there is a risk of altitude sickness. Altitude sickness affects everyone differently and usually has nothing to do with your general fitness level, but we highly recommend acclimatizing at altitude before taking strenuous treks or walks. If you do plan to include a trek whilst you are in Peru, particularly in the Andean highlands, then the fitter you are the easier you will find the trek.

Most South American countries have now recognized that tourism plays an important part in their economies and governments have taken great steps to change South America’s poor security image. Peru has certainly become a much safer place to visit in recent years. You will find a strong police presence in the towns, cities and sites most frequently visited by tourists. To minimise security risks we recommend the following: • do not show any outward signs of wealth or wear expensive jewellery • keep your valuables in your hotel in safety deposit boxes • keep any valuables that you must carry with you hidden, as pickpockets can be present in crowded areas and around tourist areas • use only registered taxis with official identification • avoid going on your own to remote areas/ruins where tourists would not be expected to go • always keep your day pack and camera close to you and never leave them unattended

Copyright © Chimu Adventures All rights reserved 2004 - 2018